LinuxQuestions.org
Visit Jeremy's Blog.
Go Back   LinuxQuestions.org > Reviews > Distributions > Vector
User Name
Password

Notices

Search · Register · Submit New Review · Download your favorite Linux Distributions ·
 

VectorLinux 5.1 Standard
Reviews Views Date of last review
10 35524 08-12-2007
spacer
Recommended By Average Price Average Rating
80% of reviewers None indicated 7.3



Description: Latest version that makes old systems faster than new system.
Keywords: Slackware on Steroids


Author
Post A Reply 
Old 08-30-2005, 03:10 PM   #1
UltimaGuy
 
Registered: Aug 2003
Distribution: PCLinuxOS .92, FC4
Posts: 840

Rep: Reputation:
Would you recommend the product? yes | Price you paid?: D/L | Rating: 9

Pros: Fast, stable, helpful and enthusiastic forum and small
Cons: KDE,GNOME available only in Deluxe version, have to download kernel sources seperately



Recently noticing this product in distrowatch and seeing a review in madpenguin, I was attracted towards this product.

First I'll list out the reason I decided to try this distro.The primary reason I wanted to check this product is that I have only 128 MB RAM, and Fedora made my system crawl. I was using slackware till recently, but while tweaking the GNOME/KDE config files I screwed up somewhere and so my GUI in slakware became unstable. So I was booting into Windows 2K more and more. I decided to stop this and was thinking of downloading slack 10.1 when I read about this distro... and so my adventure into yet another distro begins.

I will first clear up one important matter ... I have installed about a dozen distros in these years in numerous versions and I AM NOT A NEWBIE. I rate myself as someone with moderate experince but who has to brush them up as nowadays I am spending less and less time with linux (particularly due to my work commitments :) ). So the installation of VectorLinux was quite easy for me. They have followed in the slack tradition of a text mode installer, but with the minimal set of options I have encountered till date.

After installation, I restarted and immediately ran into the famous X problem ... I was seeing a 640X480 login screen. I logged in and was surprised to see that my internet was not working ...

I decided to first correct my network problem, so went into text mode and checked whether my network card was up. It was configured correctly and so I used 'netconfig' to reconfigure the network. I am not sure whether I gave some wrong value the first time because the internet started working fine now.

Next I decided to visit the VectorLinux forums for my display problem. A simple search there showed 3 different methods to solve the problem. The first one, using the command 'xorgcfg -textmode' was something I have never used, so I decided to use this. I input my monitor frequencies, my card details and then moved into init 4 again ... and got my favourite 1024X768 :)

Though the included packages are a small subset, most of the functionality required for a user is present here. And most importantly, the system is absolutely fast .... even slackware is not so fast in my system ...

My only problem is that for getting GNOME or/and KDE, you have to buy the deluxe version. Since I could not afford it at present, I checked their forums to learn that freerock gnome is compatible with them ... so now I am downloading it....

If you are looking for a very fast distro based on Slackware, or if you want a distro for that hardware of yours which has been made obsolete by other distros, search no furthur ... your search end here ... as mine had :)
 
Old 01-30-2006, 04:51 PM   #2
kazuya1977
 
Registered: Sep 2005
Distribution: crunchbang (debian squeeze), ubuntu 11.04, archbang (archlinux), salix 64, chakra, mepis
Posts: 42

Rep: Reputation: Reputation:
Would you recommend the product? yes | Price you paid?: None indicated | Rating: 0

Pros: very fast, {fastest install and boot I have ever seen}, polished, stable, ease of use, lots of features, cleaner installs than many
Cons: software packages (#1 being Debian) - this is changing


There are three main distros winning me over. These are mepis (used to be my number 1), pclinuxos p92, and now Vector.. I would say Vector and mepis are tied for me personally..

I am starting to love Vector more and use it more because the speed, well put togetherness and features that come with the distro. The OS is just incredibly fast and functional..

