LinuxQuestions.org
Visit Jeremy's Blog.
Go Back   LinuxQuestions.org > Reviews > Distributions > Other
User Name
Password

Notices

Search · Register · Submit New Review · Download your favorite Linux Distributions ·
 

Peanut Linux Peanut Linux 9.5
Reviews Views Date of last review
3 32436 03-16-2004
spacer
Recommended By Average Price Average Rating
100% of reviewers None indicated 9.0



Description: Almost everything you will in as a desktop without the bloat. It can install rpm and tgz packages,no need to convert anything.


Author
Post A Reply 
Old 11-03-2003, 11:03 AM   #1
bongski55
 
Registered: May 2003
Distribution: ubuntu on Dell, Vista,XP triple boot
Posts: 276

Rep: Reputation:
Would you recommend the product? yes | Price you paid?: D/L | Rating: 10

Pros: Small size for ISO,almost erything you need as a day-to-day desktop OS.
Cons: Compilation may not be possible sometimes.



I have been looking for a distro that is easy to download and will not need a lot of space on my hd. I found it in peanut. Its got an almost complete kde and office software plus more.
I highly recommend this distro.
 
Old 11-04-2003, 08:24 AM   #2
bareego
 
Registered: Nov 2003
Distribution: Crux 2.0
Posts: 66

Rep: Reputation: Reputation:
Would you recommend the product? yes | Price you paid?: D/L | Rating: 8

Pros: small, good multimedia support, KDE 3.1 and enlightenment, mysql, php
Cons: GCC not included in base install, small term glitch


I've been on Peanut linux over a year now, it's the distribution I started out on (though on an earlier version)
It is put together by one ! person alone, Jay Klepacs and for that an awesome distribution.

Peanut 9.5 runs kernel 2.4.20 and glibc 2.2.5 xfree 4.2.99.4 which iirc was some CVS version, but works well.

The download of the ISO (only 340MB) is quite fast, although I'd advise to also download the right GCC rpm from the packages, otherwise you won't get happy if you want to compile anything, so that's another 30 odd MB. Imho the gcc should be included in the distribution.
Also I'd advise to get the kernel sources for 2.4.20.

It's a great desktop distribution. Multimedia works "out of the box" and the hardware detection is pretty good as it uses RH's kudzu.
For the space it uses it's quite loaded with useful applications.

The install process is pretty simple as long as you know about linux partition naming conventions and don't run into problems :) Peanut sometimes forgets to turn on the swap partition which can lead to a faulty install. Also the progress bar during install is just some timedriven bar, not representative of the progress in the installation which confuses some people.

You don't pick any packages, it just unpacks it's archive onto the partition of your choice, but the setup programs are well chosen and easily done.

Finally sometimes the liloconfig puts a wrong entry in the /etc/lilo.conf namely boot=/dev/hda1 instead of boot=/dev/hda.

The minimum space required imho is 1.2GB for the / partition and extra space if you use a swap partition (which I do, I use 256MB as swap more as a precaution)

People used to Slackware will feel right at home as most startup scripts and file locations are taken from slackware.

Peanut can use RH RPM files, although I've found it's better to either use a Peanut RPM, if there is one, or to compile from source.

There is no advanced package manager like on gentoo or debian.

There is also a small bug with the terminal, for which there is a solution posted on the main peanut message board. Ah yes, the message board is quite helpful, nice people, but because not so many people run peanut there is a lack of knowledge in some areas eg with problems regarding apache and such.

peanut's homepage is http://www.ibiblio.org/peanut

Just ignore all that PR babble that's on this page, I know it looks a bit weird.
Also my major reason for giving peanut only 4 stars is that this page advertises peanut as being good at running some kind of Star office (which I guess would be openoffice)
The Openoffice RPM provided though does not work, and requires quite some fixing to get it working.

Peanut comes with mysql and php and xitami as webserver/telnet server/ftp server preinstalled.

I'm not quite sure about the merits of having mysql and php installed as it might be better to have the latest versions compiled from source, especially if you want to use apache. Mysql also slows things down a bit, so if you don't need it, take it out of the startup.
I've also had some issues with the FTP server side of xitami, so I'm not running thatone anymore.

peanut's main message board is on
http://www.flightsimhq.org/peanut/phpBB2/

I have tried many other distributions, but I always come back to peanut. It does what I want it for (mostly internet browsing, chat, CD->ogg, ogg listening , watching xvid etc)

Anyone who now feels like installing it and doesn't know about naming conventions of partitions on IDE hard drives in linux, please have a look here :
http://www.flightsimhq.org/peanut/phpBB2/viewtopic.php?t=1379&highlight=

(ah just one more things... I like to use xfce4 as GUI of choice on peanut... I compiled it from the source from www.xfce.org and it's possible to compile it as long as you've installed the GTK2 packages from peanut)

Hope this gives people some information about peanut
cheers
bareego
 
Old 03-16-2004, 09:29 AM   #3
galen
 
Registered: Sep 2003
Distribution: LinuxMint, PartedMagic, Puppy, xubuntu. BOYCOTTING: Vector, Beatrix, BLAG, Slackware
Posts: 63

Rep: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation:
Would you recommend the product? yes | Price you paid?: D/L | Rating: 9

Pros: small ISO, packed, stable, useful
Cons: default KDE3, gcc2, no advanced package manager


Use several distros and always come back to Peanut as stable and low requirement distro. Only needs 64Megs of RAM and around 1000Megs of disk space. Can be trimmed down and sped up with xfce fluxbox. Hardware detection, sound and video adapt the distro to many types of machines. Packed with workstation, games software.

slight problems with GUI start after install on nvidia cards. Forum has a fix

9.6 update should be one distro to watch and overcome the GCC2 limitations of 9.5

Support community is open and non-censoring and not plagued with big egos.

Distro is managed by one person which is risky for burn-out.
 




  



All times are GMT -5. The time now is 02:05 AM.

Main Menu
Advertisement

Advertisement
My LQ
Write for LQ
LinuxQuestions.org is looking for people interested in writing Editorials, Articles, Reviews, and more. If you'd like to contribute content, let us know.
Main Menu
Syndicate
RSS1  Latest Threads
RSS1  LQ News
Twitter: @linuxquestions
identi.ca: @linuxquestions
Facebook: linuxquestions Google+: linuxquestions
Open Source Consulting | Domain Registration