LinuxQuestions.org
LinuxAnswers - the LQ Linux tutorial section.
Go Back   LinuxQuestions.org > Reviews > Distributions > SUSE Linux Enterprise
User Name
Password

Notices

Search · Register · Submit New Review · Download your favorite Linux Distributions ·
 

Suse 9.3 Live
Reviews Views Date of last review
3 38021 09-11-2006
spacer
Recommended By Average Price Average Rating
100% of reviewers None indicated 8.5



Description: SUSE LINUX is the international technology leader and solutions provider in Open Source operating system software. SUSE's unique expertise in Linux and its largest development team worldwide dedicated to Open Source software has contributed to the recognition of SUSE as the most complete Linux solution available today. With a workforce of more than 500 people worldwide, SUSE has offices throughout Europe, Latin America and in the United States, entirely focused on supporting the Linux community and Open Source development. SUSE LINUX was acquired by Novell, Inc in November 2003.
Keywords: suse live novell dvd


Author
Post A Reply 
Old 05-06-2005, 09:11 AM   #1
adriaticnyc
 
Registered: Jul 2004
Distribution: Red Hat Linux Professional Version 9 & Red Hat Linux ES Workstation 3
Posts: 2

Rep: Reputation:
Would you recommend the product? yes | Price you paid?: None indicated | Rating: 7

Pros: YaST has quicker response time, GUI based patch management easy to use.
Cons: Must invoke KDE from XServer after boot from 9.3 build on hard drive



I purchased the SuSE 9.3 professional release from Novell with upgrade pricing - this is the 2nd day that I am reviewing my confiiguration.

I installed the upgrade DVD set on a Compaq EVO N800V Pentium 4 nobebook with 1GB RAM and partitioned Toshiba 80GB 5400 hard drive with 16MB buffer.

I began to activate some of my EVO's performance features manually in YaST such as my notebook's 3D accelleration, DMA, indexing.....and then rebooted.

It was this 2nd reboot which showed the XServer requiring a manual invocation of KDE (i just put in the KDE and hit enter, then my KDE desktop started to activate).

I am going to open a problem call with Novell on this to get their "official" resolution. I am new to Linux, but my years of working as a mainframe systems programmer lead me to believe the vendor may suggest backing off some of the patches I downloaded or there may be a replacement for the patches. (Or in IBM lingo....PTF or APAR).

Please accept my apology for being a newbie here, I do not know all of the technical aspects of working with Linux but from my observations, Linux distros are much easier to configure and tweak than Windows.


Mary W
NYC
adriaticnyc@yahoo.com
 
Old 08-19-2006, 05:29 PM   #2
wieloszynski
 
Registered: Jul 2006
Distribution: Fedora 5.?
Posts: 1

Rep: Reputation: Reputation:
Would you recommend the product? yes | Price you paid?: None indicated | Rating: 10

Pros: Comprehensive Distro, runs on older systems
Cons: A lttle bit confusing to use YAST


Have SUSE 9.3 on two older systems (Pentium III 366 and 666 w/ less than 400 meg of RAM) and, while a little slow, runs flawlessly. Recognizes all hardware inluding ATI TV card and ran it without flaw.
 
Old 09-11-2006, 07:41 AM   #3
mai
 
Registered: Aug 2006
Posts: 0

Rep: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation:
Would you recommend the product? yes | Price you paid?: None indicated | Rating: 0

Pros:
Cons:


'Cannot allocate memory'
in xen under suse
 




  



All times are GMT -5. The time now is 12:02 AM.

Main Menu
Advertisement

My LQ
Write for LQ
LinuxQuestions.org is looking for people interested in writing Editorials, Articles, Reviews, and more. If you'd like to contribute content, let us know.
Main Menu
Syndicate
RSS1  Latest Threads
RSS1  LQ News
Twitter: @linuxquestions
identi.ca: @linuxquestions
Facebook: linuxquestions Google+: linuxquestions
Open Source Consulting | Domain Registration