LinuxQuestions.org
Visit Jeremy's Blog.
Go Back   LinuxQuestions.org > Reviews > Distributions > Damn Small Linux
User Name
Password

Notices

Search · Register · Submit New Review · Download your favorite Linux Distributions ·
 

Damn Small Linux 0.9.3
Reviews Views Date of last review
4 39139 09-02-2005
spacer
Recommended By Average Price Average Rating
100% of reviewers None indicated 8.3
1dsl-0_9_3.png
supersize


Description: Damn Small Linux is a business card size (50MB) bootable Live CD Linux distribution. Despite its minuscule size it strives to have a functional and easy to use desktop.
Keywords: livecd usb


Author
Post A Reply 
Old 02-05-2005, 07:12 PM   #1
hilikus19
 
Registered: Feb 2004
Distribution: Slackware 10, Fedora Core 3, Debian 3.0rc4
Posts: 18

Rep: Reputation:
Would you recommend the product? yes | Price you paid?: D/L | Rating: 7

Pros: fast, easy install to hard drive, fluxbox
Cons: perl dosent run too good for me



it is very small, and fast for old computers. but what i wanted to use it for is some perl scripts that required the IRC component. so i had to install extra packages to install perl and even the "make" command. i found it very weird that the make command did not come already installed. well, when i got thoes installed i tryed to: perl -MCPAN -e shell and that worked fine, then i went, INSTALL POE::COMPONENT::IRC and it would go pretty far then it would give me errors that the make command could not be found and it would say its impossible to install without the make command. the same thing happend for install Bundle::POE , i think it was. i ended up installing debian, which was very fast and everything worked. this may be a good os for other people, but the one thing i needed didnt want to work for me.
 
Old 03-24-2005, 04:04 AM   #2
 
Registered: Dec 1969
Posts: 0

Rep: Reputation: Reputation:
Would you recommend the product? yes | Price you paid?: D/L | Rating: 9

Pros: Small, fast downloads. Easy setup.
Cons:


For me the easy, reliable setup and use of this distro is a definate plus. I have used DSL as a "rescue" system and to verify hardware function several times. I usually use Fedora however, Core 3 has audio problems on the laptop I use for general experimentation here. DSL is my fallback distro when I want to use my Toshibe Tecra 8100 laptop for casual listening of streaming mp3's. It is also a fine distribution to use to show a windows user the positive aspects of linux, and the fact that it can be installed onto small cd's is a bonus too.

In my opinion it's a "Damn Fine Distro".

 
Old 04-01-2005, 09:54 PM   #3
aznboi12321
 
Registered: Feb 2005
Distribution: Fedora Core 3, Damn Small Linux 0.93, Ubuntu 5.10, Mandrake 10.1 Official, Linspire 4.5, SuSE 10.0
Posts: 77

Rep: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation:
Would you recommend the product? yes | Price you paid?: D/L | Rating: 9

Pros: Small(Only 50 Megs!!), Easy to Install
Cons:


Is there a choice for "Hell Yes!!" for you reccomend the product?" Cuz id choose it. This is really useful especially if your like me, and you crash the computer sometimes by messing w/files and then you need to type something really badly, then you can just use this instead cuz you boot it from a CD!
 
Old 09-02-2005, 12:18 PM   #4
kc3387
 
Registered: Aug 2005
Distribution: SimplyMepis 3.3.1, Kanotix, SUSE 10
Posts: 12

Rep: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation:
Would you recommend the product? yes | Price you paid?: None indicated | Rating: 8

Pros: small RAM boot and runs decent on old computers
Cons:


This is another great DSL version. I ran it on and older PC and had internet and XMMS working in a flash. I also tried the USB jumpdrive install. It was a little confusing at first but after doing some research I had it set up and running fine. Its great if you just want to browse the net and works great for listening to music. Its definitely one of the top 2 smaller linux distros. If you wanted to try out Linux before installing it this would be a great start. Good Luck!
 




  



All times are GMT -5. The time now is 08:04 AM.

Main Menu
Advertisement

My LQ
Write for LQ
LinuxQuestions.org is looking for people interested in writing Editorials, Articles, Reviews, and more. If you'd like to contribute content, let us know.
Main Menu
Syndicate
RSS1  Latest Threads
RSS1  LQ News
Twitter: @linuxquestions
identi.ca: @linuxquestions
Facebook: linuxquestions Google+: linuxquestions
Open Source Consulting | Domain Registration