LinuxQuestions.org
View the Most Wanted LQ Wiki articles.
Go Back   LinuxQuestions.org > Reviews > Distributions > Ubuntu
User Name
Password

Notices

Search · Register · Submit New Review · Download your favorite Linux Distributions ·
 

Ubuntu 6.10 Edgy Eft
Reviews Views Date of last review
32 124035 11-04-2007
spacer
Recommended By Average Price Average Rating
100% of reviewers None indicated 9.2



Description: Ubuntu Edgy Eft. Just as clean and easy to install as its predecessor, even if you're not familiar with Linux at all, booting from the LiveCD and clicking the "Install" icon on your desktop is as easy as snapping your fingers.
Keywords: Ubuntu 6.10 Edgy Eft Linux


Author
Post A Reply 
Old 10-29-2006, 09:34 PM   #1
dudeman41465
 
Registered: Jun 2005
Distribution: Ubuntu
Posts: 794

Rep: Reputation:
Would you recommend the product? yes | Price you paid?: None indicated | Rating: 10

Pros: Easy and fast install, very noob friendly, yet very capable at the same time, great hardware support
Cons: none so far



Same default theme as the previous version, which to me is a good thing, I like it.  Runs very smooth and is very easy to get up and running in no time at all.  I did have an issue with the PCI address being wrong upon trying to boot the CD and I had to change it so that it would use my NVidia graphics card instead of my on-board card.  It's very lightweight, only 1 CD, which is becoming less and less true of Linux distributions today as they get bigger and bigger.  It has one of the best online communities of any distribution I've seen, which is probably why it's been out for like 3 days now and I'm the first one to review it, :p.  I like the fact that it's staying true to its roots, and even though Ubuntu makes profits from its commercial support, the products are the same regardless of whether you purchase commercial support or not.  It comes packaged with Firefox 2.0 as well which is nice, and it supports Hibernation, which is a first for me to see in a Linux OS.  All around, I think this is a great desktop computer operating system.  You could not know a thing about Linux and use this operating system, but at the same time it's a very stable and capable operating Linux system.  Any problems you have can usually be solved quickly by visiting the official forums.
 
Old 10-31-2006, 06:47 AM   #2
cwej
 
Registered: Jul 2006
Distribution: Ubuntu 7.10 on a System 76 Pangolin Value laptop - sweeeet!
Posts: 41

Rep: Reputation: Reputation:
Would you recommend the product? yes | Price you paid?: None indicated | Rating: 10

Pros: Excellent organic software selection, capability and interopreability. Outstanding open source repository search and installation facilities.
Cons: None detected.


This distribution perfectly suites my professional needs. I would have absolutely no use for any Windows application were it not for a single odd activex enabled essential web site, which I am able to workaround using CrossOver for IE which has a single link to the idiotic but essential work web site.
 
Old 11-21-2006, 08:28 AM   #3
tamal
 
Registered: Mar 2006
Posts: 13

Rep: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation:
Would you recommend the product? yes | Price you paid?: None indicated | Rating: 9

Pros: Excellent for newbie, easy, fast, compact, frequently upgraded
Cons:


I recommend it for home users. I haven't used the server version, but I had added the server tools separately. It is very easy to use.

I started to use Ubuntu when I got a Ubuntu Linux CD free of cost (not even shipping charges). Perhaps it is the only Linux distribution which distributes free Linux CDs.
 
Old 11-24-2006, 07:28 PM   #4
soar747
 
Registered: Dec 2005
Distribution: Edgy Eft
Posts: 18

Rep: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation:
Would you recommend the product? yes | Price you paid?: None indicated | Rating: 9

Pros: Extremely easy to use
Cons: alacarte


It's a great system, faster than 6.06. I had trouble with the new alacarte menu editor, which has been shown to have different problems with different users, though I'm sure most haven't had such problems.

Tried the server kernel, works wonderfully. Just be careful not to overload it like I did.

Setup is a breeze.
 
