LinuxQuestions.org
Welcome to the most active Linux Forum on the web.
Go Back   LinuxQuestions.org > Reviews > Distributions > Ubuntu
User Name
Password

Notices

Search · Register · Submit New Review · Download your favorite Linux Distributions ·
 

Ubuntu Breezy 5.10
Reviews Views Date of last review
35 159200 07-04-2006
spacer
Recommended By Average Price Average Rating
91% of reviewers None indicated 8.6



Description: Ubuntu Breezy 5.10 seems to be very stable and very reliable (please note that i am using a PREVIEW RELEASE) The problems i have had were the update manager updated my xserver-xorg and it messed up my display settings really bad, eventually I got that worked out. Other than that the only problem I have had was with my veo stingray webcam, Ubuntu doesn't include the spca50x webcam drivers or any packages, but it can be compiled and modprobed into the kernel.
Keywords: Ubuntu Kubuntu Debian-Based Debian APT Synaptic


Author
Post A Reply 
Old 09-24-2005, 12:20 AM   #1
kataklysm
 
Registered: Sep 2005
Distribution: Slackware -current
Posts: 7

Rep: Reputation:
Would you recommend the product? yes | Price you paid?: D/L | Rating: 9

Pros: Quick and easy installation, automatic configuration works good, repositories have a surplus of great packages!
Cons: problems with xfce4(minor, not an issue to me) not good support for usb webcams



First off, I was very surprised with Ubuntu 5.10 Breezy! I always thought that Ubuntu had a name sort of like a newbie distro would have, so I always tried to avoid it..

One day I got tired of using RedHat (had used RH 3-9, FC 1-4, and RHEL 2 -4). I basically was getting tired of having to dig up rpms from the net that weren't supported by redhat, and I hated the dephell I had to go through when compiling from source, face it, with redhat a lot of software can't be found in rpm form!

Well I was thinking about going back to Debian, but I got to reading reviews and wiki on Ubuntu. Ubuntu is Debian based, but in my opinion it has better options in the repositories. The software is more bleeding edge, but it at least seems stable.

The installation program went very smooth, and surprisingly fast compared to a RH based install. All of my hardware was configured properly with an exception of my Veo Stingray Webcam, that wasn't a big deal.. I just compiled the spca50x driver, and modprobed it.

One problem that doesn't concern me, which may be fixed when the final CDs ship, is the installation requires internet to download some final packages. If someone uses dialup, or has a NIC that isnt supported by the install method, they might have a failure at installing.

Another problem I had was with XFCE4 desktop. I installed xfce4 from the repository, logged in, and got xfce4 working good, all the sudden my right click menu for apps quit working. I tried to log out and back in, no success, which put me back over to gnome rather quickly. If xfce4 wouldn't have done this, I would probably choose it as my prefered desktop environment, but until it gets fixed you will see me using Gnome.

My reccommendations, would be to at least wait until October 13th 2005, for 5.10 to be finalized if you want a full time OS, but if you can't wait and would like to test the preview of it, it does indeed seem very stable, and I would definately recommend it over any other distro I have used, even RH as long as I used it! Ubuntu Breezy 5.10 gets a 9 out of 10 from me!
 
Old 09-25-2005, 06:53 PM   #2
p_kelchen
 
Registered: Jan 2005
Distribution: SuSE 10.0
Posts: 13

Rep: Reputation: Reputation:
Would you recommend the product? yes | Price you paid?: D/L | Rating: 9

Pros: Gnome 2.12, stable, everything correctly auto-configured, fast to start up, run, and shut down, up-to-date packages on a Debian base.
Cons: Ugly default theme, funky name, no hibernation.


I went from using SuSE for a long time to using Ubuntu after my hard drive died. I decided on Ubuntu 5.10 as the new SuSE 10 versions would not install correctly and I like Gnome a lot better than KDE. So I downloaded the 5.10 version and let fly.

The installer is typical Debian, which looks pretty old-school compared to some of the really slick ones like SuSE's. But it gets the job done well. The install went smoothly and took about an hour as some packages had to be downloaded and my cable wasn't all that fast that evening.

After the initial boot, I was presented with a clean Gnome 2.12 desktop with an unattractive death-by-brown color scheme. However, the Clearlooks theme is included and it is only a few clicks away.

It automatically set up even most of the easy-access buttons on my keyboard as well and no other distribution has done that. ACPI functions are all there except for hibernation. The button is there, but the screen blacks and the CPU fan goes full tilt. It requires a reboot, which is the fastest I have ever seen on any OS. Shutting down is quick too, and the OS runs very sprightly.

APT is wonderful. Add two repositories (Debian sarge and the debian-marillat repository) and you have any program you'd ever want and no dep problems. I used to hate it when the odd one came by on SuSE and I'd have to hunt it down.

It is the best OS I have ever used to date- now if they would only fix the hibernation and the name, it'd get a 10/10 from me!
 
Old 09-28-2005, 03:56 PM   #3
JeanBrownHarrel
 
Registered: Sep 2004
Distribution: Ubuntu Linux 12.04 [64-bit version] THE BEST!!!
Posts: 50

Rep: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation:
Would you recommend the product? no | Price you paid?: D/L | Rating: 1

Pros: HP printer/scanner/copier works out of the box!
Cons: Only one-a bug-after reboot-it can't find the hard drive!!!


