LinuxQuestions.org
View the Most Wanted LQ Wiki articles.
Go Back   LinuxQuestions.org > Reviews > Distributions > MEPIS
User Name
Password

Notices

Search · Register · Submit New Review · Download your favorite Linux Distributions ·
 

Mepis 3.3
Reviews Views Date of last review
9 55062 10-04-2005
spacer
Recommended By Average Price Average Rating
100% of reviewers None indicated 9.3



Description: Are you a Linux beginner, looking for a distribution that is easy to get into and learn. Check out Simply Mepis at www.mepis.com. It is designed for ease of use. Simply Mepis is Simply the best for everyone from beginners to advanced users that simply want to use their computers without all the hassles.

Keywords: Simply Mepis www.mepis.com


Author
Post A Reply 
Old 05-03-2005, 02:08 PM   #1
KezzerDrix
 
Registered: Mar 2005
Distribution: Fedora Core
Posts: 128

Rep: Reputation:
Would you recommend the product? yes | Price you paid?: D/L | Rating: 10

Pros: Ease of use, functionality, Debian based, Responsive, Fast, and Powerful
Cons:



Championing Mepis
An Opinion

In the Beginning:
Like a lot of Windows users. I wanted a change I wanted freedom from viruses, spy ware, proprietary software, licensing issues, limited software choices, and the feeling that big brother is watching me. Personally I don’t believe that my operating system should care about what I am doing. If this does not bother you do a Google search for “TCPA” and view what Microsoft has in store for its future operating systems and how this will effect you. Also Windows in my opinion is bloated, slow, unresponsive, and unstable. Yes even XP, which replaced the blue screen of death with random reboots, and total system lock ups, to mask the root issue of poorly constructed software.

Linux the Conqueror:
Let me say one thing up front I am not a Linux Guru. Infact, before now I was 100 percent Windows and I was scared to switch, how difficult was it going to be? Could I dual boot? Could I figure it out? Was it even worth the hassle? The first thing I had to decide was what distribution of Linux should I use? According to www.distrowatch.com there seemed to be more than 100 different distributions, Ubuntu, Mandrake, Mepis, Xandros, Debian, Gentoo, Suse, Fedora, and on and on and on. I was confused and kind of irritated that there is so many to choose from. What to do? First I decided to join a community a forum of Linux users at www.linuxquestions.org. There I asked the infamous and hated newbie question, what Linux distribution should I choose? I received a lot of responses that stated that each person has different needs, and that I should try out various distributions in till I found one I liked. However, a few kind souls understood and took pity on my plight and assisted me.

The Challengers:
The General consensus seemed to place mandrake as the friendliest for beginners. I tried Mandrake but quickly learned about dependency hell. Then moved to Gentoo and decided it was too much of a pain to maintain. I switched to Ubuntu and found out about its unstable sound issues.

Throwing In The Towel:
Almost ready to give up I discovered Mepis a Debian based distribution. It is my opinion that the creator of Mepis looked at the other distributions and created an operating system that combined some of the best features of each distribution as well as improvements based on his own sheer talent.

Its Alive:
Mepis is a single downloadable live CD that also performs as an install disk, and rescue disk. The live CD portion of Mepis allows you to insert the CD-ROM and simply start your computer it will boot off the disk and automatically configure all of your hardware and devices. Seriously in less than 3 minutes I had a fully operational, portable operating system. Loaded with all the necessary software to do almost any task. The only downside to the Live CD is that it is kind of slow. CD-ROMs simply are not as fast as hard drives, but the live CD gives you the ability to basically take your home computer anywhere you go.

The Installation:
This brings me to Mepis’s hard drive installation procedure. This could not be easier, simply insert the Live CD into your CD-ROM and start the computer after you are at the desktop you will see an icon at the lower left of the screen that says “Install me” double click that and the Mepis installation menu will appear. It will ask you some very basic questions, such as choosing a hard drive or partitioning one (necessary if you want to dual boot and have a Windows/Linux system). It will ask you to name your computer, for a user name and password, for a root password, and to set the time. Mepis will then install itself and in about 20 minutes you will have completed the installation, you will have not only an operating system but also more software than most people will ever need! Not only that but you still have a Live CD that grants you the magic of portability, and functions as a rescue disk should you get into some trouble.

