LinuxQuestions.org
Go Job Hunting at the LQ Job Marketplace
Go Back   LinuxQuestions.org > Reviews > Distributions > Fedora Project
User Name
Password

Notices

Search · Register · Submit New Review · Download your favorite Linux Distributions ·
 

Fedora Project FC1
Reviews Views Date of last review
40 141969 02-12-2005
spacer
Recommended By Average Price Average Rating
95% of reviewers $20.33 8.4



Description: Fedora Core 1 is a user based Red Hat linux, the Fedora Project is sponsered by Red Hat, and is being improved and support by the Linux Community. Fedora Core 1 to me is a better Red Hat 9..
Keywords: Fedora, Core 1, FC1, Fedora Project


Author
Post A Reply 
Old 01-04-2004, 04:16 PM   #1
sxa
 
Registered: Aug 2003
Distribution: Mac OS 10.7 / CentOS 6(servers) / xubuntu 13.04
Posts: 1,186

Rep: Reputation:
Would you recommend the product? yes | Price you paid?: D/L | Rating: 10

Pros: Stable, Easy To Use, Fast, Dependable, Fun, and Free
Cons: Some Bugs, Not Supported by Red Hat



About a month ago I was sitting here looking around on the web, and I read some things about Fedora Core 1, I thought I should test it out. I downloaded the ISO files and installed it on my Linux HD (I replaced RH9), within the first week I had learned alot, within the second week I had software installed on it, and I have spent the past two weeks learning terminal commands, and learning more about linux. I have tried Three other Red Hat Versions from 7.1, 7.3, to 9.0.. Each time I upgraded I played with linux for a week and got bored, then I would boot into windows and stay intill I found another upgrade. This time I have booted into windows on the desktop maybe a handful of times to do a few things.

Fedora Core 1, IMHO, is a very fast Distro, compared to the the versions of Red Hat I have used.. I also think that Fedora Core 1 was designed so anybody can use it, from linux beginners to advanced linux users.

In The past month Fedora Core 1 has never crashed on me, of course I have never had Linux crash on me with Red Hat, so thats nothing new.

Learning Fedora Core 1 has been a fun and interesting learning experience. I would install Fedora Core 1 on any of my friends computers, in fact I might soon be giving one of my best friends a copy of Fedora, he is not much of a computer user, he knows very little about computers, what better way for him to learn, then on a linux box pre-installed with Fedora Core 1, provided by me and some other friends..

Now out of all these GREAT things to say about Fedora Core 1, its FREE, and like many other distros, it will STAY FREE...

Go ahead, get you a copy today.. from www.linuxiso.org

 
Old 01-07-2004, 03:25 PM   #2
CTPietrzy
 
Registered: Jan 2004
Distribution: Fedora Core 1
Posts: 2

Rep: Reputation: Reputation:
Would you recommend the product? yes | Price you paid?: $24.00 | Rating: 6

Pros: User Configurability, Security, Open Source, Variety
Cons: Network Interfacing - Configuring DSL with NIC and modem


At this point in my Linux training, I must say that I am satisfied overall with my Fedora Core 1 distribution.

The graphics are wonderful the the variety of configuration options seems limitless. Best of all it is not a MS product.

The only headaches thus far is connecting to the internet via DSL using a NIC card interface to my PC and a ISP supplied modem. The configuration utilities work much like RH 9 (I had this prior to FC1), but the result is not the same. With RH9 I connected easily, while FC1 has been a hastle. This leads into another heads up: With no formal technical support it is difficult troubleshooting when you are low on the learning curve.
 
Old 01-08-2004, 10:05 PM   #3
tooocool49723
 
Registered: Jan 2004
Distribution: Got fedora, damn this is easier than i thought
Posts: 6

Rep: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation:
Would you recommend the product? yes | Price you paid?: D/L | Rating: 10

Pros: Easy to use, easy to install, just plain easy
Cons: Package manager trouble (probibly just me)


Well, i'm a linux newbie. (as of this writing, i have 8 days of experience with any form of linux). Fedora is the only distro i have tried (except for knoppix) and i must say, i am very pleased.

I first tried Knoppix off of the CD just to see what linux was all about, and to try out a few programs. When several of the programs that I downloaded didn't work (kismet) I decided that I would have to go with a full HD install. My first option was to install Knoppix straight to the hard drive, but since my laptop is so bad (400mhz with 4 gigs of memory) Knoppix was simply too big in it's de-compressed format. This lead me to the search for a distro. Not knowing much about linux, i pretty much just picked the first one that came to mind, Red Hat. I soon found Fedora, and decided to give it a try.

