LinuxQuestions.org
View the Most Wanted LQ Wiki articles.
Go Back   LinuxQuestions.org > Reviews > Distributions > Ubuntu
User Name
Password

Notices

Search · Register · Submit New Review · Download your favorite Linux Distributions ·
 

Ubuntu Hoary 5.04
Reviews Views Date of last review
35 86258 10-09-2005
spacer
Recommended By Average Price Average Rating
94% of reviewers None indicated 8.6



Description: A user friendly Debian-based distro.
Keywords: ubuntu hoary debian


Author
Post A Reply 
Old 04-13-2005, 07:56 PM   #1
masonm
 
Registered: Mar 2003
Distribution: Slackware64 13.37 Android 4.0
Posts: 2,244

Rep: Reputation:
Would you recommend the product? yes | Price you paid?: D/L | Rating: 10

Pros: Excellent hardware detection, great community support, Debian-based, very new versions of packages.easy to set up
Cons: none so far



Until now I hadn't tried Ubuntu because it had a reputation as a "newbie" distro and wasn't interested in aquiring the problems such "automatic" type distros usually have.

A friend of mine tried the newest release, Hoary Hedgehog (I know, really stupid name) and he was quite impressed with it. I decided "what the heck" and gave it a test drive.

The installer is nearly identical to the Debian Sarge installer which I was familiar with. While it isn't a nice shiny GUI installer, it's a very effective menu based text installer which is both efficient and logical. I doubt most people would have much trouble with the installer.

The hardware detection was excellent. I use a laptop and some (many) distros have some trouble in properly detecting and configuring aptop hardware. I was pleasantly surprised to see that Ubuntu detected and correctly configured everything. Graphics, LCD monitor, pcmcia ethernet card, everything. I didn't have to tweak a single setting. Xorg even configured correctly! Amazing.

The default (and only) window manager is Gnome 2.10 (the newest) with a very nice clean looking desktop. The brown theme takes a little time to grow on you and you can always change it if you really hate it. And if you don't like Gnome, you can always install Kubuntu which is the KDE version of Ubuntu, or simply install KDE to your Ubuntu system.

There are some very handy tools included including an update notifier that lets you know if there are new updates availale from the Ubuntu/Debian repositories. Synaptic is the GUI frontend to the apt-get package manager and is very nice.

The packages included by default are a pretty darned good selection and include Open Office, Firefox, Evolution, and many others.

Over all I have to say that I'm very impressed with Ubuntu. They've done a great job in making a distro that is very user friendly, stable, has fresh versions of applications, and very dedicated to the open source philospy.

Their product tag line is "Linuu for Human Beings" and I'd say it's pretty appropriate here.
 
Old 04-22-2005, 02:22 AM   #2
masand
 
Registered: May 2003
Distribution: Ubuntu, Solaris,CentOS
Posts: 5,522

Rep: Reputation: Reputation:
Would you recommend the product? yes | Price you paid?: D/L | Rating: 8

Pros: debian based,stable
Cons: packages need to be downloaded,no default mp3 support


ubuntu is a fine distro based on debian
i do not have very fast conncetion at ny home,so i depend on offline downloads.so i am not ablke to use apt-get very much which is very much required to work on ubuntu as u need to install a lot of packages
and it lacks basic mp3 support so u need to get those packges initally also,not a big deal of u have some good internet connection

ubuntu has a good desktop which is nice and stable and the environment of debain.
i am waitng for CDs of all popular ubuntu packages which will be bundled in some CD,so that we can have the popluar packages without using apt-get

 
Old 05-06-2005, 01:33 PM   #3
jon_hill987
 
Registered: Apr 2005
Distribution: Ubuntu
Posts: 10

Rep: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation:
Would you recommend the product? yes | Price you paid?: D/L | Rating: 7

Pros: Easy to set up, Good packages included
Cons: Will not detect my pcmcia WiFi card.


Installed on: HP compaq nx9005

The install was trouble free, It has a good partition manager to which will automaticly partition free space to get you ready for installing. I had heard that dual booting windows XP could cause a problem but Grub is auomaticly installed as well and takes care of that. you just have to answer a few questions.

The packages included will let me do everything I want. Open office for work, firefox and thunderbird are included, and a few games (most of which keep beating me on the lowest level). There is also image editing software and Audio players/editors the one criticism I can think of about the packages is the fact that no Audio or video codecs are suplied and I have not go around to downloading them for reasons explained below.

