LinuxQuestions.org
Did you know LQ has a Linux Hardware Compatibility List?
Go Back   LinuxQuestions.org > Reviews > Distributions > SUSE Linux Enterprise
User Name
Password

Notices

Search · Register · Submit New Review · Download your favorite Linux Distributions ·
 

Suse 9.2 Professional
Reviews Views Date of last review
23 114038 02-16-2006
spacer
Recommended By Average Price Average Rating
87% of reviewers $79.74 7.7



Description: SUSE LINUX is the international technology leader and solutions provider in Open Source operating system software. SUSE's unique expertise in Linux and its largest development team worldwide dedicated to Open Source software has contributed to the recognition of SUSE as the most complete Linux solution available today. With a workforce of more than 500 people worldwide, SUSE has offices throughout Europe, Latin America and in the United States, entirely focused on supporting the Linux community and Open Source development. SUSE LINUX was acquired by Novell, Inc in November 2003.
Keywords: Novell Suse Desktop 9.2 Professional


Author
Post A Reply 
Old 12-22-2004, 01:15 PM   #1
xipper
 
Registered: Dec 2004
Distribution: Gentoo
Posts: 4

Rep: Reputation:
Would you recommend the product? no | Price you paid?: $69.95 | Rating: 1

Pros: Still looking
Cons: Reduced hardware support, Very Limited Tech support for paid package



I used to highly recommend SuSE to folks I knew as an excellent cost/value opportunity that made it worth supporting the open source movement with my dollars. Unfortunately, sad to report, this has now come to an end.

I have run both free and paid distros of SuSE for quite some time now and had no problems installing, running and maintaining the product. Part of what made this appealing is being able to use older hardware that otherwise would be headed out the door. I have been able to set up servers, firewalls and workstations with great performance for little or no coins.

With that said, I skipped the free distros and went straight to a purchased package of V9.2 to upgrade a server I have been running for over a year on V9.0, with absolutely no problems.

First Problem:

The auto install starts and searches the hardware and IDs my SCSI Raid Controller (HP Netraid 4943A 60003, which is really an American Megatrends controller) then loads the megaraid module. The 9.0 installation ID'd the controller and also loaded the megaraid module. The Installation program continues and displays the frist configuration menu which allows you to review and change initial hardware settings. There in bright red lettering......an error.....No partitioning is recommended because no drives are detected. I tweaked around on this with no success then aborted the install and started a manual install. When I attempted to select alternative megaraid modules, I noticed that there were 2 options, neither of which I recognized. After attempting to install with each and getting the same results, I decided it was time to check out the SuSE support database.

I was able to find a post which described my problem to a T. Seems the newer megaraid modules provided by SuSE are not compatible with older AMI firmware and one should use the "megaraid (Older Model)" module, which apparently worked for the person who reported this problem. I dug into my install disks and could not find the "older model" module in either the modules 2 or modules 5 files. So now a trip to the SuSE FTP site is in order. Scavaging around in the "current version" folder, I did find the module I was looking for, downloaded the modules file, brought up the install program in manual mode, loaded the module and selected it. This time, the install tells me, it cannot load the selected module. After checking it out, I find out, "current version" is not the current version, but rather, v9.1.

All hope is not lost, surely if SuSE encountered this problem in V9.1 and fixed it, they will preserve backwards compatibility in just a dot release. Having registered my package, I submitted a support request against my 90 day "unlimited" installation support, fully expecting a response telling me where I could find the 9.2 module. I did get a promt and courteous response, telling me that raid controllers are outside the scope of my support agreement and if I wanted to pay to upgrade support, it might be covered. Surely my registrations files must not have been updated yet and this was a mistake. I replied that I had just purchased the product and registered it and was trying to get an answer on my 90 day "unlimited" installation support program.

Reply: Yes I did have the 90 day unlimited installation support, but.....it can be kind of confusing (url: with reference to terms and conditions of 90 unlimited installation support), but really all it meant was that for 90 days, I could submit as many (unlimited number) support requests as I needed (boy was this tempting), but they do not have to resolve them. I think "confusing" is probably not the right word to use here, deceptive comes to mind, but ......."buyer beware".

Well, I am in a holding pattern now on my server and decide maybe I can use the package on a firewall I am running. I set out to install it on that hardware and guess what.....the installation fails to identify the hard disk controller and freezes. Doing the detective work, I find out what V9.0 used and go into manual install mode but cannot find anything remotely close in the modules. I didn't waste a whole lot of time trying to resolve this one.

OK, curiosity would not let me go.....one more shot, I had an old laptop that I had successfully run 9.0 on so here we go. Hard disk controller....not a problem, properly identified and smooth sailing through the install. First boot after the install, no video, after some gyrations, I am able to get into non-graphical mode. Looked like the Rage Mobility was properly ID'd, but the VESA display thing looked kind of suspicious, no luck trying what should have been an appropriate display. Could it be a firmware thing again? I don't know, I am very tired of messing with it and didn't dig any deeper.

