LinuxQuestions.org
Register a domain and help support LQ
Go Back   LinuxQuestions.org > Reviews > Distributions > MEPIS
User Name
Password

Notices

Search · Register · Submit New Review · Download your favorite Linux Distributions ·
 

SimplyMEPIS 6.0.
Reviews Views Date of last review
18 217132 01-29-2008
spacer
Recommended By Average Price Average Rating
83% of reviewers $15.00 8.5
SimplyMEPIS_6_0.png


Description: SimplyMEPIS 6.0

Your Simple Linux Desktop

SimplyMEPIS is for anyone who wants a complete desktop system that is easy to try, easy to install and easy to use.

The SimplyMEPIS bootable CD is compressed to contain as much software as possible. It includes over 900 packages. Once you try it, you'll see why one MEPIS user suggested the motto, "SimplyMEPIS, Simply Amazing."


Are you a Linux beginner, looking for a distribution that is easy to get into and learn. Check out Simply Mepis at www.mepis.com. It is designed for ease of use. Simply Mepis is Simply the best for everyone from beginners to advanced users that simply want to use their computers without all the hassles.

It all starts off with a single CD, which is fairly interesting. Why? Because this CD doubles up as both a LiveCD and the installation CD. This allows you to test the distribution before installing it, and saves you having to download another CD for installation. Personally, I think this is an excellent idea - you could show your friends MEPIS using the CD, and then start installing it within a few clicks. Here's to hoping that some other distributions pick up on the idea.

MEPIS has undergone a lot of changes between the release of 3.4-3 and 6.0. The biggest change is that now approximately 75% of the packages in SimplyMEPIS are Ubuntu-maintained. Most of the other 25% of packages are Debian-maintained. The remaining packages MEPIS uses are MEPIS maintained, which gives you "The Magic of MEPIS"TM. Most users will not notice the changes because the unique details that make MEPIS what it is are still there. We still use our own custom installer, and things are tweaked as they have always been, so that, on most machines, MEPIS "just works." Now it just works a little better, and runs a little smoother.

SimplyMEPIS 6.0 is a complete and safe desktop environment designed to meet the needs of everyday computer users. SimplyMEPIS offers advanced hardware autodetection, multimedia integration, and an easy to use installer. Featured software includes KDE 3.5.3, Kontact 1.2.3, OpenOffice 2.0.2, Firefox 1.5.0.4, Thunderbird 1.5.0.4, RealPlayer 10.0.7, as well as hundreds of other top quality applications. SimplyMEPIS 6.0 runs the latest security patched 2.6.15 Linux kernel from Ubuntu-Security.

Warren Woodford of MEPIS said, "Converting MEPIS to the Ubuntu pool while incorporating the latest Open Source software advances has taken several months, but it's been worth the effort. The Ubuntu team did a great job with the development of Dapper LTS. During the building of 6.0, we've enjoyed an unprecedented response from testers in the MEPIS community. Their bug reports and insights have been a big help. This appears to be the best version of SimplyMEPIS to date. Enjoy!"

The Ubuntu pools and community are a good match with MEPIS. Ubuntu's pools are stable, and they have a high engineering standard. The Dapper Drake pool is going to be maintained for up to 5 years, and MEPIS plans to support SimplyMEPIS 6.0 for 3 years. Because of the collaboration with Ubuntu, MEPIS is able to focus on improvements users will see instead of working under the hood.

The ISO image is available for download in the 'release' subdirectory at the MEPIS Subscriber's Site and at MEPIS public mirrors. Satisfied users are encouraged to make a contribution or make a purchase at the MEPIS store, in order to offset the costs of development of SimplyMEPIS 6.0 and to encourage further development of MEPIS Linux.


