LinuxQuestions.org
Review your favorite Linux distribution.
Go Back   LinuxQuestions.org > Reviews > Distributions > SUSE Linux Enterprise
User Name
Password

Notices

Search · Register · Submit New Review · Download your favorite Linux Distributions ·
 

Suse 10.0
Reviews Views Date of last review
61 287210 03-26-2007
spacer
Recommended By Average Price Average Rating
89% of reviewers $4.50 8.0



Description: (Taken from Novell website)

SUSE Linux 10.0 includes a comprehensive selection of applications to facilitate a wide variety of computing tasks (office suite, e-mail, Internet, picture processing, multimedia and more), plus a subset of packages for advanced users, including key networking and development packages such as Samba, Apache Web server, KDevelop, Mono and more. SUSE Linux is available in 32-bit and 64-bit versions and provides more than 4,000 of the latest open source software packages.
Keywords: suse opensuse 10.0 novell


Author
Post A Reply 
Old 10-07-2005, 03:26 PM   #1
Micro420
 
Registered: Aug 2003
Distribution: Mac OS X Leopard 10.6.2, Windows 2003 Server/Vista/7/XP/2000/NT/98, Ubuntux64, CentOS4.8/5.4
Posts: 2,986

Rep: Reputation:
Would you recommend the product? yes | Price you paid?: D/L | Rating: 9

Pros: Easy to use, great for newcomers to Linux
Cons: Some applications and support not included due to legal reasons



SUSE 10.0 can be purchased from the Novell website or downloaded freely from opensuse.org. The difference is that opensuse.org does not include all the packages and support that the retail SUSE 10.0 has. The extra packages and applications can, however, be downloaded and added to OpenSuse.

Installation is very simple as it is done graphically. It can easily be dual booted with Windows XP and shared with other Linux distributions. During the installation, you can install/remove packages, configure hardware, and configure SUSE. You can always add/remove/edit these changes later in SUSE using the YAST (Yet Another System Tool) appplication. Think of it as the "control panel", like in Windows.

You get the option of choosing the two most used desktop environments: KDE and GNOME. There are some others but I did not bother checking them out.

Hardware detection is also very simple and mindless. SUSE detected all my hardware correctly on my Desktop and my Dell Inspiron 600m laptop.

SUSE also has an automatic system/application update using YOU (YAST Online Update). This insures that your SUSE system and applications are up to date in terms of patches and security. A little colored ball sits in your taskbar that changes colors to notify you of any updates you need. YOU is your one stop place to check for updates.

Overall I am impressed with the easibility and use of SUSE 10.0. I highly recommend this distribution for all levels of Linux users, especially users new to Linux.
 
Old 10-13-2005, 10:59 AM   #2
pepeq
 
Registered: Aug 2004
Distribution: opensuse 11
Posts: 51

Rep: Reputation: Reputation:
Would you recommend the product? yes | Price you paid?: D/L | Rating: 10

Pros: It works out of the box!!!
Cons: USB disks are terribly slow


The only "but" is the slow speed USB disks perform, but I am sure developers will soon get this fixed.

Everything works.

With SuSE 10.0, Linux is user-friendly and prepared for mass distribution, IMHO. I am propagating it among my friends yet!

Great job, developers. Great job, Novell, for helping this distro be so good.

Bye bye, M$
 
Old 10-13-2005, 03:14 PM   #3
p_kelchen
 
Registered: Jan 2005
Distribution: SuSE 10.0
Posts: 13

Rep: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation:
Would you recommend the product? yes | Price you paid?: D/L | Rating: 9

Pros: Even slicker and much faster than 9.3, wireless bug fixed!
Cons: ACPI troubles- SpeedStep broken out of the box, uses lots of RAM


I have been using SuSE since 9.1 and have been waiting for this release for some time. The promise of a much faster SuSE was very appealing as SuSE, to use an old saying, is made for comfort, not for speed.