My original intent was to move from a 2.4 kernel to a 2.6 kernel so I am now beginning to think that 2.6 is not going to work for my elderly stable of equipment. But.........is that the case?

Again, curiosity got the better of me. I got my hands on a Mandrake 10.1 community distro and decided to give it a whirl. Please don't think this a recommendation to switch to Mandrake, as it has it's own set of issues.

Short and sweet of it, I was able to install the Mandrake distro on all of my equipment with no problems. That would lead me to believe that 2.6 is not the problem rather, SuSE's implementation of it.

I am extremely disappointed that SuSE has chosen not to preserve backwards compatibility, and really disappointed that they don't support their product. I was instructed to go the the forums and seek a solution. I guess they will be content to let someone else develop their product and fix it so they can continue to charge folks for it. Hey, what a deal.

As for now, SuSE has just become another dog in the backyard.

 
Old 12-26-2004, 10:48 PM   #2
dick_onion53
 
Registered: Dec 2004
Distribution: Windows 2000, Windows XtraProblems, still looking for my linux baby
Posts: 69

Rep: Reputation: Reputation:
Would you recommend the product? no | Price you paid?: D/L | Rating: 4

Pros: nice interface, widly supported by other user which makes for more help
Cons: poor hardware support, cant read ntfs drives


I download suse from bittorrent (yes its pirated, but i'm not gonna pay 70 bucks for a product i might not like). It didnt detect my drivers well and was incompatable with my 3rd party boot manager (osl2000). I wish it wouldve worked better for me so i can really get a fair try out of it but whatever. Try xandros. I like it the best.
 
Old 01-02-2005, 07:47 PM   #3
andrewdodsworth
 
Registered: Oct 2003
Distribution: SuSE 10.0 - 11.4
Posts: 347

Rep: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation:
Would you recommend the product? yes | Price you paid?: None indicated | Rating: 8

Pros: YaST
Cons: 90 day support worthless


I'd been a SuSE fan since 7.x up to 9.0, but when I tried 9.1 on a Toshiba Satellite 2450 portable (which had been running 9.0 happily and still is) I ran into keyboard problems and other issues. I decided to try 9.2 because there were so many additional features and I wanted to get to the 2.6 kernel. I installed it on the Toshiba and despite best efforts I still couldn't resolve the keyboard bounce. I would have left it in the cupboard except for the fact that my server needed reconfiguring and I decided to try 9.2 on that.

I installed 9.2 on a new machine as a temporary server whilst I reconfigured my main server. The installation went flawlessly with no hardware issues, I copied the data from the old server and set it up as a Samba server whilst I reconfigured the old server.

I installed 9.2 on that as well - eventually found that the graphics issue was to do with YaST detecting the wrong monitor model and me reading the wrong manual and entering the wrong frequencies! Entering correct monitor details gets everything working at the higher resolution!

Only main issue I had was that in 9.2 the SuSE firewall is enabled by default and although it didn't interfere with internet browsing it did with Samba. Tried using YaST to change the firewall settings to allow access to Samba server and even adding the specific TCP and UDP ports to let through but no joy on the new machine which only had one NIC.

Started to experiment with old server (two NICs) and using YaST successfully set up firewall. At this stage decided to revisit my network topology and go for the new machine as another firewall between LAN and main ADSL router/firewall. Needed to set up DNS forwarder, DHCP server, firewall, Samba server, Squid proxy server, NTP client etc. Put another NIC card in, played around in YaST for half an hour and everything worked!

The thing that impressed me the most was the fact that apart from Squid (there isn't a YaST module for Squid in 9.2 pro) everything was being done in YaST. Wherever the firewall needed to be considered there were buttons to let you choose which interface to amend the firewall for, but all the rule generation and amendment was done by the firewall scripts. Although I normally examine and tweak conf files and I did have a look at the firewall configuration script it was stunning to be able to do so much so quickly in a graphical environment.

Therefore although I have reservations about where Novell will take SuSE, and the lack of any real support for retail 9.2 Pro, YaST in itself is well worth the price.

 
Old 01-04-2005, 06:02 PM   #4
ZaphyR
 
Registered: Dec 2003
Distribution: Gentoo / Sabayon / Suse
Posts: 245

Rep: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation:
Would you recommend the product? yes | Price you paid?: None indicated | Rating: 10

Pros: excellent distro
Cons:


i have been using 9.2 for some time now, and have nothing to complain about. i am not an advanced user, no servers to set up or anything.