The best distro I have found to date except...when I shut it down and then cut it back on or when I reboot it all after I just finished installing it then it stops after starting the boot process and it can't find the hard drive it just started booting off of. It says "booting the kernel" then half a screen down it says"Alert! /dev/hde1 does not exist. Dropping to a shell.
_" <-this is the blinking cursor it shows. And it just booted off /dev/hde1 and it can't find it? If they ever fix this bug I will revise my rating from a 1 to a 10. Otherwise the best distro to date far far surpassing FC4 & Red Hat Linux which used to be good distros but no more. There is everything good to say about this distro and only one bad thing;a critical bug in my opinion. The bug I mentioned above. I verified the download as perfect and the cd was perfectly burned. So it can only be a bug. Unless somebody can explain why Hoary Hedgehog works perfectly but when I upgrade it to the preview release of Breezy Badger [both amd64 version] and it reboots after that and it starts to boot up but then stops halfway and says that the hard drive doesn't exist. Please explain that in the best distro out today. Otherwise I love it. I had planned on it being my only distro until I discovered this bug. Help!!!
Can't recommend this distro until they fix this bug. Also they should not release Ubuntu-Breezy-5.10 officially until they fix this bug and it has been reported and is being worked on.
Sincerely,
Jean Brown Harrell
 
Old 10-10-2005, 03:17 PM   #4
Bonzodog
 
Registered: Apr 2005
Distribution: Arch Linux 64
Posts: 76

Rep: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation:
Would you recommend the product? yes | Price you paid?: D/L | Rating: 9

Pros: easy install, it all just works.
Cons: no framebuffer in console?


I have been a slackware user since 1997, and always liked it because of it's easy use and being very stable.

However, last year I bought myself a new 64 bit system, and although started out by going back to slackware, I wasn't happy that I wasn't utilising the system capabilities.
Thus, started my hunt for 64 bit distros. I saw mandriva LE2005 on a friends box, and decided it seemed to possesed with the idea of making choices for you, and didn't seem like a true linux distro, rather a very hacked one.

I then found Suse 9.3 pro on DVD on a magazine, but realised it was very bloated and tried to install over 4GB of software on the system, and not having KDE wasn't a choice. You HAD to have KDE or suse wouldn't work.

I had read various reviews of Ubuntu on the net and a lot of people had seemed very impressed with it. Also, gnome (my favourite desktop) was it's standard choice of desktop- even Slackware had standardised on KDE for the latest release.

So, I went to the site, and downloaded and burnt the X86_64 version (well, I suppose suse did have ONE use), then waited eagerly for the weekend when I would have time to install, and wipe out novells sorry excuse for a Linux distro.

I installed it on the saturday morning, and it went very well, although the partitioning tool threw me a bit at first- I think this could be looked at at some point. I was used to text installs from using slack, so it didn't phase me at all. I was very impressed with the way it installed the base system and kernel, then rebooted, and proceeded to build the system from the packages. I went to get a cup of coffee, came back 15 mins later, it was nearly done. the only thing I had noticed when the re-boot was going through the check list was that it couldn't find the framebuffer- a small oversight? I have since noticed that the framebuffer package isn't installed, and intend to do that and get it working in the console, as I do have the odd use for console mode. However, it finished the install, and was impressed at the 'one program/tool for each thing' such as web, email, IRC etc. I had gotten used to distros having x number of choices for each thing, and It was too much when i had noticed that suse installed no less than 5 web browsers!

The system then did a dynamic update (I have ADSL, which it configured automatically), and re-installed the new packages. A strange thing is the Java prog- Ubuntu claim they can't install it by default for legal reasons, but Suse had installed it by default.

Since then, I have found it to be extremely quick, it feels light, and I just love the way it works. At the moment I could say I have been firmly converted. The apt-get system is great, although It took a small bit of getting used to using sudo instead of just su'ing to root for admin tasks.
Great distro, and I am now spreading the word to others.
 
Old 10-15-2005, 04:54 AM   #5
UbuDio
 
Registered: Oct 2005
Posts: 20

Rep: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation:
Would you recommend the product? yes | Price you paid?: D/L | Rating: 9

Pros: Wireless Network, Fast, Stable, Userguide, Community
Cons: Configure webcam


Hi
I m new in the Linux community and actually I m very happy. I ve started with Fedora, Suse, Mepis, .. NOW I have been with Ubuntu for for the last 8 months and very happy.
For such a young distribution they rule in terms of accessibility, reliability, compatibility, ... I just wanna say that they are on the right track to become the best!
Regarding Linux it self its just great not because its free, but for the community and it gives a kick when sometimes you have to solve issues.
http://www.linuxquestions.org/questions/showthread.php?s=&threadid=373241
Dio
 
Old 10-18-2005, 10:37 AM   #6
tuxombie
 
Registered: Oct 2004
Distribution: Slackware 10, Ubuntu, Debian Sarge
Posts: 53

Rep: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation:
Would you recommend the product? yes | Price you paid?: D/L | Rating: 10

Pros: Easy install, apt, excellent hardware detection and laptop support
Cons: 1 CD distro and hence lack of several important packages


I installed Ubuntu on my brand new Thinkpad T-43 after reading excellent reviews about its laptop support. I had already installed Ubuntu Warty, so the installation was easy. It correctly detected my ATA harddrive, which Slackware did not do because it is a 2.4 Kernel.

It used my university wireless network to download more packages, which meant that wireless worked properly. It also detected the 1400x1050 resolution correctly; even Knoppix had not done this (I think).

It was very impressive to see almost all laptop functionality working as it should-Suspend to Ram, Hibernate, laptop keys, wireless. I must say that it even resembles windows with its updates. There is a network applet on the panel which would enable easy connection to the network. And the battery applet. The battery gives only 2 1/2 hours which falls short I think from its capability.

