LinuxQuestions.org
Visit Jeremy's Blog.
Go Back   LinuxQuestions.org > Reviews > Distributions > Archived > Linspire
User Name
Password

Notices

Search · Register · Submit New Review · Download your favorite Linux Distributions ·
 

Linspire Linspire 5.0
Reviews Views Date of last review
20 76630 07-16-2010
spacer
Recommended By Average Price Average Rating
80% of reviewers $55.00 6.2



Description: LInspire is a full-featured operating system based on Debian GNU/Linux. It uses Click-N-Run technology to make installing software simple and easy.


Author
Post A Reply 
Old 04-25-2005, 08:40 PM   #1
ronepowell
 
Registered: Apr 2005
Distribution: Mepis, PcLinuxOS
Posts: 10

Rep: Reputation:
Would you recommend the product? yes | Price you paid?: $50.00 | Rating: 10

Pros: slick installation, looks great, ease of software installation
Cons: a little slow to boot, difficult to install non-CNR software



Linspire is a distro that works right from the beginning. Its installation is simple, but allows the user partitioning options typical of most LInux distros these days. Once that is done, and after answering the usual basic questions, the install went very smoothly. The bootloader recognized Windows, and MEPIS, which is loaded in another partitiion. After rebooting, it was a very simple matter to install additional programs using the wonderful CNR. Now I know that synaptic works well (I use it with MEPIS), but the slickness of the CNR is impressive. Is it worth $50 a year?? Well, that depends who you are. I joined last year and have to say that life is pretty simple. Remember that I am lilkely the target market for this product --- not entirely ignorant about Linux (I have used many distros), but just lazy. The two Linspire-unique products --- LPhoto, and LSongs --- are pretty functional. I also realize that there are excellent competing products such as Amarok, but again the integration of LSongs and LPhoto with the OS is excellent.
What has really impressed me with this distro is the look. It is beautiful. I installed Firefox from CNR (Linspire still uses the Mozilla suite), and the font rendering is outstanding. I switched back to MEPIS --- which I really like, by the way --- and am struck by the superior look of Firefox in Linspire than in MEPIS. I have tried to duplicate the look in MEPIS, but with no luck.
About the only "weakness" I noticed is that the time to boot was longer than MEPIS, and that other OS.
I would recommend this distro to anyone wanting a fully functional slick distro, with no show stoppers. Is it worth $50 a year?? You decide.
 
Old 06-15-2005, 01:37 PM   #2
gfdecaires
 
Registered: May 2005
Distribution: Suse, Knoppix, Mandrake
Posts: 8

Rep: Reputation: Reputation:
Would you recommend the product? yes | Price you paid?: None indicated | Rating: 6

Pros: Easy install. Good. Packages. Nice Toys.
Cons:


 
Old 06-15-2005, 02:33 PM   #3
gfdecaires
 
Registered: May 2005
Distribution: Suse, Knoppix, Mandrake
Posts: 8

Rep: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation:
Would you recommend the product? yes | Price you paid?: $50.00 | Rating: 6

Pros: Easy install. Good. Packages. Nice Toys.
Cons: Not enough driver support. Puchased packages cannot be used elsewhere.


I purchased this product as a deskotp replacement for windows. I fell for all the hype about software compatibility through wine etc. and its use on virtually any machine. I have a toshiba tecra m1 with a cyberblade graphics card. This card is supported by Suse 9.2 my current distro of choice but not by Linspire 4.0 4.5 0r 5.0. I had hoped with the new version and all of the bragging that they would support this board.
My other gripe is that after all their chat about the horrible nature of MS and its licensing team, you still cannot use software purchased thorugh linspire on any other distro. Sounds a bit like Uncle Bill to me.
All in all its a good desktop distro but it is no replacement for Windows yet.
 
Old 06-25-2005, 07:24 PM   #4
michael@greg:~>
 
Registered: Mar 2005
Distribution: SuSE 9.2 Pro / Zenwalk 1.2 / Minislack 1.0.1
Posts: 12

Rep: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation:
Would you recommend the product? no | Price you paid?: None indicated | Rating: 1

Pros:
Cons: Every aspect of Linspire is negative.


It has every feature that I hate about my Windows experience built-in and set to 'Automatic'.

It has nothing I like about Linux except the immunity to Windows viruses and Windows malware inherent to all Linux distributions.

Restrictive licensing.

Do not install Linspire if you get it for free.
 
Old 07-22-2005, 08:47 AM   #5
etruiii
 
Registered: Apr 2005
Distribution: SuSE, Fedora, Mandrake/Mandriva, Linspire
Posts: 25

Rep: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation:
Would you recommend the product? yes | Price you paid?: $80.00 | Rating: 7

Pros: Ease of installation, Ease of Downloads
Cons: Lack of control, Some downloads in CNR not very good


I already use SUSE and Fedora, however I figured I would give the Linspire a try to help my impatient 13 year old transition from Windows to Linux.

