LinuxQuestions.org
Visit Jeremy's Blog.
Go Back   LinuxQuestions.org > Reviews > Distributions > MEPIS
User Name
Password

Notices

Search · Register · Submit New Review · Download your favorite Linux Distributions ·
 

MEPIS SimplyMEPIS 2004.04
Reviews Views Date of last review
3 42044 03-02-2005
spacer
Recommended By Average Price Average Rating
100% of reviewers None indicated 9.3



Description: MEPIS Linux is a desktop Linux system that is also easy to configure as a dedicated server. It is designed for both personal and business purposes. It includes cutting-edge features such as a live/installation/recovery CD, automatic hardware configuration, NTFS partition resizing, ACPI power management, WiFi support, anti-aliased TrueType fonts, a personal firewall, KDE, and much more.
Keywords: MEPIS Debian


Author
Post A Reply 
Old 12-29-2004, 11:55 PM   #1
youngri
 
Registered: Jun 2003
Distribution: SUSE / PCLinuxOS / MEPIS
Posts: 65

Rep: Reputation:
Would you recommend the product? yes | Price you paid?: D/L | Rating: 9

Pros: Great hardware detection, use as live CD or install to harddisk.
Cons: Daunting questions when running apt-get upgrade .



Simply MEPIS is fast becoming my distribution of choice for my client PCs and Laptops.

MEPIS is based on Debian, and shows what can be achieved with careful design and a lot of expertise. The CD (downloadable ISO image) initially boots as a Live CD, with the option of installing onto a hard drive.

This is the second distribution ever to pick up all the elements of my Dell Inspiron 4000 laptop (The first was SUSE Professional 9.1), including the Lucent chipset Winmodem, both network cards (one on the laptop, the other on the docking station) and the ATI Mobility graphics card.

When booting off the Live CD, you have a choice of logging into KDE 3.2 as Guest or Root. The user interface is well designed and quite intuitive. The usual suspects are installed: Openoffice.org, Mozilla, Kmail, K3B etc.

Most plug-ins for web browsing have already been installed including Java, quicktime and realplayer.

If you decide that this distribution suitable, you can install MEPIS to your hard drive by starting the MEPIS Installation centre. This custom written tool allow you to run through a reasonably simplistic setup routine, using QParted for custom disk partitioning. One nice option is the ability to leave home partitions alone and simply mount them when installing or upgrading.

Once word of caution: Check which drives contain what data and make a note first before starting the installation programme. MEPIS selected my drives in the wrong order for ‘Root partition’, and ‘home partition’. Had I selected the default, I would have ended up with no data and a home partition full of files belonging to the SUSE install I had on there previously!

GRUB is used as the boot loader. It picked up the existing NTFS partition with Window 2000 correctly and added it to my boot options.

When you have booted into your nice new shiny hard disk based install, you can upgrade existing packages using KPackage or the apt-get command. A really nice feature of MEPIS is that you can select your country in the MEPIS system centre, and it will modify the sources.list file accordingly.

I did hit a problem or two whilst running a apt-get update && apt-get upgrade. Some of the pre-configuration questions would confuse a regular Linux user, let alone a beginner. This however is a shortcoming associated with Debian and not MEPIS.

It is possible once this process has finished, to upgrade KDE to version 3.3. You can achieve this from the command line using ‘apt-get install kde –t unstable’. Make sure that you run the same command for ‘kdm’ , otherwise your login manager will crash when trying to log in the next time! Too easy!

As this product is based on Debian, you have access to one of the largest collections of software ever made by man. I automatically install the products that mean the most to me such as Freemind (idea mapping tool written in Java), libdvdcss (watch encoded DVDs), synaptic (package manager) and Firefox.

All in all, MEPIS is to my mind only a couple of steps away from becoming a serious contender for the desktop market. It lacks some of the polish associated with SUSE 9.1, but isn’t encumbered by an innate fear of patent violation either. Personally I find it stupid that with SUSE, I am unable to watch DVDs or listen to certain music formats on my own PC.

All in all, a brilliant distribution. It shows that some of the larger players in the market still have a lot to learn about building a desktop. I can not wait to see the first official release of Pro MEPIS in January 2005.
 
Old 01-23-2005, 04:49 PM   #2
snatale1
 
Registered: Aug 2003
Distribution: Mint 16
Posts: 393

Rep: Reputation: Reputation:
Would you recommend the product? yes | Price you paid?: D/L | Rating: 9

Pros: Everything
Cons: Rough 1st upgrade for noobs but smooth sailing after


I've tried MANY distros in the past. I LOVE Mepis!!!!
Great Hardware detection, Use as LiveCD to check it out, and with a few clicks your installed to harddrive. Very fast distro. I've run RH8,9 The last few MDK's and all FC's on my current box, and Mepis KICKS A$$!!. The best is it's Debian based so SO many apps are configured specifically for the system. just apt apt and away! GREAT for newbs that want a quick install yet with a fully config'd sys with all the bells and whistles. without too much prev knowledge. and also for the experienced that want a full yet light install with some speed behind it. without being behind in old versions of everything like true Debian. It's a wonder to me why Mepis isn't one of the bigger players yet. Thats the only future I see for it.
 
Old 03-02-2005, 10:16 AM   #3
amarillo
 
Registered: Jun 2004
Posts: 18

Rep: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation:
Would you recommend the product? yes | Price you paid?: D/L | Rating: 10

Pros: lots
Cons: up to this minute none


posts are all over linuxquestions.org on how to make linux easier for the general population, windoze users and so fourth.

I currently have on my system Suse Pro 9.2 , Fedora 3, Mandrake 10.1, all of them on two different drives and decided after visiting distrowatch.org to give Mepis a try.

That of course, was after trying to install Xandros due to the high ratings given. After 4 unsuccessful attempts I finally gave up with them, and this would be on another post.

I went ahead and downloaded the cd, burned the image, and never ever imagined that so far it's been the best distro I have come across.

It detected everything right off the bat, suse 9.2 has a long history of failures detecting the network card, not Mepis.
Fedora that is the most stable of any distro, still has problems with dependencies and the right way to setup repositories. Mandrake has so many issues with their license and software its not for me.

I did not want to try mepis out, since it seemed like a cheap distro, even after I read reviews on osnews.org and mad penguin comparing debian-based distro like mepis, libranet, and linspire I was not going to struggle, I thought, with mepis as I did with xandros.

forget about it. Mepis is underestimated.

no wonder the book 'Point and Click' is aimed at mepis users.

Point and click attitude for those still complaining on linuxquestions.org on how to make linux easier for the general population.





 




  



All times are GMT -5. The time now is 05:48 AM.

Main Menu
Advertisement

Advertisement
My LQ
Write for LQ
LinuxQuestions.org is looking for people interested in writing Editorials, Articles, Reviews, and more. If you'd like to contribute content, let us know.
Main Menu
Syndicate
RSS1  Latest Threads
RSS1  LQ News
Twitter: @linuxquestions
identi.ca: @linuxquestions
Facebook: linuxquestions Google+: linuxquestions
Open Source Consulting | Domain Registration