LinuxQuestions.org
Go Job Hunting at the LQ Job Marketplace
Go Back   LinuxQuestions.org > Reviews > Distributions > Ubuntu
User Name
Password

Notices

Search · Register · Submit New Review · Download your favorite Linux Distributions ·
 

Ubuntu 6.10 Edgy Eft
Reviews Views Date of last review
32 124228 11-04-2007
spacer
Recommended By Average Price Average Rating
100% of reviewers None indicated 9.2



Description: Ubuntu Edgy Eft. Just as clean and easy to install as its predecessor, even if you're not familiar with Linux at all, booting from the LiveCD and clicking the "Install" icon on your desktop is as easy as snapping your fingers.
Keywords: Ubuntu 6.10 Edgy Eft Linux


Author
Post A Reply 
Old 10-29-2006, 10:34 PM   #1
dudeman41465
 
Registered: Jun 2005
Distribution: Ubuntu
Posts: 794

Rep: Reputation:
Would you recommend the product? yes | Price you paid?: None indicated | Rating: 10

Pros: Easy and fast install, very noob friendly, yet very capable at the same time, great hardware support
Cons: none so far



Same default theme as the previous version, which to me is a good thing, I like it.  Runs very smooth and is very easy to get up and running in no time at all.  I did have an issue with the PCI address being wrong upon trying to boot the CD and I had to change it so that it would use my NVidia graphics card instead of my on-board card.  It's very lightweight, only 1 CD, which is becoming less and less true of Linux distributions today as they get bigger and bigger.  It has one of the best online communities of any distribution I've seen, which is probably why it's been out for like 3 days now and I'm the first one to review it, :p.  I like the fact that it's staying true to its roots, and even though Ubuntu makes profits from its commercial support, the products are the same regardless of whether you purchase commercial support or not.  It comes packaged with Firefox 2.0 as well which is nice, and it supports Hibernation, which is a first for me to see in a Linux OS.  All around, I think this is a great desktop computer operating system.  You could not know a thing about Linux and use this operating system, but at the same time it's a very stable and capable operating Linux system.  Any problems you have can usually be solved quickly by visiting the official forums.
 
Old 10-31-2006, 07:47 AM   #2
cwej
 
Registered: Jul 2006
Distribution: Ubuntu 7.10 on a System 76 Pangolin Value laptop - sweeeet!
Posts: 41

Rep: Reputation: Reputation:
Would you recommend the product? yes | Price you paid?: None indicated | Rating: 10

Pros: Excellent organic software selection, capability and interopreability. Outstanding open source repository search and installation facilities.
Cons: None detected.


This distribution perfectly suites my professional needs. I would have absolutely no use for any Windows application were it not for a single odd activex enabled essential web site, which I am able to workaround using CrossOver for IE which has a single link to the idiotic but essential work web site.
 
Old 11-21-2006, 09:28 AM   #3
tamal
 
Registered: Mar 2006
Posts: 13

Rep: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation:
Would you recommend the product? yes | Price you paid?: None indicated | Rating: 9

Pros: Excellent for newbie, easy, fast, compact, frequently upgraded
Cons:


I recommend it for home users. I haven't used the server version, but I had added the server tools separately. It is very easy to use.

I started to use Ubuntu when I got a Ubuntu Linux CD free of cost (not even shipping charges). Perhaps it is the only Linux distribution which distributes free Linux CDs.
 
Old 11-24-2006, 08:28 PM   #4
soar747
 
Registered: Dec 2005
Distribution: Edgy Eft
Posts: 18

Rep: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation:
Would you recommend the product? yes | Price you paid?: None indicated | Rating: 9

Pros: Extremely easy to use
Cons: alacarte


It's a great system, faster than 6.06. I had trouble with the new alacarte menu editor, which has been shown to have different problems with different users, though I'm sure most haven't had such problems.

Tried the server kernel, works wonderfully. Just be careful not to overload it like I did.

Setup is a breeze.
 