Apt and synaptic work brilliantly. But the only crib I have with Ubuntu is its being a one CD distribution. They don't ship with developer tools, like GCC. For people using Linux to be productive, it does not ship with the two very major Linux successes-GCC and Latex. Its amazing. How could a linux distribution think of existing without Latex. Downloading is not an issue with a broadband connection, but back in India, it will be a pain. Plus, I would rather install all the packages if they are supplied in several CDs.

There were also a few issues with the Wpa_supplicant package which had to be downloaded to support the WPA encryption for the wireless network. One has to edit the config file. One can find examples in the wpa webpage.

But roughly this is what is done (I am sorry for hand waving here)
in /etc/network/interfaces add a line to tell it to look at the wpa_config file in /etc. Also add the name of the router.

in /etc/wpa_config add the password. The HEX string works. I do not remember if the ASCII thing works, but this should not give problems either if one encloses it in double quotes.

Emacs used to give garbled fonts until it got fixed during subsequent updates. One also needs to get the vim config file from /usr/share/vim/.... and put it into .bashrc. Aliases have to be created :alias rm ="rm -i" and for cp.

Overall, Ubuntu is an excellent Laptop distribution, with very neat fonts and display. It actually feels nice that it can work as well as windows, while retaining all the goodness of Linux-the terminal, multiple desktop, swapping keys and billions of other things.

I strongly recommend it for a laptop over (perhaps) other Distros.

a) Knoppix -Default display and some problems with the wireless.

b) Slackware- Vanilla kernel -probably going to be an issue here. 2.4 does not like ATA. But one can install 2.6 from the second CD.

c) Fedora- Sleep and Hibernate don't work properly by default. WPA supplicant fails because of some reason (my friend is still grappling with this, we have since changed from WPA to WEP encryption).
 
Old 11-02-2005, 07:14 PM   #7
winsnomore
 
Registered: May 2004
Distribution: #1 PCLinuxOS -- for laughs -> Ubuntu, Suse, Mepis
Posts: 315

Rep: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation:
Would you recommend the product? no | Price you paid?: D/L | Rating: 2

Pros: It has new software (evolution/oo etc.)
Cons: Quiet a few warts, customied things don't work, Multimedia ?


I had tried an earlier ubuntu version (4.x) and had decided to stay away from it but after more than one year I picked up the courage to try it again.

I tried 5.10 .. the install is way too old compared to suse/fedora/mandriva. It took more than 40 minutes from a 32x CD.
Ubuntu boot is still not done right, it installed itself in MBR even though I asked it to stay on the root partition. The default kernel boot options (using grub) were wrong and it won't boot, I had to hand edit them out to boot it.
Display wasn't configure correctly ( was set to 60 hz .. bad bad bad) .. and only choice was to dpkg -- ...

I don't believe a total noob would have been able to get past this point .. so I am rather amazed at it's popularlity (hype).

I don't use gnome, so used kde. Ubuntu has changed the simple KDE control centerand replaced it some jazz that DOESN'T WORK .. if you select anything, it does nothing .. pretty basic and pretty pathetic.

You can't do "su" .. there is no root login .. so you mess around with sudo this and sudo that .. but you can say "sudo sh" and get yourself a root window anyways .. so there !!!
It really is a bad idea not to have root login ability .. sometimes (a lot of times when playing with some distros) you have to do a few things .. there are simple ways around it, but these guys just make life miserable for no reason.

No mpeg/avi codecs were installed nothing with mpeg played and that turned me off .. I wasn't going to start fixing yet another basic set of probelms.

So I played with it for about about 2/3 hours and decided that if I really needed a tropical disease, i will try dengu.
 
Old 11-02-2005, 09:23 PM   #8
stynhx9000
 
Registered: Nov 2005
Distribution: Ubuntu 5.10 Breezy
Posts: 27

Rep: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation:
Would you recommend the product? yes | Price you paid?: D/L | Rating: 9

Pros: Ease of install/updating, Synaptic, community, ease of use
Cons: Ugly default theme, not enough penguins


I've been an on again, off again user of Linux for the past several years having puttered about with Mandrake and Redhat mostly. I could never fully justify switching from my win2k or XP installs however because of my familiarity with it and it's ease of use on my home system.

This august I purchased an IBM T42p and decided to play around with linux a bit. I installex XP on a 30 GB partition, created a 10 GB partition for linux and left about 20GB in a FAT32 partition for sharing.

After installing and tweaking XP to my liking, I dug out the Ubuntu (Warty) install CD I had laying about and had a look.

Right from the start I was quite impressed. The install went very well, no hitches on hardware or formatting the partition. while it did take a little while to install (40+ minutes including the download of the latest debs) it's still nothing compared to the FULL DAY it took to install, update and tweak XP to my liking.

In less than an hour I had rebooted into my new Ubunto install. I found it easy to get around in, and was quite happy with Synaptic as a GUI package manager.

I'm still not an expert linux user, but I was able to answer every question I had simply by google and/or going to ubuntulinux.com and browsing through the forums or the excellent unofficial 5.04 howto guide.

within a day I had both Firefox and Thunderbird up and running to my liking, my FAT32 partition mounted with all of my music and misc. documents, my codecs set up to play mp3, avi, wmv and whatnot and a hundred other little tweaks in place.

I then spent the next few days with synaptic downloading packages I'd not heard of and playing around with them.

When 5.10 came out, I changed my repositories to a less busy mirror and with the single apt-get dist-upgrade command, I watched as I was upgraded to Breezy. This was probably a tougher than average upgrade as I had been installing litterally hundreds of extra (universe/multivers) packages but I only had one hiccup. OpenOffice 2.0 failed to install correctly and was a bit off when I tried to do even simple things. via synaptic I set it to reinstall. Once completed, it worked without a hitch.

