LinuxQuestions.org
LinuxAnswers - the LQ Linux tutorial section.
Go Back   LinuxQuestions.org > Reviews > Distributions > SUSE Linux Enterprise
User Name
Password

Notices

Search · Register · Submit New Review · Download your favorite Linux Distributions ·
 

SuSE 9.0 Professional
Reviews Views Date of last review
33 110458 07-31-2005
spacer
Recommended By Average Price Average Rating
88% of reviewers $69.79 7.9



Description: Desktop, server, laptop distribution. The latest in the SuSE line of products.
Keywords: Professional SuSE SUSE suse 9 9.0 9.x


Author
Post A Reply 
Old 10-18-2003, 09:15 AM   #1
XavierP
 
Registered: Nov 2002
Distribution: Lubuntu
Posts: 19,176

Rep: Reputation:
Would you recommend the product? yes | Price you paid?: None indicated | Rating: 8

Pros: Brand Spanking New(!), huge list of installable programs, DVD or 5 cd-roms for installation, quick install (45 mins), slick look, configures and installs a large range of hardware, can be used as 32-bit or 64-bit processors
Cons: Mozilla is very poor - mail and browser not integrated or working, all is done for you - not much configuring



Linux Magazine had a special £10 off off er on Suse Linux Professional 9.0, so I ordered it (making it my first bought distro). Having used 8.2 I knew what to expect. The box comes with Suse on a 2 sided dvd and 5 cds, a 569 page manual (pretty comprehensive), 60 day support if you register, a cd with an evaluation copy of SQL Anywhere Studio and the now obligatory pc sticker (now gracing my laptop.

The distro says it supports WiFi out of the box, as I don't have a wireless network I can't verify that. It does come with hundreds of programs that we all come to expect from any Linux offering.

My only real niggle is Mozilla: I like to use Mozilla for both Mail and Browsing. Although it was installed (had to specified manually), the mail and browser clients are not integrated - you have to load them seperately - and freeze my system. This means I now have to uninstall them and install from the web. A minor niggle but one I would have liked to have seen work better.

That aside, this is a solid offering. Doesn't blow me away, but doesn't make me tear my hair out in frustration. Sits happily alongside Redhat and Mandrake in the range of distros that are easy to set up and use and look nice.
 
Old 10-31-2003, 11:56 AM   #2
uselinux34
 
Registered: Sep 2003
Distribution: Slackware 10
Posts: 31

Rep: Reputation: Reputation:
Would you recommend the product? yes | Price you paid?: None indicated | Rating: 10

Pros: Easy installation, looks, bundled software
Cons: menus not displaying icons for apps only white squares


I've installed Suse 9.0 now on both my laptop and PC and on both it installed perfectly detecting all hardware etc. The only problem I've encounted so far is that if I run Seti and use Ksetiwatch that comes with 9.0 to monitor it, the machine ( 2.8ghz hyperthreading Intel board, 2gb RAM and geforce 4 VGA ) runs very slow, with windows opening up jerkily and tuxracer stutters. Kill Seti and everything's running OK. This didn't happen with 8.2 which didn't seem effected by Seti. I had tried it on different priority levels but didn't make very much difference. This may be something to do with my setup though and may not effect another machine.

I mainly upgraded to 9.0 because I've just bought a Lite DVD RW LDw-411S, which works great with +R/RW but not had much success with -R/RW however I've mainly got +RW discs so it not a problem. I had upgraded cdrecord and K3b in 8.2 to the latest version supporting DVD writing, but for some reason It would refuse to spit the burnt disc out. Under 9.0 this hasn't happened, but it may have been down to my inexperience setting 8.2 up, rather than the OS itself.

There is some great games bundled with 9.0 which was also a consideration for me to upgrade, 3D breakout and the like, all very impressive. Also of course it comes with Open Office 1.1 which is good. It also came with a copy of SQL Anywhere Studio, which I haven't tried yet, but may be of interest.

Thr books that come with the distro seem to have got thicker, and cover just about everything I could want, although I noticed in one section a couple of paragraphs reverted back to German.

So in short I would recommend this distro to anyone, It has been running constantly day and night for the last 4 - 5 days with not one hiccup, feels as stable as 8.2, which in my opinion was an outstanding release.
 