Old 11-26-2006, 03:48 PM   #5
cyberwere
 
Registered: Nov 2006
Distribution: Fedora Core 6 - AMD64
Posts: 1

Rep: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation:
Would you recommend the product? yes | Price you paid?: None indicated | Rating: 8

Pros: Easy Setup, Great package manager. Excellent community support. Fast bootup and operation.
Cons: Problems installing with Nividia cards. Cedega won't work.


Installation of Ubuntu is easy and quick. Ubuntu has one of the best package managers I have ever seen in Synaptic. Setup of programs was easy with Synaptic and Automatix. Edgy (6.10) is also faster than Dapper(6.06). It boots and runs pretty fast.

Installation with some nvidia cards is a nightmare. I have a GeForce 6800GS and could not get the Edgy live CD to boot in regular or safe graphics mode. I had to install Dapper first, then update to Edgy. I also couldn't get Cedega to run in Edgy either.

Overall a very good distro. However, if you are running Ubuntu Dapper 6.06, you might want to consider sticking with Dapper. Edgy is a little faster, but doesn't appear as stable or bug-free as Dapper is.
 
Old 11-28-2006, 07:55 AM   #6
assettt
 
Registered: Sep 2006
Distribution: kubuntu 6.10
Posts: 11

Rep: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation:
Would you recommend the product? yes | Price you paid?: None indicated | Rating: 9

Pros: easy to install and excellent start if migrating from windows
Cons:


I installed 6.10 2 days after it was available from the mirrors. It certainly is faster and stable with a fresher interface. I chose the KDE environment (kubuntu) which i really like. All the hardware in my old rig (Acer aspire laptop) were detected at install which in itself was a breeze. All installation from a single live CD and took 22 minutes for full installation. Very easy software installation with Aptitude, apt-get and automatix2 from really vast and open repository. Overall a very satisfied customer and no more need for dual booting. If you are a newbie trying out linux you cannot go wrong with ubuntu (kubuntu). The forum is really supportive to newbies.
 
Old 12-07-2006, 06:24 PM   #7
beast2k
 
Registered: Jul 2004
Distribution: Slackware 13
Posts: 15

Rep: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation:
Would you recommend the product? yes | Price you paid?: None indicated | Rating: 10

Pros: Easy Novice friendly install, One CD, Debian based
Cons: The self imposed "free" distro status means no mainstream multimedia files will work out of the box.


Perhaps the closest linux users will ever get to "the perfect distro" One cd install, friendly & helpful community I can't say enough good things about this distro. It is a pleasure to use and it's a pleasure to be counted amoung this distros users. As I mentioned the "free" status of the distro means multimedia and the like has to be set up after the install. At first this sounds like a serious downside to novice users, however the ubuntu community does not keep it a secret how to set up such things. There are a few 3rd party applications that will aid in making this a mindlessly easy operation, such as automatix from www.getautomatix.com ,and easyubuntu for example. If linux ever takes a significant market share away from microsoft this will be the distro that does it. No other distro is even in the same league as ubuntu, The search for the perfect distro is over, and the age of Ubuntu is here
 
Old 12-08-2006, 05:16 AM   #8
slantoflight
 
Registered: Aug 2005
Distribution: Smoothwall
Posts: 283

Rep: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation:
Would you recommend the product? yes | Price you paid?: None indicated | Rating: 10

Pros: awesome packages as usual, vast improvement speedwise
Cons:


Its fast, its reliable. Looks nice, plays nice. It seems to have it all. Significantly faster boot-time as well, with the introduction of their upstart daemon.
 
Old 12-12-2006, 09:35 PM   #9
angryfirelord
 
Registered: Dec 2005
Posts: 503

Rep: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation:
Would you recommend the product? yes | Price you paid?: None indicated | Rating: 10

Pros: new everything! (firefox 2)
Cons: none


Really nice distribution, with about ~20000 some packages with everything enabled. So far, nothing has broken despite it being called "edgy".

Now only if Ubuntu would combine with PCLinuxOS....
 
Old 12-17-2006, 10:16 PM   #10
IndyGunFreak
 
Registered: Aug 2003
Distribution: Desktop- Debian Lenny, Laptops- Ubuntu 8.10, Debian Lenny UMPC- Ubuntu 8.10
Posts: 1,297

Rep: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation:
Would you recommend the product? yes | Price you paid?: None indicated | Rating: 10

Pros: Easy install, Great community support
Cons: None


My favorite distro, hands down. Works perfectly, no speed problems, the Repo's are full of almost any software package you could possibly imagine..