Over the past few weeks I've been tooling around like I really know what I'm doing. I've created my own theme to replace the extremely brown default theme, and basically had a grand old time doing things I could'nt easily do in Linux before.

I'm still finding my way around and have yet to accomplish everything, but I've switched to using Ubuntu full time now at both home and work on my laptop. I rarely boot into windows now, with my main reason being gaming.

I'm quite impressed with this distro and I've learned a lot about linux the short time I've been using it full time.

Recently I install Breezy server on a spare whitebox at work and we use it as a filer for extra storage.

Cheers to Ubuntu. I highly recommend this distro to folks who have little to moderate experience. And at a guess, even the gurus out there would enjoy it.

Ben
 
Old 11-05-2005, 11:12 PM   #9
Revert_To_Saved
 
Registered: Oct 2005
Posts: 3

Rep: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation:
Would you recommend the product? yes | Price you paid?: D/L | Rating: 9

Pros: Easy installation, easy package system
Cons: one bug so far (the updater started using 20-40% of the processor; had to end/restart the process)


This was my second linux distro (following SuSE), and all in all, it's been great. Installation was incredibly easy, it automatically set up my wireless networking card, the Synaptic package manager is easy to use and makes finding software painless. Really, apart from a minor bug, it's been working flawlessly for me.

If you're new to Linux, this is a great place to start.
 
Old 11-12-2005, 09:39 PM   #10
Erik_the_Red
 
Registered: Jun 2003
Distribution: Arch
Posts: 113

Rep: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation:
Would you recommend the product? yes | Price you paid?: D/L | Rating: 9

Pros: Superb autodetection, polished look, very friendly to beginners
Cons: Not that many development tools out of the box


Ubuntu has continuously improved its releases. I remember Warty did not even have ACPI standard! Hoary fixed that and updated many, many programs and improved the look and feel. Breezy takes it one step further with a genuine splash screen!

The default installer is still text-based and has not changed. However, it is not scary and is easy to use.

Many useful programs (e.g. OpenOffice Suite, Firefox, Evolution, etc.) come out of the box. This is good for those especially new to Linux.

I personally like GNOME better than KDE, and Breezy has the most recent stable release. Nautilus has been updated to be even easier to use; it's more like Explorer than before.

The only gripe I have about Ubuntu is that if you don't want to use the repositories - which are excellent - you have to get some development tools yourself.

Other than that, I recommend Ubuntu to anyone and everyone.
 
Old 11-16-2005, 12:46 AM   #11
nemopaice
 
Registered: Nov 2005
Distribution: Kubuntu
Posts: 3

Rep: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation:
Would you recommend the product? yes | Price you paid?: D/L | Rating: 10

Pros: It was easy to install and detected everything without a hitch
Cons: cant think of any


I am new to linux, and I tried 3 other distributions, I won't name them simply because to me it's bad taste, and I know not everyone had my problems. I went to ubuntu 5.04 and it detected everything. but seeing as I am new to linux I hit a few small roadblocks. found the KDE part and it made my transittion easier. But there was still a few things That just drove me nuts. I kept XP and was dual booting but since I had XP on the second HD, I sudennly couldn't boot into XP, without messing with switching things around in grub.

Then 2days later 5.10 breezy came out so I said well I might as well have the latest,(and I stuck with Kubuntu) And just installed fresh over 5.04 and It went WAYYY smoother than the first time even ...and My dual boot worked just fine. When I now read something negative about 5.10, the only thing I can think of is it must be a hardware or configure problem, different systems work better for different Pc's not all hardware is the same. Now I am no longer dual booting, and I have never in my life been happier with a system since my first C64 and I got to use Quantum Link for the first time.

All in all, for me whether it's Gnome or KDE, Ubuntu is by far my favorite Distribution.
 
Old 11-23-2005, 12:23 PM   #12
ilcra1989
 
Registered: May 2005
Distribution: ubuntu
Posts: 2

Rep: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation:
Would you recommend the product? yes | Price you paid?: D/L | Rating: 10

Pros: based on debian and easy to use
Cons: sometimes updating X.org crashes with ati drivers


I only had to download extra drivers for the graphic crad(ati) for 3d aceleration. It detected correctly the rest including the S-ata disc in wich is installed and the wifi card.
I started using linux with fedora core and when i decided to probe ubuntu I couldn't go back to fedora.
 
Old 12-11-2005, 04:35 AM   #13
RickM7811
 
Registered: Dec 2005
Posts: 1

Rep: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation:
Would you recommend the product? no | Price you paid?: None indicated | Rating: 1

Pros: gnome is nice desktop
Cons: documentation issues...buggy pluggins...standard via drivers don't install


umbutu advertises itself as a linux for beginners and advanced users....however this ex windows hopeful is going back to windows 2000 pro....
the starter guide is a total train wreck.....if you follow directions and plug in commands....they don't work unless you have prior knowlege of linux and can doctor them up....of course. You may want to pass on the message that copying and pasteing things out of delapedated starter guide only works if it up to date...asked two times how to install updated java plug in and two different people replied with a command line that was out dated that contained file name not even offered anymore on java web site....they may want to switch the official documentation with the unofficial documentation...who ever is writing that seems to be alittle bit more on the ball.
Well I still have not been able to install that updated java plug in.... the one that was installed at the beggining seems to be buggy...even after going thru synaptic am still getting xml parser errors....or did umbutu pull a microsoft and release 5.10 full of bugs and a lack of documentation for the current version

well after all that starter guide should be for mac os and windows users that have no clue....you may want to take a poll as to 1. how many windows users have tried umbutu and have given up due to the documentation and bug filled software 2 how many are using dual boot and using umbutu just to read email and surf the web and windows for everything eles 3 how many windows users are able to excel using nothing but linux and can use the full benefits of linux....if your goal is to put bill gates out of business writing a starter guide and having that wiki thing...that only serves to confuse and fraustrate the new user....what use is linux if you cannot choose the software you want to install.....i finally got the answer from debian.org........still have not recieved a reply from the documentation team at umbutu about the documentation

