LinuxQuestions.org
Review your favorite Linux distribution.
Go Back   LinuxQuestions.org > Reviews > Distributions > Damn Small Linux
User Name
Password

Notices

Search · Register · Submit New Review · Download your favorite Linux Distributions ·
 

DSL 2.2
Reviews Views Date of last review
19 89092 08-24-2012
spacer
Recommended By Average Price Average Rating
100% of reviewers $11.50 8.5



Description: First Linux distro I have used that automatically configured my winmodem! All I had to do was find out what the ttys# it assigned (it did not automatically detect it)in the system stats tab, go to the dialup tab, and hit configure. Then follow the prompts.

At 49mb, the distro is downloadable with a modem, small enough to run completely in RAM (128mb)and fast.
Keywords: Linmodem winmodem small linux live cd fast download


Author
Post A Reply 
Old 03-06-2006, 08:03 AM   #1
Siljrath
 
Registered: Nov 2004
Distribution: sid, slack, gentoo, witch, bedrock, etc
Posts: 159

Rep: Reputation:
Would you recommend the product? yes | Price you paid?: None indicated | Rating: 8

Pros: you could hide it under a thimble!
Cons: no 64bit support found



SO SMALL! and i don't mean that in the "SLAX frodo" small (a similar 50mbish) where you just get the guts, DSL has bits too! shiny graphics! it whizzes along, is fairly stable, has all the basics (text, browse, etc) and is such a refreshing glimpse into what needn't (and in this case "doesn't") go into an OS.
 
Old 03-24-2006, 08:52 PM   #2
joebu23
 
Registered: Dec 2005
Distribution: Ubuntu 6.06 LTS
Posts: 4

Rep: Reputation: Reputation:
Would you recommend the product? yes | Price you paid?: None indicated | Rating: 9

Pros:
Cons:


Love it, small and powerful.
 
Old 04-26-2006, 01:35 PM   #3
 
Registered: Dec 1969
Posts: 0

Rep: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation:
Would you recommend the product? yes | Price you paid?: None indicated | Rating: 9

Pros:
Cons:


Having used all kinds of distros, DSL has been the easiest of all to use and it seems to hook to all of my resources, without fail.

Love it. Am buying an ITX-Mini Barebones system from DSL to get the full effect of SMALL.
 
Old 05-02-2006, 12:12 PM   #4
mike160
 
Registered: Jan 2006
Distribution: Ubuntu 10.10, Lubuntu 10.10, #!Crunchbang 10 "Statler"
Posts: 84

Rep: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation:
Would you recommend the product? yes | Price you paid?: None indicated | Rating: 9

Pros: Fast, Stable, Small Just GREAT !!!
Cons: Fluxbox takes a little getting used to comming from KDE or Windows


Runs fantastic on my old pII 400Mhz Laptop w/64mb ram 2.3 gig

I use this notebook for just about everything and DSL is perfect.
 
Old 06-03-2006, 11:52 AM   #5
novalinux
 
Registered: Jun 2006
Distribution: Ubuntu 8.10
Posts: 20

Rep: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation:
Would you recommend the product? yes | Price you paid?: None indicated | Rating: 8

Pros: Fast, easy to use
Cons: bad colors on my old PI 133mhz


Very fast, but with bad colors over 4bit :(
 
Old 07-08-2006, 10:08 PM   #6
Thulemanden
 
Registered: Sep 2003
Distribution: PC-BSD, PCLOS, MeeGo, Win 7
Posts: 189

Rep: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation:
Would you recommend the product? yes | Price you paid?: $3.00 | Rating: 9

Pros: Install on PII, 233mHz
Cons: Word, spreadsheet and firewall


High marks for serving it's declared purpose and installing to old hardware like a mobile Pentium II.

I run the Monkey web server whose instructions and setup can be done by the novice and Webalizer can be added. This is a great plus.

1 point off for lacking a GUI firewall. Installed to harddisk I was able to install Firestarter though, which features an easy wizard.

Apt-get and dpkg should have been on by default and Opera should if possible have been installed rather than Firefox. Maybe just Dillo with a MyDSL option for Firefox or Opera.

An amazing product but the limit 50MB is irrationally arbitrary if it means not including Gnumeric and Abiword by default rather than SIAG and Ted. AbiWord can be post-installed but not Gnumeric.

It would be rational to state it should be running on a 128mb RAM stick with the option to store some documents on it. Yes, it means competing with a few other distroes.

