LinuxQuestions.org
View the Most Wanted LQ Wiki articles.
Go Back   LinuxQuestions.org > Reviews > Books > Operating Systems > Linux
User Name
Password

Notices

Search · Register · Submit New Review · Download your favorite Linux Distributions ·
« Previous Product  · Next Product »

Running Linux
Reviews Views Date of last review
10 121182 04-04-2007
spacer
Recommended By Average Price Average Rating
100% of reviewers $19.47 8.7
spacer


Description: Running Linux has everything you'll need to understand, install, and start using Linux. The authors, experienced Linux enthusiasts, have anticipated problem areas, selected stable and popular solutions, and provided clear discussions and instructions to ensure that you'll have a satisfying experience using Linux. The discussion is direct and complete enough to guide novice users while still providing the additional information experienced users will need to progress in their mastery of Linux. The fourth edition of Running Linux delves deeper into installation, configuring the windowing system, system administration, and networking. New topics include applications ready for prime time, basic security and firewalling, package management on Debian, sound configuration, ADSL, the GNOME desktop, the Postfix mail transfer agent, and the popular LAMP configuration that combines Apache, MySQL, and PHP. A solid foundation text for any Linux user, the book also includes additional resources for dealing with special requirements imposed by hardware, advanced applications, and emerging technologies.
Keywords: Matt Welsh Linux
Publisher: O\'Reilly & Associates
ISBN: 0596002726


Author
Post A Reply 
Old 02-10-2004, 10:05 PM   #1
luap
 
Registered: Feb 2003
Distribution: suse 8.2
Posts: 78

Rep: Reputation:
Would you recommend the product? yes | Price you paid?: $4.99 | Rating: 8

Pros: well written
Cons: none really for what it tries to do



(Price paid for close out of 3rd edition.) This is the book to
get newbs started understanding the internals of Linux.
I refer to this book regardless of distro. This is the book
that finally almost got linux permissions in to my noggin.
 
Old 02-15-2004, 12:24 AM   #2
sharpie
 
Registered: Jan 2004
Distribution: Slackware 10.1
Posts: 190

Rep: Reputation: Reputation:
Would you recommend the product? yes | Price you paid?: None indicated | Rating: 9

Pros: Great tutorial for begginers, also good to refer to
Cons: Price, but I think all books are overpriced :P


Great book for beginners, and those who just finished their first linux book looking for something more. I went from a teach yourself in 24 hours to this, and I can say I might as well have skipped the 24 hour book, got alot more out of this. Easy to understand, and doesn't gloss over the things you want to know as a newbie. You'll also find yourself referring to this one.
 
Old 03-25-2004, 08:57 PM   #3
itsjustme
 
Registered: Mar 2003
Distribution: Slackware, Ubuntu, Smoothwall
Posts: 1,571

Rep: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation:
Would you recommend the product? yes | Price you paid?: $33.95 | Rating: 9

Pros: Good reference
Cons: 3rd Edition


I have the 3rd Edition. I've poked around in it for reference, but now I am considering reading through the whole thing as step toward getting some certification ('cause I need a job!)
I am just curious if anybody here can do a comparison between the 3rd Edition and what's newer, better, must-have in the 4th Edition. Is there enough new stuff in the 4th Edition to warrant a new purchase?
 
Old 03-28-2004, 11:35 PM   #4
Genesee
 
Registered: Dec 2002
Distribution: Slackware
Posts: 927

Rep: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation:
Would you recommend the product? yes | Price you paid?: None indicated | Rating: 10

Pros: comprehensive, well-written
Cons: cost


Very well-written and useful, highly recommended.
 
Old 05-02-2004, 01:37 AM   #5
mbegovic
 
Registered: Nov 2003
Distribution: Currently FC3
Posts: 342

Rep: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation:
Would you recommend the product? yes | Price you paid?: None indicated | Rating: 9

Pros: well-written, deep and insightful
Cons: none


I read the fourth edition of this book and I keep it near my desk for reference. It is one of the best computer books I've read (in fact, I think it is the only computer book I've actually read, aside from Thompson's "PC Hardware in a Nutshell"). "Running Linux" doesn't cover absolutely everything you'll need to know about Linux, and I've actually failed to find some answers that I really needed in my day-to-day usage. Nevertheless, reading it will give anyone a thorough understanding of all the important aspects of computing with a Linux-based system. From this foundation, it is very easy to extend your Linux knowledge. I definitely recommend it.
 
