LinuxQuestions.org
Visit the LQ Articles and Editorials section
Go Back   LinuxQuestions.org > Reviews > Distributions > Ubuntu
User Name
Password

Notices

Search · Register · Submit New Review · Download your favorite Linux Distributions ·
 

Ubuntu Linux 4.1
Reviews Views Date of last review
15 52536 08-30-2006
spacer
Recommended By Average Price Average Rating
100% of reviewers None indicated 8.4



Description: Ubuntu is a complete desktop Linux operating system, freely available with both community and professional support. The Ubuntu community is built on the ideas enshrined in the Ubuntu Manifesto: that software should be available free of charge, that software tools should be usable by people in their local language and despite any disabilities, and that people should have the freedom to customize and alter their software in whatever way they see fit.
Keywords: Ubuntu


Author
Post A Reply 
Old 10-27-2004, 07:00 PM   #1
swordwielder
 
Registered: Oct 2004
Distribution: Kanotix
Posts: 13

Rep: Reputation:
Would you recommend the product? yes | Price you paid?: D/L | Rating: 9

Pros: Easy setup, not "bloated" like some distros, very clean interface, excellent hardware detection (in my case anyway)
Cons: As with all distros I've tried, some tweaking is needed. Example: Setting up to mnt ntfs drive, "turning on" nvidia driver, nothing major. Doesn't have other desktop environments other than Gnome, but KDE can be installed.



At this point, I'm sold. This is the first distro I have tried (and I have tried most of the well known ones) that just seems to fit. I like the clean, lightweight feel, the ease of installation and package management/upgrades. Ive actually been experiencing fun rather than frustration while setting up and customizing my system. The Ubuntu forums (official and unofficial) have provided a wealth of information to facilitate problem resolutions.

Of course its been my experience that different people seem to have different degrees of success/failure and like/dislike of particular distros. Some distros seem to run well on some systems and not others. Ubuntu works great for me and I hope for you too. At least give it a try, I think you will be pleasently surprised. BTW I am running the Final Release.
 
Old 10-30-2004, 11:22 AM   #2
chairmanmeow
 
Registered: Sep 2004
Posts: 7

Rep: Reputation: Reputation:
Would you recommend the product? yes | Price you paid?: D/L | Rating: 5

Pros: Slim distribution (only one application per purpose), once set up, is easy to use, good hardware detection
Cons: Install tries to make too many decisions on its own (No, I do not want to install the bootloader to the MBR...), Synaptic set up using only Ubuntu's repository, which doesn't have much software (though Debian's repository can be added), setup can be a pai


I didn't have that great of an experience with Ubuntu, but others may fare better. It tries to be a very user-friendly distro, which is really good for people switching to Linux, but some parts of it alienate those who are accustomed to having a large amount of control over the computer, and to those who don't like being talked down to. One of the most shocking things to someone coming from another Linux distro is the fact that the root account in Ubuntu is locked by default. Instead, you are expected to use sudo, which can be a little annoying when you are accustomed to configuration programs asking you your root password, but here they ask you your own password. I didn't like the install process for this distro: it seems to combine the worst feature of the Debian install: incomprehensibility (don't expect someone to understand that a smiley face means the partition is to be used...), with an install that tries to make too many decisions for the user (it will attempt to install the bootloader to the MBR, which is very annoying if you have a multi-boot setup and already have a bootloader in the MBR).
 
Old 11-05-2004, 10:26 PM   #3
webwolf70
 
Registered: Feb 2004
Distribution: Windows XP. I gave up with Linux & I left LQ.
Posts: 502

Rep: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation:
Would you recommend the product? yes | Price you paid?: D/L | Rating: 8

Pros: Its Easy to install
Cons: Its sudo feature


This is the first Debain based distro I have tried and Liked, except for Damn Small Linux which is a great CD based distro.

Setting it up is extremely easy. I had no problem setting it up but I am a Mandrake user and there is a few things I don't like about Ubuntu. The fact that you have to use sudo instead of logging in as root. This is fine if I only use Gnome. But when I try and install things through KDE then the problems start. It asks me for the root password, which is not the same as the password for sudo, so it doesn't work. From what I understand you can change this but I haven't tried it yet.

