LinuxQuestions.org
Download your favorite Linux distribution at LQ ISO.
Go Back   LinuxQuestions.org > Reviews > Distributions > PCLinuxOS
User Name
Password

Notices

Search · Register · Submit New Review · Download your favorite Linux Distributions ·
 

PCLinuxOS 0.93a
Reviews Views Date of last review
19 111118 09-12-2007
spacer
Recommended By Average Price Average Rating
95% of reviewers None indicated 9.8



Description: PCLinuxOS 0.93a is the latest version of this distro, runs as a live CD and is installed from live. Features automatic hardware detection, Realplayer and MPlayer integrated in Firefox out of the box, and a gentle learning curve for newbies, with no sacrifice of power. Full version is BigDaddy, with smaller versions (Junior and MiniMe) for those who prefer less software to start and to build up the distro to their own preference. Much "bloat" has been removed by splitting up KDE packages, leading to enough space for OpenOffice (on BigDaddy), and faster KDE.
Keywords: PCLinuxOS mp3 realplayer mplayer KDE livecd texstar minime junior bigdaddy


Author
Post A Reply 
Old 08-27-2006, 02:37 AM   #1
davecs
 
Registered: Feb 2003
Distribution: PCLinuxOS
Posts: 485

Rep: Reputation:
Would you recommend the product? yes | Price you paid?: None indicated | Rating: 10

Pros: Super-smooth, everything just seems to work
Cons: New Grub startup requires fiddling for non-US keyboard.



I'll start with the "con" above. If you are not using a USA keyboard, then on bootup you need to press "E" a couple of times, and edit the "keyb=us" in the grub line to something for your locality, eg, keyb=uk for Britain. I also added "xres=1280x1024" (default 1024x768) though it's easy to adjust screen resolutions later. Then hit ENTER, then "B", to boot.

You boot up into an attractive desktop. The default mouse behaviour is that icons require a double-click like Windows, less confusing for the new Linux user, easily changed from KDE Control Centre (which takes care of personal desktop stuff). PCLinuxOS Control Centre (systemwide adjustments) is more powerful than ever. KDE itself has been stripped down by splitting up packages and not including much of the bloat, which creates space on the disk for OpenOffice, and also means that it goes faster.

The installation has been completely re-written. It's easy to use, you've got automated "partitioning" as an option, or you can use existing partitions, or you can customise it yourself. You can also choose between LILO and GRUB.

Hardware is mostly detected. As with any Linux, there is always the danger that something does not work (under any Linux), but for stuff that is Linux-compatible, the detection is excellent. Once you have installed, you can use "Synaptic" to add more packages, including the "Multimediapack" which pulls in various essentials like libdvdcss, and a number of closed codecs, which are not on the CD for legal reasons.

Not only does it "just work", but the User Forum is very good. Mocking Newbies, slagging off other distros and "RTFM"-type replies are not allowed. There is also a WIKI giving loads of extra help, and you can even download user manuals. The community is a "good place".

Since 0.92, Thac has moved from providing "unofficial" packages to becoming an auxilliary packager, with his Xorg builds, and much of his media stuff being moved to the official repos, though still under the guidance of Texstar. Thac has produced a number of "dkms" packages, which enable 3rd-party modules (drivers) to be automatically built against the kernel, and these include packages for nvidia and ati video cards, and many other awkward bits of hardware. No need anymore for more than one version of PCLinuxOS, just add "dkms-nvidia" from Synaptic and you've got an nvidia version, no messing!

This wonderful distro goes from strength to strength.
 
Old 09-16-2006, 06:44 AM   #2
sonicbhoc
 
Registered: Aug 2006
Distribution: Gentoo
Posts: 61

Rep: Reputation: Reputation:
Would you recommend the product? yes | Price you paid?: None indicated | Rating: 10

Pros: Nearly perfect in every way
Cons: Building your own kernel is a pain


Echoing the person above me, the community is awesome, the distro will get drivers for almost anything under the sun, there's excellent support, textar is awesome, PCLinuxOS Control Center is great, and it has a multimedia pack at no extra charge. :)

This is the most enjoyable experience I've had with a binary distro, and the only problems came when I compiled my own kernel.
 
Old 09-16-2006, 06:57 PM   #3
Ryuga
 
Registered: Sep 2006
Distribution: Elive 0.5
Posts: 0

Rep: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation:
Would you recommend the product? yes | Price you paid?: None indicated | Rating: 9

Pros: Everything "just works", easy to manage packages, very newb friendly, great community
Cons: Slow bootup, "bloated", a lot of "hand holding"


I have tried PCLinuxOS .93a "big daddy" since I heard a lot of great things about it. Here is my review on this version of the distribution.

