LinuxQuestions.org
Did you know LQ has a Linux Hardware Compatibility List?
Go Back   LinuxQuestions.org > Reviews > Distributions > Mandriva
User Name
Password

Notices

Search · Register · Submit New Review · Download your favorite Linux Distributions ·
 

Mandrake 10.1 Community Download
Reviews Views Date of last review
12 60817 09-15-2005
spacer
Recommended By Average Price Average Rating
92% of reviewers $63.00 8.6



Description: Easy to use distro with graphic installer and alot of great software. Includes

* Enhanced support for mobile hardware and applications

* User interface improvements

* Support for a lot of recent and exotic hardware

* Hundreds of new and updated applications, including major
versions of the Gimp and Mozilla


Author
Post A Reply 
Old 09-25-2004, 06:27 PM   #1
spoody_goon
 
Registered: Sep 2003
Distribution: Mandrake, DamnSmallLinux, VectorLinux
Posts: 416

Rep: Reputation:
Would you recommend the product? yes | Price you paid?: None indicated | Rating: 9

Pros: Much better laptop hardware detection, seems more stable
Cons: difficulty installing Atheros wireless card



Easy install, lots of software to chose from, improved look and feel.

I know some don't like Mandrake because it gets away from traditional Linux utilities but if you want a easy to use and install distro this is for you. You can be up and running in under an hour.

I am relieved to see that Mandrake has taken the complaints about Mandrake10 and done something about it. Well done!
 
Old 10-02-2004, 05:49 PM   #2
Jmcatch742
 
Registered: Jul 2004
Distribution: Mepis, Ubuntu, Slackity slack
Posts: 159

Rep: Reputation: Reputation:
Would you recommend the product? yes | Price you paid?: D/L | Rating: 8

Pros: Sleek look, Easy Install, Great for beginners
Cons: Tough time getting internet set up, gnome 2.6?


The new design is really slick and looking great. It is really easy to use and extremely simple to install.

I usually use Fedora or Slackware but I heard about a brand new relase and decided to try it.

It was a killer to get my internet set up. Took like 4 hours! And Gnome 2.8 is out! Why isnt there Gnome 2.8???!!!
 
Old 10-15-2004, 12:38 PM   #3
cmyster
 
Registered: Oct 2004
Distribution: Slackware64-current
Posts: 37

Rep: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation:
Would you recommend the product? yes | Price you paid?: D/L | Rating: 9

Pros: easy to install, good hardware detection, looks good.
Cons: many devel packages are missing ! no latest kde


Too many libxxxx and xxxx-devel are missing, a long time to download and install them (if you want to use konstruct to get the latest KDE).
Used Slackware 10.0 up until now and Mandrake is much better in detecting my set of hardware (it took me many many hours to connect to the internet in Slack). Now where can I find the Flux screen saver for mandrake… (not too many of them)
 
Old 10-28-2004, 05:34 PM   #4
bucovaina78
 
Registered: Oct 2004
Distribution: Debian,Ubuntu,Finnix,LFS
Posts: 271

Rep: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation:
Would you recommend the product? no | Price you paid?: D/L | Rating: 6

Pros: Very easy to use
Cons: i'm experiencing many bugs


Well I really like the ease of use of Mandrake 10.1 community, but, ...
there are many many things misbehaving at my computer and it is a basic installation.
Amarok freezes
Quantaplus shuts itself down and when I do it it gives an error message.
I can't use other window managers because they behave very very strange.


I'm waiting for the mandrake 10.1 official release I'll be the first to download the stable version of it. Maybe also because I am a beginner that linux behaves strangely but the many error messages I get speak for themselves.

Wannes
 
Old 11-16-2004, 09:24 AM   #5
Phonics3k
 
Registered: Jun 2002
Distribution: Gentoo 2005.1
Posts: 213

Rep: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation:
Would you recommend the product? yes | Price you paid?: D/L | Rating: 8

Pros: nice easy UI
Cons:


mandrake 10.1 installed easy without much need from me. when it booted after install, it did not boot in to KDM (KDE login manager). I took a further look in to the problem and found that it had set up the x11.conf wrong. I fixed the problem and then it was all working fine. it is a very easy and nice lookin version of linux. I recommend for people who are switching from windows or mac. Also try SuSE
 
Old 11-17-2004, 09:33 AM   #6
reverendm
 
Registered: Jun 2003
Distribution: Win2k pro, Damn Small Linux, Mandrake Move, Mandrake 10.1ce, xandros
Posts: 52

Rep: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation:
Would you recommend the product? yes | Price you paid?: None indicated | Rating: 0

Pros:
Cons:


an easy and atractive install. didn't take too long either. had sufeciant drivers for my hardware and everything works as expected but when recording audio through the sb audigy it comes up as a consistant buzz noise :(

i say this is a fine alt for those who wish to leave windows. all the apps you have to pay money for under windows comes free in this distro i.e. openoffice ect..

