LinuxQuestions.org
Visit Jeremy's Blog.
Go Back   LinuxQuestions.org > Reviews > Books > Programming
User Name
Password

Notices

Search · Register · Submit New Review · Download your favorite Linux Distributions ·
 

The C Programming Language - Second Edition
Reviews Views Date of last review
8 32080 04-12-2007
spacer
Recommended By Average Price Average Rating
100% of reviewers $46.80 9.1
spacer


Description: This book was written by Brain Kernighan & Dennis Richie (One who develeped C).
This book has all you need to know about C.
This book is spcially desinged for using C on an Unix environment.
Keywords: C Programming Language
Publisher: Prentice-Hall
ISBN: 0-13-110362-8


Author
Post A Reply 
Old 01-16-2005, 03:40 AM   #1
kesara
 
Registered: Dec 2004
Distribution: Arch Linux, Gentoo Linux, Ubuntu, Debian
Posts: 116

Rep: Reputation:
Would you recommend the product? yes | Price you paid?: None indicated | Rating: 10

Pros: All you need to know about C.
Cons: none!



A best book to start programming in C for user in any level!
I'm not sure wheter this book is in bookshops now:-(
B'cos this is an old book!
Most probably available in any library!
 
Old 01-16-2005, 10:41 PM   #2
lowpro2k3
 
Registered: Oct 2003
Distribution: Slackware
Posts: 340

Rep: Reputation: Reputation:
Would you recommend the product? yes | Price you paid?: $50.00 | Rating: 8

Pros: Excellent for learning the language
Cons: Not suitable for absolute beginners


I disagree with the above poster about his comment saying "an excellent book for readers of any level". If you have never programmed before, GOOD LUCK learning from this book. Once you understand the concepts of looping, selection structures, basic file I/O, functions, etc... feel free to come back to this work of art and learn the beautifully tight language of C, but I don't feel this is a good book for beginners at all. Thats just my opinion, I think a beginner would get frustrated and give up (but it obviously depends on the person). Its like entirely learning Linux from man and info pages, it *CAN* be done but there are better, more efficient paths to take.
 
Old 01-29-2005, 03:01 PM   #3
OmegaBlac
 
Registered: Aug 2003
Distribution: Ubuntu
Posts: 172

Rep: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation:
Would you recommend the product? yes | Price you paid?: $40.00 | Rating: 9

Pros: This will teach you how to program in C. Also makes a great reference book.
Cons: Newbies programmers may find this book complex and daunting.


Like the previous poster mentioned, this book is not for the beginning programmer. Those that are just started with programming may want to look at another language(like python :) ) or get an easier book on C. The third edition of Beginning C from Apress is a good book for beginner programmers who want to learn C or for those that can't make it through a few pages of K&R2 without their head exploding. I can recall numerous times trying to navigate through the K&R2 book only to put it down out of frustration, only to come back a day, a week, maybe even a couple of months later and finally understand some of the concepts in the book.

That being said I really liked the tutorial section at the beginning. Just dive in straight into language without getting wrapped up in all that boring intro to the language stuff. The Appendix's also provide a great refernce to the language and I refer to it often. In fact, IMO, that the most important part of the book(K&R2) is Appendix A & B. I have found over the time that I have been able to sharpen my C programming skills and have had better understanding of programming in general from reading this book. It is truly the "C Bible".
 
Old 02-01-2005, 02:20 PM   #4
armasnavi
 
Registered: Jan 2005
Distribution: Fedora, SuSE, Mandrake
Posts: 9

Rep: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation:
Would you recommend the product? yes | Price you paid?: None indicated | Rating: 8

Pros: A good book for intermadiate level programmer
Cons: No good choice for start


This is a book for those programmers that have a basic knowldge about programing (Imetrmadiate level) above all programmers that familiar with languages such Pascal that have concept like pointers. I think this book must be read after study books like "Teach yourself C in 21 days".

By the way where I can find source programs of book.
 
