LinuxQuestions.org
Latest LQ Deal: Linux Power User Bundle
Go Back   LinuxQuestions.org > Reviews > Distributions > Debian
User Name
Password

Notices


Search · Register · Submit New Review · Download your favorite Linux Distributions ·
 

debian gnu/linux 8.0
Reviews Views Date of last review
7 11908 10-19-2016
spacer
Recommended By Average Price Average Rating
100% of reviewers None indicated 9.9



Description: The Debian Project is an association of individuals who have made common cause to create a free operating system. This operating system is called Debian GNU/Linux, or simply Debian for short. Debian systems currently use the Linux kernel. Linux is a completely free piece of software started by Linus Torvalds and supported by thousands of programmers worldwide. Of course, the thing that people want is application software: programs to help them get what they want to do done, from editing documents to running a business to playing games to writing more software. Debian comes with over 50,000 packages (precompiled software that is bundled up in a nice format for easy installation on your machine) - all of it free. It's a bit like a tower. At the base is the kernel. On top of that are all the basic tools. Next is all the software that you run on the computer. At the top of the tower is Debian -- carefully organizing and fitting everything so it all works together.
Keywords: Independent base desktop server


Author
Post A Reply 
Old 07-14-2015, 02:32 PM   #1
jkiwi
 
Registered: Oct 2003
Distribution: Debian Jessie
Posts: 1

Rep: Reputation:
Would you recommend the product? yes | Price you paid?: None indicated | Rating: 9

Pros:
Cons:



I'm glad I can still revert to Classic Gnome Desktop
 
Old 08-07-2015, 09:07 PM   #2
prudra
 
Registered: Dec 2010
Distribution: Now only Debian Stable Mate DE on laptop.
Posts: 68

Rep: Reputation: Reputation:
Would you recommend the product? yes | Price you paid?: None indicated | Rating: 10

Pros: Package Management, Help from Forum, Available Packages, Easy to install, Stability
Cons: Confusion arising out of absence of proprietary package names


I don't have experience of many other linux distributions and so cannot compare with other distributions.
 
Old 09-06-2015, 06:03 AM   #3
lin66uxx
 
Registered: Oct 2012
Distribution: debian8
Posts: 159

Rep: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation:
Would you recommend the product? yes | Price you paid?: None indicated | Rating: 10

Pros: stable.
Cons: problem mounting usb storage devices .


Works good .
 
Old 02-04-2016, 03:22 AM   #4
juandresen
 
Registered: Dec 2015
Distribution: Gentoo, Debian
Posts: 8

Rep: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation:
Would you recommend the product? yes | Price you paid?: None indicated | Rating: 10

Pros: stable, great package manager, easy to install
Cons: contains slightly outdated packages


If using as a server debian stable (debian 8) version will give you what it promises, stability. But if you're using it as a desktop you might better go with debian testing (debian 9); this version will have most of the packages at the current version. The stability is still much better than for Ubuntu, so the cost is not high for getting newer packages.
 
Old 02-21-2016, 09:12 PM   #5
jamison20000e
 
Registered: Nov 2005
Distribution: any GPL that works well on my cheapest; has been KDE or CLI but open... http://goo.gl/NqgqJx &c ;-)
Posts: 3,556

Rep: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation:
Would you recommend the product? yes | Price you paid?: None indicated | Rating: 10

Pros: Free, Flexible
Cons: Sid is where all the good stuff's at (not quite a con to me)


Have distro hopped for just over 20 years now and Debian is my most used OS. Forks are cool but a spoon is better. :D

Usually start with a netinst then
Code:
apt-add cdrom
x3DVDs or a Blu-ray and\or WiFi non-free firmware. ;)

Thank you Debian!
 
Old 03-30-2016, 02:31 PM   #6
Michael Uplawski
 
Registered: Dec 2015
Distribution: Debian stretch/sid
Posts: 446

Rep: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation:
Would you recommend the product? yes | Price you paid?: None indicated | Rating: 10

Pros: stability, rolling release
Cons: Communication barriers with users of more shiny systems


Linux Version 4.4.0-1-amd64, Compiled #1 SMP Debian 4.4.6-1 (2016-03-17) Stretch/Sid.

Fluxbox 1.3.5.

Two 2GHz Intel Intel(R) Pentium(R) CPU B940 @ 2.00GHz Processors, 7,9GB RAM, 7982,00 Bogomips Total

I am taking the liberty of installing software from source, with the help of the Porg package organizer. Different from other Linux-distributions, Debian felt like home from the start.
 
Old 10-19-2016, 09:08 AM   #7
offgridguy
 
Registered: Nov 2015
Distribution: Windows10, Debian
Posts: 1,111

Rep: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation:
Would you recommend the product? yes | Price you paid?: None indicated | Rating: 10

Pros: Stable, user friendly, fast, lot's of software, root user account
Cons:


I have tried quite a few Linux distros, but after (finally)
getting around to Debian, I have found THE distro.
Although the installation itself was more complex than most
of the others, I did get it sorted out.
A high priority for me is the root user account, which Debian has. Had I known that sooner, I would have been here sooner.
A struggle learning how to get the missing RealTek firmware
but with help from ardvark71, I'm up and running.
I love the ease with which Debian recognized and configured my
Brother printer. No frustrating struggle with the Brother
driver download site, just connect the printer, power on
and go. Other distros may still come and go but Debian is
on my machine to stay.
Debian, try the rest, use the best.
 




  



All times are GMT -5. The time now is 07:02 AM.

Main Menu
Advertisement
Advertisement
My LQ
Write for LQ
LinuxQuestions.org is looking for people interested in writing Editorials, Articles, Reviews, and more. If you'd like to contribute content, let us know.
Main Menu
Syndicate
RSS1  Latest Threads
RSS1  LQ News
Twitter: @linuxquestions
Facebook: linuxquestions Google+: linuxquestions
Open Source Consulting | Domain Registration