Installation:

-When you first boot the livecd you are greeted with a fully functioning KDE complete with it's own unique "vista" inspired theme. Once you are done playing with the various programs and functions you can choose to install it via the icon on the desktop.
-Installation is pretty straight-forward. You first choose your partitions, what each partition file system should be. If you need to reboot before proceeding (like I did) it will say so and allow you the chance to reboot. Once done creating your partition layout the GUI will then proceed to install all of "big daddy" onto your machine. Once completed you will then be asked to change the root password, create an account, choose either grub or lilo as your boot loader, and whether you want KDE or Fluxbox as your default "window manager"/"desktop environment"

Post-Install:

-Upon reboot you are greeted with the default bootscreen depending on whether you choose KDE or Fluxbox. From here you can fire up synaptic to update/remove/add packages however you see fit, change the look and feel, and configure anything else you wish via the PCLinuxOS Control Center.

Pros
:

-With Synaptic it is very easy to manage packages and update the system as you see fit.
-Very newb friendly, highly recommended for users wanting to make the transition from Windows to Linux.
-Community is very friendly and tolerant of new commers, asnwering questions and offering guidance no matter how trivial the problem may seem.
-Everything "just works" little to no post-installation tweaks are required to get everything else fully functioning.

Cons:

-Boot up is slow compared to other Linux Distros out there.
-PCLinuxOS tries to incorporate every single little peice of hardware out there so everything "just works" so as a result the system is "bloated" and a lot of trimming is required to weed out unneeded programs and support.
-Since PCLinuxOS is very newb friendly there tends to be a lot of "hand holding" and very little is needed to be done "on your own"

Conclusion:

If you are looking for all your hardware to "just work" with little to no work on your part or new to the linux world then this is definately the distro for you. Experienced users and people that want little to no bloat in their system then you may not find what you are looking for here and should look elsewhere
 
Old 09-30-2006, 02:47 PM   #4
intoit
 
Registered: Aug 2006
Distribution: PCLOS
Posts: 1

Rep: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation:
Would you recommend the product? yes | Price you paid?: None indicated | Rating: 10

Pros: Everything worked out of the box. I run a PIII 1000 w 512 ram and this distro runs great. Boot time is comparible to other distro's, maybe a couple seconds slower but overall is quite satisfactory. This is a very polished OS and highly recommended for new
Cons: Had to boot the livecd into console to configure nvidia card. This is not a problem if you are expecting it.


I have run the live cd on a PIII 450 with 384 ram and was impressed how well it ran. I have it installed on a PIII 1000 with 512 ram and am more than pleased with the performance. Have been running for about 6 weeks and no problems at all. The installation was smooth as silk, the partition tool is very easy to use and once done installation took about 12 minutes to a usable desktop.
Updating went without a problem, synaptic works like a well oiled machine.
The development team has released a winner here with Big Daddy. [anticipation]I can't wait to see how they are going to top this.[/anticipation]
 
Old 09-30-2006, 05:10 PM   #5
tiarnach
 
Registered: Aug 2003
Distribution: Debian Etch sidux
Posts: 19

Rep: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation:
Would you recommend the product? yes | Price you paid?: None indicated | Rating: 10

Pros: Fast, Current, Easy to Update, Stable - Class Act!
Cons: Slight sound issues, printing


Easy install. Great hardware detection. Newbie friendly. Every application imaginable - and they all work great. 7-button mouse works, digital camera works, screen resolution right-on, sound works - what's not to like? First time I installed a Linux distribution and didn't have to spend half the night configuring everything to work.

It's fast, at least on my box. Faster than Windows, Xandros, Suse, Ubuntu..etc.

Texstar is on the ball. New application versions are always available faster then any distro I've used. Current versions of Opera, Firefox and Thunderbird are available in Synaptic. Hence, you always have the latest and greatest of whatever.

PCLOS is as stable as you can get. Been running it for about a year with no surprise fiascos. No quirks, no flakey mystery stuff. It's a very undemanding and forgiving distro.

Community is fine, somewhat elitist, yet friendly, and have to really look hard to find specific answers, but they're there. Besides, there's alot of excellent documentation.

I've had a few very (and I mean VERY) minor issues, really not worth mentioning; however, to be fair, there has to be some "cons". Sounds gets muted, and you have redo Kmix - but big deal. And, I've yet to get my HP laser printer to work. Again, no big deal.