On the plus side it does install quickly, it also does a good job of recognizing other O/S's and adding them to the bootloader.

The biggest downfalls are the lack of system control and the quality of some of the programs available in the CNR library. I take a certain amount of pride in my ability to tweak my system to improve the overall performance. Linspire doesn't allow much room or opportunity for this (I suppose this could be a positive thing for my son who has crashed computers at a rate that makes me fear for his potential future driving skills).

The CNR library boasts of a massive collection of programs, but most (as I have seen others point out) are already freely available to Linux users. The other issue is that there are a number of programs that do not function very well. If Linspire is trying to "idiot proof" the system, I think there should have been a little bit more thought involved in what was allowed into the library. If the intent of your distro is trying to win over users (both novice and experienced), I think it could have been planned and implemented more effectively.

Given his level of experience, I will still use this as a transitional point for my son, but without improvements, I think that it will lead to him ultimately abandoning it for a different distro.
 
Old 10-03-2005, 09:15 PM   #6
Theta13579
 
Registered: Aug 2005
Distribution: Slackware
Posts: 34

Rep: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation:
Would you recommend the product? yes | Price you paid?: None indicated | Rating: 5

Pros: Live Cd, good for Noobie, buyable codecs for dvd.
Cons:


Linspire 5.0.59 offered a free download during a week so I bit. I tried it only using the livecd option so far. They have a large software warehouse. I would recomend Linspire to anyone seriously wanting to try linux or for the first time ever, and thoes that want to watch encripted DVD formats. I give it a 9 for being an eaze of use for a newbie.
but I give it a 5 to be neutral for not installing it fully.
 
Old 10-14-2005, 04:34 PM   #7
zvonSully
 
Registered: Nov 2004
Distribution: Debian maniak(apt-get upgrade)
Posts: 85

Rep: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation:
Would you recommend the product? no | Price you paid?: None indicated | Rating: 3

Pros: eye candy; derived from debian;
Cons: uses root account by default!!; Debian is better;


Use Debian and don't be fooled by nice advertisments :))

 
Old 12-08-2005, 03:38 PM   #8
Bob3
 
Registered: Dec 2004
Distribution: Lindoze, Mint, Rhat / fedora,knoppix, ubuntu
Posts: 18

Rep: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation:
Would you recommend the product? yes | Price you paid?: None indicated | Rating: 8

Pros: ''Bob3'' proof to install, easiest for new users to operate.
Cons: Likes a lot of RAM, a bit slow to load.


Linspire is an outstanding distro for the folks just wanting to escape from Microsoft to a more dependable & secure operating system. Excellent for kids & senior citizens alike, they find its interface comfortable to use.
Advanced users can circumvent the [$20] CNR service by using dpkg, dselect, or apt-get.
Most Red Hat [rpm] programs can be used by converting with Alien.
Plays well under multi-boot conditions.
 
Old 02-01-2006, 01:53 PM   #9
sabbathpriest
 
Registered: Sep 2005
Distribution: Lispire 5.0
Posts: 6

Rep: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation:
Would you recommend the product? yes | Price you paid?: None indicated | Rating: 8

Pros: Easy, affordable and Linux-solid
Cons: does not warn or prompt to NOT use Root as default


I never used Linux before, and I'm barely computer literate. For people like me, this is a wonderful option to leave Windows-land behind. I did try to install Fedora Core 4 previously and I could not negotiate the network settings nor the grub loader. I know that a more experienced Linux user would not have the same issues, but again, I'm NOT an experienced user. So, if you are sick of Windows but you have no expertise beyond day to day use, Lisnpire 5.0 is a great alternative: easy to use, packed with fabulous programs and with CNR available for 50 bucks. There is no way to beat Linspire as far as convenience for inexperienced users coming from Windows.
 
Old 02-11-2006, 01:55 PM   #10
 
Registered: Dec 1969
Posts: 0

Rep: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation:
Would you recommend the product? yes | Price you paid?: None indicated | Rating: 6

Pros: easy install,much cheaper than windows
Cons: not free,c-n-r has its limits:a bit slow to upgrade


I put this in my son's box at his request.It works very well for web activity.It had a hard time seeing his audio card-a sound blaster ,no less.c-n-r is too costly to re-up.The no virus thing is nice ,though.I use SUSE 10.0 myself and much prefer it.More documentation would be nice,however.
 
Old 05-31-2006, 01:51 AM   #11
jpncsimmons
 
Registered: Dec 2005
Posts: 4

Rep: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation:
Would you recommend the product? no | Price you paid?: None indicated | Rating: 5

Pros: 5.0 is very well done in a graphic sense
Cons: Linspire stopped supporting modems after ver 4.5


I was with Lindows/Linspire since it's conception and supported it fully through version 4.5 but have now moved on.