Pre-Installed Applications:
Mepis comes pre-installed with some amazing software for starters there is Open Office to put it simply it is an office suite that is compatible with Microsoft formats and is by far more powerful and feature rich, while maintaining its ease of use. It also comes with a PhotoShop rival named Gimp, the now infamous Firefox browser with the MPlayer plugin for viewing online video, Kmail (email), Guard Dog (firewall), K3B (CD, DVD burner), Kino (movie maker), DigiKam (digital camera manager), games, utilities and more. So very much more and if that’s not enough…

Enter Synaptic:
Synaptic is a Debian based package manager that can remove and install software as well as update all the software that is already on your system. Synaptic has a search engine built in for finding files quickly, it will also display information about the item you are considering installing or removing. Synaptic was also designed with ease of use in mind for instance, I wanted to remove Guard Dog and install Firestarter, which in my opinion is a better firewall choice. First I ran synaptic and clicked search, typed in Guard Dog and hit enter. Within seconds Synaptic found Guard dog and the check box next to it was filled in with a green color telling me that this item was indeed installed on my computer. I right clicked on it and instructed it to remove Guard Dog and then clicked on apply, moments later Guard Dog was no more. I then clicked on the Search button and typed in Firestarter then hit enter, almost immediately Firestarter appeared in the results box. I right clicked on it and instructed it to install and then clicked apply. A second or two passed and firestarter was installed. While I had Synaptic up and running I clicked on mark updates and then clicked apply; this causes synaptic to run a check on my software and compare it to the version in the repositories automatically updating any that have new versions available. It is a simple and fast way to update a system.

Mepis Support:
Mepis also has a friendly user based support community at www.mepislovers.org. This is where I find answers to questions, share ideas, and speak to like minded users. This community is responsive and helpful. I have never seen anyone be rude no matter how dumb my questions may have seemed. I have quickly grown to consider many of them friends and appreciate their assistance.

In The End:
I can’t say enough good things about Mepis. It took a little perseverance on my part to stick with Linux in till I found the right distribution for me, but now that I have, I am here to stay. Mepis is simple, elegant, powerful, fast, responsive, and free of all the negatives that are inherent in Windows. In fact, Mepis can easily be a total Windows replacement. Mepis stays true to its promises and is a dream come true for the Linux beginner.



Written by James Roettger.
Feel free to reproduce this article or any part of it. Credit must be given to me the original author. Thank you.
 
Old 05-10-2005, 02:55 AM   #2
LinuxCrusader
 
Registered: Feb 2004
Distribution: ProMepis 2005b4
Posts: 20

Rep: Reputation: Reputation:
Would you recommend the product? yes | Price you paid?: None indicated | Rating: 10

Pros: Well organized and descriptive article that hits home run!
Cons:


A well-written article that clearly explains what every Linux user ought to know about Mepis. It describes how well calibrated, simple and at the same time powerful that Mepis is equipped with. Since I read this article I decided to try Mepis and I must say that the author did an excellent job in convincing me to try mepis and make this distro the OS that I've been looking for.
 
Old 06-14-2005, 01:08 PM   #3
guy24x
 
Registered: Jan 2005
Distribution: Mandrake 10.1 Official, Simply Mepis 3.3.1-1
Posts: 45

Rep: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation:
Would you recommend the product? yes | Price you paid?: D/L | Rating: 10

Pros: everything about it
Cons: not found anything so far!


kezzer drix couldnt have said it better ;-)) its almost like i approve of *every line* that he's written! finally, for a relative noob like me, i've found a linux distro that i've been looking for :-)

cheers!

