LinuxQuestions.org
Visit the LQ Articles and Editorials section
Go Back   LinuxQuestions.org > Reviews > Distributions > Mint
User Name
Password

Notices

Search · Register · Submit New Review · Download your favorite Linux Distributions ·
 

Linux Mint 17
Reviews Views Date of last review
4 3355 07-10-2014
spacer
Recommended By Average Price Average Rating
75% of reviewers None indicated 7.5



Description: "The team is proud to announce the release of Linux Mint 17 'Qiana'. Linux Mint 17 is a long-term support release which will be supported until 2019. It comes with updated software and brings refinements and many new features to make your desktop even more comfortable to use. The Update manager has been hugely improved. It shows more information, it looks better, it feels faster, and it gets less in your way. It no longer needs to reload itself in root mode when you click on it. It no longer checks for an Internet connection or waits for the network manager and it no longer locks the APT cache at session startup. The UI has been improved, the icons were modified a bit and the changelog retrieval is now much faster and more reliable."
Keywords: Debian-based Qiana LTS


Author
Post A Reply 
Old 06-05-2014, 04:02 PM   #1
vandamme
 
Registered: Sep 2009
Distribution: Mint
Posts: 27

Rep: Reputation:
Would you recommend the product? yes | Price you paid?: None indicated | Rating: 9

Pros: Slicker than ever
Cons: "They" say it's booring.



I have a separate /home partition, and I boot Windoze7 (well, I could, but seldom), and a couple other partitions for the "distro of the week". I've used Mint for several years, and it's my favorite over a couple flavors of Ubuntu, Bodhi, Puppy, openSUSE... I forget what else. Let's face it, there's not a lot of difference between distros <ducks flying shoes> and having all the drivers, codecs, and polish counts for something. The only hangup with Mint was that you had to reinstall when it got stale, but now they are going to keep this one updated for several years. So, I think it's the best Debian variant ...for me anyhow.
 
Old 06-08-2014, 07:14 AM   #2
kishor joshi
 
Registered: Jan 2013
Distribution: Linux Mint16 Cinnamon, 64-bit,Linux Mint 17
Posts: 49

Rep: Reputation: Reputation:
Would you recommend the product? no | Price you paid?: None indicated | Rating: 6

Pros:
Cons:


No Guest can be added with 64 bits.
1) Host Linux Mint 16-Olivia- Cinnamon 64 bits- any Guest either with 32 bit or 64 bits can be addeed.
2) Host Linux Mint 17- Qiana Cinnamon 64 bits No Guest can be added with 64 bits.
Option is not available for choosing guest with 64 bits while creating new machine in Virtual Box.Hence guest (with 64 bit) can not be added.
 
Old 06-14-2014, 11:28 AM   #3
DavidMcCann
 
Registered: Jul 2006
Distribution: CentOS, Salix
Posts: 3,133

Rep: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation:
Would you recommend the product? yes | Price you paid?: None indicated | Rating: 6

Pros: Fine if it works
Cons: but quite a few people seem to be having graphics problems


I tested the 32-bit version of Mint with the Mate desktop. The live disk started well enough, but once installed the GUI kept crashing. I eventually solved that problem by changing the display manager, replacing mdm with xdm. That led to plymouthd continuing to run, which was only solved by disabling it altogether.

The software included LibreOffice (without spell-checking), Gimp, Firefox (with Flash), Pidgin, HexChat, Thunderbird, Banshee, and VLC and Totem (with codecs). There were several warnings from GTK and GLib when running from the CLI, but everything worked except for LibreOffice. In Writer, display problems made it almost unusable. I replaced it with OpenOffice from Apache, which worked except for having an invisible scrollbar. That was cured by changing the theme. I also had an invisible notification area on the panel: a Gnome2/Mate bug which has affected Ubuntu and Mint sporadically for at least 4 years, for which there seems to be no remedy.

There seem to be quite a few people having graphics problems: it may be well to wait for version 17.1.
 
Old 07-10-2014, 02:24 AM   #4
sameer.n.soni
 
Registered: Jun 2014
Distribution: Mint 17 Quaina Cinnamon Edition
Posts: 5

Rep: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation:
Would you recommend the product? yes | Price you paid?: None indicated | Rating: 9

Pros: Sleek, Elegant, Newbie and User Friendly, Fast, Easy to learn for a Windows user
Cons: Didn't find any so far


Well it's based on Ubuntu but I found it better than Ubuntu. Simpler and faster.
 




  



All times are GMT -5. The time now is 01:00 PM.

Main Menu
Advertisement

My LQ
Write for LQ
LinuxQuestions.org is looking for people interested in writing Editorials, Articles, Reviews, and more. If you'd like to contribute content, let us know.
Main Menu
Syndicate
RSS1  Latest Threads
RSS1  LQ News
Twitter: @linuxquestions
identi.ca: @linuxquestions
Facebook: linuxquestions Google+: linuxquestions
Open Source Consulting | Domain Registration