Old 12-08-2003, 10:35 PM   #3
FrozenPenquin
 
Registered: Dec 2003
Distribution: Happy SuSe Pro User !!
Posts: 23

Rep: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation:
Would you recommend the product? yes | Price you paid?: $79.99 | Rating: 10

Pros: Partitioning,install,updates
Cons: really don't know yet


Well being brand new to Linux, & I mean New,I joined this Great Forum, and started asking questions aboput distros etc.I then purchased SuSe9 pro,and im so glad I did.being a newbie SuSe came with 5 cds & a dvd, I then said Uto, im over my head here, but guess what, its great,
The install Starts, by checking hardware etc, while it is installing with Yast installer, it gives an overview about all of SuSe pro's features.All I can say its great, if you are new to linux but are weary of installing, don't be, In myu opinion its great, Im not putting down other distros, becuase I never installed any other distro, but to me SuSe installed wonderful.
I'd Like to Thank,
Azmeen, & Demonbane for putting up with all my stupid questions, They Are Great !
 
Old 12-09-2003, 12:59 AM   #4
orastreet
 
Registered: Oct 2003
Distribution: Red Hat 9
Posts: 10

Rep: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation:
Would you recommend the product? no | Price you paid?: $5.00 | Rating: 2

Pros: Looks Nice, has a built in network browser
Cons: buggy, broken kernel in regards to acpi, irq floods and their fixes don't fix


I loved my Suse 8.2. Everything worked out the box like Xmms, Realplayer, FlashPlayer for the browser and even the java plugin worked great. I thought Suse 9 would be a dream! I was wrong. It turned out to be my nightmare. I rarely "upgrade" but when I did upgrade to 9, I was disappointed that again, no acpi support for my toshiba laptop. So I did some kernel work and got acpi working, but then sound wouldn't work. So I said forget it and I installed 9 from scratch, and that made it worse! ACPI worked out of the box, but the sound was jerky, and when a sound was playing the mouse would jerk in time with the music if I tried to move it. It was so bad I couldn't use the mouse, or the keybaord for that matter. Turns out it was an IRQ flood because there was an issue when acpi assigned the IRQ's for the mouse, sound card. What was cool was that it found and I could use my WAG511 netgear wireless card but guess what interrupt that was on? The same as my mouse and sound card, so even though it worked, it was useless. So I found on the software forum here a fix that involved deflating the kernel back to the 8.2 kernel. That worked, but now I had no support for my wireless card. I happen to be a linux consultant so that didn't bother me too much because I was learning, but I was finding having to boot into Windows to get any work done. THAT is NOT acceptable, so I think I'm going to go back to 8.2 and work out my acpi issues with a new kernel. If you rely on ACPI, I don't recommend this version especially if you have a toshiba laptop.
 
Old 01-01-2004, 05:02 PM   #5
id10t
 
Registered: Dec 2003
Distribution: Slackware 9.1
Posts: 63

Rep: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation:
Would you recommend the product? yes | Price you paid?: None indicated | Rating: 6

Pros: Simple Installation, Lots of Programs included
Cons: Bad naming of tools, Not simple enough for noobs,


http://www.a1-electronics.net/General_Interest/SuSE_Pro-v9_Dec03.shtml

Here is an article I found (Not by me) I thought it was neither fair nor comprehensive.
 
Old 01-27-2004, 05:18 PM   #6
Prognosis
 
Registered: Jan 2004
Distribution: SuSE 9.0 Pro (for now)
Posts: 4

Rep: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation:
Would you recommend the product? yes | Price you paid?: $79.99 | Rating: 8

Pros: Relatively painless installation, most packages are up-to-date, very fast install, nice selection of packages that are easy to install and remove
Cons: May not be as stable as 8.2


There is a lot to like about SuSE, although I'll admit my reasons for choosing it over other distributions may be due to some flawed ideology on my part. I support IBM, Novell, and SuSE was my first taste of Linux back in 1999; it was only natural that, after learning about Novell's purchase of SuSE with IBM support, I would go out and buy the Pro version for the $79.99 price tag at a nearby Best Buy. Anything to spite the SCO, you know.

Installation was very easy. I initially encountered a problem trying to share some hard drive space with Win XP Pro, but instead of putting even the smallest effort into working it out... well, I just thumbed my nose at Microsoft and went ahead with a Windows killing repartitioning. I haven't looked back.

The KDE desktop is clearly the one of choice for SuSE in this distribution, but the GNOME desktop is available and was installed automatically for me. I tend to love them both anyway, for different reasons.

The one area I had consistent trouble with was in getting my cheapo onboard sound (AC97 chipset) to work consistently, but after switching some default settings in XMMS and some other programs it now works just fine.

