LinuxQuestions.org
Visit the LQ Articles and Editorials section
Go Back   LinuxQuestions.org > Reviews > Distributions > Ubuntu
User Name
Password

Notices

Search · Register · Submit New Review · Download your favorite Linux Distributions ·
 

Ubuntu Breezy 5.10
Reviews Views Date of last review
35 164937 07-04-2006
spacer
Recommended By Average Price Average Rating
91% of reviewers None indicated 8.6



Description: Ubuntu Breezy 5.10 seems to be very stable and very reliable (please note that i am using a PREVIEW RELEASE) The problems i have had were the update manager updated my xserver-xorg and it messed up my display settings really bad, eventually I got that worked out. Other than that the only problem I have had was with my veo stingray webcam, Ubuntu doesn't include the spca50x webcam drivers or any packages, but it can be compiled and modprobed into the kernel.
Keywords: Ubuntu Kubuntu Debian-Based Debian APT Synaptic


Author
Post A Reply 
Old 09-24-2005, 12:20 AM   #1
kataklysm
 
Registered: Sep 2005
Distribution: Slackware -current
Posts: 7

Rep: Reputation:
Would you recommend the product? yes | Price you paid?: D/L | Rating: 9

Pros: Quick and easy installation, automatic configuration works good, repositories have a surplus of great packages!
Cons: problems with xfce4(minor, not an issue to me) not good support for usb webcams



First off, I was very surprised with Ubuntu 5.10 Breezy! I always thought that Ubuntu had a name sort of like a newbie distro would have, so I always tried to avoid it..

One day I got tired of using RedHat (had used RH 3-9, FC 1-4, and RHEL 2 -4). I basically was getting tired of having to dig up rpms from the net that weren't supported by redhat, and I hated the dephell I had to go through when compiling from source, face it, with redhat a lot of software can't be found in rpm form!

Well I was thinking about going back to Debian, but I got to reading reviews and wiki on Ubuntu. Ubuntu is Debian based, but in my opinion it has better options in the repositories. The software is more bleeding edge, but it at least seems stable.

The installation program went very smooth, and surprisingly fast compared to a RH based install. All of my hardware was configured properly with an exception of my Veo Stingray Webcam, that wasn't a big deal.. I just compiled the spca50x driver, and modprobed it.

One problem that doesn't concern me, which may be fixed when the final CDs ship, is the installation requires internet to download some final packages. If someone uses dialup, or has a NIC that isnt supported by the install method, they might have a failure at installing.

Another problem I had was with XFCE4 desktop. I installed xfce4 from the repository, logged in, and got xfce4 working good, all the sudden my right click menu for apps quit working. I tried to log out and back in, no success, which put me back over to gnome rather quickly. If xfce4 wouldn't have done this, I would probably choose it as my prefered desktop environment, but until it gets fixed you will see me using Gnome.

My reccommendations, would be to at least wait until October 13th 2005, for 5.10 to be finalized if you want a full time OS, but if you can't wait and would like to test the preview of it, it does indeed seem very stable, and I would definately recommend it over any other distro I have used, even RH as long as I used it! Ubuntu Breezy 5.10 gets a 9 out of 10 from me!
 
Old 09-25-2005, 06:53 PM   #2
p_kelchen
 
Registered: Jan 2005
Distribution: SuSE 10.0
Posts: 13

Rep: Reputation: Reputation:
Would you recommend the product? yes | Price you paid?: D/L | Rating: 9

Pros: Gnome 2.12, stable, everything correctly auto-configured, fast to start up, run, and shut down, up-to-date packages on a Debian base.
Cons: Ugly default theme, funky name, no hibernation.


I went from using SuSE for a long time to using Ubuntu after my hard drive died. I decided on Ubuntu 5.10 as the new SuSE 10 versions would not install correctly and I like Gnome a lot better than KDE. So I downloaded the 5.10 version and let fly.

The installer is typical Debian, which looks pretty old-school compared to some of the really slick ones like SuSE's. But it gets the job done well. The install went smoothly and took about an hour as some packages had to be downloaded and my cable wasn't all that fast that evening.

After the initial boot, I was presented with a clean Gnome 2.12 desktop with an unattractive death-by-brown color scheme. However, the Clearlooks theme is included and it is only a few clicks away.

