LinuxQuestions.org
View the Most Wanted LQ Wiki articles.
Go Back   LinuxQuestions.org > Reviews > Distributions > Ubuntu
User Name
Password

Notices

Search · Register · Submit New Review · Download your favorite Linux Distributions ·
 

Ubuntu Dapper Drake 6.06
Reviews Views Date of last review
52 191565 12-18-2009
spacer
Recommended By Average Price Average Rating
96% of reviewers None indicated 8.8



Description: Ubuntu Linux is a complete desktop Linux operating system, freely available with both community and professional support. The Ubuntu community is built on the ideas enshrined in the Ubuntu Manifesto: that software should be available free of charge, that software tools should be usable by people in their local language and despite any disabilities, and that people should have the freedom to customise and alter their software in whatever way they see fit. "Ubuntu" is an ancient African word, meaning "humanity to others". The Ubuntu Linux distribution brings the spirit of Ubuntu to the software world.

The new release is titled Ubuntu 6.06 LTS (Long Term Support), and has a specific emphasis on the needs of large organisations with both desktop and server versions.
Keywords: ubuntu


Author
Post A Reply 
Old 07-13-2006, 04:07 PM   #1
introuble
 
Registered: Apr 2004
Distribution: Debian -unstable
Posts: 700

Rep: Reputation:
Would you recommend the product? yes | Price you paid?: None indicated | Rating: 10

Pros:
Cons: default install is a bit insecure



A great distribution, but some Linux experience is required to secure the system.
 
Old 07-16-2006, 01:35 PM   #2
bobbyj99
 
Registered: Apr 2006
Distribution: Ubuntu 7.04
Posts: 10

Rep: Reputation: Reputation:
Would you recommend the product? yes | Price you paid?: None indicated | Rating: 10

Pros: I liked the graphical installer/Live CD
Cons:


Great Distro, My favorite so far! If you know of a better one let me know, I try it out!
 
Old 07-17-2006, 05:53 AM   #3
tmbowie16
 
Registered: Jan 2003
Distribution: Ubuntu
Posts: 17

Rep: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation:
Would you recommend the product? yes | Price you paid?: None indicated | Rating: 10

Pros: Does exactly what it says on the tin, really really well
Cons: none


Been using Ubuntu for well over a year with no major probs, ive enjoyed the experience anyways. I built my machine with linux in mind, so everything is as compatible as it gets and worked perfect from the start.

Dapper Drake turned up, did a clean install, and..... wow! EVERY minor niggle i had has been worked out, plus Mark Shuttleworth and his team have made gnome and installing packages even sweeter, and many other things.

Ive just wiped Windows XP, saved 80gb of disk space, cos there's now nothing i need Windows for... goodbye to crashes, spyware, viruses and all the other junk that gives PCs a reputation for unreliability.

Long live the Ubuntu revolution.

Tom Bowie
 
Old 07-20-2006, 05:40 PM   #4
ctkroeker
 
Registered: May 2005
Posts: 1,565

Rep: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation:
Would you recommend the product? yes | Price you paid?: None indicated | Rating: 10

Pros: Easy to install, great support, looks good, does what I need.
Cons: none


Ubuntu Dapper is the best Ubuntu release yet. I'd recommend this to every novice.
 
Old 07-26-2006, 10:53 AM   #5
kazuya1977
 
Registered: Sep 2005
Distribution: crunchbang (debian squeeze), ubuntu 11.04, archbang (archlinux), salix 64, chakra, mepis
Posts: 42

Rep: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation:
Would you recommend the product? yes | Price you paid?: None indicated | Rating: 10

Pros: everything works, great community forum and instructions for anything, bleeding edge, yet very stable, best package manager
Cons: none to speak of


This is by far the most complete OS, I have had the honor of ever using. I never would have imagined this distro and OS to be so great.

My favorite distro used to be mepis. Mepis decided to use Ubuntu for its core for a reason. I see the reason now. Stability, speed is more than SUSE or Fedora for old and new PCs. Multimedia support and functionality is near flawless. Ridiculously large abundance of softwares and applications to install and use. These are readily available for installation without the need to go looking for them.

The gnome interface is the closest thing to the look and feel of Mac OSX tiger.

Better is the fact that I easily install kde, xfce, and other window managers without need for the commandline. These all integrate properly with each other.

Wine has never ran better on any other distro for me than in Ubuntu and the steps to use it were so simple.

My wife, and relatives, and co worker from my company IT dept, is an Ubuntu user now. For any issue that may come up for somethingseemingly difficult, there is an easy workaround. And the fixes for anythingsuggested by users is very quickly adapted or made available. The ability to customize and use yahoo msn skype messengers and voice chats, run even some music launch services, google earth, etc, open office, amarok {itunes replacer}, and more is unparallel. In addition, all is free.

You have to experience it to believe it. For multimedia, definitly look up automatix. This thing automates the whole process of installing basic things you may need for video, picture, audio or internet management.. Go check out the forum and the look of the users PCs, and you would become a believer as well. I must sound like a nut.

