LinuxQuestions.org
Download your favorite Linux distribution at LQ ISO.
Go Back   LinuxQuestions.org > Reviews > Distributions > Mandriva
User Name
Password

Notices

Search · Register · Submit New Review · Download your favorite Linux Distributions ·
 

Mandrake MandrakeMove
Reviews Views Date of last review
6 24625 09-24-2005
spacer
Recommended By Average Price Average Rating
100% of reviewers $13.93 8.8



Description: MandrakeMove, Mandrake Linux on one bootable CD.
Keywords: MandrakeMove. Mandrake on Live CD.


Author
Post A Reply 
Old 01-27-2004, 08:16 AM   #1
Nukem
 
Registered: May 2003
Distribution: Slackware: in progress, Mandrake 9.2, Libranet, Vector
Posts: 373

Rep: Reputation:
Would you recommend the product? yes | Price you paid?: D/L | Rating: 10

Pros: Almost all the programs that are available in Mandrake 9.2 is available in the live CD.
Cons: Totem is the only media player and KDE is the only GUI.



I'm giving this product the rate "Excellent" because so far, It's the most complete and in my opinion the best live CD ever. After I booting up for the first time, the first thing that came to my mind was, "now I have something to give my windows friends and tell them, this is a small linux distrubution, try it." I think, if you are a nubie, wanting to try linux, this is the best oppotunity.

After burning the iso to a CDRW, I booted in to MandrakeMove and I realised that booting up process takes much longer than any other Live CD that I have every tried. In my P4 2.4 GHz with 512MB Ram, computer it took about 5 minutes untill I KDE is starting.

These are the steps that I went through..

1) Boot up
2) Select language
3) Agree the agriment
4) Add a user (not root)
5) Auto detecting devices
6) Setting up printer (my printer detected and configured automatically)
7) Loading KDE 3.1

Those are the steps that I went through and every person who download the free version of MandrakeMove will go through every time they want to use it.

First, let's look at the good things.

1) This is the most complete live CD ever, as I said before.

It has Gimp as one of the grapic design application, Konqueror as the web browser and directory browser. Open Office as word processor, and also contains following programs that I'll be using most plus many more. Gaim, XChat, KBear, KMail, KNode, Kppp, Quanta Plus, K3B, and Arc. Of course these are only a few of what it really has to offer.
This is the reason that I've been saying that this is the most complete Live CD ever.

2) Easier to use, specially for linux newbies.

One of the most important thing that I noticed was, that It detected and configured all my hardware properly. Even my Lexmark Z42 USB printer, which I have to configure manually in usual mainstream distributions. Because of this feature, it is best for the linux newbies, as this step is a nightmare for most of the people. Specially when they have no clue of the kind of hardware they have. After that everything else is just like Mandrake 9.2, but better.

Of course these are only a few Pros..

Now let's look at the cons that I noticed.

1) KDE 3.1 is the only gui avilable. I know that there are some people who doesn't like KDE. Well.. all I can say is too bad.

2) For playing simple media files such as MP3's Totem is the one and only player. I personally don't like Totem for some reason. At least, couldn't they just add one more media player, since this is a live CD and people aren't going to install any programs them selves?

3) Booting up process takes an extreamly long time compaired to any other live distrubutions. In my P4 2.4 GHz computer with 512MB Ram, it took about 5 minutes untill the KDE desktop start loading.

Well.. This is just my opinion of what I saw in MandrakeMove.
By the way this is another thing that I noticed.
root has no password. The user that you add before will be the default user. When I opened the console and typed "su -m" I was automatically the root. But who cares anyways...

All I know is this is a distrubition that I can give my friends and tell them to try it. Unlike other distro.s I dont have to go through a long process about thins like partitioning and then realizing the poor guy who doesn't even know what partitioning had run away just couldn't stand my talk, or the guy had just deleted all his partitions accidently and coming back to me and saying that he can't use Windows anymore...

Finally I would like to say that MandrakeMove has good features that most other distrubutions (not only live distributions and including regular Mandrake Linux) should have included in them.

P.S: The version I used was the regular downloadable version and it does not let you save your settings and etc. in USB like retail version.
 