Installation was 15 minutes long and very straight-forward. Did I mention that although, text based, it was fairly easy to follow and install. They would need to make the partition step and install as easy as mepis in the future.
One thing to note while doing the install is that for lilo to install properly on boot sector or lilo, ensure that instead of 1024X768X256 in the beginning., select bootsplash instead first and later on while configuring lilo, you would be prompted to entire your screen resolution. I would suggest 15" to 17" or 1024X768 then.. This would get you going.

It had one complaint on a proprietary NIC card for a laptop and on the other one, I realized that there was in fact no NIC card.

I am a linux newbie, but Vector is the closest thing to giving me raw speed of OS, a very helpful forum or supporting staff {I am not even talking of paid, but free support from vector linux support page}.

Openoffice launches fastest on this distro, gamestop streaming videos , etc work right out of the back..

This OS is going to be on my machine for a long time.

Did I mention the OS is very pleasing to the eys like SUSE, MANDRAKE, but just miles faster in use, and comes with other window environments by default that are lighter than kde 3.4.1.

Once you install this thing, you would find it difficult reverting back to other distros as they would start to show chunkiness, bloat , and lack of the speed..

Now, I say this, but those other distros especially the debian -based ones like mepis come with awesome package managers which make installing and removing softwares so much easier and delightful. Mepis (most debian-based} and pclinuxos for example handles package installs, removing and dependencies much easier that the user is sometimes not required to know much of what is gong on.

Vector contrastingly, has pretty much all the softwares you would normally require already there and gives you the option via gslapt under system>gslapt to install and remove applications.

You can also use the command line.

Vector gives me the functionality and speed of gentoo in only 15 minutes.. Now Gentoo in its own rights is a very powerful interface with bleeding edge softwares and features..

It was just too time consuming for me to install it. The advantage os gentoo is that it has an awesome package meanger much like debian if not better...

Enough of my ramblings. Vector is now my OS after two years of using linux for my desktop purpose...

It shold be noted that Slackware is the uncle of Vector; Vector packages are compatible to packages from slackware 10.1 and below. This may have changed now.

slack, vector, mepis, xandros, ubuntu, pclinuxos, are the distros I like to play with; Right now Vector and Mepis are tied at number one for me.
 
Old 01-30-2006, 04:57 PM   #3
kazuya1977
 
Registered: Sep 2005
Distribution: crunchbang (debian squeeze), ubuntu 11.04, archbang (archlinux), salix 64, chakra, mepis
Posts: 42

Rep: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation:
Would you recommend the product? yes | Price you paid?: None indicated | Rating: 10

Pros: very fast, {fastest install and boot I have ever seen}, polished, stable, ease of use, lots of features, cleaner installs than many
Cons: software packages (#1 being Debian) - this is changing


distros winning me over. These are mepis (used to be my number 1), pclinuxos p92, and now Vector.. I would say Vector and mepis are tied for me personally..

I am starting to love Vector more and use it more because the speed, well put togetherness and features that come with the distro. The OS is just incredibly fast and functional..

Installation was 15 minutes long and very straight-forward. Did I mention that although, text based, it was fairly easy to follow and install. They would need to make the partition step and install as easy as mepis in the future.
One thing to note while doing the install is that for lilo to install properly on boot sector or lilo, ensure that instead of 1024X768X256 in the beginning., select bootsplash instead first and later on while configuring lilo, you would be prompted to entire your screen resolution. I would suggest 15" to 17" or 1024X768 then.. This would get you going.

It had one complaint on a proprietary NIC card for a laptop and on the other one, I realized that there was in fact no NIC card.

I am a linux newbie, but Vector is the closest thing to giving me raw speed of OS, a very helpful forum or supporting staff {I am not even talking of paid, but free support from vector linux support page}.

Openoffice launches fastest on this distro, gamestop streaming videos , etc work right out of the back..

This OS is going to be on my machine for a long time.