No windows for me as of 2003. I am spyware free, virus free, etc.. You even have samba a utility and many others that let you interface with a windows box on the same network with you., etc.
 
Old 08-02-2006, 02:05 AM   #6
hockey1767
 
Registered: Jun 2006
Posts: 1

Rep: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation:
Would you recommend the product? yes | Price you paid?: None indicated | Rating: 7

Pros: easy to install / easy to get CD
Cons: lackluster video card configuration /gnome interface


First, this is a very easy to install disrtribution, especially for dual booting, just follow the onscreen instructions and you won't make any mistakes.

Another plus is that it has pretty good detection of wireless cards out of the box, so to speak, including some USB wireless adapters. On the negative side, it it doesn't detect the it's not as easy as some other Linux distros to use NDIS wrappers to get your card up and running.

Even another plus: It's easy to get installation CD if your connection speed is slow. Just go to shipit.unubtu.org and request a copy or two of the disk. There is also a KDE version (but for some reason it's not as easy to configure for dual boot installations).

I've tried this OS on my desktop with no problems at all
Specs:
AMD XP 1900+
ATI Radeon 9800 Pro
40 GB HD
AC97' sound
Airlink 101 wireless super G PCI card (Atheros chipset)

ON my laptop I've had problems with the configuration of the video card and LDC screen: I can not get full coverage of the screen regardless of screen resolution and size selected. LAptop is a Dell Inspiron 2650
Pentium 4 1.7 GHZ
512 DDR
40 gig HD
video: Nvidia Gforce 2 Go card (16mb)
Wireless Working: realtec 8180 b /Airlink AWLC3025 g / Airlink AWLL3026 g (USB)
Wireless not working: Airlink AWLC4030-II (rev 1 does work) /Airlink AWLC3026 g / generic card with TI chipset 22 mbps b / wavebudy wireless b

All cards tried in Laptop are PCMCIA unles indicated.

This is my first review, and I am fairly new to Linux, so this if more or less from a newcombers view. (I have used Ubuntu, Kbubtu, Mandriva 2005 LE and 2006, Knoppix 4 and 5, mostly through the GUI and I don't have a lot of command line experience.
 
Old 08-04-2006, 01:30 AM   #7
danielph
 
Registered: Nov 2004
Distribution: Archlinux
Posts: 41

Rep: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation:
Would you recommend the product? yes | Price you paid?: None indicated | Rating: 8

Pros: Easy to install, great community, simple add remove huge database of software (deb)
Cons: Does not make the tea in the morning


After trying Xandros and Suse, I have used Ubuntu through Breezy and then through Dapper Alpha and Beta builds without reinstalling or really having any major problems. I have Dapper 6.06 running on my laptop and desktop now both without any problems.

It is a nice balance between Gentoo and Suse. Gentoo is more granular and configurable and Suse is more polished and developed.

The installation is solid and easy to setup / configure. I would advise you check in the Ubuntu forum for any issues that may relate to your specific hardware before installing.



Good job Mark
 
Old 08-05-2006, 02:23 PM   #8
DC@DR
 
Registered: Dec 2005
Distribution: Dapper Drake 6.06 LTS
Posts: 1

Rep: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation:
Would you recommend the product? yes | Price you paid?: None indicated | Rating: 10

Pros: Nice, Neat, Complete, User Friendly
Cons: Nothing in particular


This is definitely the Linux distribution of the year, Dapper Drake 6.06 LTS. My ultimate favorite!
 
Old 08-07-2006, 01:23 PM   #9
merlinof2
 
Registered: Aug 2006
Distribution: ubuntu 6.06
Posts: 1

Rep: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation:
Would you recommend the product? yes | Price you paid?: None indicated | Rating: 9

Pros: unbelievably easy install and operation
Cons: getting high end nVidia at full resolution


This is my second (5.10 was first) version of Ubuntu and I have to say this distro is superb and superior to any others I've run across so far. I've tried around 10 or so. Simple, easy to configure, easy to customize, fun to work with. Wife fell in love with it's simplicity and look... I've only had an issue with getting my nVidia GeForce 6200 running at anything above 1Kx768. Monitor supports 1600x1200....
 
Old 08-09-2006, 10:44 AM   #10
Geocritter
 
Registered: Jun 2005
Distribution: Debian, Ubuntu, FreeBSD
Posts: 66

Rep: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation:
Would you recommend the product? yes | Price you paid?: None indicated | Rating: 10

Pros: Excellent hardware recognition, ease of use
Cons: A little complication between the live cd and the regular install cd


This is the ONLY distribution to FULLY recognize ALL of my hardware on my Toshiba M55 laptop (including the SD card reader). The original installation disk is a bit of a bear, with a few gotchas; but if you use the installer off of the live CD, it goes perfectly, with all of the bugs from the betas that I had to deal with fixed in the final version. Fast, easy to navigate, and easy to add KDE or any desktop environment you want, if you don't like Gnome.
 