It is rather Ironic that I am typing this linux review in windows, all of my hardware was detected, except my PCMIA WiFi card (AMD Am1772), which I have still not got to work, as this is my only means of conecting to the internet the extra codecs I need will either have to wait untill i can get it working or I will download them in windows.

In short, if I could get the wifi card to work I would use Ubuntu over windows most of the time, I would recomend it to other people but only if they don't have an AMD Am1772 card (or maybe you could get it working and tell me how!).
 
Old 05-07-2005, 04:47 AM   #4
chrisstooss
 
Registered: Jan 2005
Distribution: Ubuntu linux 5.10
Posts: 108

Rep: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation:
Would you recommend the product? yes | Price you paid?: D/L | Rating: 10

Pros: All hardware was detected, with backports repositories you have all new packages avalible, I love names of new versions
Cons: I had some problems with Mplayer pluin for mozilla firefox


I have Ubuntu installed since it's first version 4.10 Warty. And I didn't look back since then. I totally forgot WinOS.

Hoary is better then Warty. It comes with some futures wich comes handy for every day user. You have Update manager who keeps your system upto date. You have new color sheme. And a lot more supported hardware.

For now my only goal with warty is to change my momm to think Linux. And with Ubuntu I can say its perfect distro for newbie. And its great distro for LinuxGurus.

Some of users do not like default brown sheme. I like it a lot. I love version names. Warty Hoary and Breezy.

So keep on rollin.

P.S. If you have problems with I don't know Mplayer, like I did, or WiFi please visit www.ubuntuforums.org There you can get a lot of help for Warty and Hoary.
 
Old 05-16-2005, 08:54 AM   #5
whistl
 
Registered: May 2005
Distribution: Ubuntu, CentOS
Posts: 37

Rep: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation:
Would you recommend the product? yes | Price you paid?: D/L | Rating: 7

Pros: easy install, easy to use, lots of pkgs available
Cons: debian pkgs are out of date, a few things broken


I'm a long time Linux user, since the days of kernel 0.99pl11. Over the past 10 years, I've used Slackware, Corel, Turbolinux, Mandrake 6, Mandrake 7, Suse 8, Suse 9, Red Hat Linux 8, RHL 9, Gentoo, Xandros, Mandrake 10, Fedora Core 3, as well as virtually every flavor of commercial UNIX (at work).

Over the years, I've come to appreciate simple, but flexible installs. I like to be able to customize things, but I no longer receive joy and satisfaction from spending 4 days recompiling everything from scratch, just to have a system I can read email and browse the web on.

Ubuntu's install was very quick, but not very flexible. They have a basic package you are going to get, and it includes a whole lot of things I will never use. I was pleased that installing dual-boot with Windows XP home worked well, even though I rarely ever use that beast anymore.

What made me switch from Fedora Core 3 to Ubuntu on my laptop, were that I could not get Kismet working under there (patches for modified orinoco drivers wouldn't apply), and the constant problem with bugfixes and updates breaking things. When an update broke all sound, I gave up completely on FC3 and started looking for a new distro.

The only problems I have had with Ubuntu have been with re-configuring ethernet and wireless networks, power monitoring, and conflict between alsa and esound.

The network config wizard worked the first time, but after that changes seemed to be ineffective. I read the manpages and figured out how to hand edit /etc/network/interfaces to make it do what I want.

On my Sony Vaio laptop, the power status is not monitored properly, and even though it IS plugged into AC, the system was thinking it was on battery, and configured the hard drive to spin down when idle for more than a minute. Renaming /etc/rc2.d/S99acpi-support resolved that.

When I first logged in, the window manager makes pretty sounds, but gaim, kismet, and java apps (like pogo.com games) were not able to play any sounds. I learned from the ubuntu support forums to disable the esound server (system->preferences->sound), and everything else works. But now the window manager doesn't make any sounds. I guess someone has to figure this out yet. Also, when I play streaming music in the background, using XMMS (cause the Rythmbox user interface just plain sucks), no other apps can make sounds.

I do like the way they setup sudo by default, for all standard system admin tasks. No more su-ing to root!

