LinuxQuestions.org
Go Job Hunting at the LQ Job Marketplace
Go Back   LinuxQuestions.org > Reviews > Distributions > Gentoo
User Name
Password

Notices

Search · Register · Submit New Review · Download your favorite Linux Distributions ·
 

Gentoo 2006.1
Reviews Views Date of last review
15 53665 02-24-2009
spacer
Recommended By Average Price Average Rating
87% of reviewers None indicated 8.6



Description: For Gentoo there are only these words:
Debian rulez but Gentoo rockz :)
The only new to last release is a full funtionally installer that really works:)
What my opinion is about itīs gone too easy.
Gentto ever was a Distro for people really interessted in Linux Systems.
Today with this installer itīs to easy to use and that could be dangerous.Every guy who starts Linux can set it up without great probs(he will get them later)
User friendlyness as an Argument?? Don`t think so .It will be more and more an Selling Argument .
Whatīs the next an Anaaconda installer like VLos ? or a YAST Clone? :)

Gentoo is cool but it goes more and more the commercial line. (A friend told me ,if it holds this way there is only one way out: Change to BSD and take a real Unix :))

Maybye......

So hope U find this usefull

with kind regards

beowulf71
Keywords: Gentoo,Source Distros,Portage


Author
Post A Reply 
Old 10-12-2006, 11:34 AM   #1
oldsko0l
 
Registered: Feb 2006
Distribution: Ubuntu Dapper, Gentoo 2006.1
Posts: 140

Rep: Reputation:
Would you recommend the product? yes | Price you paid?: None indicated | Rating: 9

Pros: Configurable like always, pretty bleeding edge
Cons: compile time altough I don't care about that



I just love the emerge system! <3
The only thing I don't like is that sometimes things just don't work.. and it's pretty hard to find out what it is.
 
Old 11-02-2006, 04:41 AM   #2
mimosinnet
 
Registered: Feb 2006
Distribution: Gentoo
Posts: 21

Rep: Reputation: Reputation:
Would you recommend the product? yes | Price you paid?: None indicated | Rating: 10

Pros: Excellent documentation, Total Configurability, Extremely Stable
Cons: Patience needed


Gentoo can be highly optimized and customized. The user and developer community are very involved and helpful. Good if you want to learn and you are /want to be involved with linux social and technical principles.
 
Old 11-17-2006, 10:24 AM   #3
khairil
 
Registered: May 2005
Distribution: gentoo
Posts: 23

Rep: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation:
Would you recommend the product? yes | Price you paid?: None indicated | Rating: 10

Pros: all of em'
Cons: none


i tried FC, ubuntu, suse, mandrake, debian, etc

but gentoo rocks! (beside linuxfromscratch.org)
 
Old 12-02-2006, 03:24 AM   #4
coolb
 
Registered: Apr 2006
Distribution: Gentoo 2006.1(2.6.17-gentoo-r7)
Posts: 222

Rep: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation:
Would you recommend the product? yes | Price you paid?: None indicated | Rating: 10

Pros: all the normal gentoo ones :-)
Cons: the new gui install is werid :-), no 'nocona' in gui for /etc/make.conf &lt;-- have to manually input it


The best gentoo yet but I gotta get used to the gui install, the gui installer seems werid :-)
 
Old 01-06-2007, 10:06 PM   #5
sonicbhoc
 
Registered: Aug 2006
Distribution: Gentoo
Posts: 61

Rep: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation:
Would you recommend the product? yes | Price you paid?: None indicated | Rating: 10

Pros: Excellent community, portage is the best package manager, no dependency hell, compiles everything from source
Cons: compile times


That's really all there is to it: Gentoo Linux is Linux from Scratch with a package management system.

It DEMANDS that the user puts time in to learn stuff about their computer, and do almost everything by themselves. It is gentoo's greatest strength. You can have a system compiled, tailored to your needs to do whatever you want, however you want it to.