IGF
 
Old 12-19-2006, 12:03 PM   #11
kazuya1977
 
Registered: Sep 2005
Distribution: crunchbang (debian squeeze), ubuntu 11.04, archbang (archlinux), salix 64, chakra, mepis
Posts: 42

Rep: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation:
Would you recommend the product? yes | Price you paid?: None indicated | Rating: 10

Pros: simplicity and beauty and functionality, fast, lots of customization and flexibility
Cons: none to speak of


This is the best OS for me today. I personally prefer Zenwalk for my use and all, but Edgy is great for users of all PC levels.And everything just works, the community support is unparallel. Wonderful product. And like somebody else mentioned here. It really puts some of the bigger commercial distros to shame.

This distro is a serious contender if not already the best OS on Earth. Windows is not even nearly close to being as good as many of these other distros. Other reputable or equally great ones include Zenwalk, Mepis, Sabayon,Vector Linux,Pclinuxos, and others.
 
Old 12-30-2006, 12:02 PM   #12
DennisO
 
Registered: Dec 2006
Distribution: Ubuntu Edgy Eft
Posts: 7

Rep: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation:
Would you recommend the product? yes | Price you paid?: None indicated | Rating: 7

Pros:
Cons:


I'm new to any form of Linux, and Ubuntu seems to suit my needs. The only problem I have, is that being new to this style of OS, my "point and click" ways of Windows still wants to shine through, and the only command I've mastered is gedit through root.

I'd like to see more support on sites that info or programs need to be installed from, because there are more new users making the transformation to linux based products than I ever thought possible. With the release of Vista on the horizon, a lot of people I know are jumping ship and moving to linux of one form or another. So, I think a simple "This is how you do it" format for idiots such as myself, is a good thing. Aside from that, I love the freedom it allows me.
 
Old 12-31-2006, 04:55 AM   #13
MattJUK
 
Registered: Dec 2006
Distribution: Ubuntu 8.10
Posts: 80

Rep: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation:
Would you recommend the product? yes | Price you paid?: None indicated | Rating: 10

Pros: Easy to install, fast OS, very flexible and customizable, user friendly, excellent community
Cons: NONE!


Purchased a new laptop a couple of days ago and wanted to install linux on as a dual-booted system. I read many reviews on different distributions and what problems I may encounter, etc, etc. I was more than pleased when Ubuntu worked straight away out of the box with virtually no tweaking to do. All I had to do was enable wireless internet connection in the administration tools, which only involved checking an unchecked box!

Power management and all worked straight away, as did hibernate, various close-lid tasks etc!

Ubuntu is an excellent user friendly distribution for beginners and the more advanced alike. The community behind the project is immense.
 
Old 12-31-2006, 08:49 PM   #14
linuxgoober
 
Registered: Feb 2006
Posts: 2

Rep: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation:
Would you recommend the product? yes | Price you paid?: None indicated | Rating: 8

Pros: Very Easy to Use
Cons: Has some minor issues with dependancies.


I got more power on my laptop with Ubuntu than with Windows. 3d acceleration and sound didn't work out of the box.
 
Old 01-02-2007, 12:04 PM   #15
digitaldivider667
 
Registered: Jan 2007
Distribution: RHEL, Ubuntu, OpenSUSE 10.2, Fedora Core 6
Posts: 7

Rep: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation:
Would you recommend the product? yes | Price you paid?: None indicated | Rating: 7

Pros: sleek and easy to understand huge apt-get repositories, huge user community
Cons: hardware configuration wasn't fun at all


I decided to download ubuntu 6.10 a few weeks ago and wanted to try it on a home pc I built out from scratch. so i torrented the ISO, burned it, and prayed for the best as I set the bios to boot from the CD... from there, it all went down hill.

let me give you an idea as to what hardware I had before I go further in:
video card: BFGtech geforce 7600gt (no sli, well, not yet..)
memory: 1GB ddr2 800
processor: amd 4200+ x2 (socket am2)
motherboard: Abit Fatal1ty 32x (socket AM2 mainboard)
hard disk(s): 1 250GB Western Digital Caviar with 16mb cache and approximately 20GB of unformatted space for the linux install, and 1 40GB dell hard drive connected with a PCI PATA controller (figured I would use some of the drive as SWAP space if linux could see the controller and drive) a logitech g15 keyboard and g5 mouse and a 20" dell CRT monitor.