And I like the update manager. Simple, flexible (letting you choose to download only or download and install, whether you want details or just a progress bar) and so far, it's working great. One of the things that frustrated me about FC3 was that update downloads, when they worked at all, were slow as heck, and it always paused after downloading, requiring you to click a button to do the installs. I would leave the PC running overnight to do the downloads, then have to wait in the morning, after waking up and clicking the "proceed" button.

I've installed Ubuntu on two systems, one laptop (for daily internet use and wardriving with kismet) and onea old desktop (for running snort/mysql/acidlab monitor my cable modem). It's working well in both cases. I do wish I could find ATI accelerated X window drivers, so my laptop could play movies more efficiently.

All of the packages I wanted to install, like Firefox, Thunderbird, Gaim, ImageMagick, GPSDrive, Kismet, Snort ... were all available to install in Synaptic Package Manager, but most of them were not the most current release. I ended up downloading or recompiling most of them from scratch.

The synaptic package manager works really well, but if you're not familiar with debian repositories and such, it can lead to much confusion when dependancies cannot be resolved. At least it doesn't force you to keep the install dvd handy, like Mandrake 10.1.

Ubuntu has come a very long way, for such a young distribution, but from reading the support forums, it seems to have a way to go yet, until it is truely painless for newbies to use. I plan to keep using it, because it does everything I need, and updates work rather painlessly, so far.
 
Old 05-25-2005, 10:56 PM   #6
Cinematography
 
Registered: Apr 2005
Distribution: Ubuntu 9.04
Posts: 355

Rep: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation:
Would you recommend the product? yes | Price you paid?: D/L | Rating: 6

Pros: it's debian based and has a great community
Cons: missing a lot of stuff, especially multimedia codecs


After using this distro for about a month, it started to fall apart on me. First of all, I had to spend about a week just trying to get basic stuff like mp3, java, mpeg support, etc going in it. Thank goodness for MrBass and his excellent addon package! Without it, Ubuntu is very basic and not ready for primetime.

My flash card reader stopped working, gnome got goofy (sometimes it would freeze when I tried to right click and get the properties of a file), I couldn't download from certain links for some reason; the list goes on. It's a nice OS, but I wouldn't call it the best anymore. Mepis is my current favorite with Mandrake at a close second.
 
Old 05-28-2005, 01:55 AM   #7
trempel
 
Registered: Jan 2005
Distribution: SuSE 10 Eval
Posts: 130

Rep: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation:
Would you recommend the product? no | Price you paid?: D/L | Rating: 4

Pros: clean desktop, good array of packages
Cons: iffy install, instability, not a newbie distro.


I picked up an Ubuntu disc from my tech teacher, who was giving out the discs that are orderable from the ubuntu website. I picked one up and installed it, thereby removing my previous SuSE. Having read that it was a noob distro, I was seriously disapointed.

I will briefly compare it agoainst SuSE. It's installer was inferior, less complete with less options, not as pretty, and pretty darn slow. Once installed, I was surprised to see that my windows drives had not mounted, as they did with SuSE.

My next shock was seeing what I would have to do to install new programs. And then I discovered there is no root account, and I never did find out exactly how to gewt root privelidges.

Definately NOT a noob distro, especially compared with SuSE. I'm now back to my old distro, after wasting about 3 hours with ubuntu.
 
Old 06-01-2005, 08:59 PM   #8
slackMeUp
 
Registered: Nov 2003
Distribution: Slack-where?
Posts: 654

Rep: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation:
Would you recommend the product? yes | Price you paid?: D/L | Rating: 9

Pros: Installed without a hitch on my LG LU-20 laptop.
Cons: Apt... *ducks*


Like most user/desktop orientated distros, ubuntu (or in my case kubuntu) is a joy to work with.

I come from a slackware background and find a lot of things annoying with this distro, but that's mostly because it's debain based. I am glad, however, that Ubuntu is moving away from debain's community and spreading it's wings.

I love how it detects and configures all my hardware (and on this laptop, that's hard to do) so I can spend my time working on more important things... like my website.

I did have trouble with my sound card. It worked just fine with the 4.10 release, and with a 5.04 upgraded from a 4.10 release... but for some reason a clean 5.04 install had issues with my sound card. I've fixed the issue, no problems there... just a bit distressing that it was a problem in the first place.

X11 works just fine, as it would on any distro, but ubuntu did all the work for me and I'm left with a fully hardware enabled desktop.