Good news: The wireless bug that prevented WEP from working when configured with YaST is gone. The netapplet actually works and is able to switch between wireless configurations correctly. Yay. The speed promises have not gone unfulfilled either. OpenOffice starts up a LOT faster, and so does Firefox. Now the speed of SuSE is in the same catergory as the much more lightweight Debian systems. Gnome 2.12 looks great and runs very well- far better than 2.10, which never worked quite right on 9.3 for me (but XFCE and KDE were A-OK.) Suspend-to-disk is extremely fast- it takes me maybe 15 seconds as opposed to a minute or so with 9.1-9.3.

Bad news: My computer, which is an older P4-M Gateway, caused a few ACPI hiccups. The SpeedStep function that scales CPU speed between 2.2 and 1.2 GHz does not work. Neither fo performance profiles. And the funny thing is that they worked in 9.1-9.3 and also all the other distributions I have tried. However, using cpuspeed to use dynamic scaling and daemonizing it works fine. Due to the Beagle search program and daemon (they work well!), the RAM usage is pretty stiff. You should have >= 512MB in your box for best results. I have a gig and it runs pretty well indeed.



 
Old 10-20-2005, 04:20 PM   #4
RedShirt
 
Registered: Oct 2005
Distribution: Sabayon 3.5Loop2
Posts: 1,150

Rep: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation:
Would you recommend the product? yes | Price you paid?: D/L | Rating: 9

Pros: Up to date; easy to get, install, and use; great for newbies and gurus.
Cons: Large install size


SuSE is the easiest to use and install flavor of linux I have tried, and I have been very happy with it. It has great support and availability, a commercial backer helps. It also installs quickly, with a massive array of software available on the 5 CD version, the DVD has even more. Walkthroughs and support manuals are very detailed and easy to browse through and read.
It takes a learning curve to get get configured, as with all distros, but with the YAST manager designed by Novell, most things are configured and installed more easily than in other distros. The installer is robust and powerful, but isn't neccessary if you want to do things yourself.
In addition to the ease of setup and use, it still has all the massive configurabilty of linux for experienced users wishing to compile everything on their own, and manually configure everything the same way.
Hardware support is also very good. As soon as you figure out which tool it is you need to use, and the settings that are right for your device, everything just clicks. Full flash drive support, works with my rio, etc. It doesn't allow use of all the extra buttons on my MS Digital Pro keyboard...but they way I understand it, no distro does.
Like all the other big boys, the free version cannot come with licensed software, so mp3 and a few other features don't work straight out of the box. That said, it is very easy to add this support.
It has a massive library of oftware from games to managers, OpenOffice, programming tools, and utilities, so there is very little more you need you can't get straight from the SuSE repositories. Those you can't, are still easy to find installable RPMs if you don't want to compile binary and source yourself.
KDE is the standard Desktop Enviroment one uses with SuSE, but it supports gnome as well, and either way, you can configure every single visual element to personalize it and make the build just right for exactly what you are doing.
In general, for beginners like myself, there is still a learning curve, and getting used to it from Windows or Mac will take some time, but it isn't as bad as with many other distros.
But as someone who has used linux in school and at work, it has all the features I was used to and wanted, plus many more.
 
Old 10-20-2005, 11:51 PM   #5
winsnomore
 
Registered: May 2004
Distribution: #1 PCLinuxOS -- for laughs -> Ubuntu, Suse, Mepis
Posts: 315

Rep: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation:
Would you recommend the product? no | Price you paid?: D/L | Rating: 6

Pros: Pretty screens, most things work out of box
Cons: Multimedia !!!! - or lack there off


I played aournd with 10.0 alpha nd finanly isntalled 10.0 release version,.

Installation: upgrade from 10 alpha failed, . So I had to do full install.

Full install went thru without a problem, took no more time than other distros .. I think about 40 minutes total. It didn't mess up the MBR this time (alpha did).

