LinuxQuestions.org
Review your favorite Linux distribution.
Go Back   LinuxQuestions.org > Reviews > Distributions > MEPIS
User Name
Password

Notices

Search · Register · Submit New Review · Download your favorite Linux Distributions ·
 

Mepis 2003.10
Reviews Views Date of last review
4 59659 07-12-2004
spacer
Recommended By Average Price Average Rating
100% of reviewers $10.00 8.3



Description: Mepis is a downloadable implementation of the Debian GNU/Linux software distribution. The code, of course, comes from the Debian project. The core of the packaging base comes from work on the Knoppix project, adapted for specific use with Mepis. As such, it works great as a Live CD distribution, and you can load it straight from CD to begin the installation. If you wish, you can continue to use it in that way, which makes it flexible. But you can also install it to a hard disk on your system, which makes it both easy and flexible. If you intend to use it on the hard disk, there are two ISO images that you can download, which allows you to get quite a bit of useful software, including the KDE desktop environment and the IceWM window manager, Mozilla web browser, Open Office 1.1 office suite, and quite a bit of other valuable software. The Debian download mirror sites contain thousands of packages, over 10,000 of them, depending on how "packages" are counted. In any case, there's plenty of useful software, whether you intend to use it as server software, desktop software, general purpose software, embedded system software, or a combination of all of these things.

Mepis is a very handy way to get you there. I've grown fond of Mepis over the past six months or so. I'm also very fond of Libranet. If you want a complete system, Libranet is one of the best ways to go, and I still feel that way. But now Mepis offers a viable alternative to Libranet, and I like both of them. The Live CD approach, continuing on to a hard disk installation makes this an appealing way to try out and install the software. I rate it very highly and recommend it.
Keywords: Debian GNU/Linux Mepis apt-get LiveCD hard disk


Author
Post A Reply 
Old 01-12-2004, 03:27 AM   #1
cmuller
 
Registered: Jan 2004
Distribution: Debian
Posts: 2

Rep: Reputation:
Would you recommend the product? yes | Price you paid?: $10.00 | Rating: 6

Pros: Easy installation and usage
Cons: Some degree of incompatibility with Debian parent



I think that the prior view on Mepis 2003.10 was accurate and characterized it well. I am writing this review from a Mepis desktop. The only drawback to this software, which might be of concern to more advanced Debian users is that they have rewritten the kernel in such a way that certain major Debian commands, such as "apt-get dist-upgrade" don't work, because doing such upgrades messes up their system. One does not have this kind of problem with Knoppix.

But the Mepis hardware recognition and setup is the best I've seen on any distro yet, period. One the three systems that I installed Mepis, installation was far smoother than Knoppix.
 
Old 03-15-2004, 11:20 PM   #2
Kyouryuu
 
Registered: Aug 2003
Distribution: Mepis Linux
Posts: 20

Rep: Reputation: Reputation:
Would you recommend the product? yes | Price you paid?: D/L | Rating: 9

Pros: Wonderful hardware automatic setup and detection, smooth, fast, and very reliable, everything you need on one CD, KPackage makes setup a breeze
Cons: ATI Radeon OpenGL implementation is incompatible, might benefit from an additional text editor, broken Flash support


Mepis is easily one of the best Linux distributions I've ever used. Others included Red Hat 7, 9, and Fedora, along with Mandrake 9 and 10.

It takes the stability of a Debian Linux setup and wraps it into an effortless installation. The base content for a basic installation, including Mozilla, OpenOffice, and other essentials, is found on the first CD. The second CD contains supplemental packages you can install optionally. CD1 also doubles as a convenient LiveCD that you can try without having to commit to installing it. Using KPackage, it is a breeze to download and setup additional components. Just point, click, and install. It doesn't get any easier than that. Not wanting to deal with the technical underpinnings of Linux, I'm pleased that Mepis makes the Debian experience available in a form that's as easy to install and setup as Fedora or Mandrake. The automatic hardware detection, in my opinion, rivals that of even the venerable Mandrake. This is definitely a Linux distribution that "just works." Unlike Mandrake, it delivers constantly smooth and fast performance.

Criticism would mainly be that ATI's OpenGL support for my Radeon 9700 Pro is incompatible with Mepis. To my knowledge, there is no account of anyone ever getting it to work. However, this is certainly more the fault of ATI's insistance of offering only one closed-source package to do the job rather than any failing of Mepis. This is, although, one thing Fedora and Mandrake have over Mepis. Mepis also, oddly, only sems to ship with vi as the built-in text editor. Having nano or emacs built in would have been nice (again, easily addressed through KPackage). Although it was resolved by removing it in the latest version, support for Flash is oddly broken for Mozilla, Konqueror, and other browsers. Of course, what's Flash used for today other than providing obnoxious ads?

For me, Mepis is a great compromise between Fedora and Mandrake. It has the basic packages and speed of Fedora, yet has no crippled NTFS or MP3 support. It has the hardware detection, partition detection, and ease-of-use like Mandrake, but is uncluttered, fast, and features Debian's rock-solid stability. All-in-all, it's just a fantastic Linux distribution and I highly recommend it primarily for fans of Fedora or Mandrake who want to give a Debian installation a guide, but don't want to jump through technical hurdles to get there.

9/10
 
Old 04-23-2004, 11:58 PM   #3
Psyddicus
 
Registered: Apr 2004
Distribution: debian testing
Posts: 41

Rep: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation:
Would you recommend the product? yes | Price you paid?: D/L | Rating: 10

Pros:
Cons:


I am pretty much brand new to Linux. I've learned a few thigns here and there since my first exposure to it, but now that I've found Mepis I'm ready to settle down on it. It's very user friendly. I've tried several distros including Red Hat 9 and Mandrake 9.2, and Mepis trumps them all easily.

For me, a true newbie, it's got something very important for getting people to stick with Linux -- it just works. You put the CD in and it runs off of it. If you fancy it, you're only a few clicks away from installing it. Thanks to it's Debian nature, you've got access to thousands upon thousands of packages to very easily download and install.

I'm not getting too technical here for a reason -- I don't know the technics of it all. But I know that even as a beginner, I've got Mepis doing everything I want it to, something I've been unable to achieve with any other distro. I recommend this to any newbie.
 
Old 07-12-2004, 02:27 PM   #4
ajmatson
 
Registered: Jun 2004
Distribution: MEPIS 2003.10.2
Posts: 14

Rep: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation:
Would you recommend the product? yes | Price you paid?: D/L | Rating: 8

Pros: ease of use, install easy, live version together with full install.
Cons: Wont recognize Aureal 8810 sound card, M$ MN-510 USB wireless adapter, or Conexant HSF modem


I really love MEPIS for the ease of use but I can only get online at 14.4kbs with linuxant.com free modem driver because it wont see my M$ MN-510 adapter or modem. I cant get my Aureal 8810 sound card to work either. Other than that the setup is better than any I have used before (SUSE, Red Hat, Mandrake). I love the ammount of bundled software in it so I dont have to dowload it on a slow conection. I would recommend this to NEWBIES all over as well as seasoned Linux Users.
 




  



All times are GMT -5. The time now is 01:31 PM.

Main Menu
Advertisement

My LQ
Write for LQ
LinuxQuestions.org is looking for people interested in writing Editorials, Articles, Reviews, and more. If you'd like to contribute content, let us know.
Main Menu
Syndicate
RSS1  Latest Threads
RSS1  LQ News
Twitter: @linuxquestions
identi.ca: @linuxquestions
Facebook: linuxquestions Google+: linuxquestions
Open Source Consulting | Domain Registration