LinuxQuestions.org
Welcome to the most active Linux Forum on the web.
Go Back   LinuxQuestions.org > Reviews > Distributions > Slackware
User Name
Password

Notices

Search · Register · Submit New Review · Download your favorite Linux Distributions ·
 

Slackware 11
Reviews Views Date of last review
51 785456 04-02-2008
spacer
Recommended By Average Price Average Rating
94% of reviewers None indicated 9.4
5-a.jpg
supersize


Description: Announcing Slackware Linux 11!

The first Slackware release more than a year in the making, this
edition of Slackware combines Slackware's legendary simplicity,
stability, and security with some of the latest advances in Linux
technology. Expect no less than the best Slackware yet.

Among the many program updates and distribution enhancements, you'll
find two of the most advanced desktop environments available today:
Xfce 4.2.3.2, a fast and lightweight but visually appealing and easy
to use desktop environment, and KDE 3.5.4, the latest version of the
award-winning K Desktop Environment.

Slackware uses the 2.4.33.3 kernel bringing you advanced performance
features such as the ReiserFS journaling filesystem, SCSI and ATA RAID
volume support, SATA support, and kernel support for X DRI (the Direct
Rendering Interface) that brings high-speed hardware accelerated 3D
graphics to Linux. Additional kernels allow installing Slackware
using any of the journaling filesystems available for Linux, including
ext3, ReiserFS, IBM's JFS, and SGI's XFS. Slackware 11.0 also fully
supports the 2.6 kernel series, with your choice of the well-tested
2.6.17.13 kernel in /extra (including a version of this kernel that
supports multiple processors, multi-core CPUs, HyperThreading, and
about every other optimization available), or the recently released
2.6.18 kernel in /testing. This kernel also spent a long time in
development and in our own testing has proven to be fast, stable,
and reliable.

All of these kernels may be used with Slackware's CD/DVD based
installation system, and NFS network installs may be done using the
2.6.17.13 (huge26.s) kernel.

From the beginning, Slackware has offered a stable and secure Linux
distribution for UNIX veterans as well as an easy-to-use system for
beginners. Slackware includes everything you'll need to run a
powerful server or workstation. Each Slackware package follows the
setup and installation instructions from its author(s) as closely as
possible, offering you the most stable and easily expandable setup.

Here are some of the advanced features of Slackware 11.0:

- Runs the 2.4.33.3 version of the Linux kernel from ftp.kernel.org.
Special kernels were prepared to support hardware such as SCSI
controllers, SATA controllers, USB keyboards and mice, parallel-port
IDE devices, IBM PS/2 machines with the Microchannel bus, and even
speech synthesizers providing access to Linux for the visually
impaired community. The performance of the 2.4.x kernel series
along with Slackware's track record of careful attention to system
security make it the perfect choice for running your production
servers.

- As an alternate choice, Slackware 11.0 includes Linux 2.6.17.13
and 2.6.18 kernel source, kernel modules, and binary packages,
along with the mkinitrd tool and instructions on using it to
install the new kernel (see /boot/README.initrd). When running a
2.6 kernel, Slackware supports udev. This is a system for
creating devices in /dev dynamically, greatly reducing device
clutter and making it easy to see what devices are actually
present in the system. Udev probes for and enables hardware on
the system, much like the hotplug system does for a 2.4 kernel.

- System binaries are linked with the GNU C Library, version 2.3.6.
This version of glibc also has excellent compatibility with
existing binaries.

- X11R6.9.0 (same codebase as Modular X.Org 7.0.0)
This is the X.Org Foundation's X Window System. The 6.9.0 version
includes additional hardware support, functional enhancements, and
bug fixes compared with the 6.8.2 release that shipped in Slackware
10.2, and we're added additional support for some recent popular
Intel graphics chipsets.

- Installs gcc-3.4.6 as the default C, C++, Objective-C, Fortran-77,
and Ada 95 compiler.

- Support for fully encrypted network connections with OpenSSL,
OpenSSH, and GnuPG.

- Apache 1.3.37 web server with Dynamic Shared Object (DSO) support,
SSL, and PHP.