Ubuntu is stable, so far. And the effort they obviously put into Ubuntu tells me that it will more then likely stay just as stable over time.

I do agree with others that it takes away from people that are use to having more control over their computer, but I am sure this will be fixed in future releases.

It has picked up all of my hardware without any problems. The only things I haven't tried yet are My printer, scanner and webcam. I am sure there will be no problem with that either. I plug my webcam into the usb port, turn it on and instantly I have a window pop up and ask if I want to save these pictures to my photo album, cool.

This is the first Release and It is far better then most first releases from other new Distros. I think it will make a big impact and become Extremely popular in no time.

So My favorite Distros, as of this post, are Mandrake and Ubuntu. I like others but these two will be the Linux distro's I use the most. Now I need to wait for my third favorite Linux distro to be created (or I need to find it,) and then I am happy, lol.

A good job and a thumbs up goes to the Ubuntu team.
Keep up the good work and thanks for another great distro for the Linux community.

Webwolf
 
Old 11-06-2004, 01:37 PM   #4
tuxombie
 
Registered: Oct 2004
Distribution: Slackware 10, Ubuntu, Debian Sarge
Posts: 53

Rep: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation:
Would you recommend the product? yes | Price you paid?: D/L | Rating: 8

Pros: Easy install, bland and neat interface
Cons: NVIDIA! , sudo and slightly unstable


I had tried a debian and slackware installation before this, and was pleasantly through the Ubuntu installer. partitioning was a smooth affair except for it assuming the default option of formatting all partitions and installing over them. One ought to be slightly careful with that.

I had a lot of trouble with getting x started. In fact I had left Ubuntu to hibernate for about two weeks before getting the inspiration to go for it again. I had to download the Nvidia kernel and glx and then it was fine. My debian attempts were all failed ones because of X not working. I have since tried Knoppix and Gnoppix, and none of them work.

Having got it running finally, it has been a reasonably pleasant experience. The one irritating feature is sudo, but its not much of an issue. I have started using sudo with slack (my other distro) too now.

Ubuntu is quite crashy. This becomes much more apparent on comparing with my awesome slackware system. So far, I have had only three crashes that I can remember over the last month that I have been with Slackware, and that too, not 'full' crashes. Ubuntu, on the other hand, crashes even on leaving it on for a long time, say overnight. But this again, is almost forgivable. It makes up by being fast and no nonsense.

My overall experience has been good with Ubuntu, apart from the minor gripes about sudo and the slight bugginess. It can only get better with further releases. By the way, the synaptic package tool is a nice one. I got lots of nice stuff like a utitlity to extract data from plots, called g3data. Also, they could ship with gnuplot.
 
Old 12-29-2004, 05:55 PM   #5
kevinatkins
 
Registered: Jan 2004
Distribution: Ubuntu Hoary
Posts: 605

Rep: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation:
Would you recommend the product? yes | Price you paid?: D/L | Rating: 6

Pros: Fast installation; nice tight little system; performance good, Debian-based
Cons: Poor multimedia 'out of the box'; standard software repositories a bit limited; some bugs..


I've installed this distro on two machines, with varying results.

Same comments as others regarding the installer - it's a bit crude. And you can't resize existing partitions with it, so if you're looking to set up a dual boot with Windows, you're going to need to use a third-party application.

Hardware detection overall seems pretty good. On one machine, though, the XFree86 configuration completely screwed up - this would be rather unpleasant for a new user...

I'm a bit concerned about the relative immaturity of the 'Project Utopia' components (D-BUS, HAL, etc..). HAL in particular caused major problems on one machine - it would simply die after a random period of time, resulting in complete loss of access to CD-ROMs etc., making the system practically useless. I've found that this problem seems to afflict Fedora Core 3, too... That said, Utopia in combination with Gnome's Volume Management promises much - certainly worth keeping an eye on.

The Gnome environment is clean and tidy, no clutter on the desktop; but to my eyes, Ubuntu's colour scheme is absolutely revolting - easily changed though.