It automatically set up even most of the easy-access buttons on my keyboard as well and no other distribution has done that. ACPI functions are all there except for hibernation. The button is there, but the screen blacks and the CPU fan goes full tilt. It requires a reboot, which is the fastest I have ever seen on any OS. Shutting down is quick too, and the OS runs very sprightly.

APT is wonderful. Add two repositories (Debian sarge and the debian-marillat repository) and you have any program you'd ever want and no dep problems. I used to hate it when the odd one came by on SuSE and I'd have to hunt it down.

It is the best OS I have ever used to date- now if they would only fix the hibernation and the name, it'd get a 10/10 from me!
 
Old 09-28-2005, 03:56 PM   #3
JeanBrownHarrel
 
Registered: Sep 2004
Distribution: Ubuntu Linux 12.04 [64-bit version] THE BEST!!!
Posts: 50

Rep: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation:
Would you recommend the product? no | Price you paid?: D/L | Rating: 1

Pros: HP printer/scanner/copier works out of the box!
Cons: Only one-a bug-after reboot-it can't find the hard drive!!!


The best distro I have found to date except...when I shut it down and then cut it back on or when I reboot it all after I just finished installing it then it stops after starting the boot process and it can't find the hard drive it just started booting off of. It says "booting the kernel" then half a screen down it says"Alert! /dev/hde1 does not exist. Dropping to a shell.
_" <-this is the blinking cursor it shows. And it just booted off /dev/hde1 and it can't find it? If they ever fix this bug I will revise my rating from a 1 to a 10. Otherwise the best distro to date far far surpassing FC4 & Red Hat Linux which used to be good distros but no more. There is everything good to say about this distro and only one bad thing;a critical bug in my opinion. The bug I mentioned above. I verified the download as perfect and the cd was perfectly burned. So it can only be a bug. Unless somebody can explain why Hoary Hedgehog works perfectly but when I upgrade it to the preview release of Breezy Badger [both amd64 version] and it reboots after that and it starts to boot up but then stops halfway and says that the hard drive doesn't exist. Please explain that in the best distro out today. Otherwise I love it. I had planned on it being my only distro until I discovered this bug. Help!!!
Can't recommend this distro until they fix this bug. Also they should not release Ubuntu-Breezy-5.10 officially until they fix this bug and it has been reported and is being worked on.
Sincerely,
Jean Brown Harrell
 
Old 10-10-2005, 03:17 PM   #4
Bonzodog
 
Registered: Apr 2005
Distribution: Arch Linux 64
Posts: 76

Rep: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation:
Would you recommend the product? yes | Price you paid?: D/L | Rating: 9

Pros: easy install, it all just works.
Cons: no framebuffer in console?


I have been a slackware user since 1997, and always liked it because of it's easy use and being very stable.

However, last year I bought myself a new 64 bit system, and although started out by going back to slackware, I wasn't happy that I wasn't utilising the system capabilities.
Thus, started my hunt for 64 bit distros. I saw mandriva LE2005 on a friends box, and decided it seemed to possesed with the idea of making choices for you, and didn't seem like a true linux distro, rather a very hacked one.

I then found Suse 9.3 pro on DVD on a magazine, but realised it was very bloated and tried to install over 4GB of software on the system, and not having KDE wasn't a choice. You HAD to have KDE or suse wouldn't work.

I had read various reviews of Ubuntu on the net and a lot of people had seemed very impressed with it. Also, gnome (my favourite desktop) was it's standard choice of desktop- even Slackware had standardised on KDE for the latest release.

So, I went to the site, and downloaded and burnt the X86_64 version (well, I suppose suse did have ONE use), then waited eagerly for the weekend when I would have time to install, and wipe out novells sorry excuse for a Linux distro.

I installed it on the saturday morning, and it went very well, although the partitioning tool threw me a bit at first- I think this could be looked at at some point. I was used to text installs from using slack, so it didn't phase me at all. I was very impressed with the way it installed the base system and kernel, then rebooted, and proceeded to build the system from the packages. I went to get a cup of coffee, came back 15 mins later, it was nearly done. the only thing I had noticed when the re-boot was going through the check list was that it couldn't find the framebuffer- a small oversight? I have since noticed that the framebuffer package isn't installed, and intend to do that and get it working in the console, as I do have the odd use for console mode. However, it finished the install, and was impressed at the 'one program/tool for each thing' such as web, email, IRC etc. I had gotten used to distros having x number of choices for each thing, and It was too much when i had noticed that suse installed no less than 5 web browsers!

