LinuxQuestions.org
Share your knowledge at the LQ Wiki.
Go Back   LinuxQuestions.org > Reviews > Distributions > Slackware
User Name
Password

Notices

Search · Register · Submit New Review · Download your favorite Linux Distributions ·
 

Slackware 9.1
Reviews Views Date of last review
67 234679 03-23-2005
spacer
Recommended By Average Price Average Rating
99% of reviewers $31.02 9.5



Description: Slackware 9.1 contains many updates since 9.0. Also, its 2.6 kernel ready ;). It contains many new products and many updated ones, such as new AbiWord, Yelp for Gnome, newest KDE 3.1.4 and Gnome 2.4. It also contains Glade 2.0 and newest Gaim for slack. 0.68 i believe.....
Keywords: Slackware 9.1 linux


Author
Post A Reply 
Old 06-15-2004, 10:10 AM   #1
ThaHackBoy
 
Registered: Apr 2004
Distribution: Slackware
Posts: 3

Rep: Reputation:
Would you recommend the product? yes | Price you paid?: D/L | Rating: 10

Pros: Stable and Fast
Cons: Are there any?



Slackware is fast, stable, and easy to use. I don't understand why people find it so hard to install. I never used Linux, and the first distro I tried was Slack. I had no problems at all! Even when I tried other distro's such like debian, redhat, mandrake and suse I still think Slack rules all!
 
Old 06-17-2004, 12:01 PM   #2
liquidtenmilion
 
Registered: May 2004
Distribution: Slackware 11.0
Posts: 606

Rep: Reputation: Reputation:
Would you recommend the product? yes | Price you paid?: D/L | Rating: 10

Pros: Extremely powerfull, fastest i've used so far, really stable
Cons: not really for newbs, had a rocky start


Slackware 9.1 was the first slackware distro i used, and the first distro i used that wasn't built around RPM support.


Slackware comes with a pretty wide selcetion of packages including most of the popular window managers(gnome, kde, fluxbox, blackbox, xfce, etc.) The installer was pretty straitforward, it detected all of my hardware automatically except my mouse(microsoft wireless optical 2.0) but it was easy to setup. It installed pretty fast, in about 20 minutes. I was suprised that it didn't add a user account automatically, so i had to do that manually, which isn't very hard. Issuing the command "adduser" you could do it easily. From there updating using swaret was pretty easy and reminded me a lot of apt. however, i did have serveral problems.


When i installed my nvidia graphics card i had to edit the XFree86.conf file, something that i've done many times, however to my horror i found that slackwares layout of the file is... SLIGHTLY DIFFERENt. it took about 2 minutes to figure it out. Then it didn't set up my wheel correctly, but that was easily fixed by changing my type to IMPS2. Then i used swaret and upgraded to current, and i lost all of my sound. This shouldn't happen on most systems, but it did on my Intel 8x0 onboard sound. All i had to do to fix it was download the new 2.6.7 kernel and all was fixed.

Overall i REALLY recommend slackware. It's not really suited for a first time linux user, but maybe 2nd or 3rd after you've used linux for at least a month.
 
Old 06-30-2004, 06:21 PM   #3
cddesjar
 
Registered: Jan 2004
Distribution: Debian Sid
Posts: 125

Rep: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation:
Would you recommend the product? yes | Price you paid?: D/L | Rating: 10

Pros: Quick, Quick, Quick
Cons: It is a little more difficult for a newbie


I just wanted to quickly say that Slackware 9.1 is awesome. I had been using Fedora Core 1.0 and 2.0 and decided to try out Slackware. It is so much quicker on my computer! My only tif is that it isn't quite as user friendly as Fedora Core. But I have learned how to config X and compile my own kernel! I have only been using Linux for 6 months also.
Also I can't seem to get my broadcom ethernet driver to be working.
Oh well...with all the help online I am sure I will be able to!
 