 
Old 07-19-2005, 03:10 PM   #4
dfowensby
 
Registered: Dec 2003
Distribution: Oz Unity Diamond IIB [x64 xfce]
Posts: 194

Rep: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation:
Would you recommend the product? yes | Price you paid?: D/L | Rating: 8

Pros: ease of use, flexibility, speed, package availability/variety
Cons: it's almost all alpha/beta, with the attached gotchas


still running the 3.3 (gnome desktop) install from feb 05. everything generally hunky dory except for 3d accel. jumpy and jerky like it was still in the old i386 i got in 1999, not in the 2004 celeron. this happened about 2 synaptics ago. x is generally hosed, i guess, untill someone fixes it. you get what you pay for.
other than that, it rocks!
 
Old 08-09-2005, 10:57 PM   #5
 
Registered: Dec 1969
Posts: 0

Rep: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation:
Would you recommend the product? yes | Price you paid?: None indicated | Rating: 10

Pros: Ease of installation and migration from Windows
Cons:


I was a long time Windows user (not by choice) looking for a way to migrate to Linux but not looking forward to what I expected would be days of frustration trying to understand the command line syntax of a new OS and obscure package retrievals and patches in order to get something working (the experience I had previously trying to get Solaris 8 running on Intel).

I read, read, and read and decided to try MEPIS. It was one of the few distributions that would run off a live CD – so no risk to try it out, and of course it was getting good reviews.

I downloaded the 3.1.1-1 release iso file and burned it to a CD. Expecting the worst, I put the CD in an old x86 desktop machine (Pentium III, 256 Kb RAM) and turned it on.

For any technophobe Windows users like me reading this, there is only one thing you need to know – MEPIS is awesome! Fear be gone.

Within a few very minutes of turning on the machine, and WITHOUT A SINGLE KEYSTROKE CHOICE FROM ME the operating system AND a complete set of desktop applications was up and running. I did not have to do anything. The machine was connected to a Windows network (there was a DHCP server on the network) and I could browse the other Windows machines on the network, browse the Internet, access the hard drive and all the data files (and open many of them in Linux applications).

Emboldened by this I went ahead and defragged the hard drive, then used the MEPIS install utility to install it on the machine. Within minutes I had a dual boot (MEPIS Linux / WIndows 2000) machine with both operating systems working fine. That I could pull this off is a real testament to the MEPIS team. I admit the first time I tried it I did not know where to put grub, which in any case I was not sure what it was, and put in it root. I had to go back through the MEPIS OS Center and reinstall grub in the MBR (Master Boot Record), a painless step. (For other newbies like me, grub (GRand Unified Bootloader) needs to be installed in the MBR to allow MEPIS to let you choose which OS to boot from at startup).

For three days I tried out everything I could get my hands on – in my Windows experience I would have crashed the OS many times – with MEPIS Linux everything worked and even I could seemingly do no harm (I did stay away from doing anything as root unless I was really sure).

Thinking this success must have been some kind of fluke, I saw an old laptop in a corner and remembered all the hassle I had trying to update it from Windows NT to Windows 2K; trying to discover what hardware it used for its network, video, sound, modem/fax etc., searching the Internet for drivers, running install programs for each driver with multiple re-boots along the way. So I took the MEPIS CD, put it in and booted the laptop from the CD.

MEPIS is truly awesome! Faster than it usually took to load Windows from the hard drive, MEPIS was up and running from the CD, and everything on the laptop worked! Network, video, sound everything was working perfectly.

Sure there is lots to learn with a new operating system, and lots of applications to discover, but in terms of moving from Windows to Linux, MEPIS makes it a real pleasure.
 
Old 08-24-2005, 08:04 AM   #6
Nix4me
 
Registered: Aug 2005
Distribution: Ubuntu 5.04, CentOS 4.2, Debian Sarge, Mepis, FreeBSD
Posts: 16

Rep: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation:
Would you recommend the product? yes | Price you paid?: D/L | Rating: 8

Pros: Great WiFi detection. Stable Debian based
Cons: Desktop not very pretty. Needs updated to KDE 3.4


It is a great distro for wireless users, but very little updates available, and not a very pleasing desktop look either.
 