Did I mention the OS is very pleasing to the eys like SUSE, MANDRAKE, but just miles faster in use, and comes with other window environments by default that are lighter than kde 3.4.1.

Once you install this thing, you would find it difficult reverting back to other distros as they would start to show chunkiness, bloat , and lack of the speed..

Now, I say this, but those other distros especially the debian -based ones like mepis come with awesome package managers which make installing and removing softwares so much easier and delightful. Mepis (most debian-based} and pclinuxos for example handles package installs, removing and dependencies much easier that the user is sometimes not required to know much of what is gong on.

Vector contrastingly, has pretty much all the softwares you would normally require already there and gives you the option via gslapt under system>gslapt to install and remove applications.

You can also use the command line.

Vector gives me the functionality and speed of gentoo in only 15 minutes.. Now Gentoo in its own rights is a very powerful interface with bleeding edge softwares and features..

It was just too time consuming for me to install it. The advantage os gentoo is that it has an awesome package meanger much like debian if not better...

Enough of my ramblings. Vector is now my OS after two years of using linux for my desktop purpose...

It shold be noted that Slackware is the uncle of Vector; Vector packages are compatible to packages from slackware 10.1 and below. This may have changed now.

slack, vector, mepis, xandros, ubuntu, pclinuxos, are the distros I like to play with; Right now Vector and Mepis are tied at number one for me.

-Please admin delete the earlier post of mine before this one. I forgot to put in my rating.
 
Old 06-05-2006, 11:27 AM   #4
varaahan
 
Registered: Jul 2005
Distribution: Puppy, Arch Linux,Absolute Linux
Posts: 83

Rep: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation:
Would you recommend the product? yes | Price you paid?: None indicated | Rating: 10

Pros: slacware based, very fast
Cons: yet to discover


Being slackware based, it is very rock solid.
One thing I like most is the speed with which it boots.
(only puppy linux beats all other distros in faster booting).
All the useful applications are bundled and work straight off
the box.

Good and nice distro which everyone can use.
 
Old 07-10-2006, 03:07 AM   #5
pheonix991
 
Registered: Oct 2005
Distribution: Arch
Posts: 23

Rep: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation:
Would you recommend the product? no | Price you paid?: None indicated | Rating: 4

Pros: Old hardware support, light os
Cons: took a while to start folding on


I didn't like this distro, openoffice wasn't included, I couldn't ever get the sound on my laptop to work right, and I had to make 4 copies of the cd before I could get one to install w/o errors...

I didn't like it, but, all in all, if you need a light os, and old hardware support, this is probably the way to go.
 
Old 08-17-2006, 08:54 PM   #6
verdeboy2k
 
Registered: Jan 2004
Distribution: Gentoo amd64, CrunchBang amd64
Posts: 350

Rep: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation:
Would you recommend the product? yes | Price you paid?: None indicated | Rating: 8

Pros: Fast, Runs on d*** near anything, pretty
Cons: foomatic not part of base install


I first installed this distro when I was searching on distrowatch.org for linux distributions that would run on ancient (i.e. PII or older, <256MB ram) hardware, yet had GUI interface, word processor, the works.

I must say that I am pleased with this distribution. It also works well because of the wide range of device support out of the box, since the computers I had to install it on had no internet access and therefore no ability to download new software.

The only complaint I have is that it does not come with foomatic on the CD.

A minor annoyance is the headache inducing waves and penguins on the default login manager screen--not what I had in mind.
 
Old 08-31-2006, 08:39 PM   #7
philipjg
 
Registered: Aug 2006
Distribution: Ubuntu
Posts: 9

Rep: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation:
Would you recommend the product? yes | Price you paid?: None indicated | Rating: 6

Pros: Excellent hardware probing. Loaded every driver for my hardware. Fast installation. Eye candy GUI.
Cons: Not easy to configure once loaded. Some apps refuse to load or crash.