- PCMCIA, CardBus, and APM support for laptops. (pcmcia-cs-3.2.8
and pcmciautils-014). Slackware also now includes hotplug and
udev support. This locates and configures most hardware
automatically as it is added (or removed) from the system.
It also loads the kernel modules required by sound cards and
other hardware at boot time.

- New development tools, including Perl 5.8.8, Python 2.4.3,
Ruby 1.8.4, Subversion 1.4.0, and graphical tools like
Qt designer and KDevelop.

- Updated versions of the Slackware package management tools make it
easy to add, remove, upgrade, and make your own Slackware packages.
Package tracking makes it easy to upgrade from Slackware 10.2 to
Slackware 11.0 (see UPGRADE.TXT). The slackpkg tool in /extra can
also help update from an older version of Slackware to a newer one,
and keep your Slackware system up to date. In addition, the
slacktrack utility (in extra/) will help you build and maintain
your own packages.

- Web browsers galore! Includes KDE's Konqueror 3.5.4,
SeaMonkey 1.0.5 (this is the new replacement for the Mozilla
Suite), and the immensely popular Firefox 1.5.0.7, as well as
the Thunderbird 1.5.0.7 email and news client with advanced
junk mail filtering.

- The complete K Desktop Environment (KDE) version 3.5.4, including
the KOffice productivity suite, networking tools, GUI development
with KDevelop, multimedia tools (including the amazing Amarok
music player), the Konqueror web browser and file manager, dozens
of games and utilities, international language support, and more.

- A collection of GTK+ based applications including gaim-1.5.0,
gimp-2.2.13, gkrellm-2.2.9, gxine-0.5.7, xchat-2.6.6, xsane-0.991,
and pan-0.14.2.91.

- Large repository of extra software packages compiled and ready to
run. This includes various window managers, the K3b CD burning
application for KDE, the Java(TM) 2 Software Development Kit
Standard Edition, libsafe (advanced buffer overflow protection for
additional security), ISDN support, additional 802.11 drivers, and
much more (see the /extra directory).

- Many more improved and upgraded packages than we can list here. For
a complete list of core packages in Slackware 11.0, see this file:

ftp://ftp.slackware.com/pub/slackwar...0/PACKAGES.TXT

- Another Slackware exclusive: Slackware's ZipSlack installation
option is the fastest, _easiest_ Linux installation ever. ZipSlack
provides a basic text-based Linux system as a 70 megabyte ZIP archive.
Simply unzip on any FAT or FAT32 partition, edit your boot partition
in the LINUX.BAT batch file, and you can be running Linux in less
than five minutes. The ZipSlack installation includes everything you
need to network with Linux (including Ethernet, token ring, and
PPP), and extend the system with additional software packages such as
X. A ZipSlack system will even fit on a 250MB Zip(TM) disk, so you
can carry a personal Linux system with you to run on any PC with a
250MB Zip(TM) drive.
Keywords: Slack tgz Slackware 11


Author
Post A Reply 
Old 10-09-2006, 06:04 PM   #1
mipia
 
Registered: May 2003
Distribution: Debian, Mint, Slackware
Posts: 457

Rep: Reputation:
Would you recommend the product? yes | Price you paid?: None indicated | Rating: 10

Pros: includes 2.6, fast, stable, the usual
Cons: none so far



Same ncurses install as previous distibutions. Optional 2.6huge kernel at boot:
Nothing to fancy as far as new features, as it leaves that to the software developers, not the distribution packager(s).
Its fast, its stable, its expandable as you want it to be.
 
Old 11-04-2006, 03:06 AM   #2
feedz
 
Registered: Jun 2006
Posts: 3

Rep: Reputation: Reputation:
Would you recommend the product? yes | Price you paid?: None indicated | Rating: 10

Pros: recent and stable 2.6, much faster than other distros
Cons: none i've seen


My 3rd linux trial and I'm hooked. Tried red hat 4 if iirc, mandrake 9.2 and slack 10.2 is the distro that got me seriously on linux. Trial and error in the text based console got me up to speed much faster than fumbling through GUIs.
Fast, stable and very good documentation together with support. I've yet to fail at adding a feature I want.
 