I love to be able to upgrade KDE so easily every time, just adding the path in Control Center and do a System Update! :o)

As for paying for for the distro or not, i read that it was ok as long as you dont get a donut for it ;o) Read this and do as you please: http://forums.suselinuxsupport.de/index.php?showtopic=9158&view=findpost&p=50591


 
Old 01-06-2005, 12:43 PM   #5
cjcox
 
Registered: Jun 2004
Posts: 305

Rep: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation:
Would you recommend the product? yes | Price you paid?: $65.00 | Rating: 10

Pros: Easy to use. Lots of software.
Cons: DL DVD hard to copy. Tries to be legal.


SUSE's second attempt at a 2.6 kernel implementation is very good. While there are still issues supporting some hardware, yes... things that may have been supported in the 2.4 Linux kernel... overall I'm impressed.

SUSE 9.2 provides pretty good acpi handling and includes software suspend which works with many laptops (but not all).

SUSE 9.2's YAST program still cannot be beat. SUSE provides the most connectivity and options to allow it to be used as a desktop as well as a server environment. The startup scripts are well thought out and do not make nearly as many bad assumptions as with other distributions (though SUSE does make a few.. still less than others).

If it were not for packman.links2linux.org, SUSE 9.2 would be in trouble multi-media wise... esp. with regards to MP3 and DVD formats. However those sources are easily FULLY integrated into YAST which makes package installation and dependency mgmt a breeze.

Most of the hw limitations found in SUSE are either due to misunderstandings, Windows-ONLY devices and the fact that SUSE uses the 2.6 kernel vs. 2.4.

SUSE should be at the top of your short list for Linux distributions to try out.

The shortcomings I've mentioned here are NOT unique, and therefore, I give SUSE a 10!
 
Old 01-11-2005, 03:56 PM   #6
aRTee
 
Registered: Feb 2004
Distribution: Mandrake
Posts: 24

Rep: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation:
Would you recommend the product? yes | Price you paid?: None indicated | Rating: 9

Pros: amd64 and x86 on same dvd, polished, good tools (YaST, YOU)
Cons: not perfect yet


I have used SUSE 9.2 Pro for quite some time and as an experienced Mandrakelinux user found some differences.

Mdk and SUSE are not very far apart, both are distro's that can be recommended without a problem. Preference for one or the other should be based on hardware compatibility - which you only find out for real after trying. Some things are somewhat better on SUSE, others on Mdk.

I wrote an extensive review on my website: http://www.mandrake.tips.4.free.fr/reviewsuse92.html

Just a note: please read at least the section about copying SUSE and the official statement from Novell.

Enjoy Linux,
aRTee
 
Old 01-12-2005, 12:23 AM   #7
mdoubledragon
 
Registered: Jan 2005
Posts: 3

Rep: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation:
Would you recommend the product? yes | Price you paid?: None indicated | Rating: 9

Pros: Better and easier user interface,Yast rocks!
Cons: limited multimedia support, problems with modems


I've been suing linux forquite a long time now, since the good old days of redhat 8. I never left redhat for another distro, but then I tried suse 9.1 personal one day,and now my box runs on Suse only!
Suse 9.2 Professional is by far the best one I've seen for those migrating from windows to linux. The setup is a zillion times easier than windows and any redhat or fedora distro. You might even wonder at the end of installation if the setup even asked you something. From partitioning to boot loader stuff, all is done automatically, so dual-booting is a breeze. However,the setup gives you option to change the predefined settings if you like!
After installation the first thing I checked was multimedia support. Audio-only support is provided out-of-the-box. I had mplayer at hand, so I installed it,and now everything plays well and sounds well.
Another trouble was with my lucent modem, but a little googling resolved that too. Openoffice 1.1.3 is included, thats nearest to the latest 1.1.4. Pre-installed jre comes, which is a charm for loading applets and stuff. However, I'd really appreciate if along with other developer tools, jdk was provided.
User interface is so sleek that it puts MacOS to shame. The scheme is little modified from the green one Suse 9.1 personal had. Its far better than other distros(far far better than fedora), and after using it for severalhours, I forgot the whole point why I opted for dual-boot and kept windows anyway!
Now, whenever any of my windows lover friends ask, "show us linux,we wanna see how it works", I proudly boot suse. and believe me, most of them are now requesting to install it on their machines too. Talk of linux flavors, it seems this flavor comes from Baskin Robins ;)
 
Old 01-13-2005, 10:03 PM   #8
lemuel
 
Registered: Nov 2003
Distribution: Ubuntu
Posts: 73

Rep: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation:
Would you recommend the product? yes | Price you paid?: None indicated | Rating: 8

Pros: user friendly, almost has everything I need
Cons: slow and a little unstable. has plenty of irritating minor bugs


Suse is very good for those who are trying out linux. its very easy to do the things you need to do and very easy to install software that need to be installed

the thing that I don't like about it is that its a little unstable. out of the 1 month of using Suse 9.2, it completely crashed about 5 times (one time when I used gwenview to open a picture in a folder full of files. 2 times when I transfer files to my ipod. i dont remember the other instances)
 