Being rather newbish to Linux myself, it was still no problem for me to lose Windows completely in favor of the included OpenOffice.org office suite. Once I switched over to using Mozilla instead of Konquerer for web browsing and e-mail, I was set. I also have not yet noted any issues with Mozilla and have not yet upgraded to version 1.6 (which is out as of this review), but my testing has only been ongoing for one week.

Overall, a great product that may not be as stable as version 8.2 -- but is still very functional. SuSE appears to be constantly churning out fixes, which may be automatically installed via YaST2... so my expectations are continuing to be met.
 
Old 01-28-2004, 06:52 AM   #7
disco rugby
 
Registered: Jan 2004
Distribution: Mandrake 10 Community, SuSE 9.0 pro, Lindows 4.5
Posts: 13

Rep: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation:
Would you recommend the product? yes | Price you paid?: None indicated | Rating: 6

Pros: Loading was easy. Easier to access internet via DSL than Win2k by a country mile
Cons: Lot's of problems recognising hard ware, getting streaming video and generally a bit slow (KDE on my old K6-2).


I installed SuSE 9 Prof on Saturday. Today is Thursday and I am rather regretting Installing this version. Initially I was overjoyed to be free of MS Windows, linux ran and found all my hardware. Then the snags started to show up.
When I booted up on Sunday SuSE decided it didn’t like my Ricoh MP5240A-SK DVD RW. For love nor money, nothing to date has worked.
Trying to get access to the installed Win 2k has been futile. I tried the ‘chainloader’ stuff in the admin handbook, but obviously useful tips have been left out, or at least a reference to a section that would explain the issues involved more thoroughly is sorely missed. This is perhaps most disappointing because I could get Windows to show up as a choice when booting, but that’s it.
An important reason I decided to jump to linux now was that my girlfriend has joined me in Germany for the last 10 months, but doesn’t speak the language and doesn’t intend to learn….just yet. Consequently she tortures herself by checking out what the English speaking world can expect to enjoy at the movies by watching the trailers on the internet (Germany gets a fraction of the available movies, Malaysia gets more!). Windows crashed on a regular basis due to conflicts between the English OS and the German DSL software. This caused HUGE amounts of disturbance to the domestic tranquility. Well guess what? Under SuSE I can’t get any video! Out of the frying pan and into the fire. As a beginner to linux I figure that SuSE 9 will require me to spends weeks getting things sorted. Reading some previous reviews, it would seem that I would have been much better off going for 8.2 off the bat. And I would have saved a bundle to €77 for 9 and €18 for 8.2! Live and learn!
My advice: If you’re new. Save some time and agro and money and go for 8.2 and wait until 9 gets sorted.
 
Old 02-09-2004, 03:30 PM   #8
moridon77
 
Registered: Feb 2004
Distribution: Mandrake 10 official, FreeBSD, and trying to get Gentoo working (sounds like it may be the ultimate)
Posts: 40

Rep: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation:
Would you recommend the product? yes | Price you paid?: None indicated | Rating: 0

Pros:
Cons:


i havent yet installed it but i have suse 9.0 for 64. do any of you know anything about it? and did you have trouble running it on a dual boot with xppro?
 
Old 02-11-2004, 03:19 PM   #9
paul.nel
 
Registered: Nov 2003
Distribution: Gentoo, Redhat 9, SuSE 9.0, 9.2, Win XP
Posts: 149

Rep: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation:
Would you recommend the product? yes | Price you paid?: $100.00 | Rating: 9

Pros: YaST, Professional feel, Easy Install, Easy Configuring almost everything
Cons: A bit too easy ?


Coming from red hat which I always thought was one of teh easier distros to work with, I was hugely surprised by the ease with which SuSE 9 pro installed and configured. Everything from XMMS to Samba was as easy as YaST. I basically switched it on and it was up and running on myu network and talking to both Linux machiens and Windows machines.

Sometimes I feel it is jsut too easy, but then is this not what the market is wanting from Linux ?

If you are not overly into command line and file editing to get things going, this is worth a shot. I think SuSE is really challenging for the desktop market with this product.

And it ships with OO 1.1!

Anyway, I'll still get my command line kick from teh other distros. This one is for relaxing with.
 