I give it a 9, because only slackware in my books has ever earned a 10 (see slackware 9.1). This is my second favorite distro and I hope the community keeps up the good work.
 
Old 06-07-2005, 10:53 AM   #9
IneedAuserName
 
Registered: May 2004
Distribution: Ubuntu 5.04 (Hoary)
Posts: 36

Rep: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation:
Would you recommend the product? yes | Price you paid?: D/L | Rating: 10

Pros: Wow. Packages, Community, Support, Etc.
Cons: (There are always cons) Lack of media support, the rest are attributed to Linux


I received a free IBM T30 laptop from work with Windows 2000 running on it; I figured I would give Linux a try, why not? I had never tried Linux before and wanted to see what all the hype was about.

I went from:

Suse  Fedora --> Madriva (paid $50 for the CD and then $60 to join the club) --> Slackware --> Gentoo  Debian --> Ubuntu

In about 10 days.

Wow. If it wasn't for Ubuntu I doubt I wouldn’t be running Linux at all.

The download and install was a breeze, the community if the friendliest bunch of folks in the world, and the unofficial guide is a big help when installing verboten packages, and the official Ubuntu forums also have great info.

The program list is expansive, stable, and bleeding edge. You don’t even have to edit the repository listing file, there is a GUI for all of that.

Ubuntu also checks automatically for updates.

There is however a lack of DVD and mp3 support with the installed release, but that is easily installed and configured with the help of the unofficial guide. Wi-Fi support is spotty, but it is with most Linux distributions.

What else is there to say? It really has to be seen to be believed. Give it a try, you will not be disappointed!

P.S. - Don’t let the geek banter dissuade you…
 
Old 06-09-2005, 02:14 PM   #10
Erik_the_Red
 
Registered: Jun 2003
Distribution: Arch
Posts: 113

Rep: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation:
Would you recommend the product? yes | Price you paid?: None indicated | Rating: 8

Pros: Still very easy to setup, faster than Warty
Cons: Still not very nice to older computers


Ubuntu Hoary is an improvement over Ubuntu Warty. Many packages have been updated, and indeed can only be truly updated through an upgrade to Hoary.

Loading times seem to have decreased.

All in all this is still a great choice for n00bs.
 
Old 06-12-2005, 03:30 PM   #11
J_K9
 
Registered: Nov 2004
Distribution: Slackware 11, Ubuntu 6.06 LTS
Posts: 700

Rep: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation:
Would you recommend the product? yes | Price you paid?: D/L | Rating: 10

Pros: Absolutely GREAT hardware detection, ran
Cons: Had some problems installing xine...but that was only because I tried doing it manually (i.e too many dependancies)!


The first linux distro I ever tried was Fedora Core 2, which looked ok, had a few problems (especially trying to get it dual-booting with my M$ XP partition - thought I'd lost my whole Windows partition!), but all in all was pretty average. I then moved onto SuSE 9.2 Pro, which looked much nicer than Fedora Core 2, and worked out of the box, but I just never got used to the KDE feel...Then came Fedora Core 3, which once again wasn't that great. THEN CAME UBUNTU, AND I WAS LEFT GOBSMACKED!!

Ubuntu is the best distro I have ever tried, and I reccommend it to anyone and everyone, from n00b to guru. It is just so sleek, so exquisite in its appearance and style, so easy to use and configure, and so damn nice in general that it just has to be my all time favourite! I know there will be some who will say, "J_K9, you have to try Gentoo before you go saying things like that" or "You really must try Slackware 10.1", and even though I will try the other distros, I just have to say that Ubuntu is and will probably be for a very long time my FAV.

Ubuntu also has some great support. First of all, there is the Unofficial Ubuntu 5.04 Starter Guide, found here. This contains an overwhelming amount of information, hints and tips, and solutions for your everyday Ubuntu needs. Then, there are the Ubuntu Forums which are also incredible, because everyone there is willing to help, and they will always try to answer your question.

That's all from me! Just make sure you check out the Live CD or just fill out a form and get them to ship the full install to you (this will be done for free)!