Old 01-16-2005, 11:06 PM   #9
winsnomore
 
Registered: May 2004
Distribution: #1 PCLinuxOS -- for laughs -> Ubuntu, Suse, Mepis
Posts: 315

Rep: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation:
Would you recommend the product? yes | Price you paid?: D/L | Rating: 10

Pros: Much improved over 9.2, almost perfect out of box.
Cons: Slightly more resource hungry than


I am having very good experience with this one.
I was using 9.1 personal .. that I painfully upgraded to equivalent of professional. When 9.2 became freely downloadable, I installed it on another partition.
My main reason was using KDE 3.3 .. though I am finding that it's not heck of a lot different than 3.2, but other changes make the switchover worthwhile.
I downloaded the DVD (2.3 G) and used that for the install.
9.2 install worked out of the box without a hitch. From install to finish the total time was about 45 minutes. Online upgrades etc. took another 45 minutes and I was up and running in a couple of hours.
It did better with my setup than I thought it would, I have 2 other distro's on /dev/hda and I installed 9.2 on /dev/hdb ..
It moved the active disk to /dev/hdb .. didn't mess up the /dev/hda at all other than this change and provided a menu selection to "other Linux" .. that was really nice. Seems like they know that most folks have multiple versions that they play with.
It detected all the hardware (2 networks cards, sound video etc.) and other hard disk and it's partions .. and created that fstab entries to allow users to mount them .. helpful to say the least.

The hardware detection is improved.
I had one problems that I had with debian as well as 9.1 .. Having two network cards confuses the heck out of these distro's, particularly if you chnage the dhcp timeouts after initial setup (serious stupidity in the the configurations).
9.1 also had no problems detecting any of my hardware .. pretty much standard hardware. However with 9.1 I couldn't get it to print on my network connected printer.
It is slightly more sluggish than the 9.1 .. though I had upgraded that kernel also to 2.6 long time ago. However it's much faster than the FC2 or FC3 I had on this machine.
I installed the development package and it works fine .. no unresolved dependencies .. almost everything that's available on their node is easily installed.
Samba worked fine for the client as well as the server configuration out of the box from Yast .. which is good.
I did install almost all the security updates and even a new kernel upgrade, almost effortlessly after inital install.
Another minor bitch is that the released version still has the pre-release firefox and mozilla and their install is "rpm" based while the release 1.0 of firefox is just plain tar archive .. so one has to do it by hand and remove the old install by using Yast ..
Yast is nice but a bit slow and kind of stupid at times, does the searches every time you click it to start .. with a 50G partiontion, they could have "saved" the last search, may be next time. But it's better than almost all other tools .. and yes for some thing even better than synaptic.
Yast's another problem is that it doesn't like the archives that don't have the configurations setup for it. .. for example MySql has to be installed the hard way :-((
It also comes with much hyped Evolution 2.0+ .. but I think that software is much poorer than thunderbird (which is also not perfect .. but has better gui and better configuration).
I think I am going to stop looking and use this for a while now .. I have tried almost "every" "leading" distro .. and only other that I would recommend is debian.
 
Old 01-26-2005, 05:39 AM   #10
walker
 
Registered: Nov 2003
Posts: 75

Rep: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation:
Would you recommend the product? yes | Price you paid?: D/L | Rating: 1

Pros: too few
Cons: it does not maintain the promises


I've installed 9.2 Pro DVD on two 64bit AMD workstation.
Only a pain!
System freeze, problem with cd automount, too few hardware support for a sold and not cheap distro.
That's all.
Sure I can't reccomend the todays Novell SuSe.
 
Old 01-30-2005, 08:01 PM   #11
JSpired
 
Registered: Sep 2003
Distribution: Slackware, Suse 9.2
Posts: 565

Rep: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation:
Would you recommend the product? yes | Price you paid?: None indicated | Rating: 8

Pros: Excellent laptop support, great visually, lots of software!
Cons: Requires some Linux knowledge


I'm a long-time Linux user and have been through the ropes with Mandrake, Slackware, Ubuntu, Mepis, and now Suse...plus all those other "minor" distros I no longer remember.

Suse 9.2 Pro shines in my opinion.

THE GOOD:

**Hardware detection on a laptop. My install went perfect on a Toshiba Satellite M35x-S149! I had zero issues with the hardware detection. My integrated wireless was configured, as well as my dial-up modem. I was able to use my widescreen without any extra configuring. Can't brag enough about this!

**Software! Suse Pro includes a ton of useful software!

**Looks. Suse shines here! Suse just looks...great! After using many a distro over the years, Suse is truly the BMW in this category.

**YAST. Yast is finally very stable and easy to use.


CONS
**Some knowledge of Linux and its workings were required to turn off modules that were loaded by default, but yet, not needed. Once I unloaded said modules, my PC ran much quicker! The average newbie would be unaware of how to do this.