Old 01-30-2004, 10:39 PM   #2
marsonist
 
Registered: Sep 2002
Distribution: SuSE 9.1 Pro
Posts: 171

Rep: Reputation: Reputation:
Would you recommend the product? yes | Price you paid?: $19.90 | Rating: 10

Pros: USB Key handling, Can swap out system CD ROM to play music/movies, Overall ease of use
Cons: No XMMS (uses Totem for music and movies), lack of any compiler or development programs (Minor gripe really)


I went ahead and purchased the bare (no included usb key) boxed edition, and I have to agree, it is an excellent product. Since your review covered the downloadable version without usb key support I figured I might add a few lines describing that... as well as a few agreements/disagreements with your review

I think the way MandrakeMove pulled off USB Key support is outstanding. When you first boot the product you must enter a username and pass, as well as accept an end user agreement (... ugh). Then you are asked to insert a USB Key if one is not already present. A USB key is not 100% necessary, but extends the functionality of the product 100 fold. After having the USB Key detected, mandrake boots to the desktop. (note: with the USB Key configured and present, you will never be asked questions on subsequent boots... just sent straight to the desktop. Great, huh?) At this point your FSTAB point /home to your USB key. All files are written directly to the USB keys FAT filesystem. I find this great because it is possible to easily view and access all home directory files from any other computer. Other bootable distros like to create .img files which 1) are difficult to view on other computers and 2) force you to predict the size of your home directory.... use to little and you haven't enough space, use too much and the you eat space from the rest of the USB key. So I give MandrakeMove a definite +1 in that category.

Mandrake Move creates 2 things on the USB Key. A folder named after the user you created on first boot (AKA: home directory) and a "dotfolder" hidden directory which contains your each computers individual setup. The latter of the two I find quite interesting. It appears that MandrakeMove has some sort of hardware hashing algorithm that allows it to come up with a unique ID for each computer that it is used in. When I use it on my laptop all of the configurations for my laptop are used... When I use it at work all of the configurations form my work computer are used. (NVidia drivers and all) I found that to be an outstanding feature that goes above and beyond most bootable distro's use of USB keys. As for the Home directory, it works as one might expect. All desktop and program configurations as well as personal files are stored there. When I play Chromium at work (...shhhh) the last level completed is stored, so when I go home I can start at my last completed level. Mail settings are saved, desktop preferences.... the whole works. It really feels like a full blown desktop moving with you. Another Big old +1.... make that +2. I couldn't imagine a USB key being handled any better.

As for the applications included, I found most of what I was looking for there. I find Totem quite acceptable as a movie player. When one selects the totem Icon you are presented with an option to Eject the MandrakeMove disk, to allow you to play media from CD should you only have one drive, or to play files from your hard disk. I found the ability to eject the MandrakeMove disk invaluable, as I wouldn't be able to watch all of my movies at work without it (I really don't work as much as I should , huh?) Unfortunately this CD Eject feature only works with Totem, as apps like K3B require a second drive. As a side note with K3B, I was told that ATAPI burners are not supported and that I should configure any such burners with SCSI Emulation.... I don't have a computer with two CD ROM drives on it, so I wasn't really able to see if I could get a burner working, but at least K3B is there. I was a bit disappointed to see my tried and true XMMS not present, Totem is relied on for all multimedia which I guess is acceptable, but I miss my basic, standalone music player. As it stands, multimedia seems to be handled quite well (I was unable to test it on DVDs, but perhaps soon) so I give it yet another +1

Something else that I miss is any sort of GCC or development apps, I guess this is understandable, as this distro is targeted at the desktop crowd and those relatively uninitiated with linux. I would have liked to be able to brush up on my coding skills. Oh well, I guess I couldn't have it all

The hardware support seemed to be outstanding. I was able to get all hardware thrown at it to work. All of my laptop hardware, my work computers hardware (to include HP Laserjet printer), with the only exception being my Siemens PCMCIA 802.11b Card. This card is based on the Atmel chipset and is a bugger to set up on a normally installed distro, so I would have been extremely surprised to see it work from a CD bootable distro. As previously mentioned, the retail version includes drivers for NVidia cards and, I have heard, also for Radion cards. +1 here too

I tend to agree with the reviewer that this is, indeed, the best bootable CD based distro out there. Certain other distros may be better at system recovery, or have more programs thrown at the user, but I have yet to find one that comes close to MandrakeMove in terms of desktop usability. If you enjoy the download edition do yourself a big favor and consider the boxed version. The USB key functionality adds so much to the functionality of this product it is unbelievable.


