LinuxQuestions.org
Register a domain and help support LQ
Go Back   LinuxQuestions.org > Reviews > Distributions > PCLinuxOS
User Name
Password

Notices

Search · Register · Submit New Review · Download your favorite Linux Distributions ·
 

PCLinuxOS Preview 0.92
Reviews Views Date of last review
25 132742 12-15-2006
spacer
Recommended By Average Price Average Rating
100% of reviewers None indicated 9.4



Description: PCLinuxOS 0.92 is the latest version of this distro, runs as a live CD and in installed from live. Features automatic hardware detection, Realplayer and MPlayer integrated in Firefox out of the box, and a gentle learning curve for newbies, with no sacrifuce of power. Separate isos for new ATi cards, new and old nvidia cards plus good ol' plain vanilla.
Keywords: PCLinuxOS mp3 realplayer mplayer KDE livecd texstar nvidia ati


Author
Post A Reply 
Old 11-24-2005, 04:19 PM   #1
davecs
 
Registered: Feb 2003
Distribution: PCLinuxOS
Posts: 485

Rep: Reputation:
Would you recommend the product? yes | Price you paid?: D/L | Rating: 10

Pros: Probably the simplest distro to install and maintain.
Cons: Kicker Bar too large in default install (best I can do).



Texstar and Co have done it again!

I would recommend this distro to anyone who either (a) has broadband or (b) can source the files from someone who has. As it is a LiveCD distro, there is a limit to what can fit on the CD, and Broadband is recommended to get the software that can't fit!

OK This is how it works:

You download an iso image, 690Mb. You burn it to a CD or DVD (I actually use a DVD+RW). You boot from the CD/DVD. At a prompt, type "mediacheck" and return. A program runs from the CD to test the media is sound. Takes under 5 minutes.

You then reboot the CD, this time I typed this in:

livecd xres=1280x1024 xbpp=24 keyb=uk fast

This means boot the live CD using a United Kingdom keyboard, with full DMA enabled for CD drives (fast), the resolution and bits per pixel speak for themselves. With some video cards, you may have to be specific for best results: eg xdrv=sis

You boot up into an attractive, well organised desktop, with plenty of software on the Start button, which looks like a child's toy windmill nestling at the bottom left of the screen. The Kicker Bar is a bit big, I like to adjust it using "Custom" size, 36 pixels, which I think looks better but is still practical. If you have a printer connected, you will be prompted to enter its details and it will be installed. With my HP 7760, it prompted as a Raw Printer, but I was able to locate HP Photosmart 7760 in the list, and everything was done, including adding CUPS and HPLIP to the background tasks.

All other hardware just worked, including my Broadband connection, via Ethernet and Cable. I tried the LiveCD on my sister-in-law's old rig which connects via WLAN using a PCI card, CNet CWP-854. This uses a Ralink RT2500 chipset and was autodetected and Internet set up automatically on that one as well. I had more troubles with a PRISM3 internal and some USB dongle for wifi, but with all Linux, that's par for the course.

The installation is smooth, apart from sorting out your partitions, but, again, that's what you expect. Anyone who has used Partition Magic in Windoze should be able to use the partitioner.

From then on, it's smooth as silk and installed in about 15-20 minutes. You can set up the bootloader, set up logging, create your own root password, and add a user before exiting the LiveCD.

Once installed, Synaptic is already set up with the correct repos to add software. OpenOffice is one I always need, which has been left off the disc due to space. KOffice is on the live cd instead. This is not a bad decision, given that the LiveCD is slower than an installation, and Slower plus OpenOffice is a deadly combination. Once installed you can add OOo (and remove KOffice if you want).

Another necessary install is "libdvdcss" which enables you to play DVDs. All other media stuff, including Real Player and MPlayer in Firefox, works out of the box. Default players are Kaffeine (video) and Amarok (sound) but can be changed. Xine and Xmms are also installed.

Going to www.bbc.co.uk in Firefox and finding a streamed video shows you how good this distro is.

PCLinuxOS Control Centre is inherited from this distro's Mandrake past, but has had a big makeover, and many of the scripts behind it have been improved out of all recognition, making it super-friendly.

Oh and I forgot to mention: On its mirrors there are currently four versions of the iso:

1. Vanilla
2. Nvidia for older cards
3. Nvidia for modern cards
4. New-ish Ati cards (older ones supported by vanilla version)

Also in the pipeline is a mini-me iso, which will consist of the minimum necessary to get up a graphics screen (I expect it will be fluxbox) and hardware detection, enabling you to construct your own software set. Gnome and XFCE are on the repos, along with Abiword, Gnumeric etc, so you can build a non-KDE setup if that's what you prefer.