Overall, I'm quite happy with Suse Pro out of the box! I paid for this distribution and would be happy to do so again.
 
Old 02-16-2005, 08:45 AM   #12
techieMoe
 
Registered: Feb 2005
Distribution: SuSE 9.2
Posts: 5

Rep: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation:
Would you recommend the product? yes | Price you paid?: $80.00 | Rating: 9

Pros: All software on CDs/DVDs works out of the box, very slick professional distro with plenty of development software
Cons: 64-bit DVD installation is flaky on some motherboards


SuSE Linux was not my favorite distro for a very long time, mostly due to the fact that they never offered me a free taste of it, other than through their LiveCDs. Recently the company was bought out by IT giant Novell, and they've revamped some of it, while still keeping up the very good retail marketing campaign started by SuSE. I was impressed by a borrowed copy of 9.1 Professional, and decided to take the plunge and buy the boxed version at Fry's one afternoon ($69.99). Surprisingly, by the end of the next week I felt I'd got my money's worth. SuSE 9.2 comes in a cute little CD-wallet with a plastic clamshell sort of like those VHS covers you used to see at the video store. Inside are 2 dual-layer DVDs (one install DVD, one source code DVD) and 5 CDROMs. Now before you start yelling "bloat, bloat!" know that you can install the full system and every single one of the 1,500+ packages off *either* the 5CDROMs *or* the DVD. Both are not required; the DVD just simplifies things by not making you swap discs out every ten minutes.

Install:
One thing that SuSE offers with its retail version that I have never seen on any other commercial Linux is the dual-layer DVD has an option to install the 64-bit version of SuSE 9.2 Pro, which works with the AMD64 processor and the Intel XeonEMT. Yes, you heard it right folks, 32-bit and 64-bit Linux on one DVD. Having just bought a new AMD64 system, I decided to take the plunge and go 64-bit. The install was on par with any other graphical installer; everything I had was detected correctly and set up automatically. I pointed SuSE to the partition I'd created ahead of time (although it does offer the option to create/format partitions via the installer), and told it to go ahead and write over my MBR with whatever bootloader it wanted. About 30 mins later I was asked to reboot and all was well.

Package Selection:

There's a lot of software with this distro. Not all of it is installed by default (thankfully), but there are tons of programs available either through the CDROMs or the DVD. Another thing that set SuSE apart from other distros to me was that they didn't just pile whatever software they could find onto the CDROMs and just leave it at that. Other distros I've tried (*cough* Mandrake, *cough* Fedora) like to lump lots of programs that may or may not actually work once you install them. EVERY SINGLE PROGRAM I installed from the SuSE 9.2 DVD worked as advertised straight after the install, and didn't break anything else. That alone was worth the admission price to me.

Now, before you rain on my parade and say "he's just lazy; I can install new versions of whatever program I want and they work fine", I would like you to note that the computer I was installing SuSE 9.2 on does not have broadband internet. In fact, it has NO internet connection at all, so to download any programs not included (or that didn't work out of the box) would be impossible. When you buy SuSE 9.2 retail, you get 5 CDs and 2 DVDs full of working software that you can use right then, not after you download umpteen patches.

A few packages that are new from 9.1 of SuSE Professional include a switch to X.org from XFree86, the addition of SuperTux, Nvu (web page maker), a new version of the Eclipse IDE for Java development (great for my job), and many others that I just can't think of at the moment. Suffice to say, there's plenty to play with.

Most Annoying Feature:

Wow. For once I really don't have much to gripe about. SuSE is at the moment my favorite Linux distribution, and has been my main operating system for around 6 months now. That's AGES on my harddrive, given how often I try new Linux distros. I've tried several distributions since SuSE and keep coming back. There's nothing annoying about that.

You might expect me to rant in here about 64-bit support. Not so. SuSE 9.2 64-bit runs beautifully on my system even with my commercial games (such as Doom 3), and you'd never know I was running a 64-bit OS, except for the fact that certain applications (namely Doom 3) run faster on my AMD64 than they did with my AMD Athlon XP. Again, there's definitely nothing annoying about that.

Who's it best for?

I can say this distro is good for just about anyone. Developers will like the compiler/debugger/IDE tools that are included while the casual user will like the good hardware detection/configuration and the pretty desktop. This is one damn fine Linux distribution if I've ever seen one. It beats out Xandros for me because it's pretty and stable without sacrificing developer-friendliness. The fact that I can go down to my local Fry's Electronics or Best Buy to pick up a copy also helps. Overall, for me SuSE 9.2 Professional is the best Linux distro out there, period.
 
