LinuxQuestions.org
Download your favorite Linux distribution at LQ ISO.
Go Back   LinuxQuestions.org > Reviews > Distributions > Red Hat
User Name
Password

Notices

Search · Register · Submit New Review · Download your favorite Linux Distributions ·
 

Red Hat Enterprise Linux 4 -- Workstation version
Reviews Views Date of last review
9 45741 03-22-2008
spacer
Recommended By Average Price Average Rating
78% of reviewers $300.00 7.1



Description: Fourth major release of RHEL Workstation version includes advanced security features (SELinux), many bug fixes (but still not enough of them), updated KDE and Gnome, and more
Keywords: Red Hat Enterprise RHEL


Author
Post A Reply 
Old 03-16-2005, 01:49 PM   #1
raellis
 
Registered: Feb 2005
Distribution: Red Hat Enterprise WS 3
Posts: 17

Rep: Reputation:
Would you recommend the product? no | Price you paid?: D/L | Rating: 4

Pros: advanced security, updates of KDE, Gnome, Open Office, etc.
Cons: Advanced security, seems buggy



Clean install from downloaded CD/DVD images. Red Hat EL-WS3 misconfigures Radeon 9600 Pro video cards, crashing system as soon as X window systems try to load; problem has NOT been fixed in WS4 despite claim of Red Hat Bugzilla to the contrary. Fix is feasible but many people may not be able to handle it (contact me directly at raellis@earthlink.net if you would like info on this issue). Once video was fixed, developed instant intense dislike for SELinux (Security Enhanced Linux). Took only one hour to learn how to disable the enhanced security features, which makes me wonder how much of an improvement it really is. Did not care for newer release of KDE, but that is probably just a quibble. Upgrade to Gnome (to 1.8, I think) is nice and not easy to achieve in other ways. Repeated problems with inability to shut system down cleanly.

I like Red Hat as a source vendor and expect to stick with them, but I think RHEL WS4 needs more work on their end. I've reverted back to WS3. Note that an effect of the WS4 install was to change my update channel at Red Hat, and I am discovering that it is not easy to revert back.
 
Old 03-17-2005, 06:39 AM   #2
raellis
 
Registered: Feb 2005
Distribution: Red Hat Enterprise WS 3
Posts: 17

Rep: Reputation: Reputation:
Would you recommend the product? yes | Price you paid?: None indicated | Rating: 0

Pros:
Cons:


Addenum to review of RHEL WS4 posted yesterday:

Red Hat now has devised ways to revert update subscriptions and so that problem has been solved. I must say, despite my qualms about WS4, Red Hat sure knows how to respond fast and effectively when you let them know that there are problems.
 
Old 04-18-2005, 11:51 PM   #3
winsnomore
 
Registered: May 2004
Distribution: #1 PCLinuxOS -- for laughs -> Ubuntu, Suse, Mepis
Posts: 315

Rep: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation:
Would you recommend the product? yes | Price you paid?: D/L | Rating: 9

Pros: Very well designed distro
Cons: Some struggle to setup hardware, yum is archaic


Well it's really CentOS I am wrinting about.
Centos 4,.0 is RHEL 4.0 so I think the review is pertinent.
It is one of the cleanest and stable distro, dumb things like fonts etc. are done correctly.
I did have minor setup problems as it didn't recognise my monitor/SIS card etc. .. and I had to set them by hand.
Install time was about 25 minutes, Anaconda is dated but it works most of the time. The hard disk partiontioning is very brain dead (MUST provide a mount point to craeat a partition )
It defaults to Gnome and some scripts have simple bugsnd will only work for gnome users. T o use KDE I had to hack around some VERY basic stuff in /etc/X11

I upgraded the default KDE 3.3 to KDE 3.4 and am very happy with the aesthetics.
I also upgarded the openoffice to 2.0 rather easily.

Yum is very brain dead as it has no memory to speak of,
Without paying a kings ransom that's all you can get.
Default with RHEL is up2date and I coudn't get it work under Centos. Again I am not sure up2date is any better, it's user-interface is a generation behind synaptic, and it's logic about a lightyear in the wrong direction.
One Minor gripe is about the UID for the users: RHEL starts at 500 and if you aren't carefull you could create a lot of headache for yourself if you are trying to coexist with Debian or other distro's that start the UID at 1000.
I wish everyone agreed on one or ther other number.

Overall it's an excellent distro for a number of reasons:
1. It's fast ..much better than FC2/3/Suse/Mandrake.
2. Plenty of stuff is available as straight RPM's .. better than slac or gentoo type distro's where you might struggle for packages.
3. Basic stuff is done right and would cover most users e.g.
it worked fine when I switched to a LCD monitor.
Mepis fonts were all messed up (need anti-aliasing fonts).
4. Clean easy to understand setups - quiet open environment

use it .. you will like it ..
 
Old 12-06-2005, 05:57 AM   #4
John_Kyatt
 
Registered: Sep 2004
Distribution: Linux Mint Debian Edition (main PC and laptop)
Posts: 19

Rep: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation:
Would you recommend the product? yes | Price you paid?: None indicated | Rating: 8

Pros: Stable, tech support is good, has all the software required
Cons: Installation is buggy and counter-intuitive


Moving up from RHEL WS3 to WS4 was not easy, and registering the system was a nightmare. The initial performance was exceptionally slow, but a patient RH person helped to work through the problems. Now that the installation blues are ancient history, the system is very stable and a pleasure to use. You need to be wary updating kernel versions, as up2date can result in kernel panics for some reason. Command line installation is the way to go. The only remaining problem is that there is very little support by 3rd parties for 64 bit machines, eg Flash Player, but that isn't RH's fault.
 