Running 10.0 is reasonably smooth, I had no major issues except multimedia .. and on the open source (free download) version it's an issue, folks you aren't going to get it work "easily". I had gotten it to work on my 10.0 alpha .. but update messed it all up (I forgot to lock the things in YaST) . In released 10.0 I coudln't get the video to work no matter what I did. and I did .. and I did .

there are a lot of pointers on the web to do this and that .. and most of these things are hafl baked.
First the mirrors to use to download new packages are all in germay and it took me 3+ hours to download 180 MB (cable modem .. generally pretty good)..
And after doing all the "right" incantations .. the video still won't work !!!

So I said hell with it and let's go to Debian.

There are other minor issues iwth it, I really don't like Yast, it's slow and boring .. everytime it you invoke it .. it goes to updates the packages and if you are going to germany to get them .. it becomes a drag..

A lot of good packages are missing from regular DVD so you have another 1/2 hour of downloaiding and installing to do.

Another minor gripe is regarding fonts .. they are lacking, but that's a problem with all distros. Web site's don't look right all the time. Steal your windows font s .. you have paid for thiem !!

Screens are pretty though .. and the system works flawlessly. I gave it a 6 because instead on NOT having the mp3/video suppport in the package, the Suse folks have crippled it, by having bastardized packages that you have to uninstall and then install the "good one" .. and they don't tell you "all" the ones they have messed up .. so you have to rely on these suse-gurus for this information, most of them aren't much of a guru This is a pretty bad situation.
Real Player should be banned from this planet; it's brain dead, evil and pathetic. Suse should have stayed with the open source tool.

If you don't care about multimedia and don't want to pay, Suse is the best !!

If you want multimedia .. try others .

suse 10.0 peformance is better than 9.x .. without a doubt.
some of the gui things are almost 1.5x to 2x faster on the same hardware.

 
Old 10-21-2005, 04:05 AM   #6
 
Registered: Dec 1969
Posts: 0

Rep: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation:
Would you recommend the product? yes | Price you paid?: None indicated | Rating: 8

Pros: User freindly, good for n00bs like me :)
Cons: not much GAME support. :( hope they make more games for linux


It is easy to use. apart from when you are trying to compile something or do somthing with the terminal, then you have to know what you are doing:(. um... USB is quite slow accually... um...it comes with lots of really good programs, like all the multimedia support, and i like how they are not afraid to put in third party products (like kopete) to make it even better. but i guess we are all united in the face of the greatest enemey- m$. I LOVE KDE and GNOME is crap. For me (a home user) to make Linux appeal to more people (i speak for all the home users when i say this) then, more support should be put in for games and other things (e.g. make the WMV videos work, im a n00b and i don't know how to install friggin' w32 codecs!). WINDOWS ONLY APPEALS TO OTHER PEOPLE BECUASE OF THE PROGRAMS AVAILABLE TO THAT SYSTEM.

well, thats my say. oh, and when i upgraded 9.3 to 10.0 i lost all sound support (minus 1 mark).

Go Linux, that pengiun can take on that shitty flag anyday!
 
Old 10-29-2005, 07:26 AM   #7
Metalbarthug
 
Registered: Oct 2004
Distribution: Ubuntu 12.04
Posts: 57

Rep: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation:
Would you recommend the product? yes | Price you paid?: $4.50 | Rating: 8

Pros: Very fast to install, very comprehensive packages, hardware recognition second-to-none!!!
Cons: need to compile and install lame and xine to get MP3s and MPEGs playing, and SpeedtouchConf script does not work with 2.6.13 Kernel


Omigod.

I have been waiting a long time for this Distro. After buying Pro 8.0 and 9.1 and installing on an older PC, when I took delivery of my brand new HP t760 (UK version) I was all set to go pure-Linux. Unfortunately, after a years' worth of unsuccsessful Googling and PC crhashes and numerous re-installs of the Windows Recovery cd, I gave up.....

Until now. I bought a 5CD set of the OSS version of 10.0 from http://www.uselinux.co.uk (terrific, check them out), sat down with prints of all my hardware, installed in Text Mode and..... it went unbelievably smoothly!!!