After paying for my upgrade to 5.0 I discovered that my modem no longer worked even though on the installation program scriting they claim otherwise. I asked Linspire repeatedly about this thinking they would surely help me, but no. Finally they told me plainly that they could not afford to allocated their resources to a dwindling segment of the market.

I live in an area where dial-up is all that's available. There is no CATV in my community and satellite comms are only for MS & Apple as we all know. Further, DSLs are not workable more than about 3 miles out of the TELCO Central Offices.

Folks, if you need to use a dial-up, stay away from Linspire.
 
Old 06-03-2006, 07:23 AM   #12
maprx
 
Registered: Apr 2006
Posts: 21

Rep: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation:
Would you recommend the product? yes | Price you paid?: $45.00 | Rating: 3

Pros: Dummy proof when installing programs, dummy proof installer
Cons: price, ugly windows look alike, slow and bloated


Horrible tech support you are paying for. They never seem to have a solution to any problem. If tech support wants to see a log file with a problem, they never seem to get it via email. like email is a new communication system. You will loose hardware support from one version to the next. My Dlink gigabit nic card worked in version 4.54 and 5.0, but when they released version 5.1 it stopped working. The card is on their supported hardware list. However, the final help solution from linspire was to switch cards. Thus I switch to Mepis, which seems to me a nice distro. No real problems it works and is nicely supported.

If you want a dummy proof linux package go use Xandros. It is a windows clone, but looks nicer
 
Old 07-01-2006, 06:00 AM   #13
Tomcat1965
 
Registered: Jun 2006
Distribution: Mandriva 2008
Posts: 14

Rep: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation:
Would you recommend the product? yes | Price you paid?: None indicated | Rating: 9

Pros: Easy install,looks superb,CNR,harware recognition.
Cons: Takes slightly longer than most to boot up


I paid $99.95 for the CNR edition with book in a slick looking retail package with the Live cd and linspire extras cd included so I needed to be impressed! It was easy to install and gave the chance to create user accounts during setup. It recognised my ancient C-Media sound card,new Epson printer and established cable broadband collection in seconds. I'm very impressed with K player as it plays video files alot more smoothly than windows media player,and with excellent quality. L-songs used my imported album cover art too! I wanted to replace Windows with an easy to use Linux distro,free from the constant threat of windows viruses and malware,and one that looked great and performed well too,and thats what I've got. Unlike windows,you can install it on every PC in your home on the same licence saving hundreds of $ or GBP in my case. My girlfriend loves it,wants it on her PC and had no experience of Linux before seeing Linspire.My only critisism would be the slightly long boot time. Buy it it rocks!
 
Old 07-11-2006, 12:59 PM   #14
Bluestreak
 
Registered: Feb 2003
Distribution: Ubuntu 11.04 and Mandriva Powerpack 2010
Posts: 37

Rep: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation:
Would you recommend the product? yes | Price you paid?: $50.00 | Rating: 8

Pros: Easy to use, practically immune to viruses, great graphical interface
Cons: Install can crash on some old machines, slow boot time, monthly subscription fee


I've tested several distros: SUSE/Novell, Mandriva, Xandros, and found this one to be the easiest for a computer novice. The language used in the install is simple enough for the average person. The most advanced function possible is the partitioning of the hard drive, and the average person knows enough not to mess with that. Anyway, the look and feel of the system is great. Once you open the start menu, however, you start feeling a little empty inside, when you see very few programs in there. Then you'll feel even worse when you find out that not only do you have to pay to install programs in there, but it's a lifetime fee of $50/yr. (or for as long as you use the system.)

Besides that, the system is rock solid. It will run fast on newer machines, but slower on older ones, depending on the graphics card and RAM (if you can even install it to begin with...) 256MB should be the minimum with a 1.2Ghz processor, and a 64MB AGP card. If you feel it's worth the money, go for it, if you don't, do what's best for you...
 
Old 09-13-2006, 12:08 PM   #15
RoboticParadigm
 
Registered: Sep 2006
Posts: 0

Rep: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation:
Would you recommend the product? yes | Price you paid?: None indicated | Rating: 7

Pros: Good if you don't know Jack
Cons: Stay away if you know what your'e doing


I recommend it if you've never touched Linux and want to migrate from another OS. Install is easy, I didn't bother with C-N-R, but instead installed Solaris and am happier.
 