As an end-all and do-all alternative to Windows, PCLOS will do the job. I'm Window-less, for example. Hard-core Linux veterns and distro-hoppers may find it too easy and want something that's more of a challenge.
 
Old 10-01-2006, 09:05 AM   #6
Merlin Whitewolf
 
Registered: Mar 2006
Distribution: Fedora Core 5 and PCLinuxOS
Posts: 75

Rep: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation:
Would you recommend the product? yes | Price you paid?: None indicated | Rating: 10

Pros: Simply Radical - works out of the box
Cons: slow boot up - but that can be fixed in the control center by unchecking services your don't need.


I tried some other "new-user friendly" distros, but they can't hold a candle to PCLinuxOS. It is hands down the best distro available, in my opinion.

Merlin
 
Old 10-01-2006, 10:32 PM   #7
fair_is_fair
 
Registered: May 2005
Posts: 511

Rep: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation:
Would you recommend the product? yes | Price you paid?: None indicated | Rating: 9

Pros: The easiest and most comprehensive distro going.
Cons: A few bugs in .93 I do not have in .92


I found .91 and .92 versions to be almost perfect. Everything worked flawlessly for me.

.93 has some problems with nvidia driver packages. Having the nvidia or ati driver options available during the install was awesome but the apt packages are flawed. Java does not work properly. I had quite a time getting sound to work properly because a usb device was chosen instead of the sound system. Never had that problem before.

I'm sure the developers will address bugs quickly. Remember, Pclos is beta.

Pclos .93 is still a wonderful operating system but I'm glad I left my .92 install intact.
 
Old 10-02-2006, 09:19 AM   #8
b18b
 
Registered: Nov 2005
Distribution: PCLinuxOS .92
Posts: 80

Rep: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation:
Would you recommend the product? yes | Price you paid?: None indicated | Rating: 10

Pros: Clean, Every piece of software you could want, hardware detection
Cons: minor issues with nvidia, but easily fixed


Overall I gave .92 a 10, but .93 is a 9.5 mostly because of having to manually install my nvidia driver.

.92 has been on my system almost a year now and .93 provides the latest kernel and permits full use of my 2 gigs of memory. So for now I am dual booting .92 and .93 until I get .93 fully setup.

Go with .93 Big Daddy for full support of your hardware and a very nice variety of default packages. Mini is good for basic hardware and configuration but needs some tweaking for hardware and the need to download software.

I was a distro jumper until .92, but still try all the new ones coming out on Distrowatch. Overall PCLinuxOS is the easiest to use with the most useful software packages available. Synaptic is clean and simple and NEVER have a dependency problem.

The forum is awesome and the help is fast and very helpful. There are a lot of seasoned users to provide input to help.
 
Old 10-11-2006, 03:30 PM   #9
trashbird1240
 
Registered: Sep 2006
Distribution: Slackware, Ubuntu (yes, both)
Posts: 463

Rep: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation:
Would you recommend the product? yes | Price you paid?: None indicated | Rating: 10

Pros: worked out of the box; none of the problems I had with other distros; best community forums around
Cons: hard to find up-to-date packages in recommended repository


PCLinuxOS worked out of the box when I struggled for two weeks with other distros. It worked as a LiveCD and the installation was easy.

It has native Linux support for Ralink USB Wireless interfaces in the rausb0 interface. That blew me away; no more ndiswrapper! Thanks to that, my internet connection has been rock-solid the entire time.

The forums are totally helpful; no one has ever told me to RTfM or "We can't help you until you give us more information." The forums are so good that I'm beginning to wonder if they're closely moderated -- or there's something about PCLinuxOS that attracts nice people.

The one con is I've had trouble finding up-to-date packages (XEmacs was several versions behind) and one quite technical piece of software in the recommended repository. HOWEVER, something about PCLinuxOS makes it easy to compile and install from source, when that never worked with the other distros I tried. I just do ./configure, make, make install and everything's set to go.

Get PCLinuxOS!
Joel
 
Old 10-16-2006, 11:26 AM   #10
Peter C
 
Registered: May 2006
Distribution: PC LInuxOS 0.92
Posts: 19

Rep: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation:
Would you recommend the product? yes | Price you paid?: None indicated | Rating: 10

Pros: Excellent distro in all three guises
Cons: The odd minor one, like the Numeral lock being switched off at sign in.