10.0 OSS is fast to install, fast to boot (only minor niggle is having to choose between KDE and Gnome as GUI's rather than both.

A lot of packages are included, incl. AMAROK and Kaffeine, but beware, these are 'queered' and will not run MP3 out of the box. You need to go to a RPM repository like RPM PBone and get:

lame
xine-libs

then install via YAST, then your flying. One niggel is that I cannot get my CDs to play, Iwould launch KScd and it would look like a CD is playing, but no sounds (I cannot yet find where an audio cable would go on my Mobo, despite having a schematic). However, now when I put a CD in Kscd doesn;t do anything. Still not too bothered as I have most of my CDs on MP3 on a USB HDD anyway.

AmaroK is simply one of the most beatifully designed multimedia players I have ever used, fast reliable and crystal repro of MP3s.

Likewise Kaffeine's latest incarnation is a tremendous step forward. KDE 3.4 is likewise designed to the minutest detail, and eclipses XP once and for all (and 3.5 is imminent!! Squeak! control yourself 'Thug)

the only downer, and it is a HUGE one is the inability to get my Speedtouch 330 (silver Rev 4) USB modem working.

Having becoem a bit of a master at installign the SpeedtouchConf script n Suse's 8.0 & 9.1 Pro, I thought it would be a piece of pee-pee to do this time. No dice, I get the following message

"not redy to install this software at this time - code 1"

No amount of tweaking works, and spent 4 hours trying to do a workaround using a tutorial that only served to goose my USB keyboard and mouse. But thankfully I repaired using the 10.0 CD1.

Overall, Suse and Novell are taking great strides in developing Linux as a serious contender for Desktops and Laptops, I just hope they can be more bullish with new released (i.e. boast about some of the factory-delivered PCs that Linux works on)

I know a lot of people tweka and twiddle inside their boxes, but my experience with my HP t760, whic hhas no mods whatsoever, was a joyous experience.

I have so wanted to like and use Linux for the past 3 years or so that I am delighted I now have it working, just a shame about the modem....
 
Old 10-31-2005, 05:03 PM   #8
dukeinlondon
 
Registered: May 2003
Distribution: kubuntu 8.10
Posts: 593

Rep: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation:
Would you recommend the product? yes | Price you paid?: D/L | Rating: 9

Pros: Best desktop experience in my opinion
Cons: Not so many packages but essentials are well covered


to me, this is the best distro ever. It is clean, fast, well integrated, reliable and good looking.

Hardware support was no disappointment. Everything works, with nice touches like the HP toolbox thrown in, meaning I can now see the ink level of my printer. My ralink rt2500 based wifi card is fully supported and worked with no fiddling.

Post install configuration
I am a bit disappointed with yast. Although it's clean and works rather well, it failed completely and utterly to configure samba shares. After much struggling, it turns out that the kde control center is the best bet to get it going with a minimum of fuss.
Package install is OK but for a distro product, they have to go down the same root as ubuntu and show apps rather than go down to individual library packages. And dependencies checking is a bit confusing. And the package availability is not great. But a nice touch is that clicking on a rpm in a directory in konkeror offers the option to install with Yast, without dropping to the command line.

Fonts rendering is excellent and nvidia driver installation was done during the install.

Looks are great and menus well organised. Openoffice is very well implemented and starts quickly (8 secs on a 5 year old machine).

It's the first distro I try that comes with nice details like motherboard and cpu sensors modules in the kernel.

Mainstream multimedia is hardly supported at first boot and a little hunt for packages is required to play divx, mp3 and other dvds. Does the commercial distro come with support for that ? No idea.

Conclusion ? I keep it. It's the closest thing I know to what you get with MacOSX (multimedia aside).

 
Old 10-31-2005, 06:43 PM   #9
Cards_STL
 
Registered: Oct 2005
Distribution: SuSE 10.0
Posts: 54

Rep: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation:
Would you recommend the product? yes | Price you paid?: D/L | Rating: 9

Pros: Yast is wonderful, usually. Easy dual-boot, ability to use KDE and GNOME simultaneously, incredible compatibility with software, and most hardware, such as Wine. Wide selection of software out-of-the-box
Cons: Sometimes crashes at logon. Can prove to be unstable with some of their software, such as Beagle.