Gentoo doesn't protect you from your computer - it opens it up to you.

The gentoo motto is: If it moves, compile it. I like this motto. ;)
 
Old 02-11-2007, 08:01 AM   #6
Samoth
 
Registered: Apr 2005
Distribution: Ubuntu dapper(2.6.17.4-custom), Gentoo 2006.1 amd64(2.6.17-r8-custombuild)
Posts: 472

Rep: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation:
Would you recommend the product? yes | Price you paid?: None indicated | Rating: 10

Pros: Package manager, colors in package manager, source, USE flags
Cons: No reverse dependency checking


I run this on a mythtv server and my personal desktop/workstation. I also run it on a mythtv multimedia frontend for watching, and it took me literally 1 day to get it working. Go Gentoo!

Only thing Gentoo really needs is reverse dependency checks when unmerging programs, but it is fairly smart so that if you do mess something up, it will fix itself.

I really like how they color everything and everything related to the package manager( I can't stand debian's no-color apt ).

USE flags are a brilliant idea, and it is better now that you can set them on a package-by-package basis with /etc/portage/package.use.

I would recommend this to anyone who has some time and really wants to learn about linux/package management.

The old Slackware motto was, "If you want to learn a distro, get that distro, if you want to learn linux, get Slackware." I think that has changed ;-)
 
Old 03-04-2007, 09:25 AM   #7
rocket357
 
Registered: Mar 2007
Distribution: OpenBSD-CURRENT
Posts: 476

Rep: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation:
Would you recommend the product? yes | Price you paid?: None indicated | Rating: 10

Pros: Configurability, Stability
Cons: requires patience


Gentoo is my favorite Linux distro. It's certainly easier to use now than ever, but it still has so much to offer in terms of config potential, speed, and stability. It's a great distro...

But I have to agree, *BSD is untouchable. I use FreeBSD and OpenBSD, and I have been playing with FreeBSD lately as my desktop. Gentoo holds a special place with me, and likely always will...but man, FreeBSD is seriously cool.
 
Old 04-09-2007, 12:51 PM   #8
foxteck
 
Registered: Oct 2003
Distribution: Gentoo Linux
Posts: 1

Rep: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation:
Would you recommend the product? yes | Price you paid?: None indicated | Rating: 10

Pros: Configurability, Stability, Number of Packages Avaliable, Bleeding Edge Technologies, Documentation, User Friendly Forums &amp; Community
Cons: Fast Moving Distribution, May be hard to mantain


Gentoo is a great distribution for anybody who wants to learn (really learn) Linux (and about the Open Source world too). Its a great framework to work with, gives you the latest and greatest tools and has safe defaults for most apps. Its great for servers not so great for desktop users with not much time to spare (who don't really want to maintain up-to-date their packages).

Has tons of features, its a great platform to learn and develop.

Downside is that it moves really fast, sometimes old packages get deprecated and removed from portage or become blockers and give you a few headaches. Not so good if you have legacy apps or if you need to support old systems.

Really good for pretty much anything else. Great and extensive documentation and a friendly (as in friendly to noobs) community willing to help.
 
Old 04-10-2007, 01:54 PM   #9
bioe007
 
Registered: Apr 2006
Distribution: archlinux
Posts: 654

Rep: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation:
Would you recommend the product? yes | Price you paid?: None indicated | Rating: 10

Pros: great community, _very_ fast
Cons: install takes a while (emerge xorg-x11 xfce ...zzzz)


I really like the idea of gentoo. In a practical sense it takes a while to emerge & compile everything when doing 1st install, once its up and configured though is really fast.