I have 0.93a Junior working on my old laptop an IBm Thinkpad 240, with a 300mhz CPU and 192mb RAM.

It runs more efficiently and quicker than Ubuntu 6.06 and Windows XP Pro that I had on the laptop previously.

I thought Ubuntu was a good distro, but I find Junior more to my liking on my old thinkpad.

Its very easy to configure PCLOS regarding multimedia support with mplayer amd xmms.

Synaptic is a gem for updating, well laid out and not suffering from dependency problems

The Control Center also works well.

Its a Distro that doesn't take much to get it working how you want it too and its very stable.

I also use 0.93a Junior as my main OS on my desktop too.

Back in may, I installed PCLOS 0.92 on my desktop and it replaced Windows XP as my main operating system. 0.92a was the first Linux distro I felt confident enough to use as my main OS, a testament on how good it was.

I find that 0.93a in all three guises i.e. Minime, Junior and Big Daddy is even better than 0.92.

0.93a is a great distro and I would recommend it to anyone who wishes to try Linux.

As a Windows replacement, I would recommend 0.93a Big Daddy or Junior.

For Linux users I would suggest trying the live CD to see what the fuss is about.
 
Old 11-12-2006, 12:44 AM   #11
mcrofut
 
Registered: Jan 2006
Distribution: Simply Mepis 6.0, PCLinuxOS .93a
Posts: 8

Rep: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation:
Would you recommend the product? yes | Price you paid?: None indicated | Rating: 10

Pros: It "just works" ,fantastic community,
Cons: Can't think of any


My "distro-hopping" days have ended! This is my main OS now. ALL hardware on my box found and set up FOR me. Some have mentioned sound issues, I found none with my SBLive PCI card. nVidia geforce4 set up no probs. HP printer, done, HP monitor,done. I see nothing to gripe about at all. The only time to boot into WinXP now is for the occasional gaming fix. That could be squelched if I could find the d/l for the PCLinux Supergamer DVD. Overall a wonderful experience for me.
As a side note, for a US$20 donation you're given access to Texstar's server with the newest updates first. I hear it's FAST too.

Mark
 
Old 12-03-2006, 12:06 PM   #12
teyster2
 
Registered: Nov 2006
Distribution: Kubuntu
Posts: 10

Rep: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation:
Would you recommend the product? yes | Price you paid?: None indicated | Rating: 10

Pros: Works outta box and works well with ATI and LCD displays.
Cons: none


Like a lot of us I try many distro's. PCLinux is hands down the best KDE distro available. It's just easy to use. Kubuntu ok, but you have to getautomatix, tweaks and more tweaks. Not so with PC Linux. I like the Gnome desktop and for that I use Blag. Like PCLinux it just works and like PCLinux the extras are in Synaptic Package Manager. Stop searching and start enjoying your Linux experience. It just keeps getting better. Bye the way both distros mentioned are great with the LCD monitors.
 
Old 12-11-2006, 12:29 AM   #13
poji23
 
Registered: Dec 2006
Distribution: PCLinuxOS
Posts: 3

Rep: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation:
Would you recommend the product? yes | Price you paid?: None indicated | Rating: 9

Pros: everything else
Cons: slow booting up


I've tried Mandriva Free, Mepis and this is my 3rd distro and I think this works the best. PCLinuxOS configures everything automatically and is really simple to use.

Highly recommended to those who wish to dive into linux and looking for a distro.
 
Old 12-17-2006, 06:45 AM   #14
Roxbury Ranger
 
Registered: Nov 2004
Distribution: PCLinuxOS .93
Posts: 8

Rep: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation:
Would you recommend the product? yes | Price you paid?: None indicated | Rating: 10

Pros: Installation and set up are easy
Cons: Can't think of any


What is it Apple likes to say about the Mac? ... Oh yes; it just works! This can be said in spades for PCLinuxOS.

After a couple of years with Mandrake/Mandriva, and an aborted attempt at Ubuntu, I've settled on PCLinuxOS until something better comes along.

This is simply the most user-friendly Linux distro I've ever used. It installed on my PC flawlessly and, because the distro. is extremely careful about the packages pre-installed, it is a very zippy KDE-based system.

And, it automatically updated KDE to 3.5.5 for me. What else could I ask for?!?!? (I could never get that to work properly in Mandriva's package update tool). Synaptic is great (though I do wish Firefox 2.0 was included in the list).

Any gripes I have are largely of my own making -so I give it a 10!

Keep up the great work!
 