O so stable

O so fast

O so easy

O so simplyMEPIS



an OS for the 21st Century
Keywords: mepis linux simply simplyMEPIS Linux 6.0 Live-CD


Author
Post A Reply 
Old 07-25-2006, 11:39 AM   #1
samuelmp
 
Registered: Feb 2004
Distribution: mepis 3-4-3 [join us]
Posts: 154

Rep: Reputation:
Would you recommend the product? yes | Price you paid?: None indicated | Rating: 10

Pros: fast stable and better looks
Cons: no mp3 codecc



must say what a gerate distro it keeps on geting better and better

it's realy fast now, faster than 3.4.3!

there are some new nice wall papers now too

the only problem is that there is no mp3 codecc but apt-update fixes this anyway it's not that bad because nearly all distros do not include this kind of support
what is anoying is that when you go to play mp3's in ammarok
it just closes off straight away but as i have said
apt-get update fixes this and amarok then plays mp3 files

other than that it is an exclent distro

gimp is not hear in this relise though i think it was jue
to space [kubuntu and ubuntu dont] synaptic easly installs this

every thing elce you will be pleased about though

defantly give this one a try people it's top 2 at distro watch
 
Old 08-01-2006, 06:21 AM   #2
raldz
 
Registered: Oct 2005
Distribution: MEPIS and Ubuntu
Posts: 0

Rep: Reputation: Reputation:
Would you recommend the product? yes | Price you paid?: None indicated | Rating: 10

Pros: fast, wide hardware support
Cons: needs immediate upgrade upon install for multimedia


It's been three days since I've been playing around with the final release of SimplyMEPIS 6.0, and the words that come into my mind after the oohss, and aahhs is simply: “Linux Desktop on Steroids!” Although this is a review of the much awaited release of MEPIS 6.0, I decided to give it a title that reflects my impressions of the latest release from MEPIS.

See Full Review and Screenshots Here..
 
Old 08-02-2006, 02:12 AM   #3
79spitfire
 
Registered: Apr 2005
Distribution: MEPIS,Knoppix,Debian
Posts: 20

Rep: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation:
Would you recommend the product? yes | Price you paid?: None indicated | Rating: 10

Pros: Excellent Hardware Support, Excellent forums, Ease of use/configure
Cons: Multimedia support, easly solved, but takes work/reserch


MEPIS 6.0 is my home computer's OS. I have been using it since it was released, and I must say it is very good, fast and stable. Multimedia out of the box would just be icing on the cake. It uses KDE for an intuitive desktop, and comes pre-configured for most things a computer should do. Don't be fooled into thinking it's all fluff, it realy is a powerfull OS and is easily configured through GUI tools or on the command line. The live disk can at any time be used to fix a boched Xconfig, Grub or check hard drive health. Being based on the Ubuntu/Dapper pools for the majority of it's app software has only enhanced what was allready an outstanding distro.

Give it a try, This penguin (or Pyramid) has wings!
 
Old 08-30-2006, 01:01 PM   #4
swagner7
 
Registered: May 2006
Distribution: Kubuntu, Mepis
Posts: 36

Rep: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation:
Would you recommend the product? yes | Price you paid?: None indicated | Rating: 9

Pros: Fast install, great hardware detection, easy to use
Cons: user community not as big as other distros


The machine I installed Mepis 6.0 on had been running Kubuntu Breezy. I updated it to Dapper (not a fresh install) and some icons and menus disappeared in Open Office and I had some power management issues that I could not resolve. I came to the conclusion it was because I updated rather than installed Dapper fresh. I was faced with doing a clean re-install of Kubuntu and decided to put Mepis 6.0 on because I had been itching to give it a whirl (I have running Mepis 3.4.3 on another machine). Mepis 6.0 is by far one of the fastest installs I have ever had with any Linux distro. Power managment which was disabled by default in Mepis 3.4.3 now worked right out of the box. I added some additional repositories using Synaptic to install some additional software that was not included in the default repositories. I am nothing short of impressed. I have not had any problems with Mepis 6.0. When I went to run an MP3, Real Player kicked in and played the file flawlessly. I don't have a DVD drive on this machine, so I have not worried about movies, etc.

