LinuxQuestions.org
Support LQ: Use code LQ3 and save $3 on Domain Registration
Go Back   LinuxQuestions.org > Reviews > Distributions > KNOPPIX
User Name
Password

Notices

Search · Register · Submit New Review · Download your favorite Linux Distributions ·
 

Knoppix 3.7
Reviews Views Date of last review
9 76388 05-31-2005
spacer
Recommended By Average Price Average Rating
100% of reviewers $2.50 9.1



Description: from www.knoppix.net
# Linux-Kernel 2.4.x
# KDE V3.1 as the standard desktop with K Office and the Konqueror WWW-browser konqueror
# X Multimedia System (xmms) an MPEG-video, MP3, Ogg Vorbis Audio player and xine
# Internet connection software kppp,pppoeconf (DSL) and isdn-config
# Gnu Image Manipulation Program (GIMP) Version 1.2
# utilities for data recovery and system repairs, even for other operating systems
# network and security analysis tools for network administrators
# OpenOffice(TM), the GPL-developed version of the well-known StarOffice(TM) office suite
# many programming languages, development tools (including kdevelop) and libraries for developers
# in total more than 900 installed software packages with over 2000 executable user programs, utilities, and games

New for 3.7:

# Lots and lots of package updates
# Kernel 2.4.27 + 2.6.9 (w/ ACPI)
# KDE update: 3.3.1 from Debian/unstable
# FreeNX 0.2.5 (Fabian Franz)
# Java security update (1.4.2_06)
# more supported graphics cards
# isdntool-knoppix for easier text+GUI based ISDN configuration
Keywords: livecd knoppix


Author
Post A Reply 
Old 01-12-2005, 04:16 PM   #1
sphynx
 
Registered: Feb 2002
Distribution: Ubuntu / Gentoo / Whatever
Posts: 67

Rep: Reputation:
Would you recommend the product? yes | Price you paid?: D/L | Rating: 9

Pros: recognized everything on my inspiron 4100, including touchpad and pointer stick
Cons: wireless card was a bit tough to setup, even though it lincludes ndiswrapper



I installed this overtop of a RH 9 partition. I was dual booting between xp and RH 9. It recognized everything on the laptop itself, without any problem. very nice to have use of the touchpad again!

i was a little disappointed that even though it included ndiswrapper, it gave me some trouble. Allbeit, it was probably my fault in using the wrong drivers or something for my WPC54G card, It took several hours of tinkering to get the card to work.

All in all, it's a great distro, with some really nice tools on it. For being a single CD it has just about everything a casual user would want. Every System Admin should have this, or even better, the Knoppix STD in their back pocket.
 
Old 01-16-2005, 08:52 PM   #2
adamt56
 
Registered: Aug 2004
Posts: 10

Rep: Reputation: Reputation:
Would you recommend the product? yes | Price you paid?: None indicated | Rating: 0

Pros:
Cons:


How did you get that wireless card to work? I have the same one . . .
 
Old 01-17-2005, 07:37 AM   #3
browny_amiga
 
Registered: Dec 2001
Distribution: Kubuntu 10.04, Debian Squeeze, Windoze 7
Posts: 512

Rep: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation:
Would you recommend the product? yes | Price you paid?: D/L | Rating: 10

Pros: runs on every hardware, always includes new useful programs (that you did not know before), excellent for system troubleshooting purposes, try out linux without installing it
Cons: kind of slow (since it runs of the cd)


If you don't know Knoppix, you are missing out on a great tool. If you know it already, chances are that you value it greatly. That is, because we all found something in it that we did not know before:
A system that runs directly off a CD, no installing. Knoppix Linux does what cannot be done in Windows (windows cannot be run from a CD independently) and so far has served as my "sanity check" tool for several hardware I asked that questions. A networkcard acting funny on windows? A soundcard malfunctioning? Not sure if it is hardware or software? Pop in Knoppix and get an independent opinion.
Windows crashed and you want to get your data off the HD? Knoppix does it again. The newest version even includes the still somewhat experimental "captive" drivers for reading AND WRITING on a NTFS volume. Did not get it to work yet, but sounds promising.
All this is achived by a heavily compressed image, that in essence enables knoppix to contain more than 1 gb of programs on just 1 cd.
This not only includes several games, a whole open office edition, disk partitioning tools, but also a terminal server. I am probably forgetting many things, and since every release keeps including new things, it is kind of hard to name all of them.
For me, knoppix is an invaluable tool that I always keep handy. I am looking forward to the new DVD edition, which will include a ton of software that just did not fit the CD before.
Knoppix is a brilliant idea that made heads turn and although there are others, it is the original and probably shows what great things can be conceived in the spirit and framework of open source and linux.
 
Old 01-20-2005, 01:40 PM   #4
eldzis
 
Registered: Jan 2005
Distribution: Gentoo...
Posts: 14

Rep: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation:
Would you recommend the product? yes | Price you paid?: D/L | Rating: 8

Pros: everything you need if your pc`s HDD goes down...
Cons: maybe some problems to users with small amount of ram


excellent live-cd, everything you need and mutch more, i have to admit that KNOPPIX saved my "life" several times!
 
Old 02-22-2005, 03:32 AM   #5
Darin
 
Registered: Jan 2003
Distribution: Slackware, SLAX, Gentoo, RH/Fedora
Posts: 1,024

Rep: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation:
Would you recommend the product? yes | Price you paid?: D/L | Rating: 9

Pros: Almost foolproof to set up
Cons: Some hardware quirks and I had problems getting good bits onto a CD


I have some hardware that sometimes requires fixes in Linux, an Intel 810 onboard video, a 3Com 905 and the fixes are a matter of quick config file edits but that's not as simple under Knoppix. To it's saving grace, I will say that it does an amazing job of coming up off the CD-ROM and working "out of the box" with A LOT of hardware. This in itself is a testament to the Knoppix team, and some other distributions should take more notes here.

