LinuxQuestions.org
Did you know LQ has a Linux Hardware Compatibility List?
Go Back   LinuxQuestions.org > Reviews > Books > Programming
User Name
Password

Notices

Search · Register · Submit New Review · Download your favorite Linux Distributions ·
 

Accellerated C++: Practical Programming by Example
Reviews Views Date of last review
4 23502 01-28-2009
spacer
Recommended By Average Price Average Rating
100% of reviewers $32.00 8.0
spacer


Description: This book starts teaching C++ without teaching C first. As opposed to normal methods by books, Accellerated C++ starts right off using the STL and other C++ features.
Keywords: Accellerated C++ Practical Programming Example Koenig Moo Stroustrup
Publisher: Addison Wesley
ISBN: 0-201-70353-X


Author
Post A Reply 
Old 03-18-2005, 06:05 AM   #1
scuzzman
 
Registered: May 2004
Distribution: Slackware, Kubuntu
Posts: 1,851

Rep: Reputation:
Would you recommend the product? yes | Price you paid?: $32.00 | Rating: 10

Pros: Starts right off teaching excellent techniques
Cons:



In the first few chapters of this book, I feel as though I'm more confident with C++ than ever before. The programming techniques this book teaches will make better programmers out of anyone, by starting off using the STL, not teaching C first. This also allows one to get a batter grasp on the language and its important features faster.
 
Old 05-10-2005, 06:10 PM   #2
surgey
 
Registered: May 2005
Posts: 7

Rep: Reputation: Reputation:
Would you recommend the product? yes | Price you paid?: None indicated | Rating: 8

Pros: Clear, Structured teaching technique. Easy(er) learning curve
Cons:


Got this book a couple of weeks ago and am about half way through. It is very well written, not one of those tutorials where you have to read entire sections over and over till you get the concepts. As a newbie to programming in general i'd highly reccomend it as an introduction to this subject.
 
Old 05-02-2007, 10:12 PM   #3
jaepi
 
Registered: Apr 2007
Distribution: Ubuntu
Posts: 189

Rep: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation:
Would you recommend the product? yes | Price you paid?: None indicated | Rating: 0

Pros:
Cons:


i do have this book, but i have'nt read it yet...hehehe...i've heared that you'll learn the language easily and in a small span of time... :D
 
Old 01-28-2009, 01:36 PM   #4
neilcpp
 
Registered: Jul 2003
Distribution: Debian Wheezy, FreeBSD 10.0 anything *nix to get my fix
Posts: 328

Rep: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation:
Would you recommend the product? yes | Price you paid?: None indicated | Rating: 6

Pros:
Cons:


This was one of a long line of books i bought to try and learn C++. I worked my way through it. I found the exercises challenging, but the 'student grading problem' example problem did feel a bit boring for me.

I did get a lot from this book, but it did NOT turn me into a C++ guru. It gave me a good introduction to the language. I felt the book was superior to others that I had attempted to follow because it was very brief and to the point.

I think that if you do invest in this book, you will take something positive away from it, but your expectations should be tempered a little. The knowledge you gain will set you up nicely for another C++ book. I am convinced that there is no single book that turns someone into a master programmmer. If there was such a book - this sure would come close in my opinion.
 




  



All times are GMT -5. The time now is 11:08 AM.

Main Menu
Advertisement

My LQ
Write for LQ
LinuxQuestions.org is looking for people interested in writing Editorials, Articles, Reviews, and more. If you'd like to contribute content, let us know.
Main Menu
Syndicate
RSS1  Latest Threads
RSS1  LQ News
Twitter: @linuxquestions
identi.ca: @linuxquestions
Facebook: linuxquestions Google+: linuxquestions
Open Source Consulting | Domain Registration