LinuxQuestions.org
Help answer threads with 0 replies.
Go Back   LinuxQuestions.org > Reviews > Distributions > KNOPPIX
User Name
Password

Notices

Search · Register · Submit New Review · Download your favorite Linux Distributions ·
 

Knoppix 4.0
Reviews Views Date of last review
9 52538 07-17-2006
spacer
Recommended By Average Price Average Rating
100% of reviewers None indicated 9.4



Description: Starting from version 4.0, the KNOPPIX-project has been split into a DVD "maxi" edition, and a "KNOPPIX light" on CD, both developed in parallel. The printed first release of the KNOPPIX 4.0 DVD (booting in german by default) has been available at LinuxTag 2005 at different booths, and is now available within the "edition with DVD" computer magazine "com!. Check the initial press release here for more details about contents and news in version 4.0 of KNOPPIX (german).

The 4.0 DVD Edition will be available on some of the Knoppix-Mirrors (those who can afford the additional traffic) in a few weeks, as soon as the 4.0 "Light" CD image is also ready.
Keywords: Knoppix 4.0, DVD release, light version.


Author
Post A Reply 
Old 08-26-2005, 10:24 PM   #1
winsnomore
 
Registered: May 2004
Distribution: #1 PCLinuxOS -- for laughs -> Ubuntu, Suse, Mepis
Posts: 315

Rep: Reputation:
Would you recommend the product? yes | Price you paid?: D/L | Rating: 10

Pros: One of the best as Live CD
Cons: HD installer SUXs



As a Live CD it's one of the best, with plenty of good software and good hardware detection.

For some reason though, between 3.9 and 4.0 .. something happend to sound and I always have to run alsaconf to make it work.

HD installer simply craps out now (4.0 beta used to work, but 4.0 release installer just leaves the bootrecord in a mess if you don't install it on the MBR .. which no sane person should do anyways )

 
Old 10-14-2005, 02:28 PM   #2
zvonSully
 
Registered: Nov 2004
Distribution: Debian maniak(apt-get upgrade)
Posts: 85

Rep: Reputation: Reputation:
Would you recommend the product? yes | Price you paid?: D/L | Rating: 9

Pros: best live CD distribution; based on Debian
Cons: run slower because it has to load the app from the cd


I always load it when I have to use a "windows" only PC(I don't have the right to install software)
 
Old 11-07-2005, 04:20 PM   #3
Impaler
 
Registered: Apr 2004
Distribution: Debian
Posts: 59

Rep: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation:
Would you recommend the product? yes | Price you paid?: D/L | Rating: 9

Pros: Great Rescue
Cons: Slow, but hey! it runs from the cd....


Well, this is a valuable rescue cd for me (although others exist). It is a great distro and that many people use its kernel configuration to start with building their own kernel should say something about it....
Once a friend aked me to save his documents from his laptop while it was not booting (cause he installed 2 anti-virus progs!!). Guess what, the documents were located in the windows partition and there was no way to format it without loosing the documents. I never had the great experience with the windows internals (wondering why? :D) to fix the registry s**t so the solution was right there....
Its also good for newbies to have their first touch with Linux because in most cases it's just working and they can't change anything important.
Many, many, many other reasons that make this live CD a great OS do exist but my free time gives me this much to say...
Last words: Recomended for everyone
 
Old 01-25-2006, 02:14 PM   #4
randrake
 
Registered: Mar 2004
Distribution: Any nix or other OS I can get my hands on!
Posts: 156

Rep: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation:
Would you recommend the product? yes | Price you paid?: None indicated | Rating: 0

Pros: Great tool
Cons: Grear Distro


I recommend everyone go out and get a copy of Knoppix Hackes by Oriely. You would not beleive the uses for the knoppix cd or dvd. From zeroing and overwriting a hard drive , to ghosting one drive to another, repairing grub or lilo, and using knoppix config files to repair an installed nix with a messed up one.

Also you can use Knoppix to install a base Debian system that you can upgrade to Debian testing or unstable.

I found the installer no worse than previous releases.
 
Old 02-28-2006, 09:49 AM   #5
Patz2009
 
Registered: Feb 2006
Distribution: Slackware
Posts: 11

Rep: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation:
Would you recommend the product? yes | Price you paid?: None indicated | Rating: 10

Pros: TONS of features
Cons: Slow... like all Live-CDs


What else do I have to say? KNOPPIX can be used for pretty much anything. It's my favorite Live-CD distro.
 
Old 03-30-2006, 05:43 AM   #6
NuxIT
 
Registered: Jul 2003
Distribution: xUbuntu
Posts: 76

Rep: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation:
Would you recommend the product? yes | Price you paid?: None indicated | Rating: 9

Pros: LOTS of features and Ran pretty good on a PII 366 64MEGS
Cons: Loading apps from CD kinda slow on my old laptop.


I had a chance to try this and must say it is quite impressive. After spending days messing around with my Mandrake 9.0 load and manually configuring my smbclient to connect to my windows network shares I was amazed when I fired up this distro and it jumped onto my network and saw my windows workgroup and could browse shares with ZERO commands from the terminal.. Very slick looking interface and TONS of apps for a 700MB CD!
 
Old 04-29-2006, 06:25 PM   #7
skrall
 
Registered: Apr 2006
Distribution: Knoppix, Fedora 3, RHat 9
Posts: 2

Rep: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation:
Would you recommend the product? yes | Price you paid?: None indicated | Rating: 9

Pros: OS on a disk. Many tools. Impressive Autodetection
Cons: Need the Oreily book to fully appreciate


It makes a great Virus free PC. Disk is read only and reboot fixes any infection. PARTD utility works great for resizing partitions. TETHEREAL already installed as well as Kismet. Version 4.0 can read NT partitions. KWIFI autodetects and installs many wireless cards as well. (not broadcom chipsets)
 
Old 05-03-2006, 07:35 AM   #8
coolb
 
Registered: Apr 2006
Distribution: Gentoo 2006.1(2.6.17-gentoo-r7)
Posts: 222

Rep: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation:
Would you recommend the product? yes | Price you paid?: None indicated | Rating: 0

Pros: wow! best liveCD, Love the window managers/desktops, Nice security tools
Cons: Debian isent a nice distro(Knoppix is based on this), Never liked apt-get


This LiveCD distro is really nice... Find the wireless networks with Netstumbler on Windows, and in a snap switch to Knoppix and 0wN3 it :-)
 
Old 07-17-2006, 12:11 AM   #9
andrewlorien
 
Registered: Jan 2004
Posts: 23

Rep: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation:
Would you recommend the product? yes | Price you paid?: None indicated | Rating: 10

Pros: it Just Works
Cons:


I use gentoo and debian at home, and redhat at work. i support various windows systems for a few small companies, and i never go to a job without my knoppix CD. the simple saviour to every dilemma. with a knoppix in your pocket, your clients think you're a legend.
 




  



All times are GMT -5. The time now is 05:52 PM.

Main Menu
Advertisement

My LQ
Write for LQ
LinuxQuestions.org is looking for people interested in writing Editorials, Articles, Reviews, and more. If you'd like to contribute content, let us know.
Main Menu
Syndicate
RSS1  Latest Threads
RSS1  LQ News
Twitter: @linuxquestions
identi.ca: @linuxquestions
Facebook: linuxquestions Google+: linuxquestions
Open Source Consulting | Domain Registration