Steve W.

P.S. I've been using linux for about 5 years now, but still have lots to figure out. (e.g. that K3B problem on my home SUSE system I just posted... hint hint) My favorite distro still stands with SUSE 9.0, but this product has me interested in seeing what new things Mandrake may come out with. This is the first time that I have reviewed any product, so that should say something about how much I enjoy it. Any comments or questions?
 
Old 03-16-2004, 01:25 AM   #3
czechknight93
 
Registered: Aug 2003
Distribution: openSUSE 10.1
Posts: 95

Rep: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation:
Would you recommend the product? yes | Price you paid?: $19.90 | Rating: 10

Pros: USB Key features, Portable, Complete
Cons: Didn't work on all of my computers


I am giving MandrakeMove a 10 because I am a big fan of mandrake and have been for almost 5 years. I love the idea of MandrakeMove with being able to save your data on a USB Key drive. However, I cannot get it to load on my desktop. I have a fairly good muscle machine, so I should be able to use it, but I cannot get the GUI to load. SLAX and Knoppix (other CD distros.) load just fine. My system is:
AMD Athlon XP 2400+ (2.0GHz)
512 MB DDR
128 MB ATI Radeon 9600
52x24x52/16x CD-RW/DVD drive
SB Audigy 2 24bit Sound

One would think that MandrakeMove would work on this system, since it works on my Celeron 2.4GHz, 256 MB DDR, Intel Graphics (not even close to the ATI above), 16x DVD. I find this rather odd. The other thing is that when it loads on the Celeron system, the display is only 640x480 and WILL NOT get any bigger. The desktop will go to 1024x768, but the display remains at 640x480.

Overall, I love the idea of MandrakeMove. It is a wonderful OS to use and it's nice that it is portable. I highly recommend MandrakeMove to anyone looking for a Linux Distro.
 
Old 04-19-2004, 01:25 AM   #4
2mcm
 
Registered: Apr 2004
Distribution: Slackware 10.0, Gentoo ( no version )
Posts: 21

Rep: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation:
Would you recommend the product? yes | Price you paid?: $2.00 | Rating: 8

Pros: Detects most hardware
Cons:


 
Old 06-05-2004, 02:56 PM   #5
oxidized
 
Registered: Jun 2004
Distribution: Debian
Posts: 21

Rep: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation:
Would you recommend the product? yes | Price you paid?: D/L | Rating: 9

Pros: Live CD, plenty of software, great hardware detection
Cons:


Yes, almost exactly like Mandrake Linux 9.2 (which the livecd is based on). This livecd is a great way to preview 9.2 before you actually install 9.2. It has more than enough software to try out and it has very good hardware detection and autosetup.

One thing, just like the installed 9.2, this version cannot detect Sound Blaster AWE64 (ISA). Still worth using.
 
Old 09-24-2005, 04:43 PM   #6
 
Registered: Dec 1969
Posts: 0

Rep: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation:
Would you recommend the product? yes | Price you paid?: D/L | Rating: 6

Pros:
Cons: LG 1915S monitor -> out of range 81.3Khz/65Hz for move2 eval-live cd


I have the above mentioned problem trying to evaluate this distribution. The problem is that other monitors such as LG1715S and EIZO L355 with inferior charateristics are capable to display X-Windows. I would appreciate any suggestion for further evaluation of this distribution.
 




  



All times are GMT -5. The time now is 01:11 AM.

Main Menu
Advertisement

My LQ
Write for LQ
LinuxQuestions.org is looking for people interested in writing Editorials, Articles, Reviews, and more. If you'd like to contribute content, let us know.
Main Menu
Syndicate
RSS1  Latest Threads
RSS1  LQ News
Twitter: @linuxquestions
identi.ca: @linuxquestions
Facebook: linuxquestions Google+: linuxquestions
Open Source Consulting | Domain Registration