Old 02-15-2004, 07:34 PM   #10
dkpw
 
Registered: Sep 2003
Distribution: LinuxMint16 & Ubuntu 12.0.4 LTS
Posts: 218

Rep: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation:
Would you recommend the product? yes | Price you paid?: None indicated | Rating: 8

Pros: YAST2 makes SuSE easy to install, confgure and update.
Cons: Some driver issues


I'm a network manager of a Novell NetWare network with 100 clients using Macs and PCs. At home I use Macs.

Having made the move to Mac OS X some years back, I was keen to discover more about Unix, as I had heard it would be the source for OS X. After some research, I liked what I had learnt and became convinced that OS X was the way to go on Macs and Linux on PCs. Like many Novell and Mac users I am not one of Microsoft's biggest fans.

Before turning to SuSE, I would like to digress with a brief mention of Yellow Dog Linux, a version of Red Hat compiled to run on PowerPC processors. My first distribution was YDL 2.3, installed on a venerable Beige G3. The results were disappointing. Yes, I could run Apache, yes I could set up ProFTPd as an FTP server but day to day desktop tasks were jittery and nowhere near as smooth as OS 9. However an upgrade to YDL 3.0 made all the difference. This version is fast, speedy and reliable. I would recommend it to anyone out there with some old (or new) Mac kit – wanting to try Linux.

I was however frustrated with YDL as it did not have all of the applications I would like to run. There is sometimes a long wait for PPC ports. So I decided to buy a cheap PC from eBay and try Red Hat 9.0. Just before I started down that road news broke of Novell's purchase of SuSE Linux. As the network I administer is NetWare based, it made a lot of sense to move to SuSE and forego any time spent on investigating Red Hat. So several auctions on eBay later, I had a Compaq P3/500 (£80), a monitor (£20) a copy of SuSE Pro 9.0 on 5 CDs (£5.00) and a 256MB SIMM (£35). £140 for an entire system not bad.

I was impressed from the start. The memory check utility discovered that the 128MB SIMM which came with the PC was no good. Luckily I had the 256MB to fit and I went for another one from Crucial. After checking the memory, I went for a full install, I mean everything! I had a 40GB hard drive and a test machine so why not.

The install went very smoothly. It detected my monitor, network card, mouse, network, picked up the DHCP settings from the router and was on-line performing an extensive update after the final CD was finished. However I realised that there were a couple of issues. First the built-in sound card was not detected and my Nvidia GeForce 2MX was not shown as having 3D capabilities. The sound card is not important as I primarily want to test SuSE as an office desktop / server rather than a multimedia PC. The graphics card was more urgent and after downloads from Nvidia and much fiddling in the X11 config files I have not yet got 3D graphics working. I do have the card working to an acceptable level for most things.

One of the best things about SuSE Linux has to be YAST2. This one application allows you to configure hardware, add or remove software, change network settings and monitor system performance. It is a massively helpful tool for both new and advanced users.

There is masses of software accompanying SuSE Linux. However I felt the need to download some old favourites not included in the distribution. FireFox is my browser of choice. For e-Mail I use Evolution, as there will shortly be some useful plug-ins from Novell which will allow Evolution to act as a client for GroupWise. Until that happens the beta Cross Platform version of GroupWise does very nicely. Seti is there and of course Webmin, ProfTPd, and Apache 1.3.29.

During the install you can select Apache 2 or 1.3.28 as your web server. I personally prefer 1.3 and want the latest version. As I had installed everything, I went to YAST and told it to uninstall all of the Apache modules. A download and a manual compile later and I have the server of my choice. Nice and easy as it should be. Although I should point out that unless you go with Apache 2 you will not be able to use the HTTP Server settings in YAST2 to configure your 1.3 Apache server.

So after about three weeks of using SuSE Linux every evening I would give it 8/10. The graphics card issue made me jump through some hoops. The lack of any other sound than a BEEP is irritating and now and again, the system forgets I have a wheel mouse and stops wheel scrolling. I have had only had one complete freeze of the entire system in that time. This was caused by the Beta version of GroupWise trying to connect to my WebAccess server as a proxy user. I would recommend maxing out your system's RAM and using a fast hard drive. This should speed things up nicely and if you do have to use VM on the hard drive it can cope with it at speed.

I have been impressed with the speed and reliability of the system. The version of Open Office included is a very nice suite of tools, offering full compatibility with MS Office. Another positive was when SuSE automatically detected and mounted my Crucial USB Flash drive. I can browse my Mac network with ease using Netatalk, in both directions. I can web and FTP serve at the same time as performing office and e-mail activities.