Old 02-20-2005, 03:54 PM   #5
Nerox
 
Registered: Jul 2004
Posts: 111

Rep: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation:
Would you recommend the product? yes | Price you paid?: $49.00 | Rating: 8

Pros: Coding style and technique used. It differs from other books
Cons: Not for beginners (with no clue about programming)


This is a good book for learning the C programming language in few pages. However you must know something about programming to understand all exposed there.
 
Old 03-31-2005, 02:43 PM   #6
jonaskoelker
 
Registered: Jul 2004
Distribution: Ubuntu, Debian
Posts: 1,524

Rep: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation:
Would you recommend the product? yes | Price you paid?: $70.00 | Rating: 10

Pros: It does what it's supposed to do.
Cons: That's not what beginners want.


The book attempts to be a relatively brief but thorough "introduction" to C, plus a handy reference manual; it assumes, though, that the reader knows a thing or two about programming.

The reason I put introduction in quotes is that most people think that introductions don't go much in depth. This book does. However, some of the subtleties are probably lost when reading through it the first time. There is only one cure for that: reading it again.

After the journey through this book, which touches various topics such as Unix history, Hashing alogrithms, you'll know everything there is to know about C, plus a thing or two you didn't know about computers.

For first-time programmers, I would recommend either (1) start off by learning python or (2) grab a C tutorial off the net, then go get K&R2.
 
Old 05-25-2005, 06:22 PM   #7
username17
 
Registered: Aug 2004
Distribution: Slackware 11
Posts: 230

Rep: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation:
Would you recommend the product? yes | Price you paid?: $25.00 | Rating: 10

Pros: An excellent C book from "the horses mouth"
Cons: Not newbie friendly


I have wrote a little perl in the past, but I have a good grasp of HTML and CSS.
I started on this book and confused fast, I belive this book is not good for someone who doesn't know the difference between an compiled and interpreted language.
Luckily I had 2 friends who knew C (and one was taught out of this book) so they were available to help. I'm reading a logic book right now, then I'm going to pick the C book back up, there are better resources for someone who has never seen programming before.
If someone does work through the book for the first time, that person will KNOW C.
 
Old 04-12-2007, 03:34 PM   #8
duncan21
 
Registered: Mar 2007
Distribution: LFS
Posts: 4

Rep: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation:
Would you recommend the product? yes | Price you paid?: None indicated | Rating: 10

Pros: Extremely clear and concise, great exercises
Cons: No C99


It's too bad K&R don't update this text for C99, as inline procedures, variables local to for loops, the bool type, and // comments are great additions to C.

Now that I've said everything bad I can think of about this book, on to how great this text is:

The tutorial chapter is incredible. Most textbooks will have you write useless toy programs for what seems like forever. Not K&R. There is maybe one toy you'll write early on, the temperature conversion problem, before you start building systems that are useful in day to day computer use. If you do the exercises from chapter one, you will have written a program to remove comments from a C source file, a C syntax checker, a program to count words, lines, and blanks, programs to convert blanks to tabs and back, a program to strip useless whitespace from the end of each line of input, a program to reverse a file (line by line), and so on. You're learning how to make programs that are actually part of UNIX operating system.

After the magnificient tutorial, the book leads you in-depth into the major parts of C. It's surprisingly readable, despite being thorough enough to serve anyone except for a person needing to write a C compiler.

Some of the other highlights include writing a calculator using a stack, writing your own malloc and free, and parsing C declarations to tell what they're really doing.
 




  



All times are GMT -5. The time now is 04:58 PM.

Main Menu
Advertisement

My LQ
Write for LQ
LinuxQuestions.org is looking for people interested in writing Editorials, Articles, Reviews, and more. If you'd like to contribute content, let us know.
Main Menu
Syndicate
RSS1  Latest Threads
RSS1  LQ News
Twitter: @linuxquestions
identi.ca: @linuxquestions
Facebook: linuxquestions Google+: linuxquestions
Open Source Consulting | Domain Registration