Old 03-23-2005, 08:23 AM   #13
dwrose
 
Registered: Mar 2005
Distribution: SuSE Linux 10.0
Posts: 19

Rep: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation:
Would you recommend the product? yes | Price you paid?: $80.00 | Rating: 8

Pros: system admin, system security, install, integration
Cons: install support, website support


Very good desktop product. I've tried Mandrake 9.1 and was a prior RedHat 8 user prior to their dropping the line (and renaming it Fedora). Note: I use this system for the family computer. It competes with Windows XP (dual boot), based upon user preference and what they are running. Internet e-mail goes to the SuSE install.

Pluses: most things worked "out of the box" - network from DSL modem, basic sound, CD reading/burning, a fetchmail daemon pulls POP3 accounts and sends them to the local MTA to deliver to specific accounts, local web server configured so that users have their own directory to publish files into. What I have liked the most is that I can do all of this using YaST to help me set up the configuration. Running the system, I get a feeling that the people at SuSE have worked long and hard to get things to "just work", and generally they do.

Minuses: I spent most of my time trying to get a new HP inkjet to work. I eventually did, between an obscure note in documenation I did a search for in the SuSE portal and downloading a PPD from the linuxprinting.org site. It works beautifully, but it took me longer that I would have expected it to. Also, the newness of the SuSE purchase by Novell shows on the web sites - poorly integrated. Installation support was basically a non-starter, joining SuSE portal didn't work the first time, did the second, and that and other sources have been the best way to get help.

All in all, I recommend this distribution for an individual or family's desktop, so long as you are or know a good technical support person to work through configuration (which can be at times confusing) or the glitches (of which there were only a few).
 
Old 03-29-2005, 11:15 PM   #14
coontie
 
Registered: Jun 2003
Distribution: Fedora Core 5
Posts: 100

Rep: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation:
Would you recommend the product? no | Price you paid?: D/L | Rating: 2

Pros: nice look/feel
Cons: BLOAT


Well, decided to give it a try, see what the fuss is about. It really is a piece of crap.

Install: Went OK. No issues, can't select ALL pkgs, had to manually click one by one.

Iptables has been replaced by some crap called susefirewall2, which built a 5 page monstrosity full of incomprehensible chains and rules. Contrast with fedora, which builds a 5-line firewall setup.

No yum/apt-get, must use some thing called yast which blows. Must run as root, no way to run as root from cli w/o setting env vars which arent set by default. Very few yast repositories to speak of, releases lag behind fedora. Very few rpms released for fedora, so much crap is in non standard places that very few things compiled out of the box. Suse lasted 1 week. Sorry.
 
Old 04-08-2005, 01:09 AM   #15
ginetta
 
Registered: Nov 2004
Posts: 28

Rep: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation:
Would you recommend the product? yes | Price you paid?: None indicated | Rating: 9

Pros: It just keeps getting better...
Cons: there's always room for more drivers


In 1999 I switched from Red Hat to SuSE. Those were the days when linux was justing becoming a household name to the fearful Microsoft Admin jockeys.

Since then I have followed the SuSE product lines and am pleased for them to be a part of the Novell family of products.

Sure, whenever a product goes big it loses some of that home grown appeal of yester year but that's business.
The difference between Novell and Microsoft with regards to OS is that even if Novell licenced their software exactly the same as MS you would STILL get a quality product and that is where the final judgement should be for the consumers.

I run SuSE as a desktop, laptop, server and development system.

SuSE also asks on their website for feedback on what software you'd like to see developed under linux / SuSE. The push forward for more linux apps is on the move evermore.

So with an operating system that is everything from easy to install, above average hardware detection and great desktop eye candy, the road ahead is looking mighty fine for SuSE.

YaST has always impressed me even from the early days when you would attempt to reconfigure a service and find gliches that needed manual mods. It just goes to show that they really put a lot of hard labour into such a solid product. Today's YaST has joined the GNU Licencing. Expect to see parts of YaST components in other distros

On a final note, who better to buy a true network operating system than the grandfather of TCP/IP?

G.
 
Old 04-11-2005, 10:14 PM   #16
-kleve
 
Registered: Apr 2005
Posts: 1

Rep: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation:
Would you recommend the product? yes | Price you paid?: $65.00 | Rating: 9

Pros: Found my wireless netcard and printer, YAST, nice interface and the upgrade works perfect ( if you're *NOT* on a modem)
Cons: I still cant believe why multimedia has to be such a big issue



This is the first time I ever paid for a Linux system.
I thought all the hassle with rpm's , hardware , gcc+, missing source codes etc would be gone but no way : It is still hard work to get to listen to your favorite radio station which btw happens to use 100 % WMA which we all know stands for "windows media ".
Hasn't it been for this last Windows stronghold , my guess is that more and more people easily could leave Bill at his gates with a free system, but no.

