LinuxQuestions.org
Visit the LQ Articles and Editorials section
Go Back   LinuxQuestions.org > Reviews > Distributions > Other
User Name
Password

Notices

Search · Register · Submit New Review · Download your favorite Linux Distributions ·
« Previous Product 

SLAX Standard 5.0.5
Reviews Views Date of last review
10 58672 06-20-2014
spacer
Recommended By Average Price Average Rating
90% of reviewers None indicated 9.0



Description: SLAX is a small-sized Live CD using unionfs and based on Slackware. In 190 MB for standard edition it includes good amount of useful software. It includes X windows system and allows choice between KDE and fluxbox for desktop environment/wm.
Special (modified) versions of SLAX also exist.
Keywords: LiveCD, Slackware-based


Author
Post A Reply 
Old 07-11-2005, 09:25 PM   #1
dustin_wielenga
 
Registered: Jun 2004
Distribution: SLAX, Ubuntu
Posts: 113

Rep: Reputation:
Would you recommend the product? yes | Price you paid?: D/L | Rating: 10

Pros: Modular, small package, yet looks good with KDE and includes mostly everything you need, can be copied to RAM
Cons: Not many, however, documentation is not included for size reasons



If you are new to Linux, I think Slax is a good way to get started. It is how I started out. The community is very helpful, and friendly, most of the time. Slax includes KDE, and Fluxbox is the standard version. It boots up quite quickly, and also has the ability to be copied to RAM, which speeds it up even more.

There are other Slax versions, and Popcorn is a really great one, which doesn't include KDE, but XFCE. It is made for websurfing and multimedia.
 
Old 07-23-2005, 08:59 AM   #2
dosnlinux
 
Registered: Mar 2005
Distribution: slackware 11, arch 2007.08
Posts: 154

Rep: Reputation: Reputation:
Would you recommend the product? yes | Price you paid?: D/L | Rating: 10

Pros: Really Nice GUI/Based on Slackware.
Cons: Sort of Minimalist


If you like Slackware, Slax is the live distro for you!

I was suprised when I first booted this live-cd and it took me straight to the command line, even though this is the exact behavior of Slackware. I was even more suprised when I typed startx. It booted into a GUI that looked planned out a polished. If I had a GUI like this I wouldn't mind changing my startup scripts to boot to runlevel 4! (5 for other distros)

One of the unique features of this distro is webconfig. It's sort of like Knoppix's persistant home, only over the web. You boot Slax with you password and all your configuration gets saved to the Slax server, and can be restored again over the web!

If you want to try Slackware, and want something more than ZipSlack, Slax is the live-cd distro for you!
 
Old 01-25-2006, 03:19 PM   #3
italiano40
 
Registered: Jan 2006
Distribution: CentOS 5.3, Mac OSX 10.6.8
Posts: 70

Rep: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation:
Would you recommend the product? no | Price you paid?: None indicated | Rating: 3

Pros: good graphics
Cons: CANNOT CONNECT TO INTERNET ON ANY CONECTION


I hate it
it sucks
 
Old 04-23-2006, 05:54 PM   #4
gnoteb
 
Registered: Aug 2005
Distribution: Arch Linux (kernel 2.6.19). I also like these two livecds: Slax and DSL
Posts: 28

Rep: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation:
Would you recommend the product? yes | Price you paid?: None indicated | Rating: 10

Pros: quick, no-bugs, easy, very considerate size at about 200 megs
Cons: as a livecd; none


Looking for replacements for my mandriva le 2005 I took a look at this livecd and I am really happy I did. This boots from cd about 2 times quicker into kde than mandriva does into icewm!

All hardware was recognized, internet working on all boxes I tried it on and you have everything you need. I was surprised by kde also, the version I got with mandriva must be a bit outdated, because here it was quick and the programs were improved and not buggy at all.

I am looking for something simple and quick like this, when its possible to install it I will. This is what I give the xp users to show what they're missing. I want to buy a usb stick dedicated to slax so I could use it one my friends computer.
 
Old 10-07-2006, 01:35 PM   #5
Eternal_Newbie
 
Registered: Jun 2005
Distribution: Slackware 13.37
Posts: 573

Rep: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation:
Would you recommend the product? yes | Price you paid?: None indicated | Rating: 10

Pros: Quick , slick , modular and Slackware-like
Cons: none


I have used the Popcorn and KillBill versions of this LiveCD. It is now my favourite liveCD.