Truly, truly an excellent linux distribution. Out of the box it installs, partitions and is ready to go in a matter of minutes. It is blazing fast, compared to some other distributions. And, though many disgaree, I think that Yast is simply beautiful. Yast, is the package and installation manager of SuSE which is a very easy way to search for packages, install packages and do anything else that has to do with the word "package" except of course, FedEx'ing, but that will be avalible on version 11. It has a wide variety of software avalible out of the box. Such as many games, Wine, Gimp, OOo, basically everything you need to get a Linux PC on the go. A must-have for a linux user. And a get it or-be-sorry for the newbie. It could do with some work on Modem compatibility, and maybe offer more personalization out-of-the box <Though it is still more than windows> All-in-all, I gave it a 9, because its beautiful, but not flawless. Good luck to all of those who try it.

 
Old 11-01-2005, 11:31 AM   #10
bmaher292
 
Registered: Oct 2005
Posts: 11

Rep: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation:
Would you recommend the product? yes | Price you paid?: D/L | Rating: 5

Pros: Nice GUI - easy for new linux users
Cons: extremely high ram requirements


This is a nice looking OS, but it simply eats the RAM.

i use linux on my old dell, and suse 9.1 run flawlessly on it. But this simply failed to boot (after grub, it loaded the normal suse thing, and then simply froze, with no error messages).

i spoke to a friend who uses it, and he said upgrade the ram - so i chucked another 128 into there and made it 256 and it booted - but run like crap.

if you have a high spec system - go for it - but this is getting too much like windows with the system requirements.
 
Old 11-03-2005, 02:40 PM   #11
john510
 
Registered: Nov 2005
Posts: 9

Rep: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation:
Would you recommend the product? no | Price you paid?: D/L | Rating: 4

Pros: Nice interface easy to understand
Cons: Could not find my wireless card


Nice setup and easy to install but did take some time for 5 cd's. Used a netgear 511 card and it could not load it and also would not load my dell c600 laptop fixed network adapter.. From what I read everyone using the netgear 511 cards were SOL.. I stopped using it since I didnt want to continue with something that didnt support this.
 
Old 11-04-2005, 07:52 AM   #12
 
Registered: Dec 1969
Posts: 0

Rep: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation:
Would you recommend the product? yes | Price you paid?: D/L | Rating: 8

Pros: Smooth, painless installation; good hardware detection.
Cons: Needs all CDs to install completely; software repository size is small compared to distros like Debian or Gentoo


I installed SUSE Linux 10 a few days ago and I must say that I was quite impressed with this distro on the whole. It is one polished, professional Linux distribution with a smooth, painless installation procedure that is very beginner-friendly while at the same time being easily accessible to the expert user who wants to customize the whole process. I for example, needed to customize the partitions manually and also choose not to install a boot loader and it was quite easy to achieve this with the ďexpertĒ mode tools during the setup. At the same time, somebody who has a basic system can easily breeze through the installation with the default partitioning scheme. It all depends on the level of expertise and how much control you want over the process. For instance, if you have another Linux installed on your system, I suggest a custom partitioning scheme.

The installation of SUSE is basically a two-step process. First it installs the base system using only the first CD and then you reboot. Once you do and continue the installation by booting into the newly installed system, you get to configure your hardware, locale and system parameters and settings. Once this is done, you get a fully working Linux system. On my system at least, hardware detection was fully automated and I didnít get a single prompt for any settings. Of course, experts can choose to configure their hardware manually as well. Itís painless, fast and easy. The downside of SUSE installation is that you need all 5 CDs even for a basic installation because the packages are spread across the CDs and you never know which essential package is on which CD unless you really dig deep to investigate individual package files. This was a definite downside because I was forced to download all 5 CDs before I could install SUSE. Of course, if you choose to buy a boxed set from Novell, you could avoid this hassle.