Whilst creating an easy install for the beginner, PCLOS also has -devel rpms in the repos, and gcc installed, so you can build stuff from source. So plenty there for the more experienced user as well.

Summarising, you plug it in, it works. Apart from the disk partitioning (which let's face it you'll have to learn about if you want to dual boot with Windows, which many first-timers here will want to do), the install is about as easy as it gets. Maintaining it and keep software up to date is straightforward. It has its own repos, so all packages are compatible, so you won't break the distro by upgrading. If you use Synaptic to keep your kernel up to date, then one version morphs into the next, no need to re-install.

But the main thing about PCLinuxOS is that, it just works!
 
Old 02-22-2006, 11:22 AM   #2
coolbeing
 
Registered: Feb 2006
Posts: 11

Rep: Reputation: Reputation:
Would you recommend the product? yes | Price you paid?: None indicated | Rating: 0

Pros:
Cons:


PClinuxOS is the best one out of all the distros I have tried.

It kickes the butt out of Win XP and all otehr linuxes.
 
Old 02-23-2006, 07:30 PM   #3
petespin27
 
Registered: Aug 2005
Distribution: Opensuse 11
Posts: 140

Rep: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation:
Would you recommend the product? yes | Price you paid?: None indicated | Rating: 10

Pros: easy to install, good multimedia "out of the box"
Cons: probably not ideal for a server


I am quite impressed with this distro. I was in search of a good multimedia/pro-audio friendly distro for my new laptop. Ubuntu worked great, however it is a PITA to get pro-audio going. Demudi/debian did not recognize my built in ethernet port.

After doing a bit of research on Thac's rpm's, I found that he had ported them to pclinuxos as well as mandriva. I decided to give pclinuxos a try.

Having a live CD allowed me to see what worked with my machine (everything did, except for the broadcom wireless card). The install procedure is incredibly easy. Thac's rpm's were included in synaptic also (just click on a check mark to enable).

The handy thing about this distro is that multimedia playback works out of the box. Flash, mp3s, etc. work without extra configuration.

I highly recommend this as a multimedia distro, especially for creative types who don't want to spend a lot of time to get the basic system up and running. It also works great as an all around desktop.
 
Old 02-26-2006, 07:03 AM   #4
weelyjim
 
Registered: Aug 2003
Distribution: SuSE 9.2, Mepis 3.3.1
Posts: 24

Rep: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation:
Would you recommend the product? yes | Price you paid?: None indicated | Rating: 10

Pros: It all works
Cons: Can't think of one


I am a Mepis refuge, I like Mepis, but I hate the Debain repo's which always seem to ether in a state of flux or unavailable.
With PCLinuxOS you get a visually great OS that works out of the box, and more importantly one that you can update without damaging your system.
So I give PCLinuxOS a big thumbs up.
Regards Jim
 
Old 02-28-2006, 08:31 AM   #5
Big Jim Slade
 
Registered: Aug 2004
Distribution: Gentoo 2006.0
Posts: 16

Rep: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation:
Would you recommend the product? yes | Price you paid?: None indicated | Rating: 9

Pros: It works, and it works well. Simple setup, yet not "dumbed down"
Cons: (con of Linux in general...) Needs tablet PC support!


I'm moving a friend of mine from Windows over to Linux and Open Source and since he has never used Linux before it's got to be simple to use, but still have all the functionality you'd expect from Linux (not catering to stupidity here).

Originally I started with Fedora Core 4, but that quickly proved to be too complex. So I tried SUSE on his laptop, and it's good but I had some issues getting certain things to work quite like they should, so I moved on to Ubuntu. Ubuntu doesn't do it for me... I don't know what the big deal is with it. Anyway, so I was just going to go back to SUSE, but came across PCLinuxOS and decided to give it a quick test drive.

Wow, this is a great distro! I was a little skeptical at first, being that this is a "beta" distro and what not, but PCLinuxOS is very well put together and doesn't have any real appearance of being "beta" anything.

The Control Center is really the highlight of PCLinuxOS in my opinion. This is more or less the core of configuring your system, and it's done really well... really solid, organized, well planned and thought out. I've got no problem dinking around with text configuration at the command line (Gentoo user myself), but if you're going to have a Control Center, this is it.

The install is also really simple and straight forward, and the package management via the RPM based Synaptic is great. The folks in charge of PCLinuxOS are really using their heads, and what's best is that this distro appears very user-friendly and newbie-friendly, without sacrificing the overall functionality of Linux.

So, I'll give PCLinuxOS a 9, as there is always room for improvement. But, I highly recommend this distro, particular if you are new to Linux and are looking for a good first experience, or what to encourage others to use Linux.
 