Old 08-03-2004, 06:02 PM   #6
tutwabee
 
Registered: Jan 2004
Distribution: Ubuntu 10.04
Posts: 145

Rep: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation:
Would you recommend the product? yes | Price you paid?: None indicated | Rating: 8

Pros: great for beginners, good reference book
Cons: some software mentioned is a little outdated


The beginning of the book is laid out for Linux newbies and slowly becomes more advanced. The book explains a lot about the inter-workings of Linux yet it is spread out nicely so readers can easily find material for reference.
 
Old 08-17-2004, 03:59 PM   #7
XavierP
 
Registered: Nov 2002
Distribution: Lubuntu
Posts: 19,176

Rep: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation:
Would you recommend the product? yes | Price you paid?: None indicated | Rating: 8

Pros: Comprehensive without being too long
Cons: Tries to cover all the bases


I have 2 problems with many Linux books: the first is that they all contain a history of Linux section which means that at least one section of the books need never be read, the second is that they all cover the same things, some to a greater extent than others.

All books of this type assume that they are the only one you will ever need, so they have installation sections (which, in this time of more and more easy graphical installs are largely redundant) and they all have the sections on programming - these sections are useless if you don't want to program and useless if you want to learn to program.

Those minor points aside, most Linux books are very very useful. This book, Running Linux, is one of those useful books. It is most useful as a tool for preparing your install and use - you can read it to discover the pitfalls or things you don't understand.

Once you go beyond the basics, there's a section on Essential System Management (incl. Single User Mode, for when you forget the root password), Upgrading Software, Installing the X Window System, Windows Compatibility and Samba (incl. WINE), TCP/IP and PPP, Basic Security and LAMP - all things which need thought laid out for you in easy to read language. There really is something for everyone.

Again, my gripe is that each section is too short - I'd like to see a box set witha book each dedicated to those chapters. Microsoft do it with their MCSE books, why can't Linux?

But definitely add this to your bookshelf.
 
Old 10-01-2004, 07:22 PM   #8
 
Registered: Dec 1969
Posts: 0

Rep: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation:
Would you recommend the product? yes | Price you paid?: None indicated | Rating: 10

Pros: Great Book For Newbies
Cons: None


This book provides exactly what someone new to the operating system needs. It covers everything with just enough information to saturate but not bore (to much :) ). The chapters cover all the majors for a user and some for the admin (when the user just happens to be the admin). Great for referance!
 
Old 10-09-2005, 07:34 AM   #9
tp11235
 
Registered: Feb 2005
Distribution: Gentoo
Posts: 105

Rep: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation:
Would you recommend the product? yes | Price you paid?: None indicated | Rating: 9

Pros: Excellent for newbies and a good reference for the not quite new
Cons: Not a substitute for LQ - you'll still run into problems


Great step by step guide to set-up. Does not assume a particular distro and so gives generic advice. I liked the fact that I was not being told to build my system in a very specific way. However, going your own way may teach you more about how to build a Linux system of your own but the learning will be painful. You need LQ open on another machine at all times.

Great background info on Unix that helps you understand why things are the way they are - and hence how to solve your own problems.

Linux in a Nutshell is also a necessary companion - buy them together.
 
Old 04-04-2007, 05:37 AM   #10
ashwin_cse
 
Registered: Jul 2004
Distribution: arch, rhel
Posts: 132

Rep: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation:
Would you recommend the product? yes | Price you paid?: None indicated | Rating: 7

Pros: excellent for newbies
Cons: has no indepth coverage on any topic


This book gives a general overview of linux & its various substems. Makes a good read if you have enough time or if you are satisfied with the overview of linux.
 




  



All times are GMT -5. The time now is 12:46 PM.

Main Menu
Advertisement

My LQ
Write for LQ
LinuxQuestions.org is looking for people interested in writing Editorials, Articles, Reviews, and more. If you'd like to contribute content, let us know.
Main Menu
Syndicate
RSS1  Latest Threads
RSS1  LQ News
Twitter: @linuxquestions
identi.ca: @linuxquestions
Facebook: linuxquestions Google+: linuxquestions
Open Source Consulting | Domain Registration