LinuxQuestions.org
Go Job Hunting at the LQ Job Marketplace
Go Back   LinuxQuestions.org > Reviews > Distributions > Other
User Name
Password

Notices

Search · Register · Submit New Review · Download your favorite Linux Distributions ·
 

Crux 1.3
Reviews Views Date of last review
4 23006 10-29-2008
spacer
Recommended By Average Price Average Rating
100% of reviewers None indicated 9.0



Description: lightweight i686 distrobution
Keywords: crux, i686


Author
Post A Reply 
Old 12-31-2003, 09:47 AM   #1
zybreak
 
Registered: Feb 2003
Distribution: CRUX
Posts: 15

Rep: Reputation:
Would you recommend the product? yes | Price you paid?: D/L | Rating: 8

Pros: fast, lightweight, optimized for i686 (also avaiable for i586) computers
Cons: a high learning treshold for beginners



I changed to Crux from Slackware 8.1, there where some significant changes in how it was installed, you have to partition and mount everything by yourself, the ncurses setup program only installs the packages, after it finishes you have to manually edit the conf. files. This I saw as a bit of a challange at first but later on I thought it gave me a great freedom to learn what was going on behind the scenes. After it was all set up and done, thanks to the wonderful ports system updating and adding new programs was a piece of cake. A real nice distro which might be hard to learn at first but when you are comfortable, its a real good experience. Its also worth noting theres a good documentation covering the whole installation process.
 
Old 03-03-2004, 03:14 PM   #2
bareego
 
Registered: Nov 2003
Distribution: Crux 2.0
Posts: 66

Rep: Reputation: Reputation:
Would you recommend the product? yes | Price you paid?: D/L | Rating: 9

Pros: flexibility, small size, i686 optimized, ports system
Cons: you have to know a bit


I've tested this distribution on my spare machine and am about to move to it on my main machine as well.

I don't mind that it doesn't have an installer as such, after all this distribution is for people who know a bit about linux, and it says so on their website.

During the install you will compiler your own kernel from 2.4.23 sources. It helps to know what to chose in the kernel and also know what hardware you run for putting entries in rc.modules and such.

I like the way initscripts work (BSD style) , using Peanut Linux 9.5 I felt right at home (as would eg Slackware users).

Everything in this distro tries to keep things simple and lean. All documentation that's not in man pages or READMEs doesn't get installed. This results in a nicely small ISO to download (190MB)

Crux comes with a good collection of "essential" programs , xfree and windowmaker, although I did remove window maker and installed xfce4 instead. Crux also has ports of Gnome, KDE etc but I prefer a leaner environment.

Some of the ports didn't have the configure options I wanted, but it was very easy to change the script in the appropriate folder.

IMHO this is a great distro for an advanced linux user.
 
Old 05-18-2005, 01:10 PM   #3
Fordor
 
Registered: Jun 2004
Distribution: Slackware/Crux/SuSE
Posts: 84

Rep: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation:
Would you recommend the product? yes | Price you paid?: D/L | Rating: 10

Pros: Real Fast, Large Package Base
Cons: Needs good linux knowledge


An excellent distribution for advanced users. It has a very clear file layout and nothing un-necessary, just the files I need.
It starts with about 20 processes and I know what process is doing what and that feels good, compared to fedora, which runs about 100 processes and I don't have any idea what they are doing.
It's also really stable, I am using it to host my site and provide hosting to other people and it runs very smoothly.

I have been using SuSE, slackware, colledge linux, gentoo and Fedora, and crux is my choise for computers running servers, it is the most efficient in terms of resources. So A+ for the distribution.
 
Old 10-29-2008, 01:44 PM   #4
Sargek
 
Registered: Jan 2003
Distribution: Debian testing
Posts: 416

Rep: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation:
Would you recommend the product? yes | Price you paid?: None indicated | Rating: 9

Pros: Fast, fast, fast. Did I mention fast? Lean, minimalistic
Cons: Not for new users


CRUX is the fastest Linux distro I have ever used, bar none. I switched away from it to Gentoo because I wasn't sure of its "lifespan" - it is a small distro in terms of community and I didn't want to base my main machine on something that may go away at the most inoportune moment. My fears were unfounded, but alas I have since switched away from CRUX.

I loved the BSD init and package management, plus the easy configuration. Very minimal and nothing was installed that you didn't want. Great for experts and even new users looking to learn some things.
 




  



All times are GMT -5. The time now is 12:10 AM.

Main Menu
Advertisement

My LQ
Write for LQ
LinuxQuestions.org is looking for people interested in writing Editorials, Articles, Reviews, and more. If you'd like to contribute content, let us know.
Main Menu
Syndicate
RSS1  Latest Threads
RSS1  LQ News
Twitter: @linuxquestions
identi.ca: @linuxquestions
Facebook: linuxquestions Google+: linuxquestions
Open Source Consulting | Domain Registration