Ok, so now i've got these 3 CD's that i have burned, what now? Well, i started to try installing fedora, but soon was faced with my first challenge. I needed to know which packages to install (since i was doing a custom installation, i wanted a small, yet fully functional OS). I picked the wrong ones. I didnt find it at first, but there is a package manager in redhat (it's even called add/remove programs) but being the newbie that i am, i just re-installed it with the ones that i thought i needed again. Wrong again. Eventually (after the third try) i did get it right, and later that night found the package manager. Other than that , setup was extremely easy, and i had no problems.

After a few days of using it now, installing several programs a day that i find (amsn, kismet, etc.) i have gotten used to the normal configure/make/make install procedure of the command line. For most beginning users, this is all they need to know about linux to use about 90% of it, the other ten is in RPM packages, which i dont think could be much easier to use.

The only problems that i have had is that i cant quite get perl scripting to work 100%. It does work to some extent, but on one program in particular (Wellenreiter, a wireless scanning tool with a GUI more like netstumbler than kismet) i still cant get it to work, but it's not all that bad, as there are many other programs that do the same job. Another problem is that once in a while, the package manager doesn't want to work, it just stops when it's processing the RPM headers. I'm sure this is only mine, and that it is not a problem with fedora. The last problem is that up2date doesnt want to work. It will connect, let me select which packages i want to update, begin downloading them, and then freeze. It's not much of a problem, but it means that i cant update my OS (or at least, i cant without going to the website and manually downloading new packages). In spite of these problems, I most certainly will NOT be switching back to microsoft, none of them were big enough to warrant the switch.

But overall, it is very easy to use, very easy to learn, and i would suggest it to anyone. (plus, it's free)
 
Old 01-23-2004, 11:17 PM   #4
stevoman098
 
Registered: Jan 2004
Distribution: Topologilinux, Fedora Core 1, WinXP
Posts: 41

Rep: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation:
Would you recommend the product? yes | Price you paid?: D/L | Rating: 10

Pros: Easy to use, Few bugs
Cons: Uses 3 cds, requires seperate partition


This distro was very easy to install. As soon as I put the install cd in, it ran a GUI to lead me through the entire install process. Lets you configure many things in the installation, without overwhealming the installer with complicated options. Nothing is changed on the system until the end when it installs it, so you can go back and change any option as long as you dont reach the final step.
Once installed, there are very few bugs. Nice looking graphical login. Required very little configuration to access the networked windows PCs and printer.
 
Old 01-27-2004, 02:45 AM   #5
Mistshadow
 
Registered: Jan 2004
Distribution: several, mostly SuSE, Slack & RH 9
Posts: 25

Rep: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation:
Would you recommend the product? no | Price you paid?: D/L | Rating: 6

Pros: Like RH 9, but more polished and updated.
Cons: Wlan bug.


RH 9, Shrike, was one of the first distros I ever tried and the first in which everything worked. Imagine my disappointment when Fedora didn't.

Let me explain. Yarrow couldn't configure my dsl ethernet connection correctly - but it worked absolutely perfect on Shrike. I was completely mystified becaused Fedora itself seemed to think it was working, but it wasn't. I found the problem, a bug in the kernel, when I went to tune up the kernel (I routinely get rid of the laptop support - maybe my hardware will change, but I know my desktop will never become a laptop). Oh, the joy. I couldn't even copy and paste the error output directly into a bug report because I couldn't get online; my computer doesn't even have a regular modem - why would I need one?. <Sigh>

Anyhow, I wound up back on Shrike. I downloaded yum and updated with it, as well as adding the games and such that I wanted. I also emailed a bug report, detailing the problem as best I could, so hopefully this might get fixed.

Yarrow, like all the RH releases before it, doesn't feature mp3 support (but this is easily added). It also includes Open Office and a good selection of games and multimedia apps, as well as editors and programming software. It seems to try to find a balance between a professional, office-oriented OS and a good desktop. Some people find the lack of fun-oriented programs irritating, others like it's no-nonsense approach. The best part is, though, it's very easy to install.

In conclusion, if you don't run into the problem I did, and RH is to your taste, then Yarrow is great. If RH isn't to your taste to begin with, or if you find a serious bug like I did, I wouldn't recommend it.
 