My evaluation of SuSE is positive. I have not experimented with multimedia, CD burning etc. as my intention was to see how well SuSE could be used as a server and as a corporate desktop. In this regard things are looking good. I would say that it will not be too long before some of my users in the office will be booting up a SuSE Linux desktop soon.
 
Old 02-16-2004, 03:35 AM   #11
Minigun_Fiend
 
Registered: Feb 2004
Posts: 1

Rep: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation:
Would you recommend the product? yes | Price you paid?: None indicated | Rating: 8

Pros: Smooth, slick, good looking & easy to install
Cons: Some annoying bugs, i.e. menuing system


This may seem odd to you but I am only 13.
I have been using Linux for about 2 years now and started with a LiveEval of SuSE 7.2.
Although I have used various other distros in those 2 years I still always go back to SuSE because it is, in my opinion, one of the best linux distros out there.
The installation is simple to set up (the usual stuff; language, hardware etc)and once started you can just leave it to get on with it (unless, like me, you had memory problems and the install crashed frequently, but once I got some new RAM it worked fine).
However, there are some niggling problems, such as the fact that it is as-yet to support my radeon 9200se, but i assume this will be supported next release. The other thing I noticed was the bugs in the menuing system which meant that when installing programs off the discs; more often than not they didnt appear in the menus, but one of the advantages of linux over windows is that you dont have to wait a good 5 years for a new release so everything I complain about will probably be fixed within a month or two :-D

All in all a brilliant distro that I would reccomend to anyone who uses linux, or even a newbie!
(I haven't really read the manuals at all but I know how to do most important things and it means I learn in the best way possible: practically.)

Final Thought: BUY IT IF YOU CAN!
 
Old 02-21-2004, 08:56 PM   #12
Present
 
Registered: Jan 2004
Distribution: suse/slack/gentoo/lfs (not-in-that-order)
Posts: 281

Rep: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation:
Would you recommend the product? yes | Price you paid?: $70.00 | Rating: 8

Pros: Easy Install, Good System Control Module (YAST)
Cons: Customer Support


We are transitioning our small business to Linux, and wanted a Distro to get us off MS products until we had better Linux expertise to administer a more efficient distro (Slack/LFS/etc).

Has servered the purpose remarkably well. Had a little trouble with Wireless LAN (only problem we had), but ethernet works perfectly. It is running on 3 machines now, with 2 more to come shortly, and we are already starting to dual boot to Slack/LFS on the first systems we installed.

It is an excellent "jumping off" point, if you don't mind paying for Linux.
 
Old 02-25-2004, 04:51 AM   #13
jnicol
 
Registered: Oct 2003
Distribution: Currently Suse 9
Posts: 7

Rep: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation:
Would you recommend the product? yes | Price you paid?: None indicated | Rating: 9

Pros: Yet easy to configure, Very good laptop support
Cons: Some minor conflicts


I upgraded from 8.2 to my desktop PC and also installed it to my laptop, an HP Pavillion.
I would like to mention that everything worked fine instantly on the laptop and is the first distro that I've seen that in many years. On the desktop PC I had only to download the NVIDIA drivers from their website and then I configured it with sax2. No problemo at all so far!
I had only minor problems (on the desktop) with the mousewheel, sometimes functioning and sometimes not, but i've fixed it manually from information I found on this very forum.
Some other problems arose with kdebase3-Suse when I installed KDE 3.2, but I solved the majority of them so far. And I know ok, KDE 3.2 is not included in the distro, so that fact doesn't make it a disfunctional distro.
However, by installing the latest KDE I understood that the KDM of 3.1 had some problems, which were solved with 3.2. Although I had installed enlightment it wasn;t shown anywhere in the windom managers list. with 3.2 this was fixed, but now Gnome is not shown.
Overal Suse 9 Professional is a very good distro!
 
Old 03-01-2004, 06:18 AM   #14
ianunderwood
 
Registered: Apr 2003
Distribution: SuSE 9.2, VectorLinux 3.2
Posts: 68

Rep: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation:
Would you recommend the product? yes | Price you paid?: D/L | Rating: 8

Pros: easy install and post-install config
Cons: lengthy download


There are already plenty of reviews in this section, but I thought I'd add one more, since I didn't actually *buy* my version of SuSE.

