LinuxQuestions.org
Support LQ: Use code LQ3 and save $3 on Domain Registration
Go Back   LinuxQuestions.org > Reviews > Distributions > Xandros
User Name
Password

Notices

Search · Register · Submit New Review · Download your favorite Linux Distributions ·
 

Xandros 3.0 Deluxe
Reviews Views Date of last review
5 44702 10-02-2006
spacer
Recommended By Average Price Average Rating
80% of reviewers $89.95 7.5



Description: A very user friendly disrto for newcomers venturing from XP. You can stay in the GUI until you are comfortable, then learn the command line tools. XN networks is a gui for the apt-get command, it is very simple. forums.xandros.com is an excellent site for information.
This fits well for the simple user using firefox and openoffice to the more advanced user running apache2.0, proftpd, PHP4, Mysql, webmin, etc.
Keywords: debian xandros deluxe 3.0 sp2


Author
Post A Reply 
Old 06-20-2005, 11:22 AM   #1
DEE99TA
 
Registered: Jun 2005
Distribution: Xandros 3.0 Deluxe
Posts: 0

Rep: Reputation:
Would you recommend the product? yes | Price you paid?: $89.95 | Rating: 9

Pros: Eases the transition from Windows to linux
Cons: picky upgrade(caution when upgrading the kernel and installing SP2)



Very good product for linux beginners. They sponsor a help forum that provides very helpful information. It is debian based and can utilize the debian packages via xandros networks gui, or via the traditional apt-get command.

I installed it on an older machine, AMD 2100+, Gigabyte GA-K7VAXP Ultra A, WD HD, 512MB ram, ATI 8500LE. The install was flawless, everything worked without tweaking.

Careful on the SP2 upgrade, it is tricking. Read the forums for details. Installed the SP2 and Kernel 2.6.11.

I am learning as I go apache, ftp, ssh, webmin, php, perl, cgi.

Overall, it has really hightened my linux curiousity and allowed me to learn as I go.

 
Old 07-27-2005, 10:05 PM   #2
yanayun
 
Registered: Aug 2004
Distribution: Slackware
Posts: 8

Rep: Reputation: Reputation:
Would you recommend the product? yes | Price you paid?: None indicated | Rating: 0

Pros:
Cons:


nice product, User Friendly similar to windows.
but, i cant access Bluetooth and IRda. I can't found utility for this hardware, bluez not install.
I can't upgrade Firefox to new version.


 
Old 04-27-2006, 09:20 PM   #3
_aXXe_
 
Registered: Apr 2006
Posts: 12

Rep: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation:
Would you recommend the product? no | Price you paid?: None indicated | Rating: 3

Pros: Nice all around package for beginners
Cons: Picky about what CD-ROM it will install from, floppy boot testy at best.


A very nice package if you can get it to install. I tried the install CD on 4 desktops and 2 laptops before I could install. XP Pro, XP Home, NT 4.0 SP6a and Windows 2000 Server. I removed, tore down, cleaned, assembled and reinstalled 5 CD-ROM's with no change. These PC's run from SATA,SCSI,IDE,EIDE and no install until I tried the Alienware M 51 laptop. The results with the OCE and the paid for ISO downloads faired no better.

Hopefully V 4.0 will have more SATA, DMA, UDMA and WiFi support. The support staff at XandrOS replied very quickly to my questions but no solution has been found. I have tried every tip from the forums with no joy!
 
Old 05-28-2006, 04:21 PM   #4
seemychess
 
Registered: May 2006
Distribution: xandros desktop deluxe
Posts: 1

Rep: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation:
Would you recommend the product? yes | Price you paid?: None indicated | Rating: 10

Pros: easy to use. stable.
Cons:


very good OS. waiting for 64 bit os.
 
Old 10-02-2006, 04:29 AM   #5
llewellyna
 
Registered: May 2004
Distribution: xandros 2
Posts: 0

Rep: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation:
Would you recommend the product? yes | Price you paid?: None indicated | Rating: 8

Pros: Easy to swap to (from windows) very stable - virtually bug free.
Cons: Your stuck with the version supplied -- for things- like open office --firefox -- (See note)


Cons:- (extended)
Although - you do get a lots of upgrades through ZN for free some major upgrades like OpenOffice -- must be paid for.
During the life of the product you will probably ge a firefox upgrade free -- but it won't be the very latest version.
All in all though, Xandros is a rock - and has been my exclusive link to the net for several years -- without fault.
PS Xandros's ability to work into the "Microsoft" environment is a lot better than several other linux distros I have tried.
 




  



All times are GMT -5. The time now is 05:27 AM.

Main Menu
Advertisement

My LQ
Write for LQ
LinuxQuestions.org is looking for people interested in writing Editorials, Articles, Reviews, and more. If you'd like to contribute content, let us know.
Main Menu
Syndicate
RSS1  Latest Threads
RSS1  LQ News
Twitter: @linuxquestions
identi.ca: @linuxquestions
Facebook: linuxquestions Google+: linuxquestions
Open Source Consulting | Domain Registration