Old 01-27-2004, 04:20 AM   #6
eidolon
 
Registered: Dec 2003
Posts: 8

Rep: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation:
Would you recommend the product? yes | Price you paid?: D/L | Rating: 8

Pros: pretty, easily configurable
Cons: no pico! up2date is broken, xfree86 configurator is broken, no mp3 support


i've been using linux for around 5 years...mostly command line...i had no desire to learn another window system but the command line intrigued me...

the easy to configure fedora distribution (and the fact that xp home is ridiculously terrible) has me using linux on the desktop for the first time and learning more than ever...

i'm completely happy with fedora, other than the x configurator being broken (it was with dual head and hadn't identified the correct locations of my pci cards and was easily fixed by editing the xfree conf file), up2date being broken (had to change the websites in yum), and no pico! (nano works fine and i created a symlink named pico)

but honestly guys, no pico? comon
oh ya, and rpm dependencies suck

other than that i've thoroughly enjoyed fedora...and would recommend it to anyone...hey, it mounted my usb stick w/o installing any drivers....my win2k machine had a fit installing drivers and i even had to reboot the thing

download fedora! (u may have to get it from a mirror)

=]
 
Old 02-01-2004, 01:00 AM   #7
trickykid
 
Registered: Jan 2001
Posts: 24,133

Rep: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation:
Would you recommend the product? yes | Price you paid?: None indicated | Rating: 8

Pros: Very easy install. Support of Hardware is excellent.
Cons: Slower on older machines. Needs more options in the custom install.


I installed Fedora Core 1 on my laptop which is a little slower, a 475mhz K6-II but seemed to work fine during install, all hardware was found, configured. The only thing I had to do was run the iwconfig command to connect specifically to my wireless network which is totally understandable.

Once instantly online, it prompted me that there were updates available, downloaded, updated, etc.

From the last time I really used an RPM distro heavily which was back in the days of Redhat 6.2, I would really have to say I was impressed with Fedora.

Its definitely getting there for the mass market; especially being in its infancy but though with Redhat backing them up, I find this distro will surely be better than the Redhat desktop editions ever were in the near future.

I totally recommend Fedora Core 1 to anyone making the switch from Redhat or even Windows for that matter.
 
Old 02-06-2004, 09:29 AM   #8
awesomejt
 
Registered: Jan 2004
Distribution: Fedora Core 1, various others
Posts: 26

Rep: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation:
Would you recommend the product? yes | Price you paid?: D/L | Rating: 9

Pros: FREE. Based on familiar RHL, FREE, easy to use, oh yeah, FREE
Cons: Some minor bugs, no official RH support


Let's start with my specs:
Running two systems:
PC1: PII 400 Mhtz; 256 MB RAM; old gateway sys I got off ebay for $80 inc. shipping
PC2: PIII 500 Mhtz; 512 MB RAM; old premio box

My Experience: Good Linux understanding, used Linux of some type for 5 or 6 years now; general *nix use for 8 years.

I will attempt to review Fedora Core 1 from three perspectives: production server use; Linux hobbiest use; and the average joe;

Well, the easiest part to review will be the "average joe" point. In the past, I would NOT have recommended any distribution to the average user or even the moderately experienced ones. Mandrake was the first distribution to make a major afford to convert Windows users and expose them to Linux in a non-scary way. Soon after, RedHat and others followed along with developing the "desktop" side of things. Installation processes became increasingly more simple and now I think is easiler than a normal Windows XP or 2000 install (IMHO). Also, the really major problem with desktop adoptation is the application support. Now with a good browser (Mozilla), a range of good Email clients, Open Office or low cost Start Office, and other productivity programs, Linux distributions like Mandrake and Fedora are viable alternatives to MS Windows for the average joe -- provided certain criteria. Right now, if Joe was intereated in just browsing the web, reading email, typing a letter or two, occasional spreadsheet use, and not much other requirements -- then Fedora (and others) are a great fit. In addition, you have an OS that has the power to behind it to allow the Average Joe to upgrade to a more advanced user. I'm not sure Fedora (or any other dist) is ready for Grandma (the ultimate test), but it is getting there. Over all, Fedora is very promising for the desktop, average Joe user. Better game support and most importantly, adoption by major software developers to provide additional applications like video editing, GIMP alternatives for graphics/photography, descent financial software, and other consumer-oriented applications. Personally, I think this is the major reason the Mac didn't really when the personal computer war. The difference is that Linux is not a closed OS on a closed platform -- so the potential is there. As more folks move away from M$ solutions, software developers will take note and offer Linux versions of their software. With the current offerings, Fedora would be an ideal OS for a bare bones, no frills box for someone with fairly light daily needs (and a console gaming system to fulfill the urge to play Quake).