Old 08-11-2006, 11:57 AM   #11
angryfirelord
 
Registered: Dec 2005
Posts: 498

Rep: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation:
Would you recommend the product? yes | Price you paid?: None indicated | Rating: 10

Pros: synaptic, debian stability, too many to name
Cons: none


Excellent distribution, right up there with PCLinuxOS. Detected everything including my Wi-Fi card. Synaptic makes installing packages a snap.

If you install nvidia drivers and the resolution does not come out the way you want or something gets screwed up, run dpkg-reconfigure xerver-xorg. Select nvidia driver (not nv) and change the resolutions.

Try it!
 
Old 08-20-2006, 08:48 PM   #12
thepimpturtle89
 
Registered: Aug 2006
Posts: 2

Rep: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation:
Would you recommend the product? yes | Price you paid?: None indicated | Rating: 10

Pros: matches your level of experience
Cons: none


probably the 'best' distro out there for just about anybody. although you should try out a few distros before you determine what you coin 'best', there is no reason not to like this great distro. for newbies it has a great yet simple gui. simply check boxes to install the latest software through synaptic. or for the more experienced do everything through the great sudo apt-get install code.
it seems that everything just...works, something many distros lack. i once had a distro that refused to acknowledge that i was connected to the internet.
i started out dual booting this with windows, but no need. this doese everything. i soon reformatted and used this solo.
 
Old 08-20-2006, 11:43 PM   #13
linux-ishu
 
Registered: Aug 2006
Posts: 3

Rep: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation:
Would you recommend the product? yes | Price you paid?: None indicated | Rating: 10

Pros: Installation in 6 easy steps. Loads of software available. Easy to use
Cons: It doesn't prepare coffee


I received UBUNTU from Canonical(netherland) last month.
Nicely packaged.

Dapper was really easy to install in just 6 easy steps.
It asked minimum number of questions and got installed in less than half an hour.

UBUNTU people have done a great job by keeping the desktop clean and not cluttering with unwanted icons. Even the trash icon is move into the corner of the screen on the taskbar. Also the choice of each application(one of each kind) was a good move by these people so that a newbie is not confused on the choice of applications.

Highlights
----------
1) Based on the famous Debian Linux

2) Synaptic package manager to install new software and update the system

3) Long Term Support as promised by UBUNTU People

4) AlaCarte Menu editor to easily customize the applications menu

5) No Root user(though there is a workaround to actually enable it). So system is secure by default. Normal users can use the sudo command to do actitivities as superuser.

6) RythmBox music application to manage music collection.
By default supports OGG though MP3 support can be added by installing extra plugins from Synaptic.

7) OpenOffice 2.0.2 for creating and editing office documents(Includes MS WORD, EXCEL and POWERPOINT imports).

8) Loads of software available at ubuntu.com

9) Update Notifier.

10)Mozilla FireFox for browsing.

.
.
.

And it goes on....Oh man!!! I am describing UBUNTU.

In a sentence. Ubuntu is definitely Linux for Human Beings( and servers :-) )
 
Old 08-26-2006, 06:21 PM   #14
Ambimom
 
Registered: May 2006
Posts: 3

Rep: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation:
Would you recommend the product? yes | Price you paid?: None indicated | Rating: 9

Pros: Painless installation; software selection; interface
Cons: Audio and video installations needs tinkering


True, it was up and running in minutes, but just the basics. To get it to the level of performance I expect, it took about two weeks of research, forum requests for help, and trial and error. Suffice it to say that everyone was extremely helpful. I was very nervous about terminal commands, but quickly realized I could cut and paste most of what I needed! The rest is easily accomplished in the Add/Remove or Synaptic Package Manger. I just wish I didn't have to wait for three days before someone finally told me that I had to install a separate bunch of plugins and codecs. I also had a helluva time with my particular sound card setup. That took about two weeks to solve. I was ready to give up on Linux but I'm glad I didn't. I love it now. Ubuntu is fantastic; and it's free. What more can you want?
 
Old 08-26-2006, 06:59 PM   #15
robbbert
 
Registered: Oct 2005
Distribution: Let there be Ubuntu... :o)
Posts: 573

Rep: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation:
Would you recommend the product? yes | Price you paid?: None indicated | Rating: 9

Pros: Easy to install and use, looks good, and it's a serious and solid system
Cons: Won't run Microsoft software out-of-the-box *lol*


A revelation to me... Installed it, liked it, and would never switch back to proprietary (Microsoft) products.

This is "the real thing".
 
Page:  1 · 2 · 3 · 4 More Items




  



All times are GMT -5. The time now is 10:45 AM.

Main Menu
Advertisement

My LQ
Write for LQ
LinuxQuestions.org is looking for people interested in writing Editorials, Articles, Reviews, and more. If you'd like to contribute content, let us know.
Main Menu
Syndicate
RSS1  Latest Threads
RSS1  LQ News
Twitter: @linuxquestions
identi.ca: @linuxquestions
Facebook: linuxquestions Google+: linuxquestions
Open Source Consulting | Domain Registration