Old 12-03-2006, 05:57 PM   #16
bobwal
 
Registered: Apr 2006
Distribution: Puppy and SUSE
Posts: 0

Rep: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation:
Would you recommend the product? yes | Price you paid?: None indicated | Rating: 5

Pros: Windows look alike for newbies: easy install
Cons: For a more experienced user too restrictive unless you are happy with it as it is Cost



This OS will not get me away from my Suse 10.1
 
Old 02-18-2007, 02:53 PM   #17
Jorophose
 
Registered: Oct 2006
Distribution: Xubuntu 6.06!! =D
Posts: 137

Rep: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation:
Would you recommend the product? yes | Price you paid?: None indicated | Rating: 8

Pros: Lots of things out of the box, CNR for begginers especially, very slick theme
Cons: Most CNR application can't be brought to other distros with you. Feels too much like Windows


I ended up getting this for 15$ from a local store the other day, and installed it for a friend of mine.

Biggest con is the fact that you're always root, and that just makes me feel like I'm using Windows. Of course, explaining the sudo concept to an average windows user is something most people want to avoid.
 
Old 04-17-2007, 04:02 PM   #18
EisBlade
 
Registered: Mar 2007
Posts: 5

Rep: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation:
Would you recommend the product? no | Price you paid?: None indicated | Rating: 3

Pros: Quick install, attractive, easy updates, windows-like
Cons: Limited configuration, slow boot time, limited downloads,


As stated in earlier reviews, Linspire Five-O does boot slower, has limited (or aged) downloads offered, yet provides for easy and quick installation and updates from what is available. If you want an easy switch from Windows to Linux without ever having to know anything, then give it a try, but be aware of the caveats mentioned. Also, there are enough free linux distros out there with accompanying documentation that easily justify not even bothering.

I downloaded the latest of the Linspire Five-O trial versions. All went well and fast, and it recognized all the hardware of my Dell D510 laptop without issue. Because you pay money for Linspire you also receive all that is needed to watch DVD movies though this can be easily acquired with other distro's as well. I figured, based on my great trial period, that I would purchase the full version of Linspire Five-O. When you do that via Linspire's website, they port you over to the purchase page, and then to a download link so that you can download your new ISO. And here is where my problem began...

I burned a CD/DVD from the distro and installed Linspire. My wireless card wouldn't work which is something required, that worked just fine while using the trial copy. I reinstalled and reinstalled, tried different configurations, and finally called Support. They ran me through some things, had me reinstall, but to no avail. I called it quits 1 week after their being unable to get my wireless card going when, as a suggested fix to my problem, they suggested that I reformat my hard drive FAT32 and reinstall. Linspire, upon request, refunded my money. It's Fedora and Debian for me now and all works great!
 
Old 06-25-2007, 10:48 AM   #19
linuxlerner
 
Registered: Jun 2007
Posts: 0

Rep: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation:
Would you recommend the product? yes | Price you paid?: None indicated | Rating: 8

Pros: easy to install
Cons:


I am a very experienced MS Windows user/developer but know little about linux. The only thing I can related to Linux was using the Unix when I was in college long time ago. Now I got a newer/faster laptop and don't know know what to do with my old Dell Inpiron 8600. I decided to give a try to install the LInux O.S. First I tried Ubuntu 7.04 which is free. My problem with Ubuntu is I can't get my wireless connection working. I googled and gave up. Then I tried Linspire 5-O. To my surprise, I click the browser icon right after installation which didn't take long, it works without any configuration. It would be better if it can include a free DVD player software.
 
Old 07-16-2010, 10:51 AM   #20
knuckle
 
Registered: Jul 2010
Posts: 12

Rep: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation:
Would you recommend the product? yes | Price you paid?: None indicated | Rating: 8

Pros: ease of set up and functionality
Cons: it is gone the way of the dinasaur


Hi All---------------

I installed the freespire version on an old pc that I found in a dumpster.
It looks good,its quick on this machine (750 M processor and 320 meg of ram) and it was free.I just wish I could have seen it in it's prime with the CNR running and supported.I have used Puppy Linux and have ubuntu installed on my main computer (ubuntu crawled on this machine).

Now perhaps as a linux newbie,I miss the point of linux,,I have heard some say that Linspire was "too much like windows" or "missed the point of going linux in the first place" and being new and dumb they probably know better than I do,but I look at this and think that though the linspire thing didn't work out that linux as a whole could take the idea of a central library under a single linux banner where a person,a newbie like my self can go for support and software (and no one expects folk to give their work away) then microsoft and apple would soon become as linspire is ,just something to play with on an old junk machine.
 




  



All times are GMT -5. The time now is 06:52 AM.

Main Menu
Advertisement

Advertisement
My LQ
Write for LQ
LinuxQuestions.org is looking for people interested in writing Editorials, Articles, Reviews, and more. If you'd like to contribute content, let us know.
Main Menu
Syndicate
RSS1  Latest Threads
RSS1  LQ News
Twitter: @linuxquestions
identi.ca: @linuxquestions
Facebook: linuxquestions Google+: linuxquestions
Open Source Consulting | Domain Registration