From a hobbiest view: Fedora is wonderful. Provides the type of support appropriate for hobbiest (newsgroups, websites, mailing lists, etc). Most hobbiest have never called RedHat for support and only a handful even bother paying for the RHN subscription (many just go to FreshRPMs or something similiar). If you have more serious needs, then a support contract called "RHEL" might be your ticket. However, even so, this puts us back to the days before RedHat when everyone depended on online support anyways. Debian users probably wondering what the big fuss is all about. :-)

Anyway, in general, I would consider Fedora a RHL 9.5 (FC2 might be considered a RHL 10). Basically they tooks the RedHat work, updated some packages, dropped a few packages (pico, wu-ftpd, etc), and changed all the logos and graphics to remove "RedHat" and logos from the distribution. They did break a few things -- mostly from forgetting to remove RedHat specific references and many Man files have not been updated.

Package management is the same as RH9 plus it is a little easier to switch to alternatives like yum and apt-get -- in fact many folks swear that the alternatives actually work better than up2date. BTW, in my installs, up2date was broken by default. This was easily fixed by importing the FEDORA PGP key in to RPM. Ater that, I could install packages via up2date, but it was still a little flakey (sometimes freeze for the heck of it). Sometimes I resorted to wget the RPM down and running RPM directly. Personally, I think this was my most annoying bug I came across (after all, it is important to keep current on packages).

From a security point, Fedora is just fine. Nothing really special. It does come with Webmin which has a must more complete but complex interface to IPTables. Fedora does come with the redhat-security-config utility which is simple and simplistic (not much you can do with it). Fedora ships with the kernal 2.4.x series so IPTables is there and installed by default. You're running Linux, so by default you are more secure than Windows.

As far as X, I didn't see anything drastically different from RHL other than the obvious logo changes and minor updates.

Missing packages? Of course, XMMS doesn't come with MP3 support -- this has been the case for sometime in the RHL series -- it is a license issue. Since that isn't overly open source, then RH/Fedora couldn't include it. The same is true for the reason why the yanked pico/pine, wu-ftpd, and they haven't upgraded MySQL beyond 3.x. Of course, there is not much stopping anyone from getting these an installing them as long as you agree/abide to the license.

Production Use: This is more of a gray area. Honestly, you could break this category into several sub-categories. In one camp, you have the Debian folks (and other community-driven distributions) that have been using "unsupported" Linux for years. They rely on newsgroups, web sites, mailing lists, etc to troubleshoot issues. Also, folks like these have been more seasoned with Linux and mostly don't have problems that require a company to step in an fix for them. Like always, there have been third-party companies that specialize in providing support for distributions that aren't "officially" backed by one company (like RedHat, SuSe, Mandrake, etc). So, with Fedora, you are in the same boat as the Debian users. The choice hear is really on your needs, your skills, your desire to troubleshoot, your wallet for contractors, and your ability to convince the boss this is a good choice (which might be the most difficult of the list). Many folks will just go with RHEL just because it is a "no-brainer" when it comes to convincing IT manager. I won't also rely on the marketing hype from RedHat about the "instability" of Fedora -- unless they are sabotaging Fedora on purpose, Fedora is no less stable as RH 9 -- provided you stay away from the "test" or "development" packages.

Now, some production users will have much greater needs that might require they look elsewhere. But with my thinking, if you used RH9 in the past and didn't need to call RH for support, then Fedora is well worth looking at seriously for production. After all, Fedora is a LINUX distribution. There isn't much that is special about the "Enterprise" versions that you couldn't install or do yourself with the right knowledge. The major advantage of RHEL is the support. Remember -- if RHEL is still a valid Linux distribution governed by the GPL -- what RedHat is really selling is just a support contract.

Of course, if you work for a big company, convining the "big wigs" to allow you install something like Fedora might be an uphill battle. If you ARE the boss and IT manager AND developer -- then Fedora might be a good choice if you are comfortable with the responsility and your technical skills -- especially if you don't have loads of cash to spend on your OS support contract.