Old 11-06-2006, 01:02 PM   #3
ritziyap
 
Registered: Oct 2006
Distribution: Slackware 11
Posts: 15

Rep: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation:
Would you recommend the product? yes | Price you paid?: None indicated | Rating: 9

Pros: stability and speed
Cons: configuring


I've tried fedora, suse and mandrake, but this is the best so far.

fedora is buggy, suse is sometimes lag and mandrake is over-made.

if you want a simple, stable, and fast linux distro, then this is for you. there's no fancy installation gui, no clicking and scrolling when configuring, no bullshit others. just straight to the point.

install, configure and run.

my goal was to setup a server from a decent hardware system that covers the very least minimum cpu load.

the only downside is you'll be learning a lot about linux.

=) would recommend this if you're serious about installing a linux os.
 
Old 11-12-2006, 01:45 PM   #4
Sh@wn_T
 
Registered: Nov 2006
Distribution: Slackware
Posts: 0

Rep: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation:
Would you recommend the product? yes | Price you paid?: None indicated | Rating: 8

Pros: Hardware support, the Slackware reputation, available packages.
Cons: Tweaks needed after major upgrades.


I upgraded from 10.2 with relative ease. I did experience the following problems: had to reinstall ndiswrapper to fix my Linksys PCI wireless card, I had to reinstall/upgrade my Nvidia drivers to use X Windows again. Also, my Samba configuration is no longer quite right and my sound is not working. All of these are trivial mods to my configuration I'm sure. Once you get Slack 11 up and running however, the updated features are great.

I have also used this version on a clean install and everything went flawlessly. Installation and updates continue to get easier with each version.
 
Old 11-18-2006, 04:35 AM   #5
johngreenwood
 
Registered: Nov 2006
Distribution: Slackware 13
Posts: 243

Rep: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation:
Would you recommend the product? yes | Price you paid?: None indicated | Rating: 10

Pros: A great way for newbies to start learning Linux
Cons: haven't found one yet


I am very new to Linux, but Slackware 11, pretty much my fist distro, has made me feel at home. Having to use the command line has taught me many things, and there is yet more to learn, I can't wait.
 
Old 11-24-2006, 03:25 PM   #6
Tom Nyskelo
 
Registered: Oct 2006
Distribution: Slackware, Arch
Posts: 17

Rep: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation:
Would you recommend the product? yes | Price you paid?: None indicated | Rating: 10

Pros: Stable, fast, no gui hell.
Cons: None


It's the best linux distro I've ever seen. And I've been through a lot of them - Red Hat, ASPLinux, Mandrake, Fedora, Gentoo. If you want simplicity, stability, control over your system and great performance then Slackware is a damn right thing for you. And Slackware 11.0 just proves it once again.
 
Old 11-25-2006, 02:11 PM   #7
GamerX
 
Registered: Nov 2006
Distribution: Slackware
Posts: 102

Rep: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation:
Would you recommend the product? yes | Price you paid?: None indicated | Rating: 10

Pros: Light no-nonsense installer, wonderful for learning linux, helpful literature cleverly placed in just where its needed.
Cons: Not for the faintest of heart.


I think I found my favorite distro! If you have some experience using Linux and wish to advance this knowledge, get this one B)
 
Old 11-29-2006, 07:14 AM   #8
Zmyrgel
 
Registered: Dec 2005
Distribution: Slackware, CentOS, RHEL, OpenBSD
Posts: 1,006

Rep: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation:
Would you recommend the product? yes | Price you paid?: None indicated | Rating: 9

Pros: Stable, KISS mentality
Cons: Some 'old' packages


Slackware is one of the best linux distros that I've used. The latest 11.0 release is great but it still has few 'flaws' in it. It still defaults to 2.4 kernel although the 2.6 has been around for a while now (provides packages for 2.6). Same for some other packges like the toolchain (gcc, glibc, binutils). Besides these few exceptions the slackware ships with pretty new and stable software which works. I never had any serious problems with Slack.

Great distro and I'm looking the next release if the toolchain is updated and it defaults to 2.6 kernel.
 