First attracted to this distro because of claims to run on older machines. That's certainly true. All the hardware on an Epox MVP3F motherboard, with AMD K6-2 400 and 128Mb RAM and 10Gb HDD, was probed correctly and drivers loaded, including the NVIDIA T4200 OEM drivers and Yamaha OPL3SA2 legacy sound chip.

After finding the command to load installation from the Live CD (SOHO, installation was very fast. Just copied all files from the CD and then followed the bouncing ball through X config, account and password setup and local settings.

However, not all K apps worked successfully once into system. eg. Kcalc attempted to load but was killed by the OS with a corresponding message. Other apps just failed to load.

Otherwise a very eye-easy GUI and desktop layout. Because of apps issues, I've decided on Ubuntu as my final distro.
Would I recommend Vector? Sure, why not?
 
Old 01-06-2007, 04:44 PM   #8
boomklever
 
Registered: Jan 2007
Distribution: Debian Etch
Posts: 15

Rep: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation:
Would you recommend the product? yes | Price you paid?: None indicated | Rating: 10

Pros: Fast, nice GUI, very good out of the box config
Cons: The installer could be a bit more intuitive


I just switched from Ubuntu to Vector today and my first impression is very good.
Vector is fast, everything seems to be configured out of the box - Flash, Java even dvdcss. Xfce, the standard desktop, is fast and looks prettier than I ever managed to configure it under Ubuntu.
The only downside was during the installation when the installer wasn't able to configure Xorg correctly. Unfortunately I'm not much into fiddling with xorg.conf so I just copied my existing xorg.conf from my Ubuntu installation which worked fine.
The programs that I've worked with so far all appear to run flawlessly: Firefox (including the Flash plugin), Gaim, Xine, Opera, Vim, Loki's Call to Power II...
On the whole, I'd recommend Vector Linux right away.
 
Old 04-17-2007, 07:18 AM   #9
evildarknight
 
Registered: Nov 2006
Distribution: Debian lenny, Jlime,Delilinux
Posts: 57

Rep: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation:
Would you recommend the product? yes | Price you paid?: None indicated | Rating: 8

Pros: very fast will run on anything (Practically)
Cons: repository does not work!!


Removed vector linux 5.8 gold for this one as it was said that it is faster for my old pc (166 mhz).
1. lilo didn't install get installed something to do with the lilo.conf which was wrongas it labelled my harddisk as /dev/hda instead of /dev/hdb
2. X did not detect or configure my monitor at all had to done manually
3. No spreadsheet program was installed, only abiword was available had to installed siag office from source!!!!
4. vlapt, slapt could not reach main repository thus crashing everytime i hit the update button
on the overall after struggling with the os and added siag it was really cool
it run smoothly except firefox lagging sometimes
 
Old 08-12-2007, 07:20 PM   #10
Zelator
 
Registered: Jul 2005
Distribution: Netrunner
Posts: 68

Rep: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation:
Would you recommend the product? no | Price you paid?: None indicated | Rating: 1

Pros: Slackware based
Cons: Cheesy installer, failed to recognise passwords


I was attracted by its Slackware base and claimed efficiency. I was having problems with SUSE 10.1 and wanted something rock solid.
The installer was absurd, larded with feeble humour and compromised by ambiguities. Once installed, though, it looked OK. However, when I rebooted it would recognise neither the root nor user passwords.
I installed Kubuntu 6.06 LTS instead, which I have found to be very reliable. I am sufficiently impressed by it that I am planning a move to Debian Etch.
 




  



All times are GMT -5. The time now is 07:00 PM.

Main Menu
Advertisement

My LQ
Write for LQ
LinuxQuestions.org is looking for people interested in writing Editorials, Articles, Reviews, and more. If you'd like to contribute content, let us know.
Main Menu
Syndicate
RSS1  Latest Threads
RSS1  LQ News
Twitter: @linuxquestions
identi.ca: @linuxquestions
Facebook: linuxquestions Google+: linuxquestions
Open Source Consulting | Domain Registration