The panels DSLPanel and MyDSL are great.

Would wish it was easy to add or remove icons.

The on-screen system info is very helpful.

The background should show the name of DSL.

A menu editor would be nice and if possible icewm, my favorite because it's so easy to configure.

I am grateful it installed on the Pentium II and runs my web server.

It makes you wonder why 'everyone' else is marketing these huge Linux distroes rather than lean and mean.

My cons are small as the issues can be solved by a post-novice but a wizard solving the apt-get and dpkg install together with a firewall setup was an idea.

All in all it served my needs.
 
Old 10-11-2006, 02:47 PM   #7
rgs05
 
Registered: Sep 2005
Distribution: various, mostly RH and Knoppix
Posts: 0

Rep: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation:
Would you recommend the product? yes | Price you paid?: $20.00 | Rating: 9

Pros: quick and clean
Cons: none that I can think of


As a business traveler, I love DSL because I can pop the mini-CD into my corporate-controlled laptop in just about any hotel room and it connects to the 'Net. I can cruise and go where I want without fear of contaminating my company's computer. If I need to save something, I pop in a USB stick and copy it there.

I have purchased two of the mini-CDs directly from DSL and loaned one out to a friend and never got it back. Either he's not a good friend, or he loves it as well. I suspect the latter.

I have installed it on a 64MB USB stick (Staples $9.00) and use it to boot Windows computers when they have problems. It works like a charm on my olde Dell Inspiron which has got to be 6 years old.

All in all, a most excellent product. While it's a free download, do them a favor and buy a mini-CD or a pre-loaded USB stick. It's well worth the money.
 
Old 12-21-2006, 11:35 PM   #8
swede_x
 
Registered: Dec 2006
Distribution: Fedora Core X
Posts: 0

Rep: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation:
Would you recommend the product? yes | Price you paid?: None indicated | Rating: 9

Pros: Fast, easy,
Cons: The name, hard to get people at church to try it out.


It worked great from the start. After running Fedora Core 4 and FC6, I was amazed at what it offered from a business card CD as compared to a 5 disk or DVD installation.
 
Old 01-17-2007, 09:39 PM   #9
Pellidon
 
Registered: Feb 2006
Posts: 1

Rep: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation:
Would you recommend the product? yes | Price you paid?: None indicated | Rating: 9

Pros: Works on some pretty old stuff
Cons:


It restored life to a very old notebook computer. A PII class machine. Fastest that old computer ever operated. I have run it on a new Samsung Q1 tablet PC. It did not find the touch screen but it worked other than that given the limited tweaking I have done with it to date.
 
Old 04-06-2007, 09:37 AM   #10
hacker supreme
 
Registered: Oct 2006
Distribution: Gentoo
Posts: 259

Rep: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation:
Would you recommend the product? yes | Price you paid?: None indicated | Rating: 9

Pros: Very small, packed with enough features to keep me busy for a day or two.
Cons: The background is a little bit dull.


Very good.
Almost perfect, but not quite.

It runs on my Mum's old PC (500MHz AMD K6, 64MB RAM) very well as a live CD.

Although, like I said, the background is just a little bit dull.
 
Old 08-13-2007, 04:45 AM   #11
osix
 
Registered: Mar 2004
Posts: 2

Rep: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation:
Would you recommend the product? yes | Price you paid?: None indicated | Rating: 0

Pros:
Cons:


can i run it to my 256mb flash drive?
 
Old 11-18-2007, 12:57 AM   #12
samdiego
 
Registered: Nov 2007
Posts: 0

Rep: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation:
Would you recommend the product? yes | Price you paid?: None indicated | Rating: 10

Pros:
Cons:


how to download
 
Old 08-04-2008, 07:18 PM   #13
MafiaTux
 
Registered: Aug 2008
Distribution: Mandriva, Ubuntu, Goblinx, and linux xp
Posts: 20

Rep: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation:
Would you recommend the product? yes | Price you paid?: None indicated | Rating: 7

Pros: Very Adaptable and lightweight
Cons: It won't detect my lan card


Yeah I love it I installed it on a compaq e-10 as a music box works great
 
Old 10-13-2008, 08:49 PM   #14
xdunlapx
 
Registered: Oct 2008
Distribution: Slackware 14.1
Posts: 69

Rep: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation:
Would you recommend the product? yes | Price you paid?: None indicated | Rating: 7

Pros: fast, small install size, great for older computers
Cons: not for newer computers, wifi issues, graphics card issues


The install was easy enough. First boot presented lack of graphics and wifi detection.