Old 12-01-2006, 03:55 PM   #9
todders
 
Registered: Nov 2006
Distribution: Slackware 13 64Bit Multi-Lib KDE4.2.4
Posts: 83

Rep: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation:
Would you recommend the product? yes | Price you paid?: None indicated | Rating: 10

Pros: An enjoyable linux learning curve
Cons: None at all


I a newbie to slackware having tried out numerous distros including,fedora core 6,ubuntu,mandrake 2007,gentoo,centos,pclinus os etc.this release has made me learn linux and iam happy with what i have achieved,very stable,quick,very uncluttered, configurable,almost too much so lol..all mp3,wma,ogg play out of the box, an excellent release try it you wont be disappointed..

regards

adrian
 
Old 12-01-2006, 04:04 PM   #10
grunt547
 
Registered: Nov 2006
Distribution: Slackware 12.2, Ubuntu 8.10
Posts: 30

Rep: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation:
Would you recommend the product? yes | Price you paid?: None indicated | Rating: 10

Pros: Speed, simplicity, stability
Cons: Duplicate software


Slackware 11 is a great product, equally suitable for use as a desktop or a server. The learning curve is a little steeper at first, with the curses console-mode installer, but at the end of the installation, you know an awful lot more about what went into your system than with most distributions.

Slackware's philosophy of favoring stable software over the absolute latest version produces a system that "just works" on pretty much any hardware. The distribution doesn't tie itself too tightly to a specific kernel, either, so building your own kernel, whether for speed or just because, is an easier undertaking than with other distros.

The only problem Slackware suffers from is a tendency to include several software packages that do the same thing. It's getting better, though, and it's far less susceptible to this problem than most distributions that fill more than half a dozen CDs.

Overall, Slackware is a well-thought-out distribution, and every Linux user should give it a try at least once.
 
Old 12-01-2006, 04:04 PM   #11
grunt547
 
Registered: Nov 2006
Distribution: Slackware 12.2, Ubuntu 8.10
Posts: 30

Rep: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation:
Would you recommend the product? yes | Price you paid?: None indicated | Rating: 10

Pros: Speed, simplicity, stability
Cons: Duplicate software


Slackware 11 is a great product, equally suitable for use as a desktop or a server. The learning curve is a little steeper at first, with the curses console-mode installer, but at the end of the installation, you know an awful lot more about what went into your system than with most distributions.

Slackware's philosophy of favoring stable software over the absolute latest version produces a system that "just works" on pretty much any hardware. The distribution doesn't tie itself too tightly to a specific kernel, either, so building your own kernel, whether for speed or just because, is an easier undertaking than with other distros.

The only problem Slackware suffers from is a tendency to include several software packages that do the same thing. It's getting better, though, and it's far less susceptible to this problem than most distributions that fill more than half a dozen CDs.

Overall, Slackware is a well-thought-out distribution, and every Linux user should give it a try at least once.
 
Old 12-10-2006, 01:36 PM   #12
Feinom
 
Registered: Mar 2004
Distribution: Slackware 12.2
Posts: 40

Rep: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation:
Would you recommend the product? yes | Price you paid?: None indicated | Rating: 10

Pros: Stability, easy to install, easy to customize
Cons: None so far


Slackware is by far the best distro I have used. I've tried numerous other distros, but I always come back to Slackware.

Recommended if you actually want to learn Linux!
 
Old 12-16-2006, 10:25 PM   #13
inkedpenguin
 
Registered: Dec 2006
Posts: 2

Rep: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation:
Would you recommend the product? yes | Price you paid?: None indicated | Rating: 9

Pros: No-nonsense distro which works well for experienced users
Cons: Does require basic knowledge of Linux to use


I had been running SuSE since 2000 (version 6.4) and it did work well, but it seemed to get further away from the command line as I was growing more comfortable with it. I finally grew weary of feeling that the OS was once again trying to take over and only allow as much control as some committee far away felt I could handle, which was one of my reasons for leaving Microsoft's Windows for Linux. I tried Ubuntu, Mandriva and Fedora but they all left me with a similar feeling:D . My perception of Slackware had been that it was for uber-geeks who didn't mind spending hours hand-configuring everything, but I finally decided that I'd take a chance, so I downloaded the DVD ISO and burned a DVD-RW.