Summary
==========
Personal/Average Joe Use: Yes for low demand/requirements. No, if using software that is usually only available for Windows.
Hobbiest: Definately. No brainer. Get the ISOs and go have fun!
Production: Yes for small shops, independant folks, and skillful IT staff. No for big cororations with a lot of politics and tons of managers to convince. Some specific needs might be made easier with RHEL (legacy support, "official" support from third parties, mangerial edict).

Since most folks even considering using Fedora are advanced users, hobbiests, and skillful independent production users -- I'll grade Fedora based on those uses.
 
Old 02-07-2004, 06:29 PM   #9
HolyLiaison
 
Registered: Feb 2004
Distribution: Fedora Core 1
Posts: 3

Rep: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation:
Would you recommend the product? yes | Price you paid?: D/L | Rating: 9

Pros: Free, Easy learning curve
Cons: Up2Date Woes


Computer Specs: AMD Thunderbird 1.2Ghz, 1GB DDR 2100 RAM, 3 Hard Drives, Soundblaster Live Audigy Mp3+ (And C-Media 6 Channel Onboard Sound), Samsung 48/16/48 CD-RW, Generic Floppy

Well, I've been "testing" out various linux distro's for over 7 years now. Ever since 1998, the first year I had a computer. I say "testing" because it's been on and off durring those 7 years. I'd say I tried a new dristro or version every 6 months. Never has one found all my hardware, or worked correctly after first install without any tweaking. Untill now that is. The whole install went smoothly. No errors, no (super) confusing questions, and even the custom disk managment durring the install isn't that confusing to figure out. Even though I said I've been "testing" out various linux distro's since 1998, that by no means makes me a pro. I'd preffer to be grouped with the newbies. Because I never had a grasp on the commands available to me. Probably due to the large gaps inbetween testing releases. None of them had that sticking ability, to draw me back and keep using it daily. So they usually were swiped from my hard drives within days. Fedora Core 1 was different though. I could tell right when the install started that it was special. With the beautiful GUI, ease of navigation/controls, even my mouse wheel worked!

Once the install finished I took out the 3rd disk and rebooted. Everything started up normally, then all of a sudden I was greeted by GRUB. Now, I have never used GRUB...I've always been greeted by a Lilo interface which was quite ugly to say the least. GRUB offered me this inviting interface to pick what operating system to load. Of course I picked Fedora Core, anxiously waiting for the desktop to appear another pretty screen appeared. This time it was the loading screen in high resolution glory. Unlike the Windows boot screen (any version) , this looked very impressive.

I was hyped... and I hadn't even gotten to the desktop yet. A configuration screen showed up seconds later asking me certain questions about my hardware, with the ability to setup multiple user accounts, etc. I finished all that and walla, the desktop. I gotta say, I love the BlueCurve theme. I know a lot of people that hate it, but I think it adds it's own taste to the OS. The fonts and icons were also glorious. Easy to see, with hard core eye candy.

After using the plastic look of Windows XP for so long this was great. I was loving it. Anyways, now that you pretty much know that I loved it to begin, with lemme list a few bugs, and other things I think they should of included.

Up2Date/RHN: Doesn't work. You need to edit the yum/up2date config file. You can view a "how to" here:
http://fedoranews.org/tchung/howto/2...n-applet.shtml

I was also dissapointed they didn't have the accelerated nVidia drivers included.

There also isn't mp3 support built in. You'll either have to download the rpm off some website, or get it VIA apt-get/yum repositories.

Now, these are only minor quirks, and easy fixes. Any one person could install these in a few minutes after reading the instructions, or using apt-get/yum.

After using Fedora for three days, with out booting in to Windows I can gladly tell you I have switched to Fedora Core 1 full time. Freshly formatted, and with out Windows. Been using it for weeks now, and I could not be ANY happier.
 
Old 02-10-2004, 12:11 AM   #10
empas
 
Registered: Feb 2004
Posts: 1

Rep: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation:
Would you recommend the product? yes | Price you paid?: None indicated | Rating: 4

Pros: Kind of unstable
Cons:


I installed it recently on my system.

I don't know why but it seems kind of unstable.

Everytime I download something through FTP, it stops.

Thanks.

p.s.:

Is there anyone who has ISO images of Redhat Linux AS v3.0 for IA64?

