LinuxQuestions.org
LinuxAnswers - the LQ Linux tutorial section.
Go Back   LinuxQuestions.org > Reviews > Books > Network Administration
User Name
Password

Notices

Search · Register · Submit New Review · Download your favorite Linux Distributions ·
 

Setting up LAMP: Getting Linux, Apache, and MySQL working together
Reviews Views Date of last review
4 28821 08-22-2008
spacer
Recommended By Average Price Average Rating
100% of reviewers $20.00 8.0
spacer


Description: This is a book about how to set up a LAMP server using Fedora Core 2.
Keywords: LAMP Server, Apache, PHP, MySQL
Publisher: Sybex
ISBN: 0-7821-4337-7


Author
Post A Reply 
Old 08-03-2005, 05:28 PM   #1
thorn168
 
Registered: Oct 2004
Distribution: Vector Linux 5.1 Std., Vector Linux 5.8 Std., Win2k, XP, OS X (10.4 & 10.5)
Posts: 344

Rep: Reputation:
Would you recommend the product? yes | Price you paid?: None indicated | Rating: 8

Pros: This book has a good methodology and Approach to Building and Administering a LAMP Server.
Cons: Example server is based on Fedora Core 2



I like this book because it has a solid well thought out approach to Building and Administering a LAMP server.

The Authors insist that you use the Command Line Interface (CLI) to build and administer the server.

They also explain how to delete pre-installed server demons like Apache, PHP and MySQL and re-install from a Tar-gz file.

(Personally compiling the Demons into the server seems like more work then simply using the RPM or the DEB file but they claim it is the best practice.)

The Authors also reccomend Pico instead of VI for editing the system files.

I would reccomend this for new and intermediate Linux Server admins. in addition to posting questions here on LQ.

I would also advise anyone who runs a server to become a regular at the Security forum at LQ. Either that or check the Cert website daily for reported security issues.


 
Old 10-09-2005, 07:52 AM   #2
tp11235
 
Registered: Feb 2005
Distribution: Gentoo
Posts: 105

Rep: Reputation: Reputation:
Would you recommend the product? yes | Price you paid?: $20.00 | Rating: 8

Pros: Thorough step by step guide to creating a webserver - and it works
Cons: The authors have a very rigorous approach - if you don't want to do it their way you'll need another book as well


I found this book very useful as a follow up to Running Linux. It taught me a lot of useful stuff from the ground up that filled gaps in my knowledge.

The authors are very prescriptive. However, if you don't have the time or knowledge to really understand your system their setup will still give you a solid secure server.

You could buy this book, a distro CD, a bare machine and a broadband connection and get yourself a working webserver.
 
Old 06-29-2006, 09:46 AM   #3
monsm
 
Registered: Feb 2005
Distribution: Gentoo
Posts: 568

Rep: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation:
Would you recommend the product? yes | Price you paid?: None indicated | Rating: 8

Pros: Good guide - you get what you expect: Help to set up LAMP
Cons: Had some minor issues to get ssl to work


I have just finished my first LAMP application on SUSE 10.0 using this book.

Although they refer to Fedora, I didn't have any major problems applying this book to set up on my Suse box using my home broadband connection and wifi lan :-)
 
Old 08-22-2008, 08:17 PM   #4
RMLinux
 
Registered: Jul 2006
Posts: 224

Rep: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation:
Would you recommend the product? yes | Price you paid?: None indicated | Rating: 0

Pros:
Cons:


here's a sample link free..:-)

http://g.bookpool.com/gp/0504sybex/0782143377.pdf
 




  



All times are GMT -5. The time now is 02:10 AM.

Main Menu
Advertisement

My LQ
Write for LQ
LinuxQuestions.org is looking for people interested in writing Editorials, Articles, Reviews, and more. If you'd like to contribute content, let us know.
Main Menu
Syndicate
RSS1  Latest Threads
RSS1  LQ News
Twitter: @linuxquestions
identi.ca: @linuxquestions
Facebook: linuxquestions Google+: linuxquestions
Open Source Consulting | Domain Registration