The system then did a dynamic update (I have ADSL, which it configured automatically), and re-installed the new packages. A strange thing is the Java prog- Ubuntu claim they can't install it by default for legal reasons, but Suse had installed it by default.

Since then, I have found it to be extremely quick, it feels light, and I just love the way it works. At the moment I could say I have been firmly converted. The apt-get system is great, although It took a small bit of getting used to using sudo instead of just su'ing to root for admin tasks.
Great distro, and I am now spreading the word to others.
 
Old 10-15-2005, 04:54 AM   #5
UbuDio
 
Registered: Oct 2005
Posts: 20

Rep: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation:
Would you recommend the product? yes | Price you paid?: D/L | Rating: 9

Pros: Wireless Network, Fast, Stable, Userguide, Community
Cons: Configure webcam


Hi
I m new in the Linux community and actually I m very happy. I ve started with Fedora, Suse, Mepis, .. NOW I have been with Ubuntu for for the last 8 months and very happy.
For such a young distribution they rule in terms of accessibility, reliability, compatibility, ... I just wanna say that they are on the right track to become the best!
Regarding Linux it self its just great not because its free, but for the community and it gives a kick when sometimes you have to solve issues.
http://www.linuxquestions.org/questions/showthread.php?s=&threadid=373241
Dio
 
Old 10-18-2005, 10:37 AM   #6
tuxombie
 
Registered: Oct 2004
Distribution: Slackware 10, Ubuntu, Debian Sarge
Posts: 53

Rep: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation:
Would you recommend the product? yes | Price you paid?: D/L | Rating: 10

Pros: Easy install, apt, excellent hardware detection and laptop support
Cons: 1 CD distro and hence lack of several important packages


I installed Ubuntu on my brand new Thinkpad T-43 after reading excellent reviews about its laptop support. I had already installed Ubuntu Warty, so the installation was easy. It correctly detected my ATA harddrive, which Slackware did not do because it is a 2.4 Kernel.

It used my university wireless network to download more packages, which meant that wireless worked properly. It also detected the 1400x1050 resolution correctly; even Knoppix had not done this (I think).

It was very impressive to see almost all laptop functionality working as it should-Suspend to Ram, Hibernate, laptop keys, wireless. I must say that it even resembles windows with its updates. There is a network applet on the panel which would enable easy connection to the network. And the battery applet. The battery gives only 2 1/2 hours which falls short I think from its capability.

Apt and synaptic work brilliantly. But the only crib I have with Ubuntu is its being a one CD distribution. They don't ship with developer tools, like GCC. For people using Linux to be productive, it does not ship with the two very major Linux successes-GCC and Latex. Its amazing. How could a linux distribution think of existing without Latex. Downloading is not an issue with a broadband connection, but back in India, it will be a pain. Plus, I would rather install all the packages if they are supplied in several CDs.

There were also a few issues with the Wpa_supplicant package which had to be downloaded to support the WPA encryption for the wireless network. One has to edit the config file. One can find examples in the wpa webpage.

But roughly this is what is done (I am sorry for hand waving here)
in /etc/network/interfaces add a line to tell it to look at the wpa_config file in /etc. Also add the name of the router.

in /etc/wpa_config add the password. The HEX string works. I do not remember if the ASCII thing works, but this should not give problems either if one encloses it in double quotes.

Emacs used to give garbled fonts until it got fixed during subsequent updates. One also needs to get the vim config file from /usr/share/vim/.... and put it into .bashrc. Aliases have to be created :alias rm ="rm -i" and for cp.

Overall, Ubuntu is an excellent Laptop distribution, with very neat fonts and display. It actually feels nice that it can work as well as windows, while retaining all the goodness of Linux-the terminal, multiple desktop, swapping keys and billions of other things.

I strongly recommend it for a laptop over (perhaps) other Distros.

a) Knoppix -Default display and some problems with the wireless.

b) Slackware- Vanilla kernel -probably going to be an issue here. 2.4 does not like ATA. But one can install 2.6 from the second CD.

c) Fedora- Sleep and Hibernate don't work properly by default. WPA supplicant fails because of some reason (my friend is still grappling with this, we have since changed from WPA to WEP encryption).
 