Old 03-02-2006, 01:44 PM   #6
cedar
 
Registered: Feb 2004
Distribution: Ubuntu, Fedora, PCLinux, MEPIS, still miss Libranet
Posts: 162

Rep: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation:
Would you recommend the product? yes | Price you paid?: None indicated | Rating: 10

Pros: Just works
Cons: Required very little tweaking to get pcmcia working


The best distro I've used!! The small amount of tweaking needed to get my pcmcia working (for my wireless card) was a piece of cake with some help from the PCLinuxOS community forum. It's just awesome!! The fact that you can upgrade all the packages without breaking anything is also a huge plus.
 
Old 03-12-2006, 06:48 PM   #7
tiarnach
 
Registered: Aug 2003
Distribution: Debian Etch sidux
Posts: 19

Rep: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation:
Would you recommend the product? yes | Price you paid?: None indicated | Rating: 10

Pros: flat out works, easy to update & great community
Cons: None that I can think of


I've used Ubuntu, Kubuntu, Suse, & Xandros. They're great. But PCLOS is best of the lot. It works right off the bat and the only surprise is how well it works.

PCLOS detected all my hardware (Heck, even my 5-button mouse was detected and configured - first distro to do that). Screen resolution was perfect and correctly configured to my screen. Sound worked. Internet was up and running. Played videos, mp3s and listened to internet radio - 30 minutes after burning the cd.

Then..walla walla bing bang..used Synaptic to update every program on the system. Ended up with the latest and greatest of everything. Took about 10 minutes.

Ah!..but I love Opera, it's a must-have for me. So, again used Synaptic to install the latest version. It took about a minute. This was a royal pita with the other distros, especially Suse. Other than PCLOS, only with U(K)buntu was I able to download from Opera then install it myself without too much hassle. Got Opera 8.51 eventually in Suse, but it was a struggle.

The PCLinusOS Control Center allows you to fine-tune your system. Much better then any similar program on the other distros I've used.

Without a doubt, PCLOS is the best distro and I've found a home.
 
Old 03-13-2006, 06:35 AM   #8
leeh
 
Registered: Nov 2005
Distribution: Tried Mandriva 2006
Posts: 16

Rep: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation:
Would you recommend the product? yes | Price you paid?: None indicated | Rating: 9

Pros: everything just works!!!!!!
Cons: boots slower than some (being picky)


I have tried a few distro's now and until recently had settled on Ubuntu running on 3 computers, one which dual booted with XP. Following a failed experiment by my son and having no command line knowledge, we had to reload a distro onto his computer and decided to try PCLOS .92.

I asked my son, which distro he wanted and he stated that PCLOS was for him. Why? Simple it just works. No mucking about for hours trying to make plug ins function correctly or begging real player to work. Everything is included and it works, its bliss. Any software missing, install with the fantastic synaptic and away you go. Secondly, it also has a more polished feel than some of the others that we have tried, resulting in PCLOS running on two computers with Ubuntu relegated to one.
 
Old 03-27-2006, 10:24 PM   #9
ricdave
 
Registered: Jan 2002
Posts: 222

Rep: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation:
Would you recommend the product? yes | Price you paid?: None indicated | Rating: 10

Pros: The brain dead can install and run it.
Cons: Didn't see any


Despite the fact that I have been playing ith Linux since 1999, I am still a NOOB. No shame in saying it. I have played with at least a dozen distros, probably more, looking for and waiting for this one. Running the live CD there were NO configuration issues. Boot from cd, press enter to start install, get a cup of coffee, and BAM!!!, you're at the login screen ready to go. Nice set of apps, installable. No config issues with ADSL, picked it up on its own, Java pre-configured with Konqueror and Firefox. I couldn't find any fault with this distro, and they are one of the very few who will get my money. Definitely going to donate to this distro and hope they stay around for a long, long time.
 
Old 04-11-2006, 11:49 PM   #10
smasterson
 
Registered: Apr 2006
Posts: 0

Rep: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation:
Would you recommend the product? yes | Price you paid?: None indicated | Rating: 10

Pros: everything works!!
Cons: none


I've tried quite a few distros and this has got to be the BEST OF THEM ALL!!!
 
Old 04-14-2006, 08:51 PM   #11
zeshan_b
 
Registered: Sep 2004
Distribution: installed mandrake
Posts: 19

Rep: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation:
Would you recommend the product? yes | Price you paid?: None indicated | Rating: 10

Pros: Audio video playback works right out of the box along with cd/dvd usb drive detection
Cons: none


The installation was easy but you have to make sure that you partision the drive or it will take a long time to create /etc/fstab. It needs root, home, var, partisions.
 