Old 11-26-2006, 02:48 PM   #5
cyberwere
 
Registered: Nov 2006
Distribution: Fedora Core 6 - AMD64
Posts: 1

Rep: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation:
Would you recommend the product? yes | Price you paid?: None indicated | Rating: 8

Pros: Easy Setup, Great package manager. Excellent community support. Fast bootup and operation.
Cons: Problems installing with Nividia cards. Cedega won't work.


Installation of Ubuntu is easy and quick. Ubuntu has one of the best package managers I have ever seen in Synaptic. Setup of programs was easy with Synaptic and Automatix. Edgy (6.10) is also faster than Dapper(6.06). It boots and runs pretty fast.

Installation with some nvidia cards is a nightmare. I have a GeForce 6800GS and could not get the Edgy live CD to boot in regular or safe graphics mode. I had to install Dapper first, then update to Edgy. I also couldn't get Cedega to run in Edgy either.

Overall a very good distro. However, if you are running Ubuntu Dapper 6.06, you might want to consider sticking with Dapper. Edgy is a little faster, but doesn't appear as stable or bug-free as Dapper is.
 
Old 11-28-2006, 06:55 AM   #6
assettt
 
Registered: Sep 2006
Distribution: kubuntu 6.10
Posts: 11

Rep: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation:
Would you recommend the product? yes | Price you paid?: None indicated | Rating: 9

Pros: easy to install and excellent start if migrating from windows
Cons:


I installed 6.10 2 days after it was available from the mirrors. It certainly is faster and stable with a fresher interface. I chose the KDE environment (kubuntu) which i really like. All the hardware in my old rig (Acer aspire laptop) were detected at install which in itself was a breeze. All installation from a single live CD and took 22 minutes for full installation. Very easy software installation with Aptitude, apt-get and automatix2 from really vast and open repository. Overall a very satisfied customer and no more need for dual booting. If you are a newbie trying out linux you cannot go wrong with ubuntu (kubuntu). The forum is really supportive to newbies.
 
Old 12-07-2006, 05:24 PM   #7
beast2k
 
Registered: Jul 2004
Distribution: Slackware 13
Posts: 15

Rep: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation:
Would you recommend the product? yes | Price you paid?: None indicated | Rating: 10

Pros: Easy Novice friendly install, One CD, Debian based
Cons: The self imposed "free" distro status means no mainstream multimedia files will work out of the box.


Perhaps the closest linux users will ever get to "the perfect distro" One cd install, friendly & helpful community I can't say enough good things about this distro. It is a pleasure to use and it's a pleasure to be counted amoung this distros users. As I mentioned the "free" status of the distro means multimedia and the like has to be set up after the install. At first this sounds like a serious downside to novice users, however the ubuntu community does not keep it a secret how to set up such things. There are a few 3rd party applications that will aid in making this a mindlessly easy operation, such as automatix from www.getautomatix.com ,and easyubuntu for example. If linux ever takes a significant market share away from microsoft this will be the distro that does it. No other distro is even in the same league as ubuntu, The search for the perfect distro is over, and the age of Ubuntu is here
 
Old 12-08-2006, 04:16 AM   #8
slantoflight
 
Registered: Aug 2005
Distribution: Smoothwall
Posts: 283

Rep: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation:
Would you recommend the product? yes | Price you paid?: None indicated | Rating: 10

Pros: awesome packages as usual, vast improvement speedwise
Cons:


Its fast, its reliable. Looks nice, plays nice. It seems to have it all. Significantly faster boot-time as well, with the introduction of their upstart daemon.
 
Old 12-12-2006, 08:35 PM   #9
angryfirelord
 
Registered: Dec 2005
Posts: 498

Rep: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation:
Would you recommend the product? yes | Price you paid?: None indicated | Rating: 10

Pros: new everything! (firefox 2)
Cons: none


Really nice distribution, with about ~20000 some packages with everything enabled. So far, nothing has broken despite it being called "edgy".