So I go to run the live CD on my system and my keyboard fails to respond. i can't make another selection with it at all. So I wait for the timeout to go and for ubuntu to autorun the live CD and then there was some massive failure because some flagrant error showed up and refused to boot ubuntu ( I'm sorry, but I don't recall the exact error message) so dismayed I stored the CD for a while before I tried it on an older (but not by much) system with the following specs:

processor: pentium 4 2.8ghz (no hyperthreading)
mainboard: dell foxconn mainboard
video card: radeon 9800 pro
memory: 1GB ddr400
hard drive(s): 120GB main drive with 12GB unformatted for ubuntu and a 10GB secondary drive used as swap for the current windows install (and for ubuntu I hoped)
standard ps/2 keyboard
dell usb laser mouse
17" dell CRT monitor

This time the live CD worked but the screen resolution was horrible. truth be told, I expected this since the card was ATI. I decided to try to install it reguardless. Gparted made partitioning easy. Ubuntu proceeded to install without a problem, the system went down and came back up. My windows partition was still there and ubuntu was just fine.

seeing as how my resolution was screwed up I decided to test the "user community" with the almighty google and see if I could fix up decent resolutions on an ATI video card. Sure enough, I found what i wanted and installed the fglrx drivers as recommended and screen resolutions were finally on point.

for my next trick I decided I would find out if I could get xgl and compiz working with user community's directions. the first set of directions I tried off google the directions broke the current window manager and nearly made ubuntu unusable. had to go into single user mode and delete the offending script to get functionality back. the second method I tried the repository I was told to add to the /etc/apt/source.list file didn't have all the packages required so I was screwed there too. the bottom line is that the ubuntu user community as large as it is, is a double-edged sword.

Overall I put up with a lot of crap to get ubuntu to finally work on one my systems and I really didn't see what all the fuss was about. Only real advantages that Ubuntu has is that it is based off debian, which is noted for it's stability the user community is huge, and software repositories are even bigger. I didn't really like the whole "there's no root account" thing either. call it what you want, but I like being the super user, not having to sudo every single administrative command when I want to use them. Of course there's the whole sudo /bin/bash thing to work around that too, but again, I don't think I should have to. I'm not going to bother uninstalling ubuntu from my system, as I'm still very new to it and want to give it due time and process before i decide to chuck it, however I'm not going to recommend it to serious linux users because in spite of the popularity, there are better distros available.
 
Old 01-10-2007, 11:59 AM   #16
cubdukat
 
Registered: Mar 2006
Posts: 48

Rep: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation:
Would you recommend the product? yes | Price you paid?: None indicated | Rating: 0

Pros: Fast, simple and mostly bulletproof, like a distro should be
Cons: Niggling problems with the GNOME side of things



After playing with the LiveCD of 6.06LTS for Kubuntu, I finally took the plunge and installed it on my laptop, a Compaq Armada M700 with a 700MHz P3 and 256MB of RAM. It's like it became a new machine. Things that would set off a spasm of disk access in XP and keep me from doing anything for minutes on end did no such thing in Kubuntu. In short, it was sublime.

Unfortunately, things did get sullied a bit when I installed the ubuntu-desktop and upgraded to Edgy Eft. I was having considerable problems booting into GNOME, until I found a solution on one of the Ubuntu forums. Since then it's been smooth sailing.

I remember when I installed Ubuntu on my home system a while back, and I really didn't like it much, but after having worked with it for two weeks now, and given the flap with Novell/SuSE and Microsoft (I'm currently using SuSE 10.2 at home), I may very well be switching over to Edgy on the home system as well.
 