Have the old western digital floppy in hand and ready for the low format.....are all the linux distros as bad as this one ....you may want to read up on singularity...microsoft has a new os (windowless) in the works aimed right a linux to be released in 2007...you guys have a lot of work to do in the next year
maybe I'll try xandos next and see if they do alittle better....so much for free and open source ...paid 80 bucks for my first windows 98se cd back in high school
well good luck
Rick M
p.s. why does firefox say that spell check is on but it wont do it ...wonder if it dosen't work in windows 2000 either
 
Old 01-15-2006, 11:00 PM   #14
Chris9450
 
Registered: Jan 2006
Posts: 1

Rep: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation:
Would you recommend the product? yes | Price you paid?: None indicated | Rating: 9

Pros: Easy install, very stable, can be trimmed down for servers, great os for newbies
Cons: Doesn't dispense hot cocoa


This is a great distro. I consider myself a semi-noob with linux and this installed super smooth, and runs great. This would be an awesome distro for anyone who's learning Linux.
 
Old 01-24-2006, 04:24 AM   #15
leeh
 
Registered: Nov 2005
Distribution: Tried Mandriva 2006
Posts: 16

Rep: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation:
Would you recommend the product? yes | Price you paid?: None indicated | Rating: 9

Pros: Easy to install, good hardware detection, easy wirelss setup
Cons: Nasty default theme, multimedia


I am new to Linux, having only used it for 2-3 months.

I have tried about 6 diiferent distro's with varying degrees of success,and each time I come back to Ubuntu.

The reason is simple. Ubuntu is very easy to install, it picks up all the hardware without issues and unlike many distro's I have tried, the wireless network is easy to configure and doesn't drop out.

The Gnome desktop is simple to understand and Synaptic is just beautiful to use for a beginner like myself.

Speed seems fine, although Open Office is slow to open, but that can be said of every distro tried!

The only downside is multimedia, no restricted codecs are setup, and it takes time to install these and even now I still haven't got dvd's to run properly. But compared to other distro's this is a minor complaint and overall Ubuntu is very good.
 
Old 01-26-2006, 12:34 PM   #16
gavinb
 
Registered: Jan 2006
Distribution: Ubuntu
Posts: 0

Rep: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation:
Would you recommend the product? yes | Price you paid?: None indicated | Rating: 8

Pros: Software installing works great. Detected all of my hardware correctly.
Cons: Poor multimedia support. The install could use some improvement



I had never heard of this distro until a friend told me about it. I saw it was #1 with distro watch. It is a position well earned. I had used SUSE,Fedora and Knoppix before, and had so-so results. I installed it on two computers and it installed nearly perfectly. The install isn't as pretty looking as Fedora or SUSE, but it did a MUCH BETTER job of correctly detecting my hardware for both machines. It would be nice if they had some type of sound test and internet test during install. My biggest complaint with the install was that it didn't by default install the NVIDIA graphics drivers. The generic ones are very slow and had repaint problems. Upgrading them however was much easier then on other distros. I just used Synaptic.

Once install is finished this is where Ubuntu blows everyone else away. Gnome is the default desktop.(Use kubuntu if you like KDE better) By default it installs the highest quality and popular linux apps. (Firefox,OpenOffice, and etc). I don't like the color scheme, but it is easy to change. The attention to detail is impressive. For example I wanted to share a folder using samba. I got a prompt telling me I needed to install Samba, and I typed in my password and it installed it for me. Really cool. They have tons poplular apps you can install/uninstall just by checking a box. I have never had a problem with this not working. I like the desktop sharing system then on Windows XP where it kicks you out of the desktop when someone else tries to login in.

Weaknesses:
The biggest weakness I found was video playback. They use 'Totem' as the default player. It had trouble playing avi or quicktime files. After some fiddling/hacking I got it to work, but this needs to be improved. Also it doesn't include FireFox 1.5 which is a big upgrade IMO from 1.0. The next version of Ubuntu will.

This is the first linux distro I feel comfortable installing on non-technical peoples machines especially in a business enviroment where people need email, web, and an office suite.
 
Old 02-16-2006, 01:46 PM   #17
jwsawyer
 
Registered: Apr 2005
Distribution: Ubuntu & Debian - Lenny
Posts: 10

Rep: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation:
Would you recommend the product? yes | Price you paid?: None indicated | Rating: 10

Pros: easy installation, simple configuration, excellent support.
Cons: legal issues keep it from supporting multimedia fully.


I have a linux wanderlust that won't let me keep just on distribution, but I keep going back to Ubuntu because I can just get it to work. It requires some tweaking and after adding "Automatix" it found all the packages that had legal issues and installed flawlessly. Found the unsupported repositories for java, gnome and a few other apps and am able to keep up-to-date on a very stable distro. Don't know why people have problems with the default desktop, I find the brown desktop very relaxing after experiencing the "blue screen of death" on every windows system I used.

The Starter guide is fanatastic, you just have to pay attention to what you do. Newer packages become available all the time and you have to make sure you point at the one you downloaded not the one on the example.

I was able to install the beta gaim, frostwire (instead of the non-free limewire), the latest java, and a lot of other things that I have trouble with in other distros.