The standard software selection is fairly light, but only to be expected with a single CD install. Other software repositories are available, but not perhaps that easy to set up for a complete novice, which jarrs slightly with the general 'ease of use' philosophy that Ubuntu is hoping to promote. Software management is exemplary - Synaptic and Debian's APT package management are just brilliant...

Overall, this is an interesting distro. Had it not been for the serious HAL problem on one of the machines, I'd recommend it very highly indeed. As it is, I'll suggest some caution - for the new user or those looking for a completely risk-free solution, I'd suggest waiting until the cutting-edge technology has had a bit of time to mature.



 
Old 02-12-2005, 12:32 PM   #6
IceAxe18
 
Registered: Jul 2003
Distribution: Ubuntu
Posts: 5

Rep: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation:
Would you recommend the product? yes | Price you paid?: None indicated | Rating: 10

Pros: Debian-based, easy install, stable, fast, free
Cons: -


I like Ubuntu because its based on Debian. Ubuntu has the most current releases & is really easy to install. Ubuntu has a great community & support to get Ubuntu up & running smoothly.

I enjoy playing games on Ubuntu, & I enjoy useing firefox, gftp, xchat, totem-xine, & gimp.
 
Old 02-13-2005, 07:37 AM   #7
lesleyb
 
Registered: Sep 2003
Distribution: Debian, OpenBSD 3.9 & 3.7
Posts: 79

Rep: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation:
Would you recommend the product? yes | Price you paid?: D/L | Rating: 9

Pros: Very easy install:
Cons: Grub Error 18; sudo


I have installed (and re-installed twice) Ubuntu on an old Celeron box runn ing a 15GB IBM drive. The install seems stable enough. The Grub Error 18 is from a default install using a single partition on a large hda.

From a security viewpoint I don't feel enough is said about protecting the user that has sudo access to everything - especially that user's password needing protecting.

The only positive thing with Ubuntu's use of sudo is that
it stops less well-informed people running on the
Internet as root.

My first distro was SuSE - I've been through 7.3, 8.2 and
now have 9.2 installed on another box multi-booting with
XP.

I'm finding some things much easier with Ubuntu. I use
apt-get and have configured this to go through a
number of warty repositories and some debian ones. It
is such a doddle to install or upgrade packages.
Synaptic is ok but I like the CLI ness of apt-get.

It's easy to 'play' with the system. Things are where they
are meant to be according to documentation available out there.

Ubuntu is freer than SuSE in many ways. You can play with a lot more. You can break your system quite easily but the basic install is quite easy.

I can't comment much on Ubuntu's default firewall set
up. I did a portscan using external sites and found most
ports closed but not blocked. It's an iptables set up but
I've installed firestarter as a firewall and gained more
control.

Basically I like it. I think even the default colour scheme is ok; it's a new colour scheme to me but I feel it makes a change from all the dark'n'broody or glam'n'glitzy schemes out there. It's configurable to what you want tho and I now have banana split style : yellow text on a brwn bckground in my teminal screens.

I would recommend this to anyone - especially anyone
starting out in Linux. Debian information seems to apply to Ubuntu which is a great help.

I haven't used python yet. Ubuntu comes with a heavy
python payload but I don't intend to use the machine it's
on as a development machine; more of a server to the
outside world with a LAN behind it. I may drop Ubuntu in favour of a BSD or Debian install.

Server install was confusing. I haven't looked into it yet but I think some of the IDE stuff seems to be tied into the PCMCIA stuff. Don't quite see why *that* should occur.

In summary, for a basic ready to go install, what you get from a single CD is a system works. You can get on the
Internet and get whatever else you need and the
distro seems to stick closely to standard
Debian documentation so there is info out there if you need it.
Just make sure you make a few partitions on your disk to
avoid the Grub Error 18 experience.

My advice is for you to try it; but I have not yet tried a multi-boot install.