Old 01-12-2007, 08:39 PM   #17
jononearm
 
Registered: Jan 2007
Distribution: Pupeee, Debian
Posts: 37

Rep: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation:
Would you recommend the product? yes | Price you paid?: None indicated | Rating: 9

Pros: Easy to use, just put it into your CD/DVD drive
Cons: Getting various formats to play correctly


After setting my computer up in my new house I thought I'd give linux a try I did a google search for linux and the ubuntu distro was the first on the list. I have tried to get linux before and failed. so I was a bit reluctant to swap my windows system over to a OS that I didnt even know would work. Well I booted up my computer with the cd in the drive and it had an option to install ubuntu so I threw caution to the wind and installed it about 20 minutes later I had a fully working linux based system which I have been playing around with for the last couple of weeks. I am shocked by how much I have been missing :D
 
Old 01-13-2007, 10:21 PM   #18
xjlittle
 
Registered: Aug 2003
Distribution: fc6 sles9 & 10 kubuntu ubuntu-server
Posts: 240

Rep: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation:
Would you recommend the product? yes | Price you paid?: None indicated | Rating: 9

Pros: easy install, all device setup easily, fast
Cons: they did away with the standard inittab type of boot


I put Kubuntu on an x86_64 laptop that I just couldn't seem to get FC6, CentOD to Ubuntu to "feel" right with, all 64bit os's. After installing Kubuntu (edgy) I was a happy camper. ndis install was a breeze and everything else worked out of the box on my hp nx6325.

I especially like the adept package manager.
 
Old 01-20-2007, 08:15 AM   #19
Nyst
 
Registered: Jan 2007
Posts: 0

Rep: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation:
Would you recommend the product? yes | Price you paid?: None indicated | Rating: 10

Pros: comfortable .
Cons: none found!!!


Smoothly installed Kubuntu,
Got nice bootsplash, got net, got HDPARM optimized HDDs, got automount of CDs/ DVDs, got my Logitech Wireless Trackball (back&forth buttons wont work) and Logitech Media Elite Keyboard fully functional.

Wine DEB pack installed by Apt got me running with Macromedia Flash 8 and Freehand, Got IE4Linux + Flash (no problems), UTorrent (!).

Got 2 36Gb Raptors on ICH5R of P4C800-E Deluxe with Sata RAID-0 with one NTFS partition. Installed 'dmraid' by APT, ran 'sudo dmraid -r' and mounted that 'name that ends with 1' on /media/raid. Excellent!!!

Donwloaded lattest Java 1.6.0 and installed, now got Netbeans 5.5, Eclipse 3.2, Java EE5 SDK, Java in Firefox.. .Excellent!!

Got MLDonkey from APT , quickly downloaded some AVI`s and Mp3`s - Kaffeine smoothly played the AVI`s and Amarok alerted me (!!!) taht it cant play MP#`s but will be happy to download and install everything automatically by APT (!!!) SWEET!!

Good online documentation , recompiled two custom kernels straight into DEB packages (nice!).

Very good linux experience.

Distro Histo:
Slackware 9&10, Gentoo, Mandrake/Mandriva, Debian, SUSE, Ubuntu of them all i prefer Kubuntu.

2 thumbs up.!!!
 
Old 02-01-2007, 01:33 PM   #20
CITguy
 
Registered: Apr 2006
Distribution: Ubuntu Hardy Heron (8.04) Server & Desktop
Posts: 14

Rep: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation:
Would you recommend the product? yes | Price you paid?: None indicated | Rating: 8

Pros: Great Hardware Support
Cons: Poor Multimedia Support


I've been using Ubuntu for about 6 months now. I just recently made the full switch over from XP on my desktop at home after an XP fault erased my entire hard drive. I've been using the 6.10 "Edgy Eft" build and have had very little problems.

The problems that I've had were a few minor driver problems with an NVIDIA GeForce MX440 Graphics card on my desktop and a Broadcom Wireless card on my laptop. However, once I figured it out, it was smooth sailing in that department. Also, I have a TV tuner card that is not recognized by any of the tv viewing apps. (It is recognized hardware wise, but software cannot access the card's tv input.)