I had a bear of a time getting the bits onto a CD. I used wget on my slow DSL connection (27k max d/l's, idiot telco don't ask!) and had to re download a couple times before the MD5sum checked out, and then from there it took a couple burns to get the built in CD check to pass it's MD5sum. Your milage may vary, and it may be due to my choice of mirrors. I also did not try the torrent, which I may do next time.

In the end though, it is an excellent distribution, lots of neat utilities and games for the Linux beginner and expert alike. It includes memtest86, so it replaces my old memtest CD-RW as one of the more useful tools in my toolkit!

 
Old 04-24-2005, 10:49 AM   #6
Dreamcast
 
Registered: Jun 2004
Distribution: Ubuntu
Posts: 51

Rep: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation:
Would you recommend the product? yes | Price you paid?: $2.50 | Rating: 8

Pros: very easy to install, non-commercial
Cons: feels a little incomplete


Knoppix is an excellent live CD.

It is also a very solid choice for a hard drive install. In fact, I use it as my primary operating system. However, I seem to change distributions every few weeks.

I like the selection of software. Still, some things seem incomplete. For example, you can not specify your monitor resolution and frequency. Knoppix chooses this for you. As another example, Knoppix includes Kdevelop, yet, you need to visit www.kdevelop.com to view help files and tutorials. Fotunately, Knoppix will have a more complete DVD version in a couple months.

Knoppix also leaves out a significant amount of proprietary software. I personally like this because I believe that software should be free. Some users may miss some of these non-free applications.





 
Old 04-28-2005, 07:36 PM   #7
Robhogg
 
Registered: Sep 2004
Distribution: Debian 7 (mainly)
Posts: 653

Rep: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation:
Would you recommend the product? yes | Price you paid?: None indicated | Rating: 10

Pros: Reliable, simple to set up, good range of software for single disk
Cons: None that I can think of (without getting unreasonable)


I got my copy as an ISO image on the cover-DVD of a magazine, burnt it to a CD-R, and have been raving about it ever since.

I was very surprised at how easily this copes with different hardware configurations (I've run it on 3 systems so far - P3, P4 and Athlon XP). The only slight wobble was it reporting that the oldest system had reported an invalid video mode at start-up, but this made no noticeable difference to the video output. I have found it easy to install two different models of printer (both HP). The Only device I have not managed to get to work is a controllerless modem, but I feel it would be unreasonable to complain here, as SuSE required a downloaded driver to be (compiled and) installed for this.

It has proved very capable network-wise. Accessing a Samba-share via Konqueror is very easy, and I currently have XMMS playing MP3s from a mounted Samba file-system. On my home network, the Ethernet card has to be manually configured, but at work it appeared to have no trouble getting its configuration via DHCP.

In addition, I have found it to be more stable than SuSE. I have not yet used it for long enough to say whether it matches Mac OSX, but I have yet to have a single program crash or system freeze.

As a way of promoting Linux, it is excellent. Easy to use, and with a reasonable range of software. As already stated, it also has its practical uses. I am seriously considering trying a hard-disk install, and promoting it to my main version of Linux.
 
Old 05-17-2005, 07:24 PM   #8
Email-Guard
 
Registered: Feb 2005
Distribution: Red Hat 9.0
Posts: 1

Rep: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation:
Would you recommend the product? yes | Price you paid?: D/L | Rating: 10

Pros:
Cons:


I must say, i have tried distros that need 5 install discs, and none of them compared to KNOPPIX, knoppix comes with so much more than i expected and is extreamly powerfull. KNOPPIX comes with better hardware support than all other distros i have tried and it is bundled with more usefull packages than any other distro i used. Definatly one of the best distro's for network admins that want to fix something real quick, or for end users of desktops.
 
Old 05-31-2005, 10:00 AM   #9
Hosiah
 
Registered: Sep 2004
Distribution: Slackware, Mandriva, Debian derivatives, +BSD/ Solaris/ Minix/ plan9/ GNU/HURD...
Posts: 185

Rep: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation:
Would you recommend the product? yes | Price you paid?: D/L | Rating: 9

Pros: Smooth performance, tons of packages
Cons: One hiccup on my HP Pavilion monitor


For the three computers I have in my household and the four live CD distros I've tried, this is the best. The hiccup is where it needed some arguements to tell it how to run on my HP Pavilion 16" monitor, which is kind of old and flaky, anyway. After I specified the monitor dimensions and color depth, it ran fine.

On the other computers, a rogue's gallery of hardware, it ran with no direction at all.

This is the most Linux I have ever seen crammed onto one disc. A truly impressive distro! It competes well with the three-disc distro of installed Red Hat 9.0 I have on one machine.

It runs smooth. You'll never know it's on CD! The "look and feel" is also the best of any distro I've seen. This is a disc I can show off to impress my alternative OS-using friends.

My only other minor beef - where are the screen savers? Either they're not there, or KDE can't see them, I haven't figured that one yet. Blank screen still works, and I guess if they had to cut the screensavers, they definitely made up for it with the staggeringly inclusive program package.
 




  



All times are GMT -5. The time now is 09:38 PM.

Main Menu
Advertisement

My LQ
Write for LQ
LinuxQuestions.org is looking for people interested in writing Editorials, Articles, Reviews, and more. If you'd like to contribute content, let us know.
Main Menu
Syndicate
RSS1  Latest Threads
RSS1  LQ News
Twitter: @linuxquestions
identi.ca: @linuxquestions
Facebook: linuxquestions Google+: linuxquestions
Open Source Consulting | Domain Registration