I still have the wanderlust, so will continue to be testingn other distros and tweaking them, but will continue to keep my ubuntu and when dapper is fixed will probably upgrade.
 
Old 02-19-2006, 03:20 PM   #18
Marble
 
Registered: Feb 2003
Distribution: FreeBSD 5.2
Posts: 113

Rep: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation:
Would you recommend the product? yes | Price you paid?: None indicated | Rating: 10

Pros: Quick / no-hassle install on a Thinkpad T-30
Cons: no php5


I haven't used Linux in ages and recently picked up a t-30 Thinkpad and wanted to give it a shot. I decided on Ubuntu as I wanted a distro that would give me the fewest headaches to get up and running. It loaded fine. Installed fine. Wireless, power, everything is working as its supposed with no tweaking at all.

My only hangup was putting debian in the apt source list to get php5. After a bit I realised this was my problem and as soon as I got rid of the debian lines and updated everything was back to normal. So I guess its php4 for now (I did try different methods people posted about getting php5 up and running, but got lots of dephell so I will just wait until its supported)
 
Old 02-25-2006, 11:29 AM   #19
synth42
 
Registered: Feb 2006
Distribution: Slackware and Debian
Posts: 2

Rep: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation:
Would you recommend the product? yes | Price you paid?: None indicated | Rating: 8

Pros: Works with Intel CC820 Motherboard quite nicely
Cons: Video card support sucks, doesn't do my laundry, and no root user


I would only recommend this for a new user...like myself. It's a great newbie start, the shell works with some DOS friendly commands, however getting it to recognize my ATI Radeon 7000 card was a pain...it would not go above a 640x480 res. So the desktop looked like crap.
It didn't dawn on me until I was working with it, that there is no root user. If you want to execute something with root power...you have to use sudo ever damn time. If you try to just use 'su' it says permission denied. What kind of crap is that? Latest problems I'm having with it is that it stopped running Synaptic. It won't let me run any updater. Oh well. It's a nice start.
 
Old 03-16-2006, 10:56 PM   #20
daacosta
 
Registered: Jun 2002
Distribution: Fedora Core 4
Posts: 45

Rep: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation:
Would you recommend the product? yes | Price you paid?: None indicated | Rating: 10

Pros: Debian based -- Excellent hardware detection
Cons: Comes with no firewall -- root's password is scrambled and you have to change it.


On a Compaq Presario 5000, P3 i686... I don't remember anything else and I am too lazy tpo look around but this is a really old box...

This distro is so good that even a hairy monkey can install it on his/her computer without a trouble [With apologies to hairy monkeys.] Install is text based but all questions are easy to answer. It takes about 30 minutes total after which you will end up with a superuser account (one with root's priviledges) and a root account with unknown password. That is easily solvable and I wont get into that... I never use distros being tested and I waited for the stable 5.10 breezy badger to be available. Once I finished installing connecting to the Internet was easy (I use dial-up) [ System -> Administration -> Networking and you can take it from there ] Immediately I decided to update my OS with synaptic but in order to do that I had to enable all repositories. I have read all about it on the web but I believe that it is simpler if you do: Synaptic [Enter the superuser password] --> Settings --> Repositories --> Settings --> click on "Show disabled software sources" and then proceed to click on the unchecked boxes... Also, Settings --> Repositories --> Click on add and proceed to enable the multiverse and the remaining disabled repositories... That is all I did and now I am able to play with tons of software... OK, now that that has been done I bet that a update manager warning will pop telling you that new updates are available. Well, in that case close your synaptic and all apps that are open and then simply click on the update manager to allow it to download the updates. This seems to be another front end for synaptic but works just as well... In total I had about 80 MB of updates which isn't terrible when you compare the 500 MB of updates in Fedora Core 4 [I love Fedora by the way...] Cool, huh?

Now, what's next? Ah! As usual some plugins need to be installed and I did that by following the indications of the Linux Format 76 (LXF 76) magazine [Not that I am adicted to Linux magazines but I have about 25 and around 15 linux books...] The java plugin from the repos is older and I wanted to have the absolute best. In regards to flash plugins I pretty much followed the instructions in the cited LXF 76. For acrobat reader I used synaptic to install acroread, mozilla-acroread and acroread-plugins... Easy... There are some instructions on how to upgrade to the newest Firefox browser around... Just google them cuz I already forgot how to do that... Cool thing is that Firefox 1.5 is just bang-up and much faster than the version Ubuntu comes with... I wonder why they didn't include Thunderbird 1.5 in the distro...

Okidoki! Other packages I installed via synaptic include: gnomebaker, mplayer and deborphan. I used deborphan to get rid of those packages that had no dependencies and that were hanging around with no purpose... It is quite easy to work with this...

Oh! I also downloaded firestarter because Ubuntu doesn't have a firewall and I really needed to improve the security of my system... Hmmm... What else? Yes, the disk that I had came with Linux i386 kernel version so I had to install Linux i686 via synaptic [ Don't you love synaptic? ]

Performance wise I have not done any tewaking on my OS but from what I have seen cpu resources are used conservatively and my system has never slowed down... I am happy with Ubuntu...
 