The other problem that I've had is multimedia support. I watch a lot of video files on the web and the built in support for file formats is nonexistant. I had to install the extra media codecs plus some non-open codecs to view files. I have a few problems with the WMV and MPEG files merely due to encryption.

And if anybody has any idea how to help me out in this area, I would be much obliged; I still have not figured out how to get a DVD to play on my box.

Other than that, Ubuntu has met and surpassed every other need that I have.
 
Old 02-08-2007, 07:44 AM   #21
biniou
 
Registered: Feb 2007
Distribution: Ubuntu (7.04), (B)LFS (6.2), ...
Posts: 105

Rep: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation:
Would you recommend the product? yes | Price you paid?: None indicated | Rating: 9

Pros: Lot of things work out of the box and intalling the rest is straightforward. Great community
Cons: I liked to see kernel messages at boot time ;)


I've already tried a lot of distros, but it's the first time I have so few work to do to make everything run fine, from multimedia to partitioning !

The package manager is just simple and great !

Like it ;)
 
Old 02-09-2007, 05:30 PM   #22
eselma
 
Registered: Nov 2002
Distribution: Debian Wheezy, SolydK, MX14.2
Posts: 3

Rep: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation:
Would you recommend the product? yes | Price you paid?: None indicated | Rating: 10

Pros: Reliable, easy to use
Cons: None by now


As said before: "Its fast, its reliable. Looks nice, plays nice. It seems to have it all.". Prior to this I used Slackware (old editions), Red hat and Mandrake/Mandriva from 7.02 up to 2006. Then I tried Kubuntu Dapper Drake (great!) amd Kubuntu 6.10 (better!).

Very reliable, suitable to both Debian old-timers and newbies. By now, a real success. In praise of GNU/Linux.

Edward.
 
Old 02-10-2007, 01:37 PM   #23
karellen
 
Registered: Mar 2006
Distribution: Ubuntu Edgy Eft
Posts: 10

Rep: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation:
Would you recommend the product? yes | Price you paid?: None indicated | Rating: 10

Pros: fast, stable, huge community, great package management, repos full of everything you can think of, user friendly
Cons: maybe the live cd installer...anyway I've never used it


I use it and I like it. If you wanna know something about linux and what it can do, try this distro
 
Old 02-20-2007, 09:24 AM   #24
joedes
 
Registered: Nov 2006
Distribution: Ubuntu 6.06LTS
Posts: 0

Rep: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation:
Would you recommend the product? yes | Price you paid?: None indicated | Rating: 8

Pros: Easy installation, easy to configure
Cons: Configuring multi media can get tricky


All I can say for anyone who hasn't tried Ubuntu, this is the best forget about the rest. Fast, reliable, secure and easy to use. And it's FREE!!!
 
Old 02-26-2007, 10:39 PM   #25
kstan
 
Registered: Sep 2004
Distribution: Dual boot MacOS X/Ubuntu 9.10
Posts: 851

Rep: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation:
Would you recommend the product? yes | Price you paid?: None indicated | Rating: 9

Pros: Good and many Documentation, over internet, large repostory and easy to use
Cons: Still lack of wizard to support Windows AD and LDAP authentication


This is very good distro, if add in support for this will be perfect for me:
1. Support Active Directory or LDAP centralize authentication (laptop user able to login offline too)
2. Allow user pay money to apt-get wine/cxoffice+$$ product. Like MS Office, Adobe Photoshop, Macromedia Flash and etc
3. Show boot message.

Regards,
Ks
 
Old 03-02-2007, 09:26 AM   #26
kazuya1977
 
Registered: Sep 2005
Distribution: crunchbang (debian squeeze), ubuntu 11.04, archbang (archlinux), salix 64, chakra, mepis
Posts: 42

Rep: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation:
Would you recommend the product? yes | Price you paid?: None indicated | Rating: 10

Pros: everything, huge community, easy, fast, adaptable
Cons: none to speak of


Simply great product. Almost the best OS for a total PC newbie. This is what Suse, and many of the big commercial distros should be like.

Other almost equally good distros are Zenwalk, pclinuxos, mepis, Sabayon{gentoo made easy - be careful with this one}, Vector Linux.

This distro keeps getting better. But so does the other guys. Fedora is also starting to be good again.
 