Old 11-02-2005, 07:14 PM   #7
winsnomore
 
Registered: May 2004
Distribution: #1 PCLinuxOS -- for laughs -> Ubuntu, Suse, Mepis
Posts: 315

Rep: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation:
Would you recommend the product? no | Price you paid?: D/L | Rating: 2

Pros: It has new software (evolution/oo etc.)
Cons: Quiet a few warts, customied things don't work, Multimedia ?


I had tried an earlier ubuntu version (4.x) and had decided to stay away from it but after more than one year I picked up the courage to try it again.

I tried 5.10 .. the install is way too old compared to suse/fedora/mandriva. It took more than 40 minutes from a 32x CD.
Ubuntu boot is still not done right, it installed itself in MBR even though I asked it to stay on the root partition. The default kernel boot options (using grub) were wrong and it won't boot, I had to hand edit them out to boot it.
Display wasn't configure correctly ( was set to 60 hz .. bad bad bad) .. and only choice was to dpkg -- ...

I don't believe a total noob would have been able to get past this point .. so I am rather amazed at it's popularlity (hype).

I don't use gnome, so used kde. Ubuntu has changed the simple KDE control centerand replaced it some jazz that DOESN'T WORK .. if you select anything, it does nothing .. pretty basic and pretty pathetic.

You can't do "su" .. there is no root login .. so you mess around with sudo this and sudo that .. but you can say "sudo sh" and get yourself a root window anyways .. so there !!!
It really is a bad idea not to have root login ability .. sometimes (a lot of times when playing with some distros) you have to do a few things .. there are simple ways around it, but these guys just make life miserable for no reason.

No mpeg/avi codecs were installed nothing with mpeg played and that turned me off .. I wasn't going to start fixing yet another basic set of probelms.

So I played with it for about about 2/3 hours and decided that if I really needed a tropical disease, i will try dengu.
 
Old 11-02-2005, 09:23 PM   #8
stynhx9000
 
Registered: Nov 2005
Distribution: Ubuntu 5.10 Breezy
Posts: 27

Rep: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation:
Would you recommend the product? yes | Price you paid?: D/L | Rating: 9

Pros: Ease of install/updating, Synaptic, community, ease of use
Cons: Ugly default theme, not enough penguins


I've been an on again, off again user of Linux for the past several years having puttered about with Mandrake and Redhat mostly. I could never fully justify switching from my win2k or XP installs however because of my familiarity with it and it's ease of use on my home system.

This august I purchased an IBM T42p and decided to play around with linux a bit. I installex XP on a 30 GB partition, created a 10 GB partition for linux and left about 20GB in a FAT32 partition for sharing.

After installing and tweaking XP to my liking, I dug out the Ubuntu (Warty) install CD I had laying about and had a look.

Right from the start I was quite impressed. The install went very well, no hitches on hardware or formatting the partition. while it did take a little while to install (40+ minutes including the download of the latest debs) it's still nothing compared to the FULL DAY it took to install, update and tweak XP to my liking.

In less than an hour I had rebooted into my new Ubunto install. I found it easy to get around in, and was quite happy with Synaptic as a GUI package manager.

I'm still not an expert linux user, but I was able to answer every question I had simply by google and/or going to ubuntulinux.com and browsing through the forums or the excellent unofficial 5.04 howto guide.

within a day I had both Firefox and Thunderbird up and running to my liking, my FAT32 partition mounted with all of my music and misc. documents, my codecs set up to play mp3, avi, wmv and whatnot and a hundred other little tweaks in place.

I then spent the next few days with synaptic downloading packages I'd not heard of and playing around with them.

When 5.10 came out, I changed my repositories to a less busy mirror and with the single apt-get dist-upgrade command, I watched as I was upgraded to Breezy. This was probably a tougher than average upgrade as I had been installing litterally hundreds of extra (universe/multivers) packages but I only had one hiccup. OpenOffice 2.0 failed to install correctly and was a bit off when I tried to do even simple things. via synaptic I set it to reinstall. Once completed, it worked without a hitch.

Over the past few weeks I've been tooling around like I really know what I'm doing. I've created my own theme to replace the extremely brown default theme, and basically had a grand old time doing things I could'nt easily do in Linux before.