YaST is the real strength of SUSE, though. Itís a fully integrated system configuration tool that does pretty much everything you might need from hardware, software, network configuration, server setup and other system administration. However though itís GUI, you will need to learn it and due to the sheer number of modules, you will need some time to really learn how to use it. On the other hand, a basic desktop user wonít really need to do much system administration except software management.

While on the subject of package management, I want to talk a little more on this from the perspective of a Debian user. SUSE uses the RPM system and has a wide variety of packages available, but not surprisingly it comes nowhere close to matching the size of the Debian software repository, which has more than 15,000 official packages. Though this is understandable, I did find it irksome to note that there are no SUSE packages for gFTP and audacity, for instance. As a Debian user who is spoilt on the huge official software repository (not to mention those found on apt-get.org), I found this limitation to be a turn off. On the other hand, the default SUSE package repository is large enough for typical users who may not need all the stuff that I generally use. By the way, there might be SUSE repositories online which have unofficial SUSE packages of software not found in the CDs, but I must admit that I havenít really investigated this aspect yet.

One other minor issue is that the default desktop fonts are a bit odd but that can be easily corrected by installing the Microsoft core TrueType fonts as a patch in the YaST online update module and customizing your fonts.

My impressions? SUSE is very much a desktop oriented distro, but not necessarily limited to the desktop user. Itís polished and professional and looks like a complete product. While YaST is excellent overall, the software management part of it is not nearly as convenient or polished as apt-get on Debian. The best part of SUSE 10 is probably that itís hardware detection is great, itís installation is smooth and painless and requires minimum manual intervention by default. That might really encourage users new to Linux to try it out. But if you are an experienced Linux user, particularly with distros like Debian or Slackware and you are used to being in control of your whole system, you might find the limitations of SUSE irksome.
 
Old 11-05-2005, 10:40 PM   #13
the_gripmaster
 
Registered: Jul 2004
Distribution: RHEL, CentOS, Ubuntu Server, Ubuntu
Posts: 357

Rep: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation:
Would you recommend the product? yes | Price you paid?: D/L | Rating: 9

Pros: YaST rocks, great usability
Cons: none (when compared to other Linux distros)


If you would like to say HOLLA to Linux, this is the distro you should start with. This is the most usable Linux distro, as claimed by SUSE, and reassured by me (someone who is not employed by SUSE). It has a polished, shiny, and attractive interface. Installation is painless.

YaST (Yet another Setup Tool) is a great tool for configuring your settings. You can add and remove packages with ease with this tool without running into dependency problems.

If you would be using GUI most of the time, this distro will make you feel like playing Frisbee with your Fedora CDs/DVDs!

SUSE Linux 10.0 comes in 3 flavors: OSS (open source software), Eval (evaluation), and Retail. OSS and Eval are free. OSS only contains open-source software, so no Adobe Reader, or RealPLayer, or Macromedia Flash plugin comes bundled. Of course, you can download and install them later. Eval comes with OSS, as well as closed-source software. Eval is NOT time limited, no nag-screens either. Reatils contains OSS+Eval+other software not included in Eval+official support from SUSE. Both OSS and Eval can be downloaded freely from www.opensuse.org
 
Old 11-06-2005, 12:49 PM   #14
masonm
 
Registered: Mar 2003
Distribution: Slackware64 13.37 Android 4.0
Posts: 2,248

Rep: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation:
Would you recommend the product? yes | Price you paid?: D/L | Rating: 8

Pros: Easy install, very polished look and feel, well integrated GUI tools
Cons: A bit bloated


Having tried past SuSE versions, I am pleasantly surprised to see that 64 bit 10.0 version has improved greatly. The installation properly detected and configured all of my hardware and the installation is simple enough for even a complete Linux newbie to work through with no problem.