Suse 9.2 pro is a great system and the best thing was that my wireless card d-link 650 was working from day one with only some minor ajustments (after all it is Linux isn't it?!) and the touch pad is working as well on my asus lc3000 laptop.
My laptop is running better than ever on Suse 9.2 pro. Mandrake 10.0 is now history because of the two issues mentioned above

I've also installed on two other PC setups, and I didn't ran into any problems at all that could not be solved . My Nvidia geforce 6600 card works great after getting the latest drivers from nvidia.com.
My LCD however was troublesome, but it's brand new. Cant blame Suse for not finding this hardware. A question asked to Suse support and the problem was solved.
Even amd -64 is supported , but not without problems because precompiled updates are not as easy to get as i586 or i686. I would say that Suse 9.2 preforms better on my MSI k8 neo board with nforce3 chipset than W***$ does . I have dual boot.

Apart from the never ending story with codecs patents and media not streaming this Distribution satisfy my needs. Comes with KDE 3.3 which I use

But I'm not a beginner, and it is still too difficult for a total newbee or someone suffering from technofobia to make the fine tuning it takes to get the system running 100%.
If you are a medium skilled user: OK 9 points
Beginner: Install a free version and after 6 months go pro!
And : take a look at suse's homepage. Its exellent.
You even can get a complete list of where all the programs are installed! Thats brilliant.
http://www.novell.com/products/linuxpackages/professional/index_all.html

-kleve
 
Old 04-15-2005, 08:34 PM   #17
pokemaster
 
Registered: Apr 2005
Distribution: debian,ubuntu,slackware
Posts: 110

Rep: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation:
Would you recommend the product? yes | Price you paid?: D/L | Rating: 10

Pros: Easiest Install and Upgrade I could find
Cons: I did need FTP access at install -- and couldn't get wireless loaded until after install


I have a Toshiba Satellite A25-S207 (not a bad mnachine for all the griping I do about it ;)

I had it dual booting windows (some things just plain refuse to work with linux -- and a working computer is a necessity for college.) and slackware 10. Slackware was pretty awesome but I couldn't get it to do *everything* i wanted. Namely suspend to RAM. I tried various other distros before slackware (fedora core 1 & 2, mandrake 10 & 10.1, suse 8.0...), and although I had liked suse it lacked many features (i.e. support for my soundcard at the time). Then I read a few reviews for 9.2 and decided to give it a shot. Wow. It did everything (susp to RAM worked like a charm with no tweaking), the soundcard *did* need some tweaking, but that only involved alsamixer (I'd run into this before)

Yast makes adding / removing packages a complete no-brainer (awesome for when I need a new package or want to update a current one when im compiling)

It's running without a hitch right now (only a week old, but I'm in love with it), and I got it free by using the suse installer which installs straight from the FTP server (which took overnight on my "zippy" 256K cable line... if i'd had wireless modules I could've done it from school at about 300K/s instead of 50K at home)

Long story short, Suse 9.2 seems to be pretty phenomenal as far as distros go, not quite the flexibility of Slackware, but the ease of use more than makes up for it... it includes scripts for pretty darn near everything!
 
Old 05-17-2005, 11:34 AM   #18
Maldain
 
Registered: Jan 2005
Posts: 112

Rep: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation:
Would you recommend the product? yes | Price you paid?: $99.00 | Rating: 8

Pros: quick install, decent hardware recognition, easy configuration
Cons: grabbed the wrong refresh rates for my monitor tho it identifed the monitor correctly


The version of SuSE that I've installed is 9.2 Pro.
I've been using Mandrake 9.2 and 10.1 and those are both decent distros though i have some issues with 9.2 and new hardware which is where the 10.1 comes in. Mandrake has by far the easiest install of any linux distro I've used. SuSE is a very close second. The only gripes I have about the SuSE install were that it was a bit too automated which required me to do some configuration after the install to remove some stuff I didn't want or need. The only really big negative was the monitor thing it found my NVidia vid card and configured so that it would function albiet w/o 3D support. The bad one was the monitor refresh rate issue. It identifed the monitor correctly but it set the refresh rates just a bit higher than the listed max refresh rate for the monitor. Once I tweaked the xorg.conf and rebooted it was fine but trying to figure out what was going on was a bit of a bear since it tagged the correct monitor. So far and it's been about a week I've been up and running what I need to run and a few things I just want to run.

The purpose of this server is development with a few games thrown in on the side. We'll see how this works out and go from there.

I probably won't be switching distros at work but I just might be at home. I've found the product usable and fun so far.
 