Old 09-02-2005, 12:48 PM   #7
beast2k
 
Registered: Jul 2004
Distribution: Slackware 13
Posts: 15

Rep: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation:
Would you recommend the product? yes | Price you paid?: D/L | Rating: 8

Pros: Great installer, excellent choice of progs/apps, Nvidia/ATI
Cons: It can NOT be installed over multiple disks


Mepis is a great distro not many bad things can be said about it accept (here it comes) The distro cant be installed over multiple drives. For example, if you want your /home directory on hda and your / (root) on hdb it isn't possible, all the distros directories have to be on the same disk however they can be on different partitions within the same disk. As you can imagine this is a big problem because if you have a problem with your hard drive or even a software problem where you must reinstall you will loose everything. Some users like all directorys on one disk and some like me feel safer having the /home directory on a seperate harddrive. If you dont mind having everything all on the same hard drive I say USE THIS DISTRO. For those who like the safety and security of a /home directory on a seperate disk this is not a distro for you. Otherwise Mepis is so good that it takes all the challenge out of using linux. Everything just works unlike other distros like Fedora where everything worth using needs installing and setup after the install. Mepis has come along way in a very short time.
 
Old 09-06-2005, 01:31 PM   #8
kazuya1977
 
Registered: Sep 2005
Distribution: crunchbang (debian squeeze), ubuntu 11.04, archbang (archlinux), salix 64, chakra, mepis
Posts: 42

Rep: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation:
Would you recommend the product? yes | Price you paid?: None indicated | Rating: 10

Pros: everything from user-friendly, easy to install, use and backup
Cons: none except having to unmount cdrom before ejecting


This is perhaps the most impressive OS I have ever used in my entire life. Perhaps, I need to try more. It has it's flaws. But these are few compared to the benfits over most other OSes.

I started with mandrake {install was iffy} then Xandros 3 OCE, very good, but lacking in customization. It seemed to windowzy. But Xandros was my first debian desktop intro. If not for Xandros I would not have given mepis a try. But mepis 3.3 HD install proved to be the most rewarding experience of my PC life.

For starters, upon install everything, I have everything up and running. Everything worked. It included everything you would require such as office, burning software{k3b}, multimedia player for music, and video.
More importantly due to its 100% compatibility to debian, about 10s of thousand software apps work with the system.

The OS gives you the ease of customiziing your Desktops to look and behave as you choose. I have my setup behaving and looking like macOsX, windows XP, debian, etc.

The OS works with everyday functions of a PC and more. It is a pure delight.

Not to mention the folks on the forum are extremely helpful and their attitudes is contagious. They've turned me who used to just care about animes and other outdorr stuffs into a PCaholic. There is just so much more that I can explore on a PC that I never imagined possible. My eyes are more open and my knowledge on the working of applications and softwares have risen out the roof, due to the fun factor and excess cool stuff I never imagined possible on a PC.

The best part of this is that the whole things and softwares are free. You gain the best things without having to pay for them. The ease of doing normal complicated linux things are like a simple click of the button now.

Mepis was my wakeup call that there is more to PC computing.

It would take a total newbie 25 mins to fully install the operating system. There are many other great apps over there;

But I can testify for the case that for about 1 yr of runnjing mepis thus far I am yet to receive a popup, or virus. You have about 3 virtual desktops by default, that is more working space for your PC.

I applaude bsd, all the linux OSes, and even windows OS as well. But my deepest gratitude goes to the makers and users of debian and all other linux OSes.

The only thing of complaint is having to unmount cdrom before ejecting cd.

hardware recognition is superb on this distro as is with knoppix and Xandros. Upon booting livecd, you have three options; for new systems use the first option. You may try the other two, but after install, you probably have two options of bootup.

For those afraid to install the mepis OS on their machine, they can just boot to the liveCD only and run from the cd; It is still a remarkable thing to behold.

Try it to believe it.
 
Old 10-04-2005, 03:08 AM   #9
[42]Sanf0rd
 
Registered: Apr 2004
Distribution: Open Suse 10.2
Posts: 50

Rep: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation:
Would you recommend the product? yes | Price you paid?: D/L | Rating: 10

Pros: The little Linux distro that has everything!
Cons: The only two things it can't do: manipulate the time/space continuum or convert energy into matter!!


I stumbled across this distro a while back on distrowatch, but didn't download it because I thought the name was silly, and I was still a die-hard SUSE guy at the time.