Old 04-16-2006, 07:29 PM   #12
TimHusker
 
Registered: Sep 2005
Posts: 8

Rep: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation:
Would you recommend the product? yes | Price you paid?: None indicated | Rating: 9

Pros: Easily installed; Functionally brilliant; Mindlessly Upgradable via Synaptic installer; Seemless integration into an established Windows Network invironment. Hands down...the best!
Cons: I'm still looking for them.


While I'm quite adept at the Windows OS environment, somewhat at ease with Networking and computer hardware "slap-togethers", and proficiant enough to try my hand at anything new...Linux, I have never found anything as easy to experience as the installation and workability of PCLinuxOS.

After toying with multiple Distrobutions, SuSe, Redhat, Linspire, Mandrake, Mandriva LE 2005, and FC4, I felt that my limits were stretched to the limit. As a NOOBie to Linux STILL, I can't describe in any greater detail the simplicity of this particular OS. If you are concerned with being LOST as you consider it time to experiment with LINUX, then you've stepped into a world of wonder with this little jewel.

I have found it handy to obtain a spare machine to install PCLinuxOS as I couldn't afford the task of debasing my current Windows machine just for the sake of experiementation.

Here is my list of pleasant surprises as someone new to Linux: Installed in about 1 1/2 hours (after formating at least three times as I wasn't really sure what I was doing with the partition wizard during the install), multimedia setup was without hesitation (mp3's, etc. all found themselves at home right out of the bag), broadband connection was made seemlessly, I found connection to my already present routed network to be PRESENT!, and working without doing a darned thing!, and get this...aquiring new applications, such as OpenOffice 2.0, was achieved with a few mouse clicks via the Synapic Software Manager.

I think you get the picture. Heck, I might dump other, first-attempt Linux machine (Mandriva 2005 LE) for a second PCLinuxOS machine. (It took me 3 days to get that bad-boy to communicate with my Windows boxes, huh!)

I highly recomment this distro to anyone who feels inadaquate being married to Linux. It'll make you a believer; if not fall in love all over again.
 
Old 04-19-2006, 12:53 AM   #13
Justin2021
 
Registered: Apr 2006
Distribution: Gentoo 2005.1
Posts: 32

Rep: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation:
Would you recommend the product? yes | Price you paid?: None indicated | Rating: 10

Pros: Great choices of applications, really easy to use
Cons: Having some problems getting plug-ins to fully work in Firefox


This is about the 7th distro that I've tried and tt will probably be my last. Everything about it is so easy and really user friendly. A definate must-try for those trying to get out of M$'s shadow.
 
Old 04-24-2006, 05:16 AM   #14
patred
 
Registered: Aug 2004
Distribution: Mandrake
Posts: 3

Rep: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation:
Would you recommend the product? yes | Price you paid?: None indicated | Rating: 9

Pros: ease of installation even on laptop
Cons: cons?


great distro.
I have it running on my laptop (Toshiba Sat. A10) and 2 other boxes. Even recognised my (obscure?) dax WiFi card. Downloading extra packages is a breeze and there's plenty of stuff available. I gave all my mandrake, ubuntu and Suse distro's to some friends. I don't need them anymore: not for my file and web servers, network admin, audio and dvd r***ing.
Cheers to the PCLOS team!

P@tred TheKnight
 
Old 05-24-2006, 09:28 AM   #15
tskears
 
Registered: Apr 2005
Distribution: PCLinuxOS.
Posts: 122

Rep: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation:
Would you recommend the product? yes | Price you paid?: None indicated | Rating: 10

Pros: It just works...
Cons: Problems with LILO.


I was running Suse10 and I tried Kubuntu and MEPIS, then I found PCLinuxOS...

I have now installed it on four different computers (three with wireless) and it has installed and configured each with minimal problems. With PCLinux OS, I've even dragged my kids over to Linux from Ex-Pee.

However, I'm not sure why PCLinuxOS uses LILO and not GRUB. On one of the desktops, LILO failed to overwrite the previous GRUB bootloader on installation, requiring some imaginative thinking to get things running. And I use ntldr to dual-boot my laptop, which always seems more unpredictable with LILO instead of GRUB. However, you can always go back and install GRUB through Synaptic when PCLinuxOS is up and running.

All that said, it's the nearest thing to "Linux-in-a-Box" that I've used. Goodbye M$...
 
Page:  1 · 2 More Items




  



All times are GMT -5. The time now is 05:17 AM.

Main Menu
Advertisement

My LQ
Write for LQ
LinuxQuestions.org is looking for people interested in writing Editorials, Articles, Reviews, and more. If you'd like to contribute content, let us know.
Main Menu
Syndicate
RSS1  Latest Threads
RSS1  LQ News
Twitter: @linuxquestions
identi.ca: @linuxquestions
Facebook: linuxquestions Google+: linuxquestions
Open Source Consulting | Domain Registration