i sure with a few driver updates, i.e. nvidia, audigy, and some video codecs, everything would be perfect. oh. and install mozilla so you can install flash player support.

but ofcourse this is the free comunity release that has alot of missing stuff. but i'm still pleased
 
Old 12-07-2004, 05:21 PM   #7
peterc32001
 
Registered: Dec 2004
Distribution: Mandrake 10.1
Posts: 3

Rep: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation:
Would you recommend the product? yes | Price you paid?: D/L | Rating: 10

Pros: easy to install, lots of useful programs, recognized most hardware
Cons: many utils not included, outdated modules


has some support for linmodems, but doesn't work for most. module that was included was for wrong kernel ver. overall: nice distro, easy to install, great for beginners, many features for more advanced users, hard to get on the internet.
 
Old 03-12-2005, 12:13 AM   #8
cortexlaterus
 
Registered: Apr 2004
Posts: 1

Rep: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation:
Would you recommend the product? yes | Price you paid?: $63.00 | Rating: 10

Pros: Up-to-date packages, easy configuration, detected current hardware
Cons: GUI starts on by default in the setup/installation.


 
Old 03-18-2005, 01:43 PM   #9
 
Registered: Dec 1969
Posts: 0

Rep: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation:
Would you recommend the product? yes | Price you paid?: None indicated | Rating: 9

Pros: Great Laptop Hardware Detection
Cons: None id be advanced enough to know about


I made the switch to linux because im trying to learn a few programming languages and stuff....

I was completely new to this and it took me about 6 or 7 installs before i figured it out before breaking it. It let me use my laptop touch pad and a USB mouse right away after install. It already had my Ethernet card set up. It was very easy to install.

I previously tried slackware... And it took me a while before i could figure out the install, when it was up and running i couldnt for the life of me figure out what i had to do first to get my network card detected, and my touchpad didnt work.

**If you are a linux Noob... Mandrake is the way to go, it will help you learn the basics, and then you can move up to somthing more powerful out of the box like slackware i guess... if that makes any sense**
 
Old 08-21-2005, 05:04 AM   #10
ChristianNerds.com
 
Registered: Aug 2005
Distribution: Debian
Posts: 2

Rep: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation:
Would you recommend the product? yes | Price you paid?: D/L | Rating: 9

Pros: Great for beginners, good hardware auto-detection
Cons: I'm spoiled by Debian and Gentoo's massive package database


For the vast majority of non-Techies, I'd say Mandrakelinux (er Mandriva) would be a wonderful distro. It's probably the easiest Linux that I've seen, from installation to everyday use.

My only drawback came from the fact that I was spoiled by Gentoo and Debian letting me have access to thousands upon thousands of packages, with updates whenever I want, for free. Mandrake, howver, would be one of the few 'subscription model' things that I would be willing to support, if I was using that distro, because of the fact that with all of the other nice features, their large package database would be nice to have access to.

But alas, I didn't have any money the last time I used MAndrake, so I switches back to my current operating system or Debian, where I have been ever since
 
Old 08-21-2005, 12:25 PM   #11
SamJ
 
Registered: Feb 2004
Distribution: Mandrake 10.1 Community on athlon XP2000+
Posts: 24

Rep: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation:
Would you recommend the product? yes | Price you paid?: D/L | Rating: 9

Pros: Eay install, good config UI
Cons: doesnt recognise my firewire HDD


Have been using lunix for a few years now, and have moved over to mandrake from suse, via trying gentoo...
i found the mandrake installer very easy to use, recognised all my hardware first time and that was it. the only issues i had was with getting it to recognise my portable hard drive, works fine on usb but not on firewire... that and i had to alter the lilo settings so as to run -noapic on boot.

many many packages so long as you add the PLF servers using urpmi (do a web search for "easy urpmi")

Sam J
 
Old 09-15-2005, 06:27 AM   #12
mpdc
 
Registered: May 2005
Distribution: Mandriva
Posts: 5

Rep: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation:
Would you recommend the product? yes | Price you paid?: D/L | Rating: 8

Pros:
Cons: support for commercial packages


Being a cheapskate, I chose the community edition. Works very well, but you need to install things like flash and java yourself. I know it is possible to improve the support for WMV files by dumping some windows DLL's in the right folder, but I can't find out which folder?
 




  



All times are GMT -5. The time now is 05:54 PM.

Main Menu
Advertisement

My LQ
Write for LQ
LinuxQuestions.org is looking for people interested in writing Editorials, Articles, Reviews, and more. If you'd like to contribute content, let us know.
Main Menu
Syndicate
RSS1  Latest Threads
RSS1  LQ News
Twitter: @linuxquestions
identi.ca: @linuxquestions
Facebook: linuxquestions Google+: linuxquestions
Open Source Consulting | Domain Registration