About a month ago, I checked linux.org and saw an article about MEPIS, and it described the distro as one of the new, hot Knoppix-based distros that's taking the Linux community by storm. I read a bit more into it, and decided that I'd give it a shot since I've used Knoppix before and liked it, and since it was a Live-CD, there was really no harm in trying it out, right?

The torrent downloaded quickly and easily, and before I knew it, I was booting MEPIS 3.3 off the Live-CD.

I played around with it for a while (being as skeptical about a new distro as I usually am), and honestly within 20 minutes, I was frantically clicking the "Install Me" button and saying goodbye to SUSE.

**quick tip: don't forget to unmount the drive or partition you're wanting to install to. can't write to it if it's mounted :)**

The Live-CD has made its way around to many of my friends. They're all hooked. Even those that swore they'd never run Linux.

What impressed me the most was the simplicity in enabling hardware-based 3D (nVidia or ATI fglrx drivers). Click a button, click "apply", wait a couple of minutes, and your machine has the newest video drivers with ABSOLUTELY NO ISSUES!

I run an nVidia card, so drivers have never really been an issue for me before (except for having to find the kernel source occasionally), but my friend runs an ATI card and has NEVER been able to get decent performance out of his card on his Linux partition. I showed him how to install the drivers in MEPIS, and that evening, he was playing Quake 3 on his Linux partition for the first time since he started using Linux over a year ago.

I also like that it came with the mPlayer plugin already configured for FireFox. Something small there, but still, a nice touch.

In all honesty, I think that distributions like MEPIS are the future of the Linux desktop. I've never stumbled across a more "perfect" Operating System. It has everything you need (and then some), but the resources and opportunity to add and subtract from it as you see fit, thanks to the "ease-of-use" of Synaptec (the GUI-based apt package manager).

Old school Linux guys (or, Command-Line Junkies, as I lovingly call you ;) ) who like doing everything from console will have no problems with this Distro. It's easily customizable to get it where you want it.

Linux newbies will find MEPIS a welcome change to dealing with "Dependency Hell" that you run into with RedHat, Fedora, Mandrake/Mandriva, etc.

If you're familiar with Yast for SUSE, you'll fall in love with Synaptec quickly.

Samba file sharing is a snap! If you're like me and there are Windows machines on your network, you set up shared folders the same way you do in Windows -- right click -> Properties -> Share. I also like that you can share out multiple folders from the same window by just "adding" a shared folder to the list. Joining a Windows workgroup is simple (can be done during setup or by running "MEPIS OS Center" under System Configuration -> System Tweaks (type the name of the Windows Workgroup in the "SaMBa Workgroup" field, and click "apply". My girldfriend's laptop runs WinXP, and she and I share files back and forth as though we were on the same OS. It took her a few days to realize that I was running Linux because my shared hard drive was always available to her!

This ease of SMB network setup helped me out tremendously just this past weekend when my boss' computer (WinXP) was overrun by a virus (go figure, huh?) and couldn't boot. All of his business-critical data (customer records, databases, tax info, etc) was on that machine. I booted off the Live-CD, joined the Windows network, pushed all of the database files over to a folder on another machine, reformatted, and then brought it all back. Without the MEPIS Live-CD and its simple (yet powerful) networking system, there's a chance all of the business' data would be gone.

I honestly believe that if other distibutions would take clues from the MEPIS team, and if software developers could distribute on the apt repositories, then not only will MEPIS become a staple in the Linux community, but there will be more and more Linux desktops around the globe in a very short period of time.

Final thoughts: Fantastic distribution! The only way I'll change is when the next version comes out!
 




  



All times are GMT -5. The time now is 10:58 PM.

Main Menu
Advertisement

My LQ
Write for LQ
LinuxQuestions.org is looking for people interested in writing Editorials, Articles, Reviews, and more. If you'd like to contribute content, let us know.
Main Menu
Syndicate
RSS1  Latest Threads
RSS1  LQ News
Twitter: @linuxquestions
identi.ca: @linuxquestions
Facebook: linuxquestions Google+: linuxquestions
Open Source Consulting | Domain Registration