LinuxQuestions.org
Visit the LQ Articles and Editorials section
Go Back   LinuxQuestions.org > Reviews > Distributions > LFS
User Name
Password

Notices

Search · Register · Submit New Review · Download your favorite Linux Distributions ·
 

Linux From Scratch LiveCD 6.1 LiveCD
Reviews Views Date of last review
5 28089 02-08-2007
spacer
Recommended By Average Price Average Rating
100% of reviewers None indicated 8.4



Description: Linux From Scratch 6.1 - LiveCD
Keywords: lfs linux from scratch compile own distro review livecd


Author
Post A Reply 
Old 01-30-2006, 05:07 AM   #1
ebonhand
 
Registered: Jan 2006
Distribution: Linux From Scratch
Posts: 6

Rep: Reputation:
Would you recommend the product? yes | Price you paid?: None indicated | Rating: 10

Pros: All sources are included, no version issues. All required tools ready to go!
Cons: Must read carefully to avoid mistakes



I downloaded the Live CD, not wanting to risk incompatabilities with host distro.

A few quick comments on the tools and config of the LiveCD - simply perfect! From the speedy XFce with Firefox and X-chat available, to irssi in the console, everything is right at your fingertips, ready to go!

Made a few attempts on my main machine using a spare partition, but didn't read carefully enough - I made some fundamental errors, such as incorrectly setting the environment back up after rebooting into XP for work purposes.

I soon switched to using a spare machine - a headless 133mHz pentium w/128mb RAM. This veritable dinosaur was more than up to the task, even if it was a little slow (76 minute SBU!). SSH into the box made the job as simple as a PuTTY window in XP.

After another 'go back and try again' due to a power failure, things went more than smoothly.

A big thanks to the people in #lfs-support on irc.LinuxFromScratch.org - they talked me through some recovery trouble after the power failure, and offered great support and lively chat whilst waiting for the dinosaur to compile :)

I've now moved into customizing the resulting system using parts of BLFS, and am happy to have found a use for such a geriatric PC.

Two thumbs up!

- Ebonhand
 
Old 05-16-2006, 04:52 PM   #2
linuxcbon
 
Registered: May 2006
Posts: 56

Rep: Reputation: Reputation:
Would you recommend the product? yes | Price you paid?: None indicated | Rating: 5

Pros: cd is practical (dont need installed linux)
Cons: doc is not complete


I tried it on a laptop.

I didnt find the doc about installing from live cd, so I took the doc for installing from any linux distro.

It is not easy to install :
- very long (didnt finish yet),
- if something goes wrong, you need solid linux knowledge and luck and google.
- if something goes really wrong, then install from the begining...

The doc is not always clear if some problems met are normal or not...

I would never recommend for linux beginners.
I would recommend for students and programmers and people who have time and want to learn.

The result I think is worth it.
 
Old 06-05-2006, 12:02 PM   #3
varaahan
 
Registered: Jul 2005
Distribution: Puppy, Arch Linux,Absolute Linux
Posts: 83

Rep: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation:
Would you recommend the product? yes | Price you paid?: None indicated | Rating: 10

Pros: your own clean distro
Cons: needs a lot of patience


Once I tried this and after a couple of failures (that was all due to my overlooking the tutorial), I could successfully have my LFS system fully functional in about a month. ( I used a P III / 500 MHz - 192 MB RAM system).
Then moved to BLFS system but I could not get to the net however hard I tried. Lost interest and moved to arch linux.

But definitely it is worth trying LFS and the community support is very good.

Boovarahan s
 
Old 01-29-2007, 10:37 AM   #4
Chowroc
 
Registered: Dec 2004
Posts: 145

Rep: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation:
Would you recommend the product? yes | Price you paid?: None indicated | Rating: 10

Pros: a good learning way
Cons: package management


but I wrote a package manager, currently not perfect
 
Old 02-08-2007, 07:55 AM   #5
biniou
 
Registered: Feb 2007
Distribution: Ubuntu (7.04), (B)LFS (6.2), ...
Posts: 105

Rep: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation:
Would you recommend the product? yes | Price you paid?: None indicated | Rating: 7

Pros: High educational value
Cons: Takes lot of time to have a basic system


In fact, LiveCD is great : it provides the packages and patches, you have an HTML version of the book with a lynx to read it and GPM to copy-paste the commands (which can be very long)

But BLFS, explaining the way to have a more "usable" system is not yet up-to-date, so it's really difficult to have a well tuned system in a reasonable amount of time ... (and if you mess up something, you are not always sure on how to fallback)

Otherwise great, but requires patience ;)
 




  



All times are GMT -5. The time now is 03:08 PM.

Main Menu
Advertisement

Advertisement
My LQ
Write for LQ
LinuxQuestions.org is looking for people interested in writing Editorials, Articles, Reviews, and more. If you'd like to contribute content, let us know.
Main Menu
Syndicate
RSS1  Latest Threads
RSS1  LQ News
Twitter: @linuxquestions
identi.ca: @linuxquestions
Facebook: linuxquestions Google+: linuxquestions
Open Source Consulting | Domain Registration