I had been using text-based installers with the other distros when they offered the option, but they all ran as though they were an afterthought. With Slackware, they only have a text-based installer, but it works very well. I went from booting the DVD to usable system in under 30 minutes. I did have to manually configure a few things, but overall it went very smoothly. If you're not afraid of the command line (and you really don't need to be) Slackware is a really good distro. :D
:Pengy:
 
Old 12-18-2006, 08:03 AM   #14
johnnyblade
 
Registered: Mar 2004
Distribution: Slackware64 13.1
Posts: 30

Rep: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation:
Would you recommend the product? yes | Price you paid?: None indicated | Rating: 10

Pros: Fast, stable, rock solid.
Cons: Installation can be difficult for novices


What can I say? This is the best distro I've ever used. If you have the Linux skills, this is THE distro for you. Everything is simple and straightforward Linux. There are no "variations" in KDE like there are in Fedora, or SuSe. In fact Slackware has the best KDE support I've ever seen. Manual partitioning and formatting are great for the intermediate to skilled user. You can choose your filesystem which is great for those of us who prefer ReiserFS, like I do. On the whole, if you have the skills, get this distro, if you don't, Slackware can be a good trial by fire without nearly the intensity of other more "difficult" distros. I love this system.
 
Old 12-18-2006, 06:33 PM   #15
ganooch
 
Registered: Aug 2006
Distribution: Slackware 11.0
Posts: 39

Rep: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation:
Would you recommend the product? yes | Price you paid?: None indicated | Rating: 10

Pros: Fast, secure, stable
Cons: Difficult to enable DRI (actually a fault of ATIs drivers)


Great release of a great distro. Slack is as fast and stable as ever with great reliability.
 
Old 12-22-2006, 08:15 PM   #16
Busch
 
Registered: Nov 2006
Posts: 9

Rep: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation:
Would you recommend the product? yes | Price you paid?: None indicated | Rating: 9

Pros: fast, stable, secure, no BS
Cons: configuring can be annoying sometimes



Slackware was my first linux distro I have ever used. I have tried alot of other distro's as well, debian, fedora, sourcemage, yoper, gentoo, suse, mandrake. Ubuntu I have used for a while untill 11.0 came out and now im back to slackware again.

Slackware just feels stable and faster than other distro's, which is why i like it. Ubuntu seems like a good distro since you dont really need to do anything to make it work, but its just not for me and there is so much more variety with slackware.

For people who want a solid linux system yet easy to use and not the ones with all the preconfigured crap (ex: ubuntu). Then slackware is for you.
 
Old 12-28-2006, 02:35 AM   #17
MFC
 
Registered: Mar 2005
Posts: 31

Rep: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation:
Would you recommend the product? yes | Price you paid?: None indicated | Rating: 9

Pros: no BS, pure and clean
Cons: None, but for the technically impared this is subject to change.


My first distro was Slackware back in -95. When folks braged about their RPMS I ate tarballs. Slackware has been one of few distros that has maintained its glory for all these years. I have used 40some distros and I still keep coming back to Slackware because of the fact that I know what I get with Slackware. Today there is no excuse not to go for Slackware, with documentation and the community around it there really is no option.
 
Old 01-01-2007, 11:37 AM   #18
Randux
 
Registered: Feb 2006
Distribution: Slackware & Slamd64. What else is there?
Posts: 1,705

Rep: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation:
Would you recommend the product? yes | Price you paid?: None indicated | Rating: 10

Pros: Less filling, runs great
Cons: Can't think of any except maybe lack of binary packages


I've been using Slackware since 10.2 (that's newbie in Slacker-speak) but it feels like an old friend. The user community is outstanding and this is a truly excellent distro spearheaded by one person (Pat The Man) that artfully combines flexbility, bloatlessness, and usability, all in one package.

I'm sure you could set up a distro like Gentoo or LFS on your machine which was as nice as Slackware, but it would take a lot longer. Pat puts Slackware together the way it should be put together- everything fits, everything works, and you can control the install enough to have pretty much only what you want. Pat chooses his pieces carefully and conservatively and it gives you a pretty good feeling.