HTH

LesleyB

 
Old 02-14-2005, 01:54 AM   #8
teponce
 
Registered: Feb 2005
Distribution: Ubuntu
Posts: 1

Rep: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation:
Would you recommend the product? yes | Price you paid?: D/L | Rating: 10

Pros: Easy to install, stable, easy to upgrade
Cons: none that I have run across yet


I have used other Distros and this has to be the easiest to install and easiest to configure. I used the guide at ubuntuguide.org which helped out ALOT. It saw my network, and recognized my roms and everything just right. I would and have recommended this distro to friends and they love it. Was hesitant to try this at first, but glad I did.
 
Old 02-14-2005, 04:50 AM   #9
lemuel
 
Registered: Nov 2003
Distribution: Ubuntu
Posts: 73

Rep: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation:
Would you recommend the product? yes | Price you paid?: D/L | Rating: 10

Pros: Super stable!! apt-get!! few bugs, neat and organized
Cons: absolutely nothing!


I can now firmly say that my days of wandering from distro to distro is now over and I can now settle down with Ubuntu!

I use linux to do basic and trivial things like listening to music and podcasts, make documents, check mail, and browse the web. Out of all the distros I've tried, I this one is probably the one with the least bugs I've encountered, thus making me very productive

this distro also has the neatest gui I've ever seen. everything is just so simple and soothing to the eyes.

Also, thanks to apt-get, I don't have dependency problems anymore. I can install whatever I want and whenever I want it!
 
Old 03-05-2005, 06:06 AM   #10
bornhj
 
Registered: Sep 2004
Distribution: Fedora Core 3, Ubuntu Hoary, Slack 10.1
Posts: 120

Rep: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation:
Would you recommend the product? yes | Price you paid?: None indicated | Rating: 10

Pros: Brilliant Shipping, Debian based
Cons: -


Props to Ubuntu.. I ordered 3 sets of 4.1 CDs at the start of Feb, they arrived at the end of Feb, from Switzerland to Australia, free!

Brilliant distro, I cannot see anything wrong with it. Easy install, plus their shipment packaging looks real good.
 
Old 04-03-2005, 05:58 PM   #11
JeanBrownHarrel
 
Registered: Sep 2004
Distribution: Ubuntu Linux 12.04 [64-bit version] THE BEST!!!
Posts: 50

Rep: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation:
Would you recommend the product? yes | Price you paid?: D/L | Rating: 10

Pros: GREAT hardware detection! THE BEST DISTRO THERE IS!!!
Cons: NONE!!!-This is Ubuntu version 5.04-rc4 "Hoary"-by the way...


The best linux distribution I have ever tried!!! I installed it on my Dell Latitude C600 laptop and it ran great on my laptop. Even had the screen resolution up to 1400+. FC3 wouldn't install one time and another time I tried it-as soon as I finished setting up the user name and account and pressed enter the screen went totally blank. FC4-test version 1 was even worse. It got to the main boot screen where it tells you to press enter to start the installation and it instead reboots again and to the same screen. Press enter again and it reboots again. Press any of the F1, etc. keys and it reboots again. FC1 would not install at all. LCD display problems caused by buggy software. The only other distro that installed without problems was FC2-the 32-bit version. The screen sometimes goes blank, but not like that trash FC3 and what's worse: FC4. I tried to install Red Hat Linux 9 but it went crazy-the "Intel 440 X-series chip" bug; and Red Hat Linux 7.3 wouldn't install either. Oh well! The 64-bit version of FC2-well Nautilus crashed on me on my 64-bit Athlon64 system as soon as I logged in with my user name. I had to switch to KDE as Gnome was unusable in FC2-the 32-bit version. Ubuntu was the only distro with which the screen did NOT, I repeat, did NOT GO BLANK on my laptop. I logged in and out a zillion times and the screen never once went blank!!! Hooray!!! It even mounted my external USB hard-drive automatically as soon as I plugged it in. It even automatically unmounted it as soon as I unplugged it. I had to manually mount it with a terminal [command-line mounting] under FC2 and manually unmount it as it did not automatically mount it as soon as I plugged it in and automatically unmount it as soon as I unplugged it. I tried Debian Linux "Woody" version 3.0-rc4 on my laptop and got a good text install but could never get X working so I could get Gnome or KDE up and running. Buggy software apparently and other people have had the same experience with Debian installs. All these were being installed in a dual-boot system with Windoze XP SP1 on my 20 Gb hard-drive on my laptop. I loved Ubuntu but I was not familiar with how to install the deb packages; only the RPM packages and I missed my FC2 version real bad. So I did a fresh reinstall of FC2-the 32-bit version and it works great except for an occasional blank screen which is 1,000 times better than FC3 or FC4-test version 1. I would recommend Ubuntu to be installed on a Dell Latitude C600 any day of the week. This is THE Distro to use with it if you want the laptop to work with Linux instead of Windoze.
 
