LinuxQuestions.org
LinuxAnswers - the LQ Linux tutorial section.
Go Back   LinuxQuestions.org > Reviews > Distributions > Other
User Name
Password

Notices

Search · Register · Submit New Review · Download your favorite Linux Distributions ·
 

Dreamlinux Dreamlinux 1.0 STUDIO Edition
Reviews Views Date of last review
3 29448 05-09-2008
spacer
Recommended By Average Price Average Rating
100% of reviewers None indicated 8.7
dreamlinux.png


Description: Dreamlinux 1.0 STUDIO Edition has to be one of the best Live CDs I have burned in over a year. The GUI is even more beautiful then the one in Conectiva 10.The window manager is XFCE4, the package manager is Synaptic/APT-GET, it has a linux version of "My Network places" that works really well, it has the MKDistro tool which allows you to customize the base Dreamlinux install to create your our version of Dreamlinux.

The only complaint I have is that the live CD takes about 2+ minutes to boot up.

Other then that I would highly recommend this distro to everyone.
Keywords: Live CD, Brasil, Debian Based


Author
Post A Reply 
Old 02-28-2006, 05:04 PM   #1
thorn168
 
Registered: Oct 2004
Distribution: Vector Linux 5.1 Std., Vector Linux 5.8 Std., Win2k, XP, OS X (10.4 & 10.5)
Posts: 344

Rep: Reputation:
Would you recommend the product? yes | Price you paid?: None indicated | Rating: 9

Pros: Very Pretty, Awesome multimedia editing programs
Cons: Slow to boot up



Dreamlinux 1.0 STUDIO Edition has to be one of the best Live CDs I have burned in over a year. The GUI is even more beautiful then the one in Conectiva 10.The window manager is XFCE4, the package manager is Synaptic/APT-GET, it has a linux version of "My Network places" that works really well, it has the MKDistro tool which allows you to customize the base Dreamlinux install to create your our version of Dreamlinux.

The only complaint I have is that the live CD takes about 2+ minutes to boot up.

Other then that I would highly recommend this distro to everyone.
 
Old 03-01-2008, 03:03 PM   #2
k_chupe
 
Registered: Sep 2007
Posts: 23

Rep: Reputation: Reputation:
Would you recommend the product? yes | Price you paid?: None indicated | Rating: 10

Pros: Mac-like desktop
Cons: doesn't get much publicity


I,ve been using this distro for the past 7 mo.s or so and it's what changed me over from ubuntu to Dreamlinux. I highly recomend it to anyone. The new distro Dreamlinux 3, comes out on 03/27/08 and is available in both gnome and xfce envirements. If you haven't tried it at least once, I'd suggest doing so. It's kinda like lays potatoe chips, you can't eat just one. It's beautifully crafted into a well rounded and practical distro, with built in eye candy which saves you some time in customizing it into something "catchy" to the eye. The goal of Dreamlinux devs is to deliver an excellent hassle free, everything working out of the box, distro. Hope more people get involved in testing the Dreamlinux 3 RC1. See if you can find any bugs, I dare you! Here's the link: http://dreamlinuxforums.org/index.php#4 -Kevin
 
Old 05-09-2008, 08:27 AM   #3
SA_Ron
 
Registered: Mar 2004
Distribution: Multiple. Depends on my mood.
Posts: 9

Rep: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation:
Would you recommend the product? yes | Price you paid?: None indicated | Rating: 7

Pros: Beautiful distro, nice multi-media tools
Cons: Slooooowwwww


I just installed Dreamlinux3 on a spare partition. I really liked the installer. All the questions for install are asked in one pop-up window. You don't get lots of choice on initial install. Installation was slow, but that's not exactly rare.

LiveCD didn't connect my wireless card, and the tools for connecting and troubleshooting really blow. That's a preference thing, I guess. I hate chasing around to find tools. I got spoiled by PCLinuxOS which has outstanding tools admin tools that are categorized in logical order. I'm noticing that in Linux, that's rare. Anyway, once I got to the forum to get the hints necessary to get wireless going, it worked fine.

Once I got it installed, I had assumed it would run faster than it did on the LiveCD. If it did run faster, it was hardly noticeable. I will admit that I was using Gnome instead of xfce and that was part of the problem. (I haven't used Gnome in a while. When did it get so bloated and slow?).

My system has 1Gig of RAM and a dual-core 2.70 Ghtz processor. Not terribly fast to begin with, but I run multiple versions of Linux and the performance is noticeably faster on them than DreamLinux3. I've kept an eye on CPU and memory usage, but except for some spikes, usage hasn't been abnormally high. I shouldn't have to tweak the hell out a distro to get acceptable speed. XFCE is probably faster, but evidently, XFCE wasn't installed. How to install it isn't a mystery I feel like solving at the moment (I know there's a front end for apt-get around here somewhere. Someone posted that it's Synaptic, which I like, but I couldn't find it anywhere).

I used the EasyInstall(?) feature to install Wine-doors. Wow, that took a long time. Wine-doors isn't that big (which is why I chose it), but it took 15-20 minutes. I download and install stuff with several other distros and this was just looooong.

Having said all that, this is a beautiful distro. Even the icons are different and pleasant. It has a good feel to it.

I like the panel at the bottom ala CDE. The icons expand as the mouse pointer passes over them. Neat little touch.

I've got lots of partitions sliced up, and Dreamlinux mounts them all and puts icons on the Desktop. If I didn't have all those partitions, it would be nice and handy, but I have 8 of them and it clutters the desktop.

Lots of multimedia tools like RhythmBox and GimpShop, along with the aesthetics, give this distro a very Mac-like feel. Or, what I think a Mac-like feel is.

This is probably a great distro if you have better than average horsepower. I was really looking forward to playing with it, but the time it takes just to open a Konsole window is rather annoying. If you're into the multimedia stuff, however, this looks like the distro for you.
 




  



All times are GMT -5. The time now is 09:37 AM.

Main Menu
Advertisement

My LQ
Write for LQ
LinuxQuestions.org is looking for people interested in writing Editorials, Articles, Reviews, and more. If you'd like to contribute content, let us know.
Main Menu
Syndicate
RSS1  Latest Threads
RSS1  LQ News
Twitter: @linuxquestions
identi.ca: @linuxquestions
Facebook: linuxquestions Google+: linuxquestions
Open Source Consulting | Domain Registration