I have an Acer Aspire 7720 notebook. My native resolution is 1440x900 widescreen.

Intel 8201 chipset for most everything. Graphics is Intel Mobile PM965. - doesn't detect it

Wifi is Intel Pro/Wireless 3945ABG - doesn't detect it

I would recommend this distribution to anybody who has a computer that is at least a few years old, I'm not sure anything newer would work right.
 
Old 11-12-2008, 05:46 AM   #15
Nkosi
 
Registered: Jun 2007
Distribution: Ubuntu, DSL, Puppy Linux
Posts: 3

Rep: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation:
Would you recommend the product? yes | Price you paid?: None indicated | Rating: 9

Pros: Fast, great for repairing others pcs, strong autoconfiguring, fastastic for walk-in use at cyber cafes as a pen-drive or CD bootup
Cons: desktop takes getting used to but excellent, not so easy to install on hard drive


For emergencies, the best ever live-CD. I travel with a pen-drive boot DSL always. I keep another live-CD for those cases machines don't recognize the USB boot. For popping into a cyber cafe and checking your email safely, it's the best. Blazing fast and light. Solid auto configuration. It detects network cards every time I've used. Not so easy for wifi though. The screen resolution sometimes takes a little adjusting, but is beautiful once done.
 
Old 01-06-2009, 12:43 PM   #16
moonrover
 
Registered: Jan 2005
Distribution: SUSE 11.0
Posts: 46

Rep: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation:
Would you recommend the product? yes | Price you paid?: None indicated | Rating: 0

Pros:
Cons:



Were you (or anyone) able to get DSL to work with your Wifi card(s) eventually? I have a Compaq Presario with a Linksys Wifi PCM card installed and would like to just use it as an email PC on trips.
 
Old 01-31-2009, 02:18 AM   #17
BHABANIPRASADPATI
 
Registered: Aug 2006
Distribution: Linux MINT
Posts: 34

Rep: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation:
Would you recommend the product? yes | Price you paid?: None indicated | Rating: 0

Pros: small
Cons: boos in o command prompt


Please help me, as i am dying to use DSL but when ever i m booting using DSl, it takes me in to a command line interface & as a newbie I have no idea how to invoke the Desktop. I have a live CD with me.
 
Old 09-05-2009, 03:39 PM   #18
smeezekitty
 
Registered: Sep 2009
Distribution: M$ Windows / Debian / Ubuntu / DSL / many others
Posts: 2,229

Rep: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation:
Would you recommend the product? yes | Price you paid?: None indicated | Rating: 9

Pros: not to much security
Cons: some compatibility issues, bug in 8 bit colorint


very easy to use yet not so secure that
you cant even do the simplest thing
so far the best linux
int 8 bit color the red and blue are swaped
 
Old 08-24-2012, 06:12 PM   #19
MaroonScorpion
 
Registered: Aug 2012
Distribution: Mint
Posts: 6

Rep: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation:
Would you recommend the product? yes | Price you paid?: None indicated | Rating: 6

Pros: Small, Fast, and Sleek
Cons: won't boot on Toshiba Satellite Pro 4600, wifi issues


i rate this around the middle due to the fact that i couldn't do a full review because it won't boot on my Toshiba Satellite Pro 4600 which is a P3 750mhz. it stops when trying to load ACPI stuff and does nothing. However, i've read reviews on here and it looks pretty decent. And man oh man is it small! Almost 50mb! I wish i could've been able to boot it but i had to use old hardware for reviews... And apparently it doesn't work with too many wifi cards? hmm... i hope they don't ditch this project, i think it has a lot of potential!<br><br>~Maroon (Jake)<br>
<br>
<i>"If only Adobe added Flash Pro support for linux..." -Me</i><br>
 




  



All times are GMT -5. The time now is 07:07 PM.

Main Menu
Advertisement

My LQ
Write for LQ
LinuxQuestions.org is looking for people interested in writing Editorials, Articles, Reviews, and more. If you'd like to contribute content, let us know.
Main Menu
Syndicate
RSS1  Latest Threads
RSS1  LQ News
Twitter: @linuxquestions
identi.ca: @linuxquestions
Facebook: linuxquestions Google+: linuxquestions
Open Source Consulting | Domain Registration