Now only if Ubuntu would combine with PCLinuxOS....
 
Old 12-17-2006, 09:16 PM   #10
IndyGunFreak
 
Registered: Aug 2003
Distribution: Desktop- Debian Lenny, Laptops- Ubuntu 8.10, Debian Lenny UMPC- Ubuntu 8.10
Posts: 1,297

Rep: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation:
Would you recommend the product? yes | Price you paid?: None indicated | Rating: 10

Pros: Easy install, Great community support
Cons: None


My favorite distro, hands down. Works perfectly, no speed problems, the Repo's are full of almost any software package you could possibly imagine..

IGF
 
Old 12-19-2006, 11:03 AM   #11
kazuya1977
 
Registered: Sep 2005
Distribution: crunchbang (debian squeeze), ubuntu 11.04, archbang (archlinux), salix 64, chakra, mepis
Posts: 42

Rep: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation:
Would you recommend the product? yes | Price you paid?: None indicated | Rating: 10

Pros: simplicity and beauty and functionality, fast, lots of customization and flexibility
Cons: none to speak of


This is the best OS for me today. I personally prefer Zenwalk for my use and all, but Edgy is great for users of all PC levels.And everything just works, the community support is unparallel. Wonderful product. And like somebody else mentioned here. It really puts some of the bigger commercial distros to shame.

This distro is a serious contender if not already the best OS on Earth. Windows is not even nearly close to being as good as many of these other distros. Other reputable or equally great ones include Zenwalk, Mepis, Sabayon,Vector Linux,Pclinuxos, and others.
 
Old 12-30-2006, 11:02 AM   #12
DennisO
 
Registered: Dec 2006
Distribution: Ubuntu Edgy Eft
Posts: 7

Rep: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation:
Would you recommend the product? yes | Price you paid?: None indicated | Rating: 7

Pros:
Cons:


I'm new to any form of Linux, and Ubuntu seems to suit my needs. The only problem I have, is that being new to this style of OS, my "point and click" ways of Windows still wants to shine through, and the only command I've mastered is gedit through root.

I'd like to see more support on sites that info or programs need to be installed from, because there are more new users making the transformation to linux based products than I ever thought possible. With the release of Vista on the horizon, a lot of people I know are jumping ship and moving to linux of one form or another. So, I think a simple "This is how you do it" format for idiots such as myself, is a good thing. Aside from that, I love the freedom it allows me.
 
Old 12-31-2006, 03:55 AM   #13
MattJUK
 
Registered: Dec 2006
Distribution: Ubuntu 8.10
Posts: 80

Rep: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation:
Would you recommend the product? yes | Price you paid?: None indicated | Rating: 10

Pros: Easy to install, fast OS, very flexible and customizable, user friendly, excellent community
Cons: NONE!


Purchased a new laptop a couple of days ago and wanted to install linux on as a dual-booted system. I read many reviews on different distributions and what problems I may encounter, etc, etc. I was more than pleased when Ubuntu worked straight away out of the box with virtually no tweaking to do. All I had to do was enable wireless internet connection in the administration tools, which only involved checking an unchecked box!

Power management and all worked straight away, as did hibernate, various close-lid tasks etc!

Ubuntu is an excellent user friendly distribution for beginners and the more advanced alike. The community behind the project is immense.
 
Old 12-31-2006, 07:49 PM   #14
linuxgoober
 
Registered: Feb 2006
Posts: 2

Rep: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation:
Would you recommend the product? yes | Price you paid?: None indicated | Rating: 8

Pros: Very Easy to Use
Cons: Has some minor issues with dependancies.


I got more power on my laptop with Ubuntu than with Windows. 3d acceleration and sound didn't work out of the box.
 