Please email me.

Thank you.

hotboricha@hanmail.net
 
Old 02-10-2004, 06:12 AM   #11
pilot1
 
Registered: Jun 2002
Distribution: Gentoo, Fedora Core
Posts: 408

Rep: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation:
Would you recommend the product? yes | Price you paid?: D/L | Rating: 10

Pros: Easy for newbies to install, great wireless networking support, fast
Cons: A few bugs, but all can be fixed


I would highly reccommend Fedora.
It's basically the same thing as RedHat 9 and below, but with yum and apt-get replacing the RHN.
It works perfectly with my games, which I run through WineX, and it's also one of the very few distributions to recognize my wireless card.

Overall it's a great distribution, that I would reccommend to a newbie and to a Linux expert.
 
Old 02-13-2004, 07:09 PM   #12
bretzeltux
 
Registered: Oct 2003
Distribution: Fedora Core 2
Posts: 23

Rep: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation:
Would you recommend the product? yes | Price you paid?: D/L | Rating: 10

Pros: First "Works Out Of The Box linux", fast and beautifull!!
Cons: updates through RNH still don't work for me...


I've finally gave a try to Fedora Core1 on my WinXP IA32 2.4GHZ box at home... As usually, Anaconda did the installation as expected -- As easy as click-click-click.... :-) --

What is important (for me)when installing Linux on the same machine as M$ WinXP is that you won't overwrite hda's MSB with Grub or lilo!! So Fedora (Anaconda) lets you define the boot loader location.

Very nice eye-candy boot splash - fast booting.
Started with RedHat Linux Bluecurve common theme, it is still there in Fedora. I have to re-look twice to realize that I run a KDE app in gnome wm...:-) This is a nice touch from RH since the beginning of Bluecurve.

RedHat has always been nice regarding general fonts in XWindow. Everything is well balanced and aligned in contrary to Mandrake where everythings are messed up ( Sorry MDK, this is the truth ). So Fedora inherits that success.

What scares me with RPM management is the infamous pkg dependencies failures and badly built packages -- The first try with "rpm -Uvh" was the not so easy RPMs of the KDE3.2 from one of the KDE mirrors. After locating fedora packages, I downloded the whole RPMs set and run "rpm -Uvh *.rpm" ( at the subdir containing the KDE3.2 RPMs) and... surprise ???? NO DEP NOR CONFLICTS!!!!! WOW!!! This is the very FIRST time I see a successfull <-U> on that heavy weight upgrade!!!


This first "community" linux release from RH is a general great success.

I give Fedora a 10/10+ because it is the first linux distrib that works that great for me :-)
I am about to switch from Mandrake to Fedora on my second computer which has Linux only for my development projects at home ... Sorry Mandrake...
 
Old 02-14-2004, 06:31 PM   #13
XavierP
 
Registered: Nov 2002
Distribution: Lubuntu
Posts: 19,176

Rep: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation:
Would you recommend the product? yes | Price you paid?: D/L | Rating: 8

Pros: Very easy install, update procedure mostly automated, looks good
Cons: rpm - dependency hell


I like RedHat products - I will state this at the outset. RedHat 8 and then 9 were my favourite desktop installs for no other reason than they felt 'right'. Although I tried many others I always came back to RedHat. Until they discontinued their home user product. I had read of problems with Fedora and so decided not to install it. Until now.

The first thing which struck me was the install. The RH install was slick and easy to use. Fedora has improved it. The base install, as a total, took me about 45 minutes. The updates, by their nature take longer. I tried the Up2Date option, but it hung and I didn't want to dig out the update to it. I had tried Apt4RPM under RH9 and liked it, but decided to try Yum as I have never used it. First impression - as easy as Apt4RPM - I like it.

If you like RH, use Fedora. If you are new to Linux, I would say use Fedora also. What I always liked about RH is that theswitch from using GUI to using CLI options was always easy and seamless - Fedora carries that over.

Now for getting it to look and run exactly as I like it.....
 
Old 02-15-2004, 09:57 PM   #14
tgies
 
Registered: Jan 2004
Distribution: Fedora Core 1
Posts: 4

Rep: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation:
Would you recommend the product? yes | Price you paid?: D/L | Rating: 10

Pros: Flexible, fast, stable, easy enough for a newbie but powerful enough for a total geek
Cons: Tiny little compatibility problems with maybe 0.2% of existing software, comes with bad settings for hard drive stuff in some cases (not very noticable and easily fixable), up2date tool is evil


If there was a "holy crud YES" option under "would you recommend the product", that's what I'd choose.

