LinuxQuestions.org
Did you know LQ has a Linux Hardware Compatibility List?
Go Back   LinuxQuestions.org > Reviews > Distributions > MEPIS
User Name
Password

Notices

Search · Register · Submit New Review · Download your favorite Linux Distributions ·
 

MEPIS SimplyMEPIS 3.4-3
Reviews Views Date of last review
10 61367 09-25-2006
spacer
Recommended By Average Price Average Rating
90% of reviewers $4.95 8.8
logo.jpg


Description: Are you a Linux beginner, looking for a distribution that is easy to get into and learn. Check out Simply Mepis at www.mepis.com. It is designed for ease of use. Simply Mepis is Simply the best for everyone from beginners to advanced users that simply want to use their computers without all the hassles.

It all starts off with a single CD, which is fairly interesting. Why? Because this CD doubles up as both a LiveCD and the installation CD. This allows you to test the distribution before installing it, and saves you having to download another CD for installation. Personally, I think this is an excellent idea - you could show your friends MEPIS using the CD, and then start installing it within a few clicks. Here's to hoping that some other distributions pick up on the idea.


an OS for the 21st Century
Keywords: SimplyMEPIS 3.4-3


Author
Post A Reply 
Old 05-08-2006, 03:23 PM   #1
samuelmp
 
Registered: Feb 2004
Distribution: mepis 3-4-3 [join us]
Posts: 154

Rep: Reputation:
Would you recommend the product? yes | Price you paid?: None indicated | Rating: 10

Pros:
Cons: none



exclent hardware dection reconised my webcam DVB-T nova card
a LAN internet connecton and sound. must say I am pleased thats not to menson the MP3 support out of the box and java installed. one of the things that supprised me about is the quick time it takes to boot when you have installed the OS! it's even quicker than ubuntu 5.04 and that uses gnome

comes with Firefox - armarok - gimp - k3b - ktorrent -openoffice - and many more

and it's now in the top 4 at distrowatch

simply going places
 
Old 05-12-2006, 11:31 PM   #2
 
Registered: Dec 1969
Posts: 0

Rep: Reputation: Reputation:
Would you recommend the product? yes | Price you paid?: None indicated | Rating: 8

Pros: Ease of use
Cons: I only get internet as root


Purchased Linux Format, a magazine from England, here in Nova Scotia Can. Tried the "Live CD" and it ran very well. Only issue I have is I can only get Internet access as Root. Think I"ll install it anyway and use it to "Learn Linux"
 
Old 05-20-2006, 01:58 PM   #3
moocow82
 
Registered: Nov 2005
Distribution: Mepis
Posts: 8

Rep: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation:
Would you recommend the product? yes | Price you paid?: None indicated | Rating: 10

Pros: Live+install cd, ease of installation, lots of nice pre-configured features, powerful, hardware detection
Cons: only offers KDE desktop environment on installation


Simply works. This is a very easy to use, setup, and modify for your pleasure distribution. Of the distributions I have tried, this one is the only one that consistently works with hardware conflicts on different setups.

Try the new Beta version that is based on Ubuntu. Simply fantastic. Better default configuration than Ubuntu and respects you enough to allow you to log in as root.
 
Old 06-09-2006, 10:21 PM   #4
msixp_k7
 
Registered: Jun 2006
Distribution: mepis
Posts: 3

Rep: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation:
Would you recommend the product? yes | Price you paid?: None indicated | Rating: 9

Pros:
Cons:


This is great a system for everyone I ran the live cd works very good so dumping win and installing mepis thanks!!
 
Old 06-20-2006, 01:36 PM   #5
angryfirelord
 
Registered: Dec 2005
Posts: 498

Rep: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation:
Would you recommend the product? yes | Price you paid?: None indicated | Rating: 10

Pros: sets up everything
Cons: what is this con that you speak of?


I've been through Fedora Core 4, Ubuntu 5.04, DSL 2.4, and Knoppix but MEPIS is the only distro where everything was set up properly. MP3 support, OpenOffice, and even Wi-Fi was auto-detected, which is amazing because Wi-Fi is usually a pain to set up.