The distro is clean, it has great hardware detection, and I would highly recommend it, especially for any who are new to Linux. The advantage it has over Ubuntu/Kubuntu is that Mepis includes Firefox, Thunderbird, Skype, etc. I am also running Kubuntu Dapper on a Dell laptop and it works great, but I would give the edge to Mepis and would recommend it first to anyone contemplating the two.
 
Old 09-26-2006, 11:52 AM   #5
wim394
 
Registered: May 2004
Distribution: mandrake 9.2
Posts: 0

Rep: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation:
Would you recommend the product? yes | Price you paid?: None indicated | Rating: 10

Pros: stable,fast,always works just fine
Cons:


As a curious newbe I tried out many distros but always came back to Mepis.I like the "feel" of Mepis best and would recommend it to any newbe.
I am happily settled now and quit trying other distros.Excellent!!!
 
Old 09-26-2006, 11:02 PM   #6
yohhon
 
Registered: Dec 2005
Distribution: PCLinuxOS/Mepis
Posts: 4

Rep: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation:
Would you recommend the product? yes | Price you paid?: None indicated | Rating: 10

Pros: fast easy and stable
Cons: n/a


i love it
 
Old 10-05-2006, 11:39 AM   #7
ta0kira
 
Registered: Sep 2004
Distribution: FreeBSD 9.1, Kubuntu 12.10
Posts: 3,078

Rep: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation:
Would you recommend the product? no | Price you paid?: None indicated | Rating: 7

Pros: preconfigured for hardware and XOrg, simple install, LOTS of extras, very new kernel, lots of useful tools
Cons: can only specify *2* mount points at install (/ and /home), partitioner sucks (crashes; use cfdisk), *NO LILO*, forces a non-root account at install, no custom installation, one kernel choice, headers not included, very minimal distro docs included, 52 br


Maybe I'm just looking for the wrong things. I've been using Slackware for a while now and I primarily use Linux for software development. It has a feel to it somewhere between RedHat and Windows (not that that's bad, but it isn't for me.) A good distro for those who want a Linux OS but don't want to know all the details about how one works.
ta0kira
 
Old 10-05-2006, 11:42 AM   #8
ta0kira
 
Registered: Sep 2004
Distribution: FreeBSD 9.1, Kubuntu 12.10
Posts: 3,078

Rep: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation:
Would you recommend the product? no | Price you paid?: None indicated | Rating: 0

Pros:
Cons:


(the part that got cut off in "Cons:") 52 broken packages, KDevelop didn't compile KDE/WIN32 apps
 
Old 10-17-2006, 05:19 PM   #9
d_GeNeRiT
 
Registered: May 2004
Distribution: Fedora Core 5
Posts: 28

Rep: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation:
Would you recommend the product? yes | Price you paid?: None indicated | Rating: 10

Pros: Hardware detection is incredible! Everything works, Small installer, Noobie-Friendly
Cons: U gotta set up Printer using KDE wizard instead of CUPS admin page


Wow! Coming from Fedora Core 5 that I used the last 6 months I gotta say that Mepis 6 is the best Linux I have ever used in my entire life.

THe hardware detection is out of this world! Thats what really sold me on it. Its the only Linux that detected my soundcard with full duple support and made my microphone work. Suse 10.1 and FC5 could not get microphone to record so I could not use Skype. THis one comes with Skype already installed.

No configuring repos here, Its all done for you already updating with Synaptic GUI is a piece of cake. download one package to enable mp3 support, one other package to enable libdvdcss (encrypted DVDs) and your off and running.

KDe desktop is so beautiful and this thing boots up MEGA-FAST!!! Holy cow! I can barely read the things that are scrolling by during the boot sequence. That ta0kira character is obviously not familiar with KwikDisk which is how you mount partitions here. Its a piece of cake and I have my Windows partition mounted as well as my FC5 on a seperate hard drive. It is so easy!!! Everything is point and click here but there is also a command line if you are used to doing it that way.

