LinuxQuestions.org
Share your knowledge at the LQ Wiki.
Go Back   LinuxQuestions.org > Reviews > Distributions > Ubuntu
User Name
Password

Notices

Search · Register · Submit New Review · Download your favorite Linux Distributions ·
 

Ubuntu 14.04.1
Reviews Views Date of last review
4 3556 11-21-2014
spacer
Recommended By Average Price Average Rating
100% of reviewers None indicated 4.8



Description: "The Ubuntu team is pleased to announce the release of Ubuntu 14.04.1 LTS (long-term support) for its Desktop, Server, Cloud, and Core products, as well as other flavours of Ubuntu with long-term support. As usual, this point release includes many updates, and updated installation media has been provided so that fewer updates will need to be downloaded after installation. These include security updates and corrections for other high-impact bugs, with a focus on maintaining stability and compatibility with Ubuntu 14.04 LTS. Kubuntu 14.04.1 LTS, Edubuntu 14.04.1 LTS, Xubuntu 14.04.1 LTS, Mythbuntu 14.04.1 LTS, Ubuntu GNOME 14.04.1 LTS, Lubuntu 14.04.1 LTS, Ubuntu Kylin 14.04.1 LTS, and Ubuntu Studio 14.04.1 LTS are also now available."
Keywords: Debian-based LTS security-updates high-impact-bugs


Author
Post A Reply 
Old 08-17-2014, 01:56 AM   #1
Bill_Gates
 
Registered: Oct 2007
Distribution: Ubuntu 12.04 > 14.04
Posts: 4

Rep: Reputation:
Would you recommend the product? yes | Price you paid?: None indicated | Rating: 3

Pros: All data seems to have been preserved during upgrade from 12.04
Cons: Some functionality now broken post upgrade



The hope for a seamless upgrade is dashed.

Printing which used to work well now fails with "Broken Filter" status, whatever that means

Dash Home no longer works so cannot launch apps or go to recently used items.

Bit like my school reports really "Could do better!"
 
Old 09-03-2014, 04:28 PM   #2
cedar11
 
Registered: Jan 2011
Distribution: Ubuntu
Posts: 1

Rep: Reputation: Reputation:
Would you recommend the product? yes | Price you paid?: None indicated | Rating: 5

Pros: Learning curve is fairly easy
Cons: Transition from MS os seems a bit slow, maybe just me :)


First experience with Ubuntu, so nothing really to judge by other than many years and ditros of MS. firefox is much slower to load sites than firefox on windows, seems to hunt around a lot.
Dash is handy, music box will take a bit of playing with as ms media is a simple functional library for music. Still running both systems for coparison but using Ubuntu as default, making myself learn it.
 
Old 10-06-2014, 04:41 PM   #3
kayakman
 
Registered: Sep 2006
Distribution: Ubuntu 12.04
Posts: 39

Rep: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation:
Would you recommend the product? yes | Price you paid?: None indicated | Rating: 3

Pros: Looks good, feels good...smoke screen
Cons: broken packages, no printing


Ever since the install I could not get a complete update. Packages broken error message would come up. I never tried to print any documents until a few days ago and printing would happen on two different printers. Message says drivers were loading and still no printing. My only option is to save files to SD card and print from another machine.

Menu lay out is nice and very populated. Some applications I have not heard of or used yet.

Most of my use is social media, google earth, email, web surfing/shopping and a couple of games.

Install was a breeze for me. Even with limited tech savey I have managed to install to mulitiple hard drives.
 
Old 11-21-2014, 08:39 PM   #4
doxxx
 
Registered: Sep 2009
Distribution: Puppy 5.7.1 & Ubuntu 14.04 LTS
Posts: 3

Rep: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation:
Would you recommend the product? yes | Price you paid?: None indicated | Rating: 8

Pros: Mostly worked out of the box
Cons: OP in too big of a hurry


I have been using computers since 1984 and working with them since 1990. from CPM & DOS 1.0 through Win 8, with some Puppy Linux variations thrown in. I have been using Ubuntu 14.04 LTS Trusty Tahr since May, 2014. I moved up to big time (for me) Linux distro because there were too many things that I could not do with Puppy Precise 5.7.1.

I had also been using Windows 8.1 on this laptop for about a year when it started committing suicide. Multiple times. Like three installations in a row, none lasting more that 24 hours.

So in great frustration with Windows, I looked for the most popular distros I could find and chose Ubuntu from the mess. The learning curve was much steeper that I expected. I had mistakenly thought that my experience with Puppy would help. LOL!

After wiping the drive and a clean install, I began using Ubuntu. There are a few inherent bugs, but; I've found work-a-rounds. Some of the problems I've had involved;
Passphrase not being accepted
Screenshots hot keys not working
Google Chrome not working, at all
Reclaiming the classic scrollbar
Cleanup/removal of apps
Conky
Converting video to mp3
CUPS
Leaking memory errors
Waking from suspend and forgetting settings
Touchpad on/off changing on its own
Lost launcher
Slow Firefox

But; to be entirely honest, I was to fault much of the time. I did not understand that thing are just done differently in Linux :) I'm always in too much of a hurry to wait for something to execute. And even though I been through DOS 1.0 to 6.22, I still had a hard time getting use to the terminal.

I have in time, found solutions to all the problems that I have had. There is an immense support community out there in internet-land and they are mostly very supportive. I've found that a Google search will most often come up with answers from Ubuntu Forums and these answers are win!

After six months, my current problems are with some of the apps and not really with Ubuntu.
 




  



All times are GMT -5. The time now is 03:12 AM.

Main Menu
Advertisement

Advertisement
My LQ
Write for LQ
LinuxQuestions.org is looking for people interested in writing Editorials, Articles, Reviews, and more. If you'd like to contribute content, let us know.
Main Menu
Syndicate
RSS1  Latest Threads
RSS1  LQ News
Twitter: @linuxquestions
identi.ca: @linuxquestions
Facebook: linuxquestions Google+: linuxquestions
Open Source Consulting | Domain Registration