Just like Slackware everything is detected and works - XWindows at 1024x768, my cable internet. Unlike Slackware the mouse wheel is configured in XWindows and you start with read access to VFAT partitions.

A good trick is to run Slax and copy the relevent sections of xorg.conf and fstab to your Slackware installation, if you have difficulty setting them in Slackware.
 
Old 06-30-2007, 02:51 AM   #6
Kobussie
 
Registered: Feb 2006
Distribution: Debian(Etch); Arch Linux, FreeBSD
Posts: 22

Rep: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation:
Would you recommend the product? yes | Price you paid?: None indicated | Rating: 10

Pros: good hw-detection, modules
Cons: none found , so far!


A very good live-distro!
All hardware i tested it on was detected.
The module-system makes it very easy to add any sofware you want, make an iso and burn your own custom live-CD. With about 500 mb available on a cd-rom you have plenty of room to do so.
I use it with the hardware-lister (lshw) to do a quick scan of an unknown PC.
 
Old 05-28-2008, 03:12 PM   #7
aricshow
 
Registered: May 2008
Posts: 0

Rep: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation:
Would you recommend the product? yes | Price you paid?: None indicated | Rating: 10

Pros: Amazing for the size, wonderful for beginners!
Cons: Not full fetured, and driver support is slacking (lol)


My favorite live distro of all time, I started on Slax, and I still run Slax today. (On one of my computers at least) I have the server version with nano and grub modules, and find it has everything I need (for programming and web design work that I do on my cheep (old) laptop). I recommend the hard drive install, even though the creator doesn't, especially for computers with small hard drives (say 2 gigs, like my old compaq) but also have enough ram to run it. (you need 36 ram to run without KDE, and I forget how much with KDE running, but I believe its a little over 200 megs)

I build my LFS (Linux From Scratch) system off this without any problems. And find it useful for many occasions. Its a simple, semi-lightweight system, which I completely adore.
 
Old 04-02-2009, 11:38 AM   #8
hurry_hui
 
Registered: Oct 2008
Distribution: Slackware, Arch, Slax, Porteus, Tiny Core, Slitaz
Posts: 355

Rep: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation:
Would you recommend the product? yes | Price you paid?: None indicated | Rating: 10

Pros: Light, nice, modular, simple
Cons: Well, none


I like Slax as my handy distro for years, I also installed it on my usb flashdisk. Although it is modular, I find that all I need is already packaged.

It detects my modem, my wireless, and--I love it--my soundcard.

Now, that my laptop got more RAM, I like run it in RAM, it is much much faster.
 
Old 11-03-2009, 08:38 PM   #9
evanhyfnz
 
Registered: Nov 2009
Posts: 0

Rep: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation:
Would you recommend the product? yes | Price you paid?: None indicated | Rating: 0

Pros:
Cons:


I'm a new user for linux, can u guy suggest some good edition for me?
 
Old 06-20-2014, 05:58 PM   #10
doomcake
 
Registered: Jun 2014
Posts: 1

Rep: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation:
Would you recommend the product? yes | Price you paid?: None indicated | Rating: 8

Pros: fast,looks great
Cons: lack of new modules.


slax v7.8 desktop is a very pleasing to the eye.

The process to install\run it , is simple.

The only downside is the lack of modules.
The modules are a brilliant idea ,especially for noobs.
I seem to remember the older versions of slax having more modules to choose from,but even then i had to spend a lot of time trying to convert packages into the correct slax format ,so they would be recognized.
If you are new to slax and linux ,you will see that you are limited to what is offered on the slax website in their modules page.
If more modules were available on the slax site ,i think it could lead to more people using slax.

p.s..you can spend some time searching and probably find some custom made packages for
various programs,but they might be old versions.
 




  



All times are GMT -5. The time now is 05:12 AM.

Main Menu
Advertisement

My LQ
Write for LQ
LinuxQuestions.org is looking for people interested in writing Editorials, Articles, Reviews, and more. If you'd like to contribute content, let us know.
Main Menu
Syndicate
RSS1  Latest Threads
RSS1  LQ News
Twitter: @linuxquestions
identi.ca: @linuxquestions
Facebook: linuxquestions Google+: linuxquestions
Open Source Consulting | Domain Registration