Old 06-10-2005, 11:36 AM   #19
Curt_Craig
 
Registered: Jun 2005
Posts: 1

Rep: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation:
Would you recommend the product? yes | Price you paid?: D/L | Rating: 10

Pros:
Cons:


eWeek Labs just did a review of SafeDesk's "flavor" of LTSP/SuSE distro...

http://www.eweek.com/article2/0,1759,1820861,00.asp
 
Old 06-25-2005, 06:44 PM   #20
michael@greg:~>
 
Registered: Mar 2005
Distribution: SuSE 9.2 Pro / Zenwalk 1.2 / Minislack 1.0.1
Posts: 12

Rep: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation:
Would you recommend the product? yes | Price you paid?: $89.99 | Rating: 10

Pros: Saved me from Windows. Superior to any Red Hat product. Perfect.
Cons:


Using, configuring and maintaining SuSE is an intuitive and refreshing process. SuSE's interface is refreshing compared to Windows, Mac OS, Red Hat, Linspire and Ubuntu. You will never be confused or misled if you are trying to achieve a particular goal with SuSE.

I have never been disappointed with SuSE Professional. It has everything that an average student or office worker could want at home. SuSE is capable of serving every need that Linux can offer. SuSE is the most excellent software I have ever used.

I was tired of computing on Microsoft's terms; SuSE saved me from Microsoft.

If you need to make a positive first impression with Linux, use SuSE 9.x Professional.
 
Old 06-30-2005, 03:31 AM   #21
blanny
 
Registered: Dec 2002
Distribution: RHCE in training :)
Posts: 57

Rep: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation:
Would you recommend the product? yes | Price you paid?: D/L | Rating: 10

Pros: all hardware detected, easy printer setup
Cons: none


I just bought an AMD64 system with a MSI K8N Neo4 motherboard. SuSE probed and configured all of my onboard devices on the first try. It was great not having to learn all the new module names, everything was done for me. I can attest to this board being 100% Linux compatible as everything down to my onboard microphone works.

I really like the yast scripts for servers like smb, apache, etc. Editing config files by hand can be a real hassle. The printing support on SuSE is outstanding. It took me like 15 seconds to setup an HPdeskjet.

I've tried Gentoo, Fedora, Mandrake, and Ubuntu on this board and SuSE was by far the quickest install and easiest setup for this motherboard. I'm really happy with it.
 
Old 09-14-2005, 09:49 PM   #22
Pi Man
 
Registered: Sep 2004
Distribution: Gentoo
Posts: 16

Rep: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation:
Would you recommend the product? yes | Price you paid?: $89.00 | Rating: 6

Pros: A good system on which to learn. Easy, fast install.
Cons: It's difficult to make it do exactly what you want it to do because some of its tools are too large and overcomplex, in opposition to the *nix philosophy.


I've used SuSE 9.2 for about two years now and haven't switched to a new system yet because of a lack of time. Just as soon as I get around to it, I'll be switching to LFS. I'm currently in the process of building one for practice in Qemu.

All in all, it's an all-right operating system. It's user friendly for beginners, quickly and easily installs, and it doesn't require any substantial amount of technical knowledge to use.

On the down side, all of this user-friendliness makes it hard to look "under the hood." As a result, you get little bugs/inconsistencies/dependency problems in YaST that can make for very big problems. As well, this can lead to misconfigurations and relatively little control over the system.

SuSE also included some rather odd utilities for every day tasks. For instance, the video player which comes standard on SuSE is Kaffeine, but I find it too difficult to configure and obtain codecs for as well. Instead, I installed MPlayer (which I obtained through YaST using an option cleverly burried in a dark corner of a hidden menu in the KDE Control Panel. I'd never have found it had it not been for the SuSE support forums.)

There are also some rather obtrusive applets in KDE which load by default.

Finally, as other users have said, the peripheral drivers on SuSE are severely lacking.

In short, if you're brand new to Linux, SuSE is far far superior to Windoze and fairly easy to learn to the point of competence in comparison to other Linux systems. However, it's severely lacking in several areas including configureability. Once you've learned the ropes, switch to a distro that's better for Linux users than Linux learners.

However, I've not tried any other user-friendly distros, so I don't know whether Mandriva, Linspire, Fedora, or another such distro might be better for learning even than SuSE.
 
Old 02-16-2006, 12:47 PM   #23
boxerdes
 
Registered: Dec 2005
Posts: 1

Rep: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation:
Would you recommend the product? yes | Price you paid?: None indicated | Rating: 7

Pros: easy install,plenty of software and good as a desktop.
Cons: apart from YAST,no better than MANDRIVA and less friendly to the NEWBIE.


Just a general feeling of overall competence and user friendliness. I cannot think of any serious criticism and there are plenty of sites for SUSE online.
 




  



All times are GMT -5. The time now is 08:51 PM.

Main Menu
Advertisement

My LQ
Write for LQ
LinuxQuestions.org is looking for people interested in writing Editorials, Articles, Reviews, and more. If you'd like to contribute content, let us know.
Main Menu
Syndicate
RSS1  Latest Threads
RSS1  LQ News
Twitter: @linuxquestions
identi.ca: @linuxquestions
Facebook: linuxquestions Google+: linuxquestions
Open Source Consulting | Domain Registration