_don't go for the gui installer_ use a tarball and build from CLI (IMHO)
 
Old 07-03-2007, 08:51 PM   #10
suicideducky
 
Registered: Aug 2006
Distribution: Gentoo
Posts: 72

Rep: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation:
Would you recommend the product? yes | Price you paid?: None indicated | Rating: 10

Pros: Very very fast and optimised.
Cons: Slow install due to compiling, which is made up for with the run speed XD


Well seeming gentoo is the only distro to last more than a few months on my PC (currently at 7 months I beleive) and is running on a 633mhz pentium 3 just fine, I would have to say it wins my vote by far.
 
Old 07-05-2007, 12:19 AM   #11
j0hnnyb0y
 
Registered: Mar 2007
Distribution: Kubuntu among many others
Posts: 17

Rep: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation:
Would you recommend the product? no | Price you paid?: None indicated | Rating: 1

Pros: difficult installer
Cons:


I ran the Gentoo as a live DVD no problem. But I have to tell you I think this is the worst excuse for an installer I have ever seen. I have installed just about every flavor of Linux plus FreeBSD, and Solaris. They all were a piece of cake compared to Gentoo. This installer is junk as far as I am concerned. Just a rant I suppose but I am very dissapointed in this product.
 
Old 07-15-2007, 10:59 PM   #12
jeffshanab
 
Registered: May 2002
Posts: 12

Rep: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation:
Would you recommend the product? yes | Price you paid?: None indicated | Rating: 9

Pros: Portage, The guides, the Wiki, The Forum.
Cons: Lack of some ebuilds.(recently)


Download once. Update weekly, Machine doesn't get chance to get behind.
Popularity is artificially low because people don't download iso all the time. Slower Momentum means a little under staffed, Which means some ebuilds are behind. A few more developers on staff would be good.

Portage is actually very,very good. Could be used for a binary distro as easy as source distro.
 
Old 07-15-2007, 11:08 PM   #13
jeffshanab
 
Registered: May 2002
Posts: 12

Rep: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation:
Would you recommend the product? yes | Price you paid?: None indicated | Rating: 0

Pros:
Cons:


About Installation. I tried the standard style installer and didn't like the result.

I started with Gentoo when people did the "stage 1" style installations so for me, I like the

boot livecd and set up harddisk
copy tarfile and un tar it
Chroot into it and then let portage do the rest.

method. (There are scripts that people have written to do this)
 
Old 08-02-2007, 08:48 AM   #14
donhughes
 
Registered: Jan 2007
Distribution: Gentoo 2006.1
Posts: 2

Rep: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation:
Would you recommend the product? no | Price you paid?: None indicated | Rating: 1

Pros: Portage
Cons: The quality has gone very much downhill recently..


The installer is pure trash. Does not work at all on some systems. Used to be a slow and very manual install but then things worked beautifully. Now it is still slow and very manual, but VERY few things work properly without a hell of a lot of work. I am EXTREMELY disappointed in it now.
 
Old 02-24-2009, 09:59 AM   #15
deadeyes
 
Registered: Aug 2006
Posts: 605

Rep: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation:
Would you recommend the product? yes | Price you paid?: None indicated | Rating: 10

Pros: Configurable, rolling release
Cons: Compilation time (but is worth the pros)


I see people complaining about the installer.
I don't think this installer is developed to really use as you would for example in Ubuntu.

This installer uses binary packages, but every new package would still need to be emerged.

Just put some time in installing it, and after that, never do it again if you update regularly.

I have used Slackware, Ubuntu, Debian, Fedora and none of them can offer me what Gentoo offers.
I always get back to Gentoo.

Only OS I also am really pleased to use is FreeBSD.
 




  



All times are GMT -5. The time now is 09:45 PM.

Main Menu
Advertisement

My LQ
Write for LQ
LinuxQuestions.org is looking for people interested in writing Editorials, Articles, Reviews, and more. If you'd like to contribute content, let us know.
Main Menu
Syndicate
RSS1  Latest Threads
RSS1  LQ News
Twitter: @linuxquestions
identi.ca: @linuxquestions
Facebook: linuxquestions Google+: linuxquestions
Open Source Consulting | Domain Registration