My only problem is that you haven't tried it yet.
 
Old 06-21-2006, 02:46 PM   #6
moheganer2
 
Registered: Jun 2006
Posts: 18

Rep: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation:
Would you recommend the product? no | Price you paid?: None indicated | Rating: 0

Pros: safe
Cons: confusing for newbies


i tried mepis to get away from windows.It didnt recognize my audio card which is one of my favorite features of a computer.every time i tried to download a new program something would go wrong- icould download nothing.it takes awhile to learn to do something and then there is always a problem at the end anyway.the only thing it is good at is surfinf the web. no wonder it is free.
 
Old 06-22-2006, 09:27 AM   #7
io13
 
Registered: May 2006
Posts: 16

Rep: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation:
Would you recommend the product? yes | Price you paid?: None indicated | Rating: 0

Pros: stable easy to use very easy to install
Cons: menu could be batter laid out


was using fedora core 5 but could not use my graphic card so switched back to mepis. Good distro stable and the live cd is good so try it out.
 
Old 06-26-2006, 06:11 AM   #8
lingerinde
 
Registered: Mar 2004
Posts: 1

Rep: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation:
Would you recommend the product? yes | Price you paid?: None indicated | Rating: 7

Pros: looks good and eazy to install
Cons: could not connect to internet I con only get dialup and could not get printer to work


The distro came with a computer magazine free version I am a linux newbe so could be my fault not tech enough
 
Old 07-01-2006, 10:08 PM   #9
manishsingh4u
 
Registered: Oct 2005
Distribution: OpenSUSE 11.0
Posts: 422

Rep: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation:
Would you recommend the product? yes | Price you paid?: None indicated | Rating: 7

Pros: Fully Loaded out of the box!
Cons: Didn't work on my 810E board


SimplyMEPIS 3.4-3 is a very nice debian based distribution. I used it on my friend's laptop (for some X related reasons, it didn't work on my old PC). It attacts me because -
1) It comes over a single CD.
2) This CD can be used as both Live CD and install CD, which is a unique feature,
3) It's fully loaded with 2 GB of nearly all the software out of the box for a coomon user.
4) The look and feel is nice including the splash while booting / shutdown.
 
Old 09-25-2006, 05:43 AM   #10
john biles
 
Registered: Apr 2006
Distribution: Mepis 3.4-3, Elive 0.5, Puppy 2.1, Gaming Linux, Windows XP all installed on 2 Hard Drives
Posts: 14

Rep: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation:
Would you recommend the product? yes | Price you paid?: $4.95 | Rating: 9

Pros: LT Modem Support, All Hardware detected. most usable Linux for my computer and Hardware.
Cons: None Really, The only problem I have are some missing Media Codecs which don't come as standard ( Legal Issue )


Hello Everyone,
I have to say that Mepis 3.4-3 is the reason I use Linux.
If it wasn't for Mepis 3.4-3 I would have returned to the "Windows" world along time ago.
Mepis comes with KDE Desktop which make setting up a Printer alot easy for a newbie than in some other Distro's.
Have a Internal LT Winmodem? There's a good chance Mepis will have you online in no time. (Note Mepis 6.0 doesn't connect to the internet and keeps dropping out.)

Because Mepis is Debian based, you can download 99% of Debian's Etch repositories with no problems.
1% of the Debian repositories can upset Mepis because the Mepis Linux Kernel isn't the same as a Debian Linux Kernel.
 




  



All times are GMT -5. The time now is 02:49 AM.

Main Menu
Advertisement

My LQ
Write for LQ
LinuxQuestions.org is looking for people interested in writing Editorials, Articles, Reviews, and more. If you'd like to contribute content, let us know.
Main Menu
Syndicate
RSS1  Latest Threads
RSS1  LQ News
Twitter: @linuxquestions
identi.ca: @linuxquestions
Facebook: linuxquestions Google+: linuxquestions
Open Source Consulting | Domain Registration