LinuxQuestions.org
Visit the LQ Articles and Editorials section
Go Back   LinuxQuestions.org > Reviews > Distributions > Debian
User Name
Password

Notices

Search · Register · Submit New Review · Download your favorite Linux Distributions ·
 

Debian Woody 3.0r1
Reviews Views Date of last review
6 31199 03-31-2006
spacer
Recommended By Average Price Average Rating
83% of reviewers $15.00 6.3



Description: Debian, is small when u want to run it as just a simple server
Keywords: debian why use


Author
Post A Reply 
Old 10-16-2003, 09:15 AM   #1
DjRedMar
 
Registered: Oct 2003
Distribution: Debian GNU/Linux 3.0 r1 & r3 & Ubuntut 6.06
Posts: 36

Rep: Reputation:
Would you recommend the product? yes | Price you paid?: D/L | Rating: 6

Pros: u can do almost everything with dpkg and lots of packages supported
Cons: can be a little weird to install some packages...



Well,

A while ago i wanted to setup an ftp server under Debian, some people told me to use it, becuase of:

- Stability
- u don't have to worry about GUI
- Good support

So i started downloading my Debain non-us cd, and installed it from cd. After a few menu's it was startint the installation.

When the installation was done, i did get a little menu's with config, and our system is installed with not much softawre. would you like to use tasksel (programs and services provided on cd) or dslelect (dpkg) a large database with lots of software and libraries and stuff.

I was holey new... didn't knew what to install else but ftp. So i downloaded the FAQ from glftpd, and i installed based on the readme.

That worked perfect, and right now i want to use another system as desktop, but it's very hard to get some things working...

But i like it very much when i find problems how to solve it... So i would use debian if u have the same idea's like me :)
 
Old 12-25-2003, 10:48 AM   #2
hus
 
Registered: Dec 2003
Distribution: Mandriva 10.0,Fedora Core 4
Posts: 79

Rep: Reputation: Reputation:
Would you recommend the product? yes | Price you paid?: None indicated | Rating: 4

Pros: Many tools and software package in CD and many document from internet.
Cons: Unstable and difficult to install


I install it in my old PC.
many question during install make me ????
After install I have many promblem.
X is not work and some package not install correctly
If you are newbie I don't recommend this.

#New for Linux & English
#Hussachai Puripunpinyo
#Bangkok
 
Old 02-12-2004, 04:30 PM   #3
bavarian
 
Registered: Dec 2003
Distribution: Mandrake 10.1, Fedora3, DamnSmall 0.7.2
Posts: 50

Rep: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation:
Would you recommend the product? yes | Price you paid?: D/L | Rating: 8

Pros: very light but lots of packages--great! quick setup
Cons: boot floppy thing can be quite confusing


i came to debian by a friend's recommendation. the target machine was my old p133 workstation with two hard drives on it, so i could use one for my linux attempts. the second hard disk has about 1,2gb space, so it had to be a small distro. but as the cpu has 128mbram, there was no urge to use something supersmall like vector or even dsl.

like in all distros, there's a special debian routine for creating and using boot disks which has to be checked before installation, if the cdrom won't boot. i was surprised by the relative ease of the installation itself. it just asks the usual questions, and everyone who tried slack or vector before shouldn't have any probs doing the installation.

the only thing that was a bit tricky was setting up the mouse. it had worked fine with every distro i used before, so it took some time for me until i recognized a thing called _mounseconfig_. yeah, using one's brain could solve much problems ...
setting up the gui was easy. i always had problems before except with suse

i was also surprised by the huge amount of software that can be installed much faster than with any other distro i know. and what's best: it doesn't take much disk space! you want to use kde? koffice? no problem, even with that small disk, it leaves enough space for work.

i strongly recommend debian for people who look for a small distro with much stuff on it. but there should be enough ram, like always. my other machine with 32mbram doesn't really like debian ... redhat ... slack ...

so if you want to know how much exactly, here's my suggestion:

about 1,5gb hard disk space
min. pentium cpu
min. 64mbram

debian is a light, stable distro w the most usual stuff. i like it, but it didn't blow me off the chair--as vector and redhat 9 did.

have fun!
 
Old 05-25-2004, 07:07 PM   #4
BorisMcHack
 
Registered: May 2004
Distribution: debian sarge
Posts: 65

Rep: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation:
Would you recommend the product? yes | Price you paid?: $15.00 | Rating: 7

Pros: great documentation + software range + nice little command line tools
Cons: software far too outdated


When I first ventured into the Linux world in 2001, I tried RedHat7.2 but did not like it nor had any idea how to get things working.
Debian seemed to have a good reputation except for the difficulty of the install, but I decided to try it as I wanted to learn.

As a total Linux Newbie I probably partitioned and installed around 5 or six times in the first couple of Months of trying to use Potato, despite the frustration the experience was enjoyable, I felt like I was getting back to computing after years of MS Wingdohs.

In the two years I've been using Debian (stable) it's opened up so much of the Web which I'd never seen before, there is a lot of documentation with Debian and it's not all computer related such as the anarchy FAQ(?)

Nice touchs are command line tools like cdeject and not having to close the CD drawer before issuing a mount command. Little things like that I've found missing in other less extensive distros.

My biggest problem though with Debian is the old software. Some of it is so old that the newer versions are more stable and complete IMHO, especially on the multimedia/audio front. So I spent a lot of my time downloading on a windows machine and transfering via cd and compiling packages.

I like dselect, but it can be a pain when I've compiled a package from source and have to include the old version to satisfy dependancies.

I've recently removed Debian 3.0 from my machine as I'm just fed up with the outdated software. (now moved to slackware9.1 after a brief flourish with mandrake10) I still like Debian, and no doubt go back to it some time.
 
Old 05-05-2005, 08:43 PM   #5
Matir
 
Registered: Nov 2004
Distribution: Ubuntu
Posts: 8,507

Rep: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation:
Would you recommend the product? no | Price you paid?: D/L | Rating: 3

Pros: Ease of Use
Cons: Updates


I dislike Debian for one simple reason: no product updates. I am concerned even about security for their lack of/delay in updating packages. New software versions, IMHO, are critical to any production system.
 
Old 03-31-2006, 10:33 AM   #6
TheHeartSmasher
 
Registered: Nov 2005
Distribution: Debian 3.1r0a
Posts: 2

Rep: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation:
Would you recommend the product? yes | Price you paid?: None indicated | Rating: 10

Pros: Stable, Reliable, has everything you need
Cons: none


With this you can go from a home business to an enteriprise class datacenter. It has everything you need, supports packages, it's stable if you download and install everything correctly :linux26 on the boot menu will help alot;
 




  



All times are GMT -5. The time now is 12:04 AM.

Main Menu
Advertisement

My LQ
Write for LQ
LinuxQuestions.org is looking for people interested in writing Editorials, Articles, Reviews, and more. If you'd like to contribute content, let us know.
Main Menu
Syndicate
RSS1  Latest Threads
RSS1  LQ News
Twitter: @linuxquestions
identi.ca: @linuxquestions
Facebook: linuxquestions Google+: linuxquestions
Open Source Consulting | Domain Registration