Best of all there is no commitment here! You download the iso image which fits on 1 CD-R and it also doubles as a live CD. If you want to know how Mepis will work for you why not just boot off the live CD and you can test it all out without installing a single thing! Let me tell you I was hooked within 10 minutes and installed the real OS on my hard drive on top of Suse 10.1

I cant believe how under-rated this distro is, It is the best most stable linux ever! Instead of FC5 with 5 CD-Rs full of crap u dont want or need this one installs the basics and he rest of the packages you want u simply install with synaptic. Thats why it boots so fast for me because its not loading up a bunch of services and deamons that I dont want!

Need help? Go to http://www.mepislovers.com/forums/
and those guys answered my 3 noobie questions within 4 hours in the forum! What an awesome online community of support for this distro. I really cant say enough good things about it.
 
Old 10-20-2006, 08:41 AM   #10
Mikesoft
 
Registered: Jun 2005
Distribution: Fedora Core 6
Posts: 96

Rep: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation:
Would you recommend the product? yes | Price you paid?: None indicated | Rating: 10

Pros: Detected all of my laptop hardware
Cons: None


I have been using Simply Mepis since version 3.3. I have an Asus laptop in which I decided to install Simply Mepis 6.0. The installation was very easy. I simply booted from the disc as a live cd and selected 'install me' icon from the desktop and I was up and away! The installation not only installed mepis to the harddrive in only a few minutes but it also set up GRUB automatically.

Once I had rebooted I came face to face with my installation of Mepis. Mepis is the only distro which managed to detect all of my hardware correctly. Thats amazing considering its an Asus laptop! Even the earphone socket worked which had previously not been detected in other distro installations.

If anyone is new to Linux then I fully recommend Simple Mepis 6.0 as the best distro out.
 
Old 11-04-2006, 11:14 PM   #11
paynejp
 
Registered: Feb 2006
Distribution: Mandriva 2006
Posts: 4

Rep: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation:
Would you recommend the product? yes | Price you paid?: $15.00 | Rating: 9

Pros: Great hardware detection
Cons: WiFi was hard to set up


I got this version in a copy of Linux Format magazine. It installed flawlessly on an IBM 600X laptop. In contrast, Ubuntu and Knoppix 5 would not install. Ubuntu stopped after the login screen and Knoppix could not detect the CD drive properly and hung during boot. Mepis does hide network setup and the widget is a little counter intuitive. I had better luck not clicking the start network button, instead I just unplugged the wifi card and re-inserted it.
A good distro for beginners and advanced users alike.
 
Old 12-15-2006, 04:24 PM   #12
fschmeisser
 
Registered: Jun 2006
Posts: 9

Rep: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation:
Would you recommend the product? yes | Price you paid?: None indicated | Rating: 10

Pros: easy install newbie wireless works without configuration full featured
Cons:


I installed Mepis 6.0 on my old Thinkpad T20 (P3, 700 Mhz, 384 RAM) and everything worked with minimal configuration required. For practical reasons I only use a wireless connection and it immediately recognized my 802.11g card. KDE tools are very intuitive. Mepis is definitely my choice for refurbishing older laptops.
 
Old 01-02-2007, 12:51 AM   #13
newbiesforever
 
Registered: Apr 2006
Distribution: Distro-homeless. Lost.
Posts: 1,892

Rep: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation:
Would you recommend the product? yes | Price you paid?: None indicated | Rating: 3

Pros: installs very quickly
Cons: can't figure out how to set up wireless network; will not read my Windows partition; will not format its own partition to FAT32


This MEPIS is a step backward from the excellent SimplyMEPIS 3.3, which I had before, and I am disappointed.

In 3.3, I figured out easily enough how to get a wireless network running; here, some or all of the steps necessary have been changed, and I have no intuitive idea how.