Minor annoyance with 11.0 is that huge26.s is not huge enough- it doesn't come compiled with support for all the filesystems in it so it's a pain in the ass if you have to boot your installation from the Slackware 11.0 install disk using the pregenerated kernel. Or maybe I missed something.
 
Old 01-07-2007, 12:53 PM   #19
snorov
 
Registered: Jan 2007
Distribution: Slackware 11.0.0
Posts: 0

Rep: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation:
Would you recommend the product? yes | Price you paid?: None indicated | Rating: 10

Pros: Stability, easy to install, easy to customize
Cons: None so far


rterte
 
Old 01-09-2007, 03:59 AM   #20
gegechris99
 
Registered: Oct 2005
Distribution: Slackware 14.1 64bit
Posts: 728

Rep: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation:
Would you recommend the product? yes | Price you paid?: None indicated | Rating: 9

Pros: Stability, great community
Cons: Installation requires manual configuration steps


I started using Linux in June 2005. I wanted to learn linux so I installed Gentoo. The learning curve was steep but rewarding. However running on an old PC (500 Mhz), compiling from source was a hassle.

So I went looking for a distribution that allows me to tweak rapidly the system to my needs. One friend recommended me Slackware. I was unimpressed by the website but I installed Slackware 10.2 in september 2005.

As I looked for information on Slackware, I discovered a great community here at LQ and a wealth of documentation on various sites.

In spite of being the oldest surviving distribution (or maybe because of it), Slackware commands a faithful following that seems rather open-minded. You won't find the kind of "my distro is the one, others suck" folks, but rather the "I love my distro and want to help you love it too if you want" kind of folks.

Slackware strikes the right balance for me between ease of configuration and the feeling to be in control of my system.

Now I'm running Slackware 11.0 and I plan to stay in the Slack family for the time being.
 
Old 01-17-2007, 08:37 AM   #21
terrio
 
Registered: Jan 2007
Distribution: Linux Mint 11
Posts: 29

Rep: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation:
Would you recommend the product? yes | Price you paid?: None indicated | Rating: 10

Pros: Fast & Stable
Cons: None


It is simple, if you really want to learn Linux, Slackware is the answer.
 
Old 01-18-2007, 02:20 AM   #22
parcox
 
Registered: Jan 2007
Distribution: Slackware64-14.0
Posts: 26

Rep: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation:
Would you recommend the product? yes | Price you paid?: None indicated | Rating: 10

Pros: Fast, Stable, Secure, and Simple
Cons: none, so far so good


The best distro I've been tried, this is the distro of stell :D
 
Old 01-18-2007, 02:20 AM   #23
parcox
 
Registered: Jan 2007
Distribution: Slackware64-14.0
Posts: 26

Rep: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation:
Would you recommend the product? yes | Price you paid?: None indicated | Rating: 10

Pros: Fast, Stable, Secure, and Simple
Cons: none, so far so good


The best distro I've been tried, this is the distro of steel :D
 
Old 01-23-2007, 03:17 AM   #24
PCPbSlack
 
Registered: Sep 2005
Distribution: Slackware 10.2 & 11
Posts: 11

Rep: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation:
Would you recommend the product? yes | Price you paid?: None indicated | Rating: 10

Pros: Speed, simplicity, stability in every situation
Cons: None


Using Slackware I learned and I am still learning Linux.
 
Old 01-27-2007, 06:23 AM   #25
LifeWins
 
Registered: Jan 2007
Posts: 1

Rep: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation:
Would you recommend the product? yes | Price you paid?: None indicated | Rating: 10

Pros:
Cons:


Simply the Best distro!
 
Old 01-28-2007, 12:53 AM   #26
H_TeXMeX_H
 
Registered: Oct 2005
Distribution: slackware64
Posts: 12,928

Rep: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation:
Would you recommend the product? yes | Price you paid?: None indicated | Rating: 10

Pros: speed, simplicity, stability, security
Cons: you need to tweak it a bit yourself


The best Linux distro by far. While most other Linux distros are disappointing in various ways, this one is awesome and 'it just works'. If you've had it with all the other "distros", try slackware (perhaps the only hope to save those thinking of turning to the dark side once more).
 