I'm still finding my way around and have yet to accomplish everything, but I've switched to using Ubuntu full time now at both home and work on my laptop. I rarely boot into windows now, with my main reason being gaming.

I'm quite impressed with this distro and I've learned a lot about linux the short time I've been using it full time.

Recently I install Breezy server on a spare whitebox at work and we use it as a filer for extra storage.

Cheers to Ubuntu. I highly recommend this distro to folks who have little to moderate experience. And at a guess, even the gurus out there would enjoy it.

Ben
 
Old 11-05-2005, 11:12 PM   #9
Revert_To_Saved
 
Registered: Oct 2005
Posts: 3

Rep: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation:
Would you recommend the product? yes | Price you paid?: D/L | Rating: 9

Pros: Easy installation, easy package system
Cons: one bug so far (the updater started using 20-40% of the processor; had to end/restart the process)


This was my second linux distro (following SuSE), and all in all, it's been great. Installation was incredibly easy, it automatically set up my wireless networking card, the Synaptic package manager is easy to use and makes finding software painless. Really, apart from a minor bug, it's been working flawlessly for me.

If you're new to Linux, this is a great place to start.
 
Old 11-12-2005, 09:39 PM   #10
Erik_the_Red
 
Registered: Jun 2003
Distribution: Arch
Posts: 113

Rep: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation:
Would you recommend the product? yes | Price you paid?: D/L | Rating: 9

Pros: Superb autodetection, polished look, very friendly to beginners
Cons: Not that many development tools out of the box


Ubuntu has continuously improved its releases. I remember Warty did not even have ACPI standard! Hoary fixed that and updated many, many programs and improved the look and feel. Breezy takes it one step further with a genuine splash screen!

The default installer is still text-based and has not changed. However, it is not scary and is easy to use.

Many useful programs (e.g. OpenOffice Suite, Firefox, Evolution, etc.) come out of the box. This is good for those especially new to Linux.

I personally like GNOME better than KDE, and Breezy has the most recent stable release. Nautilus has been updated to be even easier to use; it's more like Explorer than before.

The only gripe I have about Ubuntu is that if you don't want to use the repositories - which are excellent - you have to get some development tools yourself.

Other than that, I recommend Ubuntu to anyone and everyone.
 
Old 11-16-2005, 12:46 AM   #11
nemopaice
 
Registered: Nov 2005
Distribution: Kubuntu
Posts: 3

Rep: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation:
Would you recommend the product? yes | Price you paid?: D/L | Rating: 10

Pros: It was easy to install and detected everything without a hitch
Cons: cant think of any


I am new to linux, and I tried 3 other distributions, I won't name them simply because to me it's bad taste, and I know not everyone had my problems. I went to ubuntu 5.04 and it detected everything. but seeing as I am new to linux I hit a few small roadblocks. found the KDE part and it made my transittion easier. But there was still a few things That just drove me nuts. I kept XP and was dual booting but since I had XP on the second HD, I sudennly couldn't boot into XP, without messing with switching things around in grub.

Then 2days later 5.10 breezy came out so I said well I might as well have the latest,(and I stuck with Kubuntu) And just installed fresh over 5.04 and It went WAYYY smoother than the first time even ...and My dual boot worked just fine. When I now read something negative about 5.10, the only thing I can think of is it must be a hardware or configure problem, different systems work better for different Pc's not all hardware is the same. Now I am no longer dual booting, and I have never in my life been happier with a system since my first C64 and I got to use Quantum Link for the first time.

All in all, for me whether it's Gnome or KDE, Ubuntu is by far my favorite Distribution.
 
Old 11-23-2005, 12:23 PM   #12
ilcra1989
 
Registered: May 2005
Distribution: ubuntu
Posts: 2

Rep: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation:
Would you recommend the product? yes | Price you paid?: D/L | Rating: 10

Pros: based on debian and easy to use
Cons: sometimes updating X.org crashes with ati drivers


I only had to download extra drivers for the graphic crad(ati) for 3d aceleration. It detected correctly the rest including the S-ata disc in wich is installed and the wifi card.
I started using linux with fedora core and when i decided to probe ubuntu I couldn't go back to fedora.
 