My first encounter with SuSE 9.0 (also my first encounter with SuSE) was a few months ago when I performed a network install on an old PII 450Mhz. I used my agonizingly slow BB connection (20-30KB p/s), and hence the installation took about 24 hours (mainly unattended!). The results were pretty good, but I ran into a problem with the GATOS drivers (necessary for tvtime) for my ancient ATI graphics card (which worked fine under Red Hat 9), and gave up without a great deal of effort, and went back to RH.

Since then, however, I've bought a new Shuttle XPC, to which I added a 3Ghz P4, 1GB RAM and an Nvidia GeForce 4 MX440 128GB. I've continued to use the crappy on-board AC97 sound. Shuttle bundle their systems with Mandrake 9, and this works perfectly with the Shuttle (as you would expect). I've used Mandrake quite happily for the past few weeks, but an apparent bug with the package manager has meant that I was unable to install qt properly (infuriating dependencies issue which I won't go into). Therefore, I wanted to try a different distro. I decided to try SuSE once more -- this time with more uptodate hardware.

With a bit of reading, I discovered that a network install is not the only alternative to buying SuSE. It is possible to make a local mirror of the SuSE directory by ftp, and then install from a harddrive. Of course, this means that you need a large partition which you will leave undisturbed during the install. I downloaded the whole directory structure, but omitted the src directory, and the 2.6 kernel files. This came to 3.9GB of download. Only 2 1/2 days later, it had finished. Phew!

As an experiment, I burned the 3.9GB on to a DVD-R. I then created a bootable CD-R from the boot.iso file. This meant that, had I wanted to, I could free up the harddisk space for a clean installation (though, as it happened, the SuSE files were on a secondary hd).

The CD-R booted up, and I selected "Installation". I was then prompted to insert CD1, at which time I inserted my DVD-R. If you use the hd method, you need to press cancel here, and manually select a hd install. (Make sure you know *exactly* where the 9.0 directory is, since you can't browse to the directory). Everything from there was plain sailing.

The following worked out-of-the-box:

CD/DVD burning; internet connection; 2D graphics (see below for 3D); sound system; all installed apps worked except for karchiver, for some reason; kpilot allowed me to sync my palm (although you first need to make a symlink from /dev/pilot to /dev/ttyUSB0); thumb drive is autodetected, and an icon added to the desktop; mozilla 1.4 complete with most common/necessary plugins; openoffice 1.1 (but annoying complaint that java runtime is missing on first run of OO, and the first time you install something with YaST you get a dependencies error, which would be very confusing for a beginner). Basically, it was 95% functional and clean, out of the box.

To get 3D support, I had to download the nvidia driver from the nvidia site. This was very easy to install, and SuSE provide a good amount of info on how to go about this. I then installed Neverwinter Nights (from Tuxgames CD, plus 1.61 update from bioware site), which worked perfectly. I also installed Point2Play. Warcraft III, Warcraft III Frozen Throne, Black & White and Jedi Academy, and these all work perfectly (B&W and JA need to run in winxp mode -- at least for me).

I may still go out and buy this, since I'm so happy with it.

Ian
 
Old 03-01-2004, 07:50 AM   #15
dushkinup
 
Registered: Feb 2004
Distribution: Computer I : Slackware 9.1 ; Computer II : Windows XP
Posts: 144

Rep: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation:
Would you recommend the product? yes | Price you paid?: None indicated | Rating: 10

Pros: 5 CDs packed with packages, many many games, easy to use, excellent hebrew support.
Cons: Costs money, YasT can annoy sometimes and takes forever to load, lack of install-time configuration options.


After trying several distros and gaining expirience - BeOS, Mandrake, Redhat - none of them was as good as SuSE.

The installation process was nice. It probed my hardware and showed them all in a list, pretty comfortable. After setting some netwok parameters it asked me about packages I want to install. It took me 45 minutes just to select the packages I want to install, lots of packages.

The distro itself is great. And even the nVidia drivers, which are a pain in the ass for most linux users are installed automaticaly during the system update.

All of my hardware was supported, everything worked.

Thank you SuSE
 
Page:  1 · 2 · 3 More Items




  



All times are GMT -5. The time now is 11:54 PM.

Main Menu
Advertisement

Advertisement
My LQ
Write for LQ
LinuxQuestions.org is looking for people interested in writing Editorials, Articles, Reviews, and more. If you'd like to contribute content, let us know.
Main Menu
Syndicate
RSS1  Latest Threads
RSS1  LQ News
Twitter: @linuxquestions
identi.ca: @linuxquestions
Facebook: linuxquestions Google+: linuxquestions
Open Source Consulting | Domain Registration