Old 01-29-2007, 03:29 PM   #27
kaixa
 
Registered: May 2005
Posts: 36

Rep: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation:
Would you recommend the product? yes | Price you paid?: None indicated | Rating: 10

Pros: just a damn right distro
Cons: makes me addicted :(


I've tried Gentoo, RedHat, SuSe, Mandrake. Nothing can beat it.

My true love :)
 
Old 02-11-2007, 02:36 AM   #28
pappy_mcfae
 
Registered: Feb 2007
Distribution: Gentoo x86 & x86_64
Posts: 190

Rep: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation:
Would you recommend the product? yes | Price you paid?: None indicated | Rating: 10

Pros: Stable, friendly, ultimately configurable, likes my Win2K LAN
Cons: package maanager, CUPS, Samba, and screensaver configuration can be tricky


I first used Slackware in 1994. It came with Debian and Red Hat on "Info Magic" CD's. I tried all three at that time, and Slackware was the only one that not only ran, but actually would load the GUI, such as it was (FVWM I think).

I recently decided to start playing with Linux again, and it seems that once again, Slackware has won my heart. I have tried numerous other distributions (including Debian (sucks) and Fedora (sucks more)), and not a one has come close to working as well and predictably as Slackware.

Debian crashed a lot. Fedora had more bugs than a pack of wild dogs running through a field of tall grass.

Slackware is awesome. Now, if only someone could get to the task of writing a fully functional multi-track audio recording/mixing suite to work under ANY Linux. Too bad someone can't get the source code for Cool Edit Pro or Adobe Audition and port it to Linux. That would truly rock the Casbah, and it would be more than enough enticement for me to say a fond farewell to MickeySoft!

Blessed be!
Pappy
 
Old 02-14-2007, 02:08 PM   #29
suna22
 
Registered: Dec 2005
Distribution: Slackware 11.0
Posts: 12

Rep: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation:
Would you recommend the product? yes | Price you paid?: None indicated | Rating: 10

Pros: very stable, smoking fast, not full of crap and garbage
Cons: kind of a steep learning curve for newbies


I was first exposed to Slackware back in 1995 while I was still in university. Back then, i did not think much of it. I was reacquainted with it back in 1999, and again last year. I started on Slackware 10.2 - and let me tell you - it was not easy at first! I struggled trying to install it without a SWAP partition, then i must have screwed up LILO i don't know how many times! :) But in the end, when you make it through the install - you have really learned something. Since you had to "participate" in the install (ie give it some thought, and not click NEXT, NEXT NEXT, ACCPET, NEXT, YES, YES, YES, FINISH) - you have a real understanding of how to set up the machine, instead of pressing next on a useless GUI.

I have used other distros, (redhat and ubuntu), but i remain impressed with Slackware. There has to be something said for the "original" linux distribution, that is still maintained today. Pat is as top notch as they come! A lot of people say that Slackware is the most "unix" like distro. That may be so - but THAT is how you really learn what is going on.

The following sentence sums it up very nicely.

If you want to learn windows - use RedHat.

If you want to learn linux - use Slackware.
 
Old 02-15-2007, 05:55 AM   #30
Zlipknott
 
Registered: Dec 2006
Distribution: Debian Sid
Posts: 17

Rep: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation:
Would you recommend the product? no | Price you paid?: None indicated | Rating: 5

Pros: simple (no dependencies etc), original
Cons: no package manager


No pacakge management sucks, better use Debian with apt, altho this distro is nice.
 
Page:  1 · 2 More Items




  



All times are GMT -5. The time now is 01:09 PM.

Main Menu
Advertisement

My LQ
Write for LQ
LinuxQuestions.org is looking for people interested in writing Editorials, Articles, Reviews, and more. If you'd like to contribute content, let us know.
Main Menu
Syndicate
RSS1  Latest Threads
RSS1  LQ News
Twitter: @linuxquestions
identi.ca: @linuxquestions
Facebook: linuxquestions Google+: linuxquestions
Open Source Consulting | Domain Registration