Old 02-10-2006, 06:27 AM   #5
alishariefm
 
Registered: Feb 2006
Posts: 1

Rep: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation:
Would you recommend the product? yes | Price you paid?: None indicated | Rating: 4

Pros: Configuring Sendmail
Cons:


Hi,
Could any body help me in configuring sendmail in Linux I had configure sendmail at a maximum but later on the messages never used reach the users mailbox.Pls help me in configuring sendmail

Sharief
 
Old 04-21-2006, 01:26 PM   #6
pradeepmenon777
 
Registered: Jan 2004
Distribution: Ubuntu 8.04
Posts: 122

Rep: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation:
Would you recommend the product? yes | Price you paid?: None indicated | Rating: 7

Pros: Ample applications, Stable versions of apps, Clean and Neat
Cons: Instability with usage , Memory management is poor


What I found with RHEL is the availability of ample direct rpms in cd. I do not know the situation in Debian , but it was much better than in Mandrake . Also , I found the GNOME to be impressively clean and neat . Everything looked standardised , except for the few machine crashes after 2 days of uptime and extensive use of GUI.
Do not know the reason behind it . Have to google it out soon. Nice product this for the workstation excluding the GUI.
 
Old 05-02-2006, 07:30 PM   #7
eyes_on_the_net
 
Registered: May 2006
Distribution: Red Hat ES 4
Posts: 2

Rep: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation:
Would you recommend the product? yes | Price you paid?: None indicated | Rating: 9

Pros: Tech support was great!
Cons: figuring out the channels for support was weird


This is mostly for the tech support from Red Hat.

We had a guy at work that handled the Red Hat stuff and he left. We bought the upgrade from RH ES3 to ES4. It was months before I got around to installing it and in the time between purchase and install the email with the reg code had been lost. Contacted Red Hat and spoke to two agents that spoke English as their native language and were very helpful. They did the research and sent the reg code to me via email the next day. I was very impressed. I am a new Linux user but the tech support was great.
 
Old 01-28-2008, 06:42 AM   #8
Alex2008
 
Registered: Jan 2008
Posts: 0

Rep: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation:
Would you recommend the product? yes | Price you paid?: None indicated | Rating: 10

Pros:
Cons:


RHEL4 may look familiar to everyday Linux users because Red Hat has been investing heavily in its community-supported spin-off, Fedora, Red Hatís original Red Hat Linux line. RHEL4 was developed from a Fedora Core 3 release candidate version.

------------------------------
Truffles & Creams
 
Old 03-22-2008, 03:22 PM   #9
cmnorton
 
Registered: Feb 2005
Distribution: Ubuntu, CentOS
Posts: 585

Rep: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation:
Would you recommend the product? no | Price you paid?: $300.00 | Rating: 6

Pros: reliable installation that easily allows expert mode, long support life, many support options
Cons: rigid support, aggressive sales, does not play well with CUPS


I have checked No as the answer to Would you recommend the product?, but I need to elaborate. We have Red Hat EL 4, because one of our vendors says they will only support their application on RH EL 4.

Here is what I like about Red Hat.

1) The installation is good. It is uniform and predictable, and you can easily get into expert configuration mode or take defaults.

2) Red Hat supports a release for quite a while, ten years was the answer I got when I asked about four years ago.

3) There are many support options, and you are backed by a large company, and Red Hat is strong in the commercial sector.

4) Menus are laid out nicely. It is easy to control services from the GUI.

Here is what I do not like about Red Hat.

1) My experience with installing RH EL 4 on new hardware was the installation would not complete (after the final reboot), until I had an entitlement number. To me, this was punitive. Even Microsoft allows you to install and then put in a license within a few days or weeks. (I've forgotten the exact interval).

2) Support is strongly rule-based, script-driven, and basically if your problem is right here and your solution is over there, then my experience has taught me that you cannot get over there from here. RH EL is fine if you have a vanilla setup.

3) Sales is getting aggressive. I actually have too many entitlements, because they are sold as two for one price. I am bombarded with calls and emails to renew one entitlement without those same people looking to see that we've already purchased additional entitlements this year.

4) RH EL is a disaster working with CUPS, specifically the menu-based Printer Administration. We have many, many printers scattered throughout our town. Very few Genicom and Data Products line printers are left, but I would not expect a printer configuration tool to overwrite the description field and reset printer port numbers back to 9100, especially when the printer ports happen to be a value like 10001.

We use only CUPS's web interface for printer configuration. It's a shame, because I like Red Hat's printer configuration app's look and feel.

Fedora and Ubuntu have managed to work nicely with CUPS' web interface. Red Hat would do well to do the same.
 




  



All times are GMT -5. The time now is 05:17 AM.

Main Menu

My LQ
Write for LQ
LinuxQuestions.org is looking for people interested in writing Editorials, Articles, Reviews, and more. If you'd like to contribute content, let us know.
Main Menu
Syndicate
RSS1  Latest Threads
RSS1  LQ News
Twitter: @linuxquestions
identi.ca: @linuxquestions
Facebook: linuxquestions Google+: linuxquestions
Open Source Consulting | Domain Registration