Old 09-09-2004, 02:39 AM   #4
redjokerx
 
Registered: Aug 2004
Distribution: Slackware
Posts: 303

Rep: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation:
Would you recommend the product? yes | Price you paid?: D/L | Rating: 10

Pros: Simple, Fast, Stable, Pure
Cons: Use to be one CD, doesn't have anything like apt-get or emerge


I switched over from Fedora after I had some troubles with rpm. It wouldn't let me install a program because its two packages depended on each other. I know you can always compile things yourself, but sometimes you just want the convenience. Slackware's simple package format does the trick, and you'll end up hunting for dependencies as you need them if you compiled by source anyway.

Fast:
Slackware is fast, it seems more responsive than the other distros I have used (Fedora, Red Hat, Mandrake).

Pure:
I like how the packages are pure, no in-house tweaks like Red Hat, so things are faster and simpler.

Simple:
BSD style init scripts, TGZ packages.

Stable:
Mandrake and Fedora have crashed on me before, never Slackware.

You also can't take anything for granted in Slackware. You learn how things truly are and you learn fast. Also, you gotta love the simplicity of BSD style init scripts.

Cons:
I'd like to have it a one CD distro, but 2 CD's isn't bad, and you know which CD contains which, so you don't have to babysit your install. This is more of a semi-con.

An online repository like apt-get or emerge for source would be nice, although there are applications like swaret and slapt-get available, I haven't had of great as an experience with them.

 
Old 03-16-2005, 08:34 AM   #5
nodger
 
Registered: Oct 2003
Distribution: Slackware 9.1, Ubuntu
Posts: 192

Rep: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation:
Would you recommend the product? yes | Price you paid?: None indicated | Rating: 8

Pros:
Cons:


I downloaded slack 9.1 a few months ago, installed it, and was bitterly disappointed to see a text-mode login. So I uninstalled it and installed redhat (Because I needed a working enviornment right away)

Anyway, Ive recently re-installed slack 9.1 and this time I took the bother of configuring the X server and firing up KDE, and I liked what I saw.

Unlike Redhat, KDE runs a lot smoother and faster on slack. This may be due to it being a later version of KDE, or it may be down to the underlying OS. The menus are laid out differently from Redhat, eg. All the text editors are in a seperate menu, and there's no "Accessories" menu for things like calculator, etc. Although you do get a calculator in another menu.

I was pleased to see that all my mp3's (on the windows partition) could be accessed because Slack will automount a NTFS partition on bootup, so if I want to grab something from my C: drive, its simply a case of going into /win. Nice feature.

I was slightly disappointed with the multimedia proggies, although XMMS will play mp3's no prob, the ones for playing videos appeared to struggle, especially in the audio department.

When you open a new terminal in slack, a philosophical or humorous comment is displayed which is a charming touch.

I haven't had to install any major new software (yet), the only one I had to install was valgrind, which is a memory access/general purpose debugger, which installed just fine. You get all the major servers like apache, Mysql, bind, ftp etc. I am pretty happy with slack
 
Old 03-23-2005, 11:46 PM   #6
Trio3b
 
Registered: Oct 2004
Distribution: MDV 2008.1, PCLinuxOS,
Posts: 315

Rep: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation:
Would you recommend the product? yes | Price you paid?: None indicated | Rating: 0

Pros: smooth install, tight quick feel , ksources installed by default
Cons: not for an office environment


New to linux several months. Trying different distros. Heard lots of good about slackware and do like the feel of it, the speed of install and apps seem to load up fast. Also I was very pleased that the kernel sources are loaded by default (helps with modem installs). I have had to load sources in MDK and FC/RH which makes no sense.

But.... unfortunately after install, began running into some situations that are completely unacceptable. I don't think these are necessarily the fault of the OS, but I would think that the developers would be very attuned to any major glitches in the apps they are releasing with their OS. Maybe some one can tell me if these have been addressed in SW 10.

1. Kword looks like a great app, but keeps crashing when saving files. I have tried saving different ways, under different conditions and changing printer default settings as per "fixes". this happens about 50-70% of the time! Also it doesn't save to MSWord format (yes....RTF, but it seems to alter some formatting). If I'm going to consider using this in a business environment, that is a huge negative. I have read Kword crash posts dating back to 2003!
I guess I could install OO.