Old 03-22-2006, 01:08 AM   #21
potatohead
 
Registered: Dec 2005
Posts: 2

Rep: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation:
Would you recommend the product? yes | Price you paid?: None indicated | Rating: 8

Pros: easy to install; adept package managing
Cons: sudo all the time can be a bit tiring


One week experience ;-) Got a new Pentium D so I set my mind on a new distro. Been on Fedora before, wouldn't install however on the dual core.
Ubuntu did, however my only copy was a CD with a single core version. Nevertheless able to smoothly upgrade to SMP (manually btw cos I hadn't figured out the apt-get feature).
Another thing that I had to manually upgrade was OpenOffice -- the Ubuntu-specific version crashed with every move I made, so I got my 2.02 version from openoffice.org -- after downloading a decent set of fonts I am able to work satisfactory (well...).
sudo is a bit tiring but I got a good tip to install in expert mode -- there you can choose root as user.
For the rest: so far so good ;-)
 
Old 03-22-2006, 12:24 PM   #22
sparton
 
Registered: Nov 2003
Distribution: Ubuntu 6.06 /SLED10
Posts: 45

Rep: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation:
Would you recommend the product? yes | Price you paid?: None indicated | Rating: 10

Pros: Fast Bootups, Stable, Easy Installation
Cons: Didnt automatically mount my two windows partitions


Overall i was very impressed switching to ubuntu from Suse 10. I like the Gnome interface a lot better and the package management with Ubuntu is killer. There were a lot of updates to install after the first bootup but i think i can say Suse 10 or even 9.3 for that matter had about double as much as ubuntu did so im not complaining.

I did some research on installing my Nvidia drivers before installing the OS and came across this forum.

http://ubuntuforums.org/showthread.php?t=25723

After following those instructions my card worked like a charm.

I also browsed to

http://easylinux.info/wiki/Ubuntu

Which helped me and guided me with installing some of my favorite applicaitons i used in KDE.

Hardware detection was great the only thing it didnt detect is my Wifi and TV tuner card but i dont use either of them so i was happy. I would definatly reccommend this OS to anyone.
 
Old 04-01-2006, 10:21 PM   #23
linguizic
 
Registered: Sep 2004
Distribution: Ubuntu64
Posts: 5

Rep: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation:
Would you recommend the product? yes | Price you paid?: None indicated | Rating: 10

Pros: Synaptic, apt-get, it just works
Cons: sudo


I can't imagine using any other distro for my desktop. I hate having to use sudo, but I've found ways around it. I put together a 64bit system and tried to put Fedora Core 4 x86_64 on it, but it just did not like my hardware. I wasn't about to go through a whole bunch of crap just so I could use fedora. I popped in the Breezy64 CD and it worked like magic, though during the install I had to turn acpi off and I still don't have it. This is really no problem though because I never turn it off. It really is the best distro linux has to offer if you think that a computer is a means to an end rather than an end itself.
 
Old 04-12-2006, 11:50 PM   #24
ty13
 
Registered: Apr 2006
Distribution: Debian. Ubuntu
Posts: 35

Rep: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation:
Would you recommend the product? yes | Price you paid?: None indicated | Rating: 10

Pros: Super Easy, Noob friendly, Powerfully simple (possible? yes!)
Cons: Needs Tux


WHOA! I have tried over 13 distros in the last two weeks. None work like Ubuntu!

It is so simple, so elegant, so NOOB FRIENDLY! Get Ubuntu... NOW! I love it so much. After Fedora, this is sooooooooo simple.

Updates with one click! WiFi? No problems! Hardware detection? B-E-A-UTIFUL! I installed it one a new desktop and an old laptop, it is extremely verstile. RECOMENDED, you need to get it!
 
Old 04-15-2006, 01:34 AM   #25
odbod
 
Registered: Jun 2005
Posts: 23

Rep: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation:
Would you recommend the product? yes | Price you paid?: None indicated | Rating: 10

Pros: Good look, out-of-box wireless support, video friendly(ATI!)
Cons: Just not good for desktop systems sometimes.


THis is the most awesome distribution I have ever used. This is my second used distro since the 5.04 release.

Here is a few things to note. Someone, on the ubunt forums said that ubuntu is not good with notebooks and laptops. SUre, whatever you say. That is why the ATI Rage mobility PM AGP 2x worked right away, the wireless worked easily, and it used the extra buttons it had(volume, etc). I still don't understand how it did it. The only things that didn't work was the question mark button, and the person button. Oh yeah, and the "pause" and "play" buttons.

I got it installed right after I got the CD's, since the burned ones never could get past the step after partitioning.

SO, I get it started, and all is good. THe wireless started, updates got done(when I told it so!), etc. I was very happy with the look. The GNOME look is better then KDE by far, in my standards.

--
Desktop:
Now, I did have just a bit of trouble on the desktop. Now, everything worked, I needed to install the video card drivers(ATi) and the wireless drivers. I took it as if ubuntu needs to know about PCI wireless. So I got ndiswrapper, and the ati proprietary drivers. DONE!

Well, what do you know, everything worked like it was supposed to. No problems.

One problem on both I did notice, was that on some guides that told me to go to a certain file in a path, that path was true, but the file(s) never did exist. What are these people, idiots?
 
Old 04-15-2006, 01:36 AM   #26
odbod
 
Registered: Jun 2005
Posts: 23

Rep: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation:
Would you recommend the product? yes | Price you paid?: None indicated | Rating: 0

Pros: already stated
Cons:


One thing, I did NOT ever have to use "sudo" all the time. I typed su , the password, and that was it!
 
Old 04-19-2006, 08:08 AM   #27
Tuatha
 
Registered: Apr 2006
Posts: 5

Rep: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation:
Would you recommend the product? yes | Price you paid?: None indicated | Rating: 9

Pros: Free! Easy to install, easy to configure, easy to upgrade
Cons: very few so far


I use Solaris at work (networking OSS software consultant) & have played with MAndrake distro's for personal use before now.

I was impressed it was totally free (download not too bad if you have a half decent speed ADSL line) & the installation was very easy (I'm a ksh & applications expert NOT a sysadmin) - chose defaults for most things & it worked fine.