Old 12-11-2005, 04:35 AM   #13
RickM7811
 
Registered: Dec 2005
Posts: 1

Rep: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation:
Would you recommend the product? no | Price you paid?: None indicated | Rating: 1

Pros: gnome is nice desktop
Cons: documentation issues...buggy pluggins...standard via drivers don't install


umbutu advertises itself as a linux for beginners and advanced users....however this ex windows hopeful is going back to windows 2000 pro....
the starter guide is a total train wreck.....if you follow directions and plug in commands....they don't work unless you have prior knowlege of linux and can doctor them up....of course. You may want to pass on the message that copying and pasteing things out of delapedated starter guide only works if it up to date...asked two times how to install updated java plug in and two different people replied with a command line that was out dated that contained file name not even offered anymore on java web site....they may want to switch the official documentation with the unofficial documentation...who ever is writing that seems to be alittle bit more on the ball.
Well I still have not been able to install that updated java plug in.... the one that was installed at the beggining seems to be buggy...even after going thru synaptic am still getting xml parser errors....or did umbutu pull a microsoft and release 5.10 full of bugs and a lack of documentation for the current version

well after all that starter guide should be for mac os and windows users that have no clue....you may want to take a poll as to 1. how many windows users have tried umbutu and have given up due to the documentation and bug filled software 2 how many are using dual boot and using umbutu just to read email and surf the web and windows for everything eles 3 how many windows users are able to excel using nothing but linux and can use the full benefits of linux....if your goal is to put bill gates out of business writing a starter guide and having that wiki thing...that only serves to confuse and fraustrate the new user....what use is linux if you cannot choose the software you want to install.....i finally got the answer from debian.org........still have not recieved a reply from the documentation team at umbutu about the documentation

Have the old western digital floppy in hand and ready for the low format.....are all the linux distros as bad as this one ....you may want to read up on singularity...microsoft has a new os (windowless) in the works aimed right a linux to be released in 2007...you guys have a lot of work to do in the next year
maybe I'll try xandos next and see if they do alittle better....so much for free and open source ...paid 80 bucks for my first windows 98se cd back in high school
well good luck
Rick M
p.s. why does firefox say that spell check is on but it wont do it ...wonder if it dosen't work in windows 2000 either
 
Old 01-15-2006, 11:00 PM   #14
Chris9450
 
Registered: Jan 2006
Posts: 1

Rep: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation:
Would you recommend the product? yes | Price you paid?: None indicated | Rating: 9

Pros: Easy install, very stable, can be trimmed down for servers, great os for newbies
Cons: Doesn't dispense hot cocoa


This is a great distro. I consider myself a semi-noob with linux and this installed super smooth, and runs great. This would be an awesome distro for anyone who's learning Linux.
 
Old 01-24-2006, 04:24 AM   #15
leeh
 
Registered: Nov 2005
Distribution: Tried Mandriva 2006
Posts: 16

Rep: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation:
Would you recommend the product? yes | Price you paid?: None indicated | Rating: 9

Pros: Easy to install, good hardware detection, easy wirelss setup
Cons: Nasty default theme, multimedia


I am new to Linux, having only used it for 2-3 months.

I have tried about 6 diiferent distro's with varying degrees of success,and each time I come back to Ubuntu.

The reason is simple. Ubuntu is very easy to install, it picks up all the hardware without issues and unlike many distro's I have tried, the wireless network is easy to configure and doesn't drop out.

The Gnome desktop is simple to understand and Synaptic is just beautiful to use for a beginner like myself.

Speed seems fine, although Open Office is slow to open, but that can be said of every distro tried!

The only downside is multimedia, no restricted codecs are setup, and it takes time to install these and even now I still haven't got dvd's to run properly. But compared to other distro's this is a minor complaint and overall Ubuntu is very good.
 
Page:  1 · 2 · 3 More Items




  



All times are GMT -5. The time now is 09:44 AM.

Main Menu
Advertisement

My LQ
Write for LQ
LinuxQuestions.org is looking for people interested in writing Editorials, Articles, Reviews, and more. If you'd like to contribute content, let us know.
Main Menu
Syndicate
RSS1  Latest Threads
RSS1  LQ News
Twitter: @linuxquestions
identi.ca: @linuxquestions
Facebook: linuxquestions Google+: linuxquestions
Open Source Consulting | Domain Registration