2. Tried to launch Abiword.....no dice. Went to pckmgr and it shows up on the installed list. I checked it again>installed.....nothing happens.

3. No mousewheel.....fixed that, but that should be a default setting if they're going to include GUI apps like Kword, Mozilla, etc.

4. Am not that familiar with ethernet setup. Can this be done w/Kppp or is that just a modem dialer. Is there a GUI setup for ethernet DSL hookup or networking or is it CLI only?

5. I found 8 text editors. Maybe I'm living in the dark ages,but I couldn't find any GUI cd burning utility for backup capability. Did I miss it or is that a CL utility somewhere?

6. Again for an office environment, I don't need people having to CL their way to a GUI in the morning and then "shutdown -h now" to close up at the end of the day. If you're going to include GUI desktops in the release, why not just boot into them instead of messing with the inittab?

Sorry, all in all have been somewhat disappointed.

The fact that there are 8 different text editors tells me this is a hackers distro, and probably great for a server, but may not belong on a business desktop.
 
Old 03-23-2005, 11:52 PM   #7
Trio3b
 
Registered: Oct 2004
Distribution: MDV 2008.1, PCLinuxOS,
Posts: 315

Rep: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation:
Would you recommend the product? no | Price you paid?: None indicated | Rating: 4

Pros: smooth install, tight quick feel , ksources installed by default
Cons: not for an office environment


New to linux several months. Trying different distros. Heard lots of good about slackware and do like the feel of it, the speed of install and apps seem to load up fast. Also I was very pleased that the kernel sources are loaded by default (helps with modem installs). I have had to load sources in MDK and FC/RH which makes no sense.

But.... unfortunately after install, began running into some situations that are completely unacceptable. I don't think these are necessarily the fault of the OS, but I would think that the developers would be very attuned to any major glitches in the apps they are releasing with their OS. Maybe some one can tell me if these have been addressed in SW 10.

1. Kword looks like a great app, but keeps crashing when saving files. I have tried saving different ways, under different conditions and changing printer default settings as per "fixes". this happens about 50-70% of the time! Also it doesn't save to MSWord format (yes....RTF, but it seems to alter some formatting). If I'm going to consider using this in a business environment, that is a huge negative. I have read Kword crash posts dating back to 2003!
I guess I could install OO.

2. Tried to launch Abiword.....no dice. Went to pckmgr and it shows up on the installed list. I checked it again>installed.....nothing happens.

3. No mousewheel.....fixed that, but that should be a default setting if they're going to include GUI apps like Kword, Mozilla, etc.

4. Am not that familiar with ethernet setup. Can this be done w/Kppp or is that just a modem dialer. Is there a GUI setup for ethernet DSL hookup or networking or is it CLI only?

5. I found 8 text editors. Maybe I'm living in the dark ages,but I couldn't find any GUI cd burning utility for backup capability. Did I miss it or is that a CL utility somewhere?

6. Again for an office environment, I don't need people having to CL their way to a GUI in the morning and then "shutdown -h now" to close up at the end of the day. If you're going to include GUI desktops in the release, why not just boot into them instead of messing with the inittab?

Sorry, all in all have been somewhat disappointed.

The fact that there are 8 different text editors tells me this is a hackers distro, and probably great for a server, but may not belong on a business desktop.
 
Page:  1 · 2 · 3 




  



All times are GMT -5. The time now is 04:19 PM.

Main Menu
Advertisement

My LQ
Write for LQ
LinuxQuestions.org is looking for people interested in writing Editorials, Articles, Reviews, and more. If you'd like to contribute content, let us know.
Main Menu
Syndicate
RSS1  Latest Threads
RSS1  LQ News
Twitter: @linuxquestions
identi.ca: @linuxquestions
Facebook: linuxquestions Google+: linuxquestions
Open Source Consulting | Domain Registration