3.3 could read my Windows partition, and could write to it if both partitions were formatted to FAT32. Not only can 6.0 not write to the Windows partition, it can't detect anything there. The installation, for some reason, did not allow me to format the MEPIS partition to FAT32; for some reason, there was only FAT16, so I formatted to that.

I liked MEPIS 3.3, but since this version is a clunker, I think I will move on to another distro (or, failing that, reinstall 3.3. Too bad.
 
Old 01-04-2007, 11:36 PM   #14
wallyberger
 
Registered: Aug 2006
Distribution: Mepis 3.4-3
Posts: 0

Rep: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation:
Would you recommend the product? yes | Price you paid?: None indicated | Rating: 7

Pros: hardware detection, function, stable
Cons: some configs harder to find than 3.4-3....


This distro seems so far to be extremely clean-very nicely put together group of packages, easy enough to set up for everyday usage, but as some may have indicated, things are harder(?) to find than in recent releases, but really there is less confusion in duplication of services. As with every distro I've seen some adjustment is necessary, but overall, everything just seems to "work". All should at least try to fly with this. Accept that it is new, and learn a little on the way it's good for your psyche.
 
Old 02-26-2007, 07:19 PM   #15
ele_gypsy
 
Registered: Feb 2007
Posts: 0

Rep: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation:
Would you recommend the product? yes | Price you paid?: None indicated | Rating: 7

Pros: vary easy install where ubuntu and gentoo wouldn't
Cons: my sound doesn't come trew fully and the cd player bumps and jumps- I wanted to save my windows for other things (?) but lost it during setup


I have just installed it on a pavilion xe-783 my bios only sees 64 mgb memory nad I'm not to sure on how to find the hardware manager. I know where to look at the hard ware but not to change it. Then again I am new and have to start somewhere. <Good Luck in yours.....:)?
 
Old 03-31-2007, 08:03 AM   #16
catweasel28
 
Registered: Mar 2007
Distribution: Mint, OpenSUSE,Dream
Posts: 68

Rep: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation:
Would you recommend the product? yes | Price you paid?: None indicated | Rating: 7

Pros: Hardware Detection, Partitioning &amp; Installation
Cons: No Gimp, No Development tools, Xara (yuck!), Aquarium etc.



While this version retains most of the excellent things about earlier versions, there is a certain amount of 'dumbing-down', as if they now see Xandros and Linspire as the main competition.
 
Old 04-06-2007, 09:58 PM   #17
Brianfast
 
Registered: Nov 2004
Distribution: Debian etch
Posts: 39

Rep: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation:
Would you recommend the product? no | Price you paid?: None indicated | Rating: 6

Pros: Actually works with my LCD resolution.. very fast and easy to configure things
Cons: horrible community absolute assholes who refuse to admit windows is more stable and user friendly


Good OS and developers but the userbase is simply atrocious, and if you are not an expert then you need it so I would not recommend based off the community (not run by MEPIS anymore)
 
Old 01-29-2008, 05:36 AM   #18
Alex2008
 
Registered: Jan 2008
Posts: 0

Rep: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation:
Would you recommend the product? yes | Price you paid?: None indicated | Rating: 9

Pros:
Cons:


Automounting works extremely well - my USB drive is automatically mounted, and Konqueror opens the drive. You can remove it by right clicking the desktop icon that appears, which not only unmounts the drive but also ejects it, which some distributions do not. The same is true for CDs, except that you get a prompt upon insertion asking what you want to do e.g. Open in new window.

------------------------------
Rims
 




  



All times are GMT -5. The time now is 01:51 PM.

Main Menu
Advertisement

Advertisement
My LQ
Write for LQ
LinuxQuestions.org is looking for people interested in writing Editorials, Articles, Reviews, and more. If you'd like to contribute content, let us know.
Main Menu
Syndicate
RSS1  Latest Threads
RSS1  LQ News
Twitter: @linuxquestions
identi.ca: @linuxquestions
Facebook: linuxquestions Google+: linuxquestions
Open Source Consulting | Domain Registration