It runs fairly quickly and is a very "complete" feeling distro with a lot of polish. The GUI configuration and update tools will make system maintenance a breeze for new Linux users and experienced alike.

In the past YAST tended to create as many configuration problems as it solved, but SuSE seems to have improved upon this greatly.

Installing additional applications is quite easy using YAST and I ran into very few dependency problems that couldn't be quickly solved.

All in all I'd say that Novell has taken SuSE in the right direction and would highly recommend SuSE 10.0 for new and experienced users alike.
 
Old 11-12-2005, 02:22 PM   #15
zostrianos447
 
Registered: Dec 2003
Distribution: SuSE 10
Posts: 17

Rep: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation:
Would you recommend the product? yes | Price you paid?: D/L | Rating: 10

Pros: Stable and fast
Cons: Some tweaking required


I've been a devoted user of SuSE since version 9. I know that's not very long in the lifetime of a distro but I've tried many other flavors of linux and I keep coming back to SuSE.

Version 10 is polished and stable.

The install was a breeze. The only differences I could see during the install from any other version is the prompts to allow detection of various types of hardware is gone and the installer automatically detects what it needs to. Also, I did not have an option to choose my particular grapics card and change it's configuration during install, all I could change was the display resolution. And the display and sound configuration are the very last aspects of the install.

I wont go into all of the things that make me happy about this distro, because I'd be typing forever. I will however mention the one thing that might make me abandon this version in anticipation of another.

I recently bought an ATI x850xt AGP 8x card and I cannot get 3D acceleration to work. I've spent quite a few hours using the instructions from both ATI's website and SuSE's website. However, it seems that when ATI and SuSE are saying that the proprietary ATI drivers support the x850xt, they are referring to the PCI-E version of the card, not the AGP. So, it is pretty depressing that the only game I can run using cedega is Starcraft, and it is choppy at that. I really wish that the linux "powers that be" could get this figured out and have better 3D acceleration support for the latest and greatest cards.

Also, it was pretty goofy that the "PCM" volume was turned all of the way down by default. Since I heard the nice little KDE startup sound when I booted up, this gave me a bit of a headache as I just assumed that this version lacked proper MP3 support. It turned out that this was not the case and I just needed to turn the sound up. This is the first distro (other than Mandrake) that has required any tweaking for my Audigy2 ZS.

SuSE is the only distro that will ever make it's way onto my machine. That is unless a distro comes along and says, "We natively support all hardware and software designed for WindowsXP out of the box.... LOL", or I can install F.E.A.R. and get 60FPS without cedega.

If you are considering changing distros or picking up linux as a desktop/server do yourself a favor and JUST DO IT. SuSE Rocks, despite it's few shortcomings.


Computer that is running SuSE 10

Thermaltake Xaser III Case w/ Silent PurePower 480 Watt PSU
ABIT AI7 i865PE Springdale Socket 478 Motherboard
Pentium 4 3.4E (Prescott aka "Heatmonster") Socket 478 CPU
1024MB PC3200 DDR 2-3-3-5 (4x 256MB Dual Channel)
Dual Hitachi 250GB Deskstar SATA 7200RPM 8MB Cache (No RAID)
ATI x850xt 256MB DDR3 AGP 8x
Creative Audigy2 ZS Platinum
NEC ND-2510A DVD +/- RW
Linksys WMP54GS Wireless 802.11g/s (ndiswrapper)

(oh yeah, and untill there is a better solution for gaming: Windows XP Professional will remain installed)
 
Page:  1 · 2 · 3 · 4 · 5 More Items




  



All times are GMT -5. The time now is 05:44 AM.

Main Menu
Advertisement

My LQ
Write for LQ
LinuxQuestions.org is looking for people interested in writing Editorials, Articles, Reviews, and more. If you'd like to contribute content, let us know.
Main Menu
Syndicate
RSS1  Latest Threads
RSS1  LQ News
Twitter: @linuxquestions
identi.ca: @linuxquestions
Facebook: linuxquestions Google+: linuxquestions
Open Source Consulting | Domain Registration