LinuxQuestions.org
Visit the LQ Articles and Editorials section
Go Back   LinuxQuestions.org > Reviews > Distributions > KNOPPIX
User Name
Password

Notices

Search · Register · Submit New Review · Download your favorite Linux Distributions ·
 

Knoppix 3.9
Reviews Views Date of last review
5 43442 10-02-2005
spacer
Recommended By Average Price Average Rating
100% of reviewers None indicated 9.6



Description: From the KNOPPIX homepage:
"KNOPPIX is a bootable Live system on CD or DVD, consisting of a representative collection of GNU/Linux software, automatic hardware detection, and support for many graphics cards, sound cards, SCSI and USB devices and other peripherals."
Keywords: knoppix bootable live-cd rescue system


Author
Post A Reply 
Old 08-13-2005, 04:32 PM   #1
JunctaJuvant
 
Registered: May 2003
Distribution: OS X
Posts: 488

Rep: Reputation:
Would you recommend the product? yes | Price you paid?: D/L | Rating: 9

Pros: You can run a fully functional system from a CD
Cons: It is slow, because you run it from a CD



I recently needed to install Gentoo, but could not get the wireless PCI card in my desktop system to function with the Gentoo live-cd. I have a Netgear WG311T wifi card, which is supported by the madwifi module. And this version of Koppix has it. So all I needed to do was open a terminal, enter "su" to become root and load the module with "modprobe ath_pci". Next I configured the card with iwconfig and executed "ifconfig ath0 up".
Then I edit /etc/networking/interfaces in vi and added the line "iface ath0 inet dhcp", saved it and ran "ifup ath0". That was all I needed to do to get online so I could finally begin the installation of Gentoo.
Knoppix is really an amazing system, IMHO. I only give it a 9 instead of a 10 because it failed to detect the correct resolution of my LCD screen automatically, so I had to reboot once and specify it at the boot-prompt.
 
Old 08-21-2005, 04:58 AM   #2
ChristianNerds.com
 
Registered: Aug 2005
Distribution: Debian
Posts: 2

Rep: Reputation: Reputation:
Would you recommend the product? yes | Price you paid?: D/L | Rating: 10

Pros: It's a LiveCD. Tons of secondary functionality.
Cons: Can be slow when run only from CD


Knoppix, being a LiveCD, needs no current operating system to be run. For this reason, as well, it makes Knoppix the perfect OS to bring around and show to people who'd like to see what Linux is all about.

But for my main reasons to like it, it's secondary uses shine through.

My favorite use: The Harddrive install ends up with a fully-functional Debian install. Personally, however, I'd use an older version (3.4 would be good at the time of this writing) if you plan on getting a 'Stable branch only' Debian system.

2nd Favorite Use: Testing systems for Linux Compatability. If I'm going to try to put Linux on a computer, I can always use Knoppix to check if the hardware on that computer is linux compatible.

3rd Favorite Use: Fix other people's systems. When other people mess up their computers to the point that they no longer function, if it's mainly a software problem, you can use Knoppix to rescue the information on their harddrive before you reformat.

I'd definately recommend Knoppix for almost all Linux users, for the 2nd and third reason alone, but it's a great distro none-the-less
 
Old 09-13-2005, 10:29 PM   #3
colinstu
 
Registered: Apr 2005
Posts: 113

Rep: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation:
Would you recommend the product? yes | Price you paid?: D/L | Rating: 10

Pros: KDE 3.4, 2.6 kernal, OOo 2.0 beta, Looks good, works good
Cons: needs an easier way of installing it on the HD


Even though I can't install it easily It still is very excellent! This is the 1st time I used the 2.6 kernal w/ out it crashing, used 3.4 and it is pretty good, and is also I've used openoffice.org 2.0beta for linux. There are also a couple other nice programs, and I like the way knoppix boots.
 
Old 09-18-2005, 05:07 PM   #4
dudeman41465
 
Registered: Jun 2005
Distribution: Ubuntu
Posts: 794

Rep: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation:
Would you recommend the product? yes | Price you paid?: D/L | Rating: 9

Pros: Very Pretty, Stable, Tons of Apps and Tools, Cool Startup and Shutdown Voice Overs :)
Cons: Is a bit slow when running from LiveCD


I just downloaded it and took a peek at it, and right off the bat I noticed that it was very pretty and interactive. And for it to be on a LiveCD it has a buttload of extra applications including OpenOffice, Firefox 1.0.4, GIMP, and dozens of others. It seemed very stable, but it was a bit slow because you are running it from a CD, so if the cd has a chance to stop spinning it has to spin up to speed again when you want to do something. I'm going to distribute this freely at a Linux lesson I'm teaching Friday to a group of kids who are all Windows all the time and don't know anything about Linux. I am confident that they will have fun with Knoppix.
 
Old 10-02-2005, 01:46 AM   #5
tejing
 
Registered: Feb 2005
Distribution: Debian
Posts: 7

Rep: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation:
Would you recommend the product? yes | Price you paid?: D/L | Rating: 10

Pros: portable. take it to any public computer and get your own settings, apps and desktop
Cons: only what's inherent in any live-cd distro: slow (especially if the cd spins down)


knoppix is great for showing people that linux isn't all text-based and old-looking, which is the idea quite a few people have. It's also great for testing the hardware compatiblity on any system, and for rescue uses.

My favorite thing about it, tho, is that you can (with a good bit of tweaking) set it up to store your home directory in a GMailFS, and then you have a writable home directory on any computer without carrying around an extra flash drive or some such. great for impressing people.

Tejing
 




  



All times are GMT -5. The time now is 01:03 PM.

Main Menu
Advertisement

My LQ
Write for LQ
LinuxQuestions.org is looking for people interested in writing Editorials, Articles, Reviews, and more. If you'd like to contribute content, let us know.
Main Menu
Syndicate
RSS1  Latest Threads
RSS1  LQ News
Twitter: @linuxquestions
identi.ca: @linuxquestions
Facebook: linuxquestions Google+: linuxquestions
Open Source Consulting | Domain Registration