J_K9
 
Old 06-15-2005, 05:14 AM   #12
Calamanthus
 
Registered: Jan 2005
Distribution: Mandrake 9.1 Ubuntu 5.04
Posts: 5

Rep: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation:
Would you recommend the product? yes | Price you paid?: D/L | Rating: 8

Pros: Excellent hardware detection, simple install, excellent update notification and installation
Cons: Occasionally hangs during boot up, has trouble reading floppies written in Windows.


Had a completely hassle free install on an old 5oo AMD no name box bought at a clearing sale, picked up my network, and I was surfing the 'net in minutes. Far superior to Mandrake 9.1 which I have been using, I particularly like the adequate selection of software installed by default, just one program for each task, as it should be. Haven't tried everything yet, but so far my impression is very positive, and it will replace Mandrake on my other boxes. A newcomer to Linux would still do a bit of head scratching, but the answers are reasonably easy to find in the forum and guide. This seventy year old non geek is very happy with it!
 
Old 06-15-2005, 09:51 AM   #13
CanadianPenguin
 
Registered: Oct 2003
Distribution: Ubuntu "Hoary" - The best distro around by a long shot.
Posts: 116

Rep: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation:
Would you recommend the product? yes | Price you paid?: D/L | Rating: 10

Pros: Everything
Cons: Can't think of any


Ubuntu is by far the best distro I've tried. It installs in under an hour, has everything I need for a desktop installed by default and has tons of packages available through its excellent package manager (Synaptic/apt-get). Add on the backports repositories, and you can get everything you might want through apt-get. Not to even mention that every package is up-to-date and updates are posted nearly every day.

Highly recommended for all Linux users, from beginners to advanced and experienced users like myself.
 
Old 06-22-2005, 06:10 AM   #14
GeneralCody
 
Registered: Jun 2005
Distribution: Slackware, Ubuntu, FreeBSD
Posts: 6

Rep: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation:
Would you recommend the product? yes | Price you paid?: None indicated | Rating: 10

Pros: Superior distro, no hassle, clean scripts, suitable as server and workstation, great repositories of updated packages (universe/multiverse), wireless working good
Cons: None


I've installed Ubuntu on several machines, ranging from high end servers to a PII 400mhz with 256 RAM, including HP and Dell laptops.

I've used 3 different wireless cards, D-Link USB 2, D-link DWL520, and built in Atheros in new HP laptop. For the USB 2 card I had to use ndiswrapper, but the other two was detected and configured (with WEP encryption/ESSID) during installation of the OS!

And there's no home like Gnome 2.10, once u get to know it. It has Excellent integration with the underlying OS, and the default install has plenty of useful utilities.

It is suitable for both newbies and veterans, as it is a modern Debian based distribution. Almost everything that applies to Debian applies to Ubuntu, so the documentation is wast.

The installer is good, with options for a server (base) install, or a complete desktop install, each with tunable parametes fed to the installation program.

The fact that it will allways be free (as in beer) and has a incredibly fast growing community (check out #Ubuntu on IRC) makes it an ideal choice for everyone that wants a user friendly, and proffesional Linux system.

I give it the best recomendations.

General Cody


 
Old 06-26-2005, 08:00 PM   #15
NoobieDoobieDo
 
Registered: Oct 2004
Distribution: Debian 4.0
Posts: 65

Rep: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation:
Would you recommend the product? yes | Price you paid?: D/L | Rating: 9

Pros: Comprehensive LiveCD
Cons: Nothing worth mentioning yet


So far I've used :

Mandrake 7 something
Mandrake 10
SUSE 9.1 (or whatever)
Damn Small Linux
KNOPPIX

I most like the boot up of this live CD. It lets you chose language, screen resolution, keyboard and what not with easy to use selection menus. I don't recall other LiveCDS having this specific feature in this way.

The desktop and gnome application bar are simple, they didn't crowd it with 100 applications trying to show off.

This OS seems to be geared towards people new to linux and older hats alike.

Two thumbs up.

 
Page:  1 · 2 · 3 More Items




  



All times are GMT -5. The time now is 07:37 AM.

Main Menu

My LQ
Write for LQ
LinuxQuestions.org is looking for people interested in writing Editorials, Articles, Reviews, and more. If you'd like to contribute content, let us know.
Main Menu
Syndicate
RSS1  Latest Threads
RSS1  LQ News
Twitter: @linuxquestions
identi.ca: @linuxquestions
Facebook: linuxquestions Google+: linuxquestions
Open Source Consulting | Domain Registration