Old 03-02-2007, 08:30 AM   #15
kazuya1977
 
Registered: Sep 2005
Distribution: crunchbang (debian squeeze), ubuntu 11.04, archbang (archlinux), salix 64, chakra, mepis
Posts: 42

Rep: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation:
Would you recommend the product? yes | Price you paid?: None indicated | Rating: 10

Pros: fast, stable, easy to use, easy to customize, big repo
Cons: none to speak of really, rpm-based


This is the only rpm-based distro I would consider and have already started to use primarily. It puts all the others to shame. Fedora is starting to get good also, but it is still not at the same level.
The Debian-based distros and slack-based ones were my favorite before. This distro is equally as great as those and then some.
 
Old 03-23-2007, 04:53 PM   #16
nybronx
 
Registered: Feb 2007
Distribution: PCLOS-Opensuse-Vector-XP-Vista Ultimate...Whatever is installed on test box that day...ha !
Posts: 4

Rep: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation:
Would you recommend the product? yes | Price you paid?: None indicated | Rating: 10

Pros: 99% user friendly
Cons: xorg.conf editing for nvidia card set-up



Like others am ex distro hopper PCLOS does what I need and does it fast on my rig. I found the forum, kind and eager to help Simply put I gave them my money. ITS that good.
 
Old 03-31-2007, 07:28 AM   #17
catweasel28
 
Registered: Mar 2007
Distribution: Mint, OpenSUSE,Dream
Posts: 68

Rep: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation:
Would you recommend the product? yes | Price you paid?: None indicated | Rating: 10

Pros: Everything
Cons: Nothing


After a bit of distro-hopping, I'd been getting along perfectly with SimplyMepis for almost 2 years - up until last summer. Their version 6.0 showed serious signs of dumbing-down so I started looking around again. Tried Kubuntu, which I soon realised didn't live up to the hype. Then ,with some trepidation, I decided to give Version 0.93 Big Daddy a try.
Wow! I thought I'd died and there really was a god after all. It runs perfectly on an aging P4 1.4GHz m/c with 384GB SDRAM and o/b graphics.
Everything Kubuntu claims to be but isn't!
Everything Mepis should have been but wasn't!
 
Old 05-03-2007, 10:34 PM   #18
winsnomore
 
Registered: May 2004
Distribution: #1 PCLinuxOS -- for laughs -> Ubuntu, Suse, Mepis
Posts: 315

Rep: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation:
Would you recommend the product? yes | Price you paid?: None indicated | Rating: 10

Pros: Everthing ... boot, speed, looks
Cons: Not much to complaim


Downloaded and ran on ASUS MB.

99% of distro's don't handle the ALI xx55 sound ... this one does.

Samba .. Remote Desktop .. out of box working .. including detecting other disks and fixing boot menu (Warren are you listening) worked cleanly .. it looks clean and works clean.

From start to finish < 20 minutes for install.

For others .. Dedicated hardware setup like SuSE wonderful .. I can't complain.

Only thing I couldn't install due to some repositories is xxdgb .. but that's not a "usual" package to install.

I have tried almost EVERY distro .. this one is the best , if you want KDE get this (I didn't try gnome install). KDE is default and is what I want.
 
Old 09-12-2007, 10:55 AM   #19
drhadidy
 
Registered: Sep 2007
Distribution: mandriva 2007.1
Posts: 7

Rep: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation:
Would you recommend the product? no | Price you paid?: None indicated | Rating: 0

Pros:
Cons:


im really impressed by the opinions here and will give it a try...
im on mandriva 2007.1 powerpack now... im new to linux and was having much troubles with MDK.. mostly coz im new to everything and still have the windows way of thinking...
but i had great support from communities...
now i want to ask a Q, if i install this system... what about the other applications not included??
like compiz and virtual box for example??
will i be able to install and use them somehow??
will i have to pay for that anything extra?
and what about Gnome guys??? im totally Gnome person...
and what about the updates?
and last thing does it support arabic and russian languages?
thank you guys
 




  



All times are GMT -5. The time now is 08:46 AM.

Main Menu
Advertisement

My LQ
Write for LQ
LinuxQuestions.org is looking for people interested in writing Editorials, Articles, Reviews, and more. If you'd like to contribute content, let us know.
Main Menu
Syndicate
RSS1  Latest Threads
RSS1  LQ News
Twitter: @linuxquestions
identi.ca: @linuxquestions
Facebook: linuxquestions Google+: linuxquestions
Open Source Consulting | Domain Registration