I hadn't experienced Debian before but apt-get is excellent.

I have no problems with Gnome & after a few downloads & some simple customisation it's very usable. Haven't re-installed on the target machine yet (Mini-ITX board with SATA disc) so maybe that will cause problems.

Just waiting for next release now!
 
Old 04-30-2006, 09:48 PM   #28
gnoteb
 
Registered: Aug 2005
Distribution: Arch Linux (kernel 2.6.19). I also like these two livecds: Slax and DSL
Posts: 28

Rep: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation:
Would you recommend the product? yes | Price you paid?: None indicated | Rating: 8

Pros: Easy breezy, good hardware detection, fast, comes in many languages, friendly
Cons: SCIM doesnt work, long install, I'd like to choose an even slimmer version


I tried breezy badger on my way over to arch or slackware (haven't decided yet) from mandriva le2005. It was so good I decided to stay for a bit longer, I need to learn more anyways.

The install took a long time (compared to arch, debian) and there was no option of picking what you want. I want a slim system, that is not to say badger is bloated, it is not, and the packages chosen are good choices.

Gnome is also excellent, no matter if Linus disapproves of it. Nautilus is fairly quick and has a nice interface. Looks and system is better integrated than kde is IMO. I thought I prefered the slimmer enlightenment or fluxbox, but with gnome on dapper it's impossible to dismiss the desktop environments (as opposed to the window managers)altogether.

Apart from some repositories not working everything worked just like it should and there is only one bug I found. For it is a big one though and for many others as well as it is the SCIM input system for asian languages. I looked for an answer to why it didnt work for many hours until I found out that you had to build it yourself OR downgrade to hoary or upgrade to dapper beta. Fine I thought, let's build it. Halfway through theres a big error. So I update to Dapper. When the philosophy is rooted in that everyone should get it in their own language should a fix be applied for SCIM?

Well, this is a different story, but Dapper beta is nothing short of amazing and after running two days nonstop I've had nothing but good experiences with it. Its much fresher also!

For the new users Ubuntu is the most friendly I have tried yet. I can't think of anything more I could want really. It's very easy with apt-get and all and its more easy to learn linux with than mandriva with kde was.

I give it 7 out of ten because dapper is quite the upgrade, nothing except SCIM was wrong, but dapper does it better. I can see xpers emigrating in big numbers when final is out.

Oh and you have to go sudo bash instead of su to (act) as root. Confused me at first.
 
Old 05-03-2006, 09:27 PM   #29
lm317t
 
Registered: Jan 2005
Distribution: Debian Etch, Slackware 10.2, Ubuntu 6.10, OpenWRT
Posts: 66

Rep: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation:
Would you recommend the product? yes | Price you paid?: None indicated | Rating: 10

Pros: Package management is amazing, plays well w/ Windows
Cons: Ugly background


Actually I rounded up a 9.9 to to a 10.

This version of Ubuntu, Gnome, software package management (synaptic, apt-get), software package repository, and documentation/support are absolutely phenomenol! Its a real turning point for Linux on the Desktop.

I resized the pre-installed anti-competitive Windows XP using the Ubuntu installer, and it went flawlessly. It even had a recommended resize for me on install. I now have Ubuntu and XP dualbooting on this laptop with no problems, which I find amazing.

All hardware was detected and installed (except my broadcom wireless, which is normal for broadcom), so I did have to use ndiswrapper for my wireless card (it has worked flawlessly), which was easy to setup following the online ubuntuforum.com docs.

Sharing files with windows, browsing windows shares, and using windows shared printers is pretty seemless.

Cons (Very minor, easily fixed):
grub vs lilo: lilo support is flaky for some reason on a few of the installs, so use grub.
sudo, which I hate to use, is easily bypassed by doing: sudo passwd
Also install a good .vimrc file or you get no syntax highliting in vim, unless you don't use vim, then its not a problem.
 
Old 05-17-2006, 01:07 AM   #30
BobSongs
 
Registered: Jan 2006
Posts: 3

Rep: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation:
Would you recommend the product? yes | Price you paid?: None indicated | Rating: 9

Pros: Ubuntu Forums
Cons: Music editing/recording still not up to Windows standards


No distribution is going to make everybody happy. And it's no fun when a fresh GNU/Linux install doesn't even play an .mp3 file.

I won't try to write up an entire review of Ubuntu. I'll just say these few things.

1. A distribution's forums should be informative and friendly (we all panic from time to time). Ubuntu's forums were made with human kindness in mind.

2. In the forums you'll find reference to Automatix, a script that will help complete your Ubuntu setup. Automatix helped make my PC usable.

3. Synaptic/apt-get sweeten the deal. Need software? There it is.

Let's keep in mind that Warty Warthog (version 4.10), Hoary Hedgehog (5.04) and Breezy Badger (5.10) are beta versions for the full release that's coming soon: Dapper Drake (6.06). Bugs? Sure. But the bug stomping is going strong.

BTW: the price for Ubuntu will always be "free". A free D/L or CD. That's the deal.
 
Page:  1 · 2 More Items




  



All times are GMT -5. The time now is 01:14 AM.

Main Menu

My LQ
Write for LQ
LinuxQuestions.org is looking for people interested in writing Editorials, Articles, Reviews, and more. If you'd like to contribute content, let us know.
Main Menu
Syndicate
RSS1  Latest Threads
RSS1  LQ News
Twitter: @linuxquestions
identi.ca: @linuxquestions
Facebook: linuxquestions Google+: linuxquestions
Open Source Consulting | Domain Registration