Old 05-29-2005, 01:00 PM   #12
e1nstein
 
Registered: May 2005
Distribution: Ubuntu
Posts: 1

Rep: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation:
Would you recommend the product? yes | Price you paid?: D/L | Rating: 9

Pros: Works great on my Sony Vaio PCG-FXA47
Cons: Some proggies crash every once in a while, maybe because it uses testing debs


I got everything to work on my laptop, install was quick and distro runs great. I had added 256MB of RAM to my laptop because Windows was sucking up all my memory, I increased it to 512MB, now just running Ubuntu on average I use less than 256 and hardly ever use the SWAP.

Evolution is a nice mail client, good for those who are used to Outlook Express or just Outlook. New version are out every six months.

Distro based on Debian.
 
Old 06-09-2005, 02:11 PM   #13
Erik_the_Red
 
Registered: Jun 2003
Distribution: Arch
Posts: 113

Rep: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation:
Would you recommend the product? yes | Price you paid?: D/L | Rating: 8

Pros: Very easy to setup (ie. can be done by ANYONE), very friendly to beginners
Cons: Not very nice to older computers, kind of separate repositories vs. Debian


I received several discs via Shipit!

After Windows 2000 finally collapsed on me, I installed Ubuntu Warty.

The installation process was fast and simple. There is no exaggeration that anybody can do this.

GNOME is the default and only desktop environment. To newer computers, this will resemble OS X more than Windows, but is still quite transparent.

I was able to go online with my serial modem with no problems.

If you're interested in seeing what GNU / Linux is like, then Ubuntu is a good starting point.
 
Old 04-17-2006, 09:38 AM   #14
tokenringman38
 
Registered: Apr 2006
Distribution: (ed)ubuntu
Posts: 85

Rep: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation:
Would you recommend the product? yes | Price you paid?: None indicated | Rating: 0

Pros: Looks easy
Cons: Never got it to load properly


Downloaded off this site based on previous recommendations from site members.

Gateway P-2 233cpu 64mb RAM, BIOS = 0AAES045

Grub 18 error

Tried 4gb and 8gb partitions

any ideas?
 
Old 08-30-2006, 08:58 PM   #15
jpolapop
 
Registered: May 2005
Distribution: Debian / RH kernel 2.4+
Posts: 0

Rep: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation:
Would you recommend the product? yes | Price you paid?: None indicated | Rating: 6

Pros: Easy Install
Cons: Maybe some driver troublshooting depending on Hardware


Install on a PII with 92Mb Ram / 2 Network cards and a wireless.
The install was ok with no real issues but had to manually configure for audio drivers and even then it doesn't always pick this up at times, still looking into it.
Spent some time trying to get wireless adaptor working.
I don't think you can rely on the UI for system stuff too much as I had to revert to good old command line stuff in some instances.
As with others don't like the fact that I can't go in as root directly although there is a root console to use once you get there.
I was really looking for a desktop distro and it is adequate and basic giving you the essentials which is a good thing. There are better apps out there which you can install and did try some with reasonable success and some not so successful.
Overall, although I had issues with some things, I would still use it as a desktop.
 




  



All times are GMT -5. The time now is 12:48 PM.

Main Menu

My LQ
Write for LQ
LinuxQuestions.org is looking for people interested in writing Editorials, Articles, Reviews, and more. If you'd like to contribute content, let us know.
Main Menu
Syndicate
RSS1  Latest Threads
RSS1  LQ News
Twitter: @linuxquestions
identi.ca: @linuxquestions
Facebook: linuxquestions Google+: linuxquestions
Open Source Consulting | Domain Registration