I started off with Mandrake 9.2. Now, from what I've seen, Mandrake 9.1 is fine, but Mandrake 9.2 is total pants. Avoid. When my Mandrake install finally blew up inexplicably (random insane problems with XFree86 and KDE), I went and got FC1. It installed fine right off the bat, and the installation was easy enough that anyone can do it (the default settings for the install are OK, but I preferred to customize, which works fine too). All my hardware was detected perfectly right away. An important note about the installation: When you originally install, as well as when you update your kernel, make sure to install the kernel source as well, you will probably need it.

Out of the box it works near perfect, and by "perfect" I mean it would be fine for the moderately skilled user pretty much completely in the original install state. The only thing I really immediately *needed* to get besides is the NVidia drivers (you should use version 4496, at the time of this writing the more recent versions can make things silly) and install them. Here is where a silly compatibility problem in Fedora (EXTREMEMLY rare, but it happens) comes into play: you need to type "export CC=gcc32" before installing these drivers and some other things that go and compile stuff, or else it doesn't find your compiler and you get a generic error. Before you do any of this, you might want to update your kernel by typing "yum upgrade kernel kernel-source" as the root user, this will give you a major performance increase. You should install it before you install the NVidia drivers or you'll just have to install them again after you get the kernel update.

Besides the bare basics as described above, I've installed/compiled dozens of games, the Macromedia Flash plugin, WINE (a program that allows you to run Windows programs under Linux, often better than Windows runs them!), and probably a few dozen other things, and Linux is still happy. It boots in no time and it has not crashed once in the months since I have installed it (I've had two occasions on which a 3D game became unresponsive temporarily, but it was my fault :)). To get the most performance out of it, you'll want to be sure it isn't starting things you don't need when it boots... sendmail is one example. Google for "chkconfig", it's a really great utility for checking on and fixing these sorts of things. Also, learn how to use the hdparm tool and use it to configure your hard drive to work at maximum speed. I have Fedora running on an old 8 gigabyte hard drive going at 5400RPM and it's plenty fast after being tweaked.

Fedora Core 1 includes the KDE, GNOME, and TWM window managers, with GNOME as the default. I use GNOME most often, it looks really nice and it's way more efficient than KDE. TWM is faster than both of them, but out of the box it does not seem to run... it gives me a blank screen and a mouse cursor and no hints as to what went wrong. I'm going to do some research and see if that's normal, but even if it is, it would be nice if it came preconfigured to do *something* when you start it rather than just sitting there. The three CDs also include all the standard basic tools, OpenOffice.org (kinda like an open-source version of MS Office, but less cruddy), the GNU development/compiling tools, a few dozen games, drivers for almost everything imaginable, several Internet applications (newsreaders, browsers, an instant messenger compatible with the major IM services, mail readers, IRC clients, FTP clients, remote desktop tools), multimedia players, an incredible amount of cool screensavers, etc.

Final note: Never touch Red Hat Network up2date, the built-in tool for updating system software, ever. Use yum instead. You'll thank me later.

Best distro for newbies and probably one of the best for experienced geeks as well. Beats Windows, Mandrake, and Red Hat hands down. 10.
 
Old 02-16-2004, 12:15 AM   #15
Itsu
 
Registered: Jan 2004
Distribution: Gentoo 2005; FreeBSD 5.3
Posts: 32

Rep: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation:
Would you recommend the product? yes | Price you paid?: D/L | Rating: 9

Pros: Fast, Easy, Stable
Cons: Unsuppourted, Bugs.


This is a great product, hands down. It includes many great advances in the linux community. The whole point of the Fedora Project is to test out new software, which makes this distro. even better.
 
Page:  1 · 2 · 3 More Items




  



All times are GMT -5. The time now is 05:22 PM.

Main Menu
Advertisement

My LQ
Write for LQ
LinuxQuestions.org is looking for people interested in writing Editorials, Articles, Reviews, and more. If you'd like to contribute content, let us know.
Main Menu
Syndicate
RSS1  Latest Threads
RSS1  LQ News
Twitter: @linuxquestions
identi.ca: @linuxquestions
Facebook: linuxquestions Google+: linuxquestions
Open Source Consulting | Domain Registration