Old 01-02-2007, 11:04 AM   #15
digitaldivider667
 
Registered: Jan 2007
Distribution: RHEL, Ubuntu, OpenSUSE 10.2, Fedora Core 6
Posts: 7

Rep: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation:
Would you recommend the product? yes | Price you paid?: None indicated | Rating: 7

Pros: sleek and easy to understand huge apt-get repositories, huge user community
Cons: hardware configuration wasn't fun at all


I decided to download ubuntu 6.10 a few weeks ago and wanted to try it on a home pc I built out from scratch. so i torrented the ISO, burned it, and prayed for the best as I set the bios to boot from the CD... from there, it all went down hill.

let me give you an idea as to what hardware I had before I go further in:
video card: BFGtech geforce 7600gt (no sli, well, not yet..)
memory: 1GB ddr2 800
processor: amd 4200+ x2 (socket am2)
motherboard: Abit Fatal1ty 32x (socket AM2 mainboard)
hard disk(s): 1 250GB Western Digital Caviar with 16mb cache and approximately 20GB of unformatted space for the linux install, and 1 40GB dell hard drive connected with a PCI PATA controller (figured I would use some of the drive as SWAP space if linux could see the controller and drive) a logitech g15 keyboard and g5 mouse and a 20" dell CRT monitor.

So I go to run the live CD on my system and my keyboard fails to respond. i can't make another selection with it at all. So I wait for the timeout to go and for ubuntu to autorun the live CD and then there was some massive failure because some flagrant error showed up and refused to boot ubuntu ( I'm sorry, but I don't recall the exact error message) so dismayed I stored the CD for a while before I tried it on an older (but not by much) system with the following specs:

processor: pentium 4 2.8ghz (no hyperthreading)
mainboard: dell foxconn mainboard
video card: radeon 9800 pro
memory: 1GB ddr400
hard drive(s): 120GB main drive with 12GB unformatted for ubuntu and a 10GB secondary drive used as swap for the current windows install (and for ubuntu I hoped)
standard ps/2 keyboard
dell usb laser mouse
17" dell CRT monitor

This time the live CD worked but the screen resolution was horrible. truth be told, I expected this since the card was ATI. I decided to try to install it reguardless. Gparted made partitioning easy. Ubuntu proceeded to install without a problem, the system went down and came back up. My windows partition was still there and ubuntu was just fine.

seeing as how my resolution was screwed up I decided to test the "user community" with the almighty google and see if I could fix up decent resolutions on an ATI video card. Sure enough, I found what i wanted and installed the fglrx drivers as recommended and screen resolutions were finally on point.

for my next trick I decided I would find out if I could get xgl and compiz working with user community's directions. the first set of directions I tried off google the directions broke the current window manager and nearly made ubuntu unusable. had to go into single user mode and delete the offending script to get functionality back. the second method I tried the repository I was told to add to the /etc/apt/source.list file didn't have all the packages required so I was screwed there too. the bottom line is that the ubuntu user community as large as it is, is a double-edged sword.

Overall I put up with a lot of crap to get ubuntu to finally work on one my systems and I really didn't see what all the fuss was about. Only real advantages that Ubuntu has is that it is based off debian, which is noted for it's stability the user community is huge, and software repositories are even bigger. I didn't really like the whole "there's no root account" thing either. call it what you want, but I like being the super user, not having to sudo every single administrative command when I want to use them. Of course there's the whole sudo /bin/bash thing to work around that too, but again, I don't think I should have to. I'm not going to bother uninstalling ubuntu from my system, as I'm still very new to it and want to give it due time and process before i decide to chuck it, however I'm not going to recommend it to serious linux users because in spite of the popularity, there are better distros available.
 
Page:  1 · 2 · 3 More Items




  



All times are GMT -5. The time now is 03:15 PM.

Main Menu
Advertisement

My LQ
Write for LQ
LinuxQuestions.org is looking for people interested in writing Editorials, Articles, Reviews, and more. If you'd like to contribute content, let us know.
Main Menu
Syndicate
RSS1  Latest Threads
RSS1  LQ News
Twitter: @linuxquestions
identi.ca: @linuxquestions
Facebook: linuxquestions Google+: linuxquestions
Open Source Consulting | Domain Registration