Old 03-07-2007, 07:19 AM   #27
Sinatra
 
Registered: Jul 2004
Distribution: Kubuntu Edgy 6.10
Posts: 13

Rep: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation:
Would you recommend the product? yes | Price you paid?: None indicated | Rating: 10

Pros: Amazing distro, good support, runs smoothly, no crashes
Cons: Lack of support with my sound blaster live 24-bit external


This distro has been one of my favourites so far.

The only problem I've actually had with it is that my Sound Blaster Live! 24-bit external soundcard does not work with it, even though that it's detected, and amarok plays the default ogg that comes with it, no other sound works within KDE, firefox or anything else.

There are no drivers about for it, but I think this is an alsa problem, not directly kubuntu's fault


Although my sound works perfectly with 6.06 dapper!

Good distro, definately recommend it to everyone!
 
Old 03-13-2007, 11:03 PM   #28
gkokaisel
 
Registered: Mar 2007
Posts: 2

Rep: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation:
Would you recommend the product? yes | Price you paid?: None indicated | Rating: 10

Pros: Great forums and wikis for help. Easy installs for most software. Pretty solid.
Cons: Pretty basic out of the box, but most Linux OS's are that way. No support for my dell dual TV tuner card :(.


I am new to linux, but I have had some experience with Ubuntu that you may find helpful. I tried Fedora core, and openSuse prior to Ubuntu. Fedora core and openSuse did not support my wifi usb adapter out of box (took all day to get it to work). It worked with Ubuntu on first boot. All I had to do was enter my configurations, which was super easy. This is what really won me over. The desktop environment can all be customized, so I could care less about that.

My video was a bit more effort, but not much more really because there are tremendously useful forums and wikis out there which aid the user through the whole process of getting the basics setup, such as nvidia/ati support, codecs, etc, and then even helping with customizing the desktop environment. In fact, just type Ubuntu guide in google and there ya go!

Thus, if you are a new to linux Ubuntu is a good choice.

One final point, as I mentioned in the “con” section, I can't seem to get my TV tuner card to work. Only a few kinds from what I understand are supported by linux, so this not a fault of Ubuntu, its just a lack of support for tv tuner cards on the whole for linux.
 
Old 03-17-2007, 03:54 PM   #29
mitchell7man
 
Registered: Jan 2007
Distribution: OSX - Fedora
Posts: 458

Rep: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation:
Would you recommend the product? yes | Price you paid?: None indicated | Rating: 10

Pros: Easy to Use for Basics, Yet if you wan't to do other linux operations, it does them too.
Cons: default setting do not give you root user access


Great, easy to use for beginning, yet as you get into it you can do what you can witho ther linux distros, only set back is you don't have root user access by default, and so you can't modify system files like grub, but this can be fixed rather easily.
 
Old 04-27-2007, 11:12 AM   #30
raffytaffy
 
Registered: Mar 2006
Distribution: Gentoo2006.1 , Ubuntu 6.10
Posts: 94

Rep: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation:
Would you recommend the product? yes | Price you paid?: None indicated | Rating: 10

Pros: Great distro for kernel hacking for beginers
Cons: I prefer text based installer like in pervious versions


Excellent work ; very hard to find any flaws. Thanks to ubuntu i got into kernel hacking. I find this distro an excellent medium to learn tweaks / programing / etc etc for the kernel. Great support for my laptop hardware with a vast selection of available software ( 20 thousand + apps and counting ) Security is prominent ; i can honestly say i do not feel aghast in any way , shape or form about malware / viuses / worms ( as one would on a windows platform.
 
Page:  1 · 2 More Items




  



All times are GMT -5. The time now is 12:20 AM.

Main Menu
Advertisement

Advertisement
My LQ
Write for LQ
LinuxQuestions.org is looking for people interested in writing Editorials, Articles, Reviews, and more. If you'd like to contribute content, let us know.
Main Menu
Syndicate
RSS1  Latest Threads
RSS1  LQ News
Twitter: @linuxquestions
identi.ca: @linuxquestions
Facebook: linuxquestions Google+: linuxquestions
Open Source Consulting | Domain Registration