LinuxQuestions.org
View the Most Wanted LQ Wiki articles.
Go Back   LinuxQuestions.org > Reviews > Distributions > MEPIS
User Name
Password

Notices

Search · Register · Submit New Review · Download your favorite Linux Distributions ·
 

MEPIS 2004.01
Reviews Views Date of last review
4 38208 12-23-2004
spacer
Recommended By Average Price Average Rating
100% of reviewers $10.00 10.0



Description: MEPIS Linux is a desktop Linux system that is also easy to configure as a dedicated server. It is designed for both personal and business purposes. It includes cutting-edge features such as a live/installation/recovery CD, automatic hardware configuration, NTFS partition resizing, ACPI power management, WiFi support, anti-aliased TrueType fonts, a personal firewall, KDE, and much more.
Keywords: Simply MEPIS Debian


Author
Post A Reply 
Old 09-25-2004, 01:43 PM   #1
robert_edwards
 
Registered: Apr 2004
Posts: 27

Rep: Reputation:
Would you recommend the product? yes | Price you paid?: D/L | Rating: 10

Pros: easy install, major plugins installed in mozilla, no configuration needed after installation, excellent support forum
Cons: Ive experienced nothing negative



Of the three main distros Ive used, Mepis by far has them beat in every catagory. Upon booting off the live-cd I was greeted with two kernel choices 2.6.7, and a 2.4 variation. I booted with the default 2.6, at the login prompt I used root. At the desktop I clicked on the Mepis installion center icon. You can run qtparted to modify existing partitions if needed, but I choose use entire disk. Near the end of the installation process it asked for a user name and password, along with root password. It asks for a machine name, and workgroup name. Was I surprised Mepis used this information to configure Samba for me. At the end of the install of course I removed the cd and rebooted. It booted to the desktop with no cryptic errors or messages. I wanted to of course test my sound. I unmuted kmix adjusted the volumes and viola my sound worked like a champ! I ran apt-get upgrade to upgrade as current as i could get from the 'testing' pool. Of course I wanted to see if I could get Nvidia drivers installed. I ran apt-get install nvidia-glx, then clicked on the Mepis system icon, under 'mouse and display' theres an option to click to use 'official nvidia drivers' so of course I clicked it. Restarted the x-server and was greeted by the awe-inspiring Nvidia logo. So to take my experience one step further I decided to try and install UT2004. I read a few forums and posts out on the net to help complete this process, ten minutes later the install was complete. The game ran flawlessly. I clicked on the little Samba icon and noticed It found my XP shares on another machine. I was content at this point that I found the right distro for me. Id recommend Mepis to anyone who is curious to give it a try. An excellent support forum for Mepis is www.mepislovers.com. A very professional group of people.
 
Old 11-05-2004, 05:13 PM   #2
swordwielder
 
Registered: Oct 2004
Distribution: Kanotix
Posts: 13

Rep: Reputation: Reputation:
Would you recommend the product? yes | Price you paid?: $10.00 | Rating: 10

Pros: Everything just works
Cons: none


The best distro I've tried. For my system, everything worked perfectly "out of the box". There is excellent community support both officially and unofficially. You can download the iso for free, but I paid the $10 to support the distro. It's worth much more; just on a tight budget. This review is based on Simply Mepis 2004.04 as there wasn't a catagory for this version at the time of writting. All I can say is try it...it will speak for itself.
 
Old 11-09-2004, 09:25 AM   #3
bustere
 
Registered: Nov 2004
Posts: 1

Rep: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation:
Would you recommend the product? yes | Price you paid?: D/L | Rating: 10

Pros: Friendly, easy, complete
Cons:


SimplyMEPIS has moved to the next level when you consider installation ease, system integrity, included multimedia software and plugins, and package management. Here's my complete review:

http://plugintolinux.ca/simplymepis_review.html

 
Old 12-23-2004, 05:50 PM   #4
RonRussell
 
Registered: May 2001
Distribution: SimplyMepis2004
Posts: 78

Rep: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation:
Would you recommend the product? yes | Price you paid?: $10.00 | Rating: 10

Pros: Stable, secure, attractive, and easy to install
Cons: None observed


I have owned and used Windows 98 and Windows Me, SuSE Linux 7.1, Caldera OpenLinux 2.2, and BeOS PEMax. I ended up liking BeOS best overall, but never did like the poor browsing experience. BeOS native NetPositive browser and ports of Mozilla and Firefox were functional, but many websites would not render properly, especially if Java was required. I appreciated that browsing was so good in Windows, and that so many games were available, but didn't appreciate having to purchase anti-virus programs just to keep the computer safe. There were also frequent issues with the 'blue screen of death'.
I heard very positive reviews of Mepis, so ordered the live CD. Installation is very easy...just put the disc in the drive and reboot. (You may need to make an adjustment in their BIOS to allow your computer to boot from a CD). In a couple of minutes, Mepis will load and the user can explore the programs included. If one likes what they see, just click the icon for 'Mepis Installation Center', and click on 'Install to hard drive'. There is very little to do after that other than make a couple of selections regarding whether to use the entire hard disc (as I did) or to create partitions or use existing partions, plus entering passwords to be used when logging on. On my machine, installation took between 10 and 15 minutes. I took the CD out of the drive and rebooted, and was greeted with a nice KDE desktop, with icons for various drives, plus a deskbar containing other icons for frequently used programs and folders, i.e. KDE start button, home folder, internet connection, Mozilla web browser, Mozilla email, Instant Messenger, OpenOffice, XMMS multimedia player, K3b CD and DVD burning, KsCD CD player, etc. I configured my internet connection using the Dial-Up Tool, and was online in about 15 minutes after my reboot.
As of today (Winter Solstice 2004) I've been using SimplyMepis for about a month, and have ripped a number of my personal CDs to the hard drive, so that I can listen to them while working. XMMS works fine to play the encoded files, very similar to Windows Media Player. Mozilla works so much better in Linux than it did in BeOS, it really isn't funny. (Someone really needs to make a GOOD browser for BeOS). I especially enjoy the built-in email spamblocker. It 'learns' what types of mails you view as junk, based on which mails you send to the 'junk' folder. As you continue to use it, it begins to make selections for you, eventually identifying almost all of the junk and automatically sending it to the junk folder, where you can review it at your leisure if desired, or simply allow Mozilla to dispose of it after a set time (default is 14 days, but can be adjusted to less, or more, if desired). Using this feature really saves a lot of time when reading email, as most of the ads for (ahem) enlargement, perscriptions, and other mass-mailings are diverted for you.
Being based on Debian, Mepis offers the convenient 'apt-get' method of updating the system. I used KPackage to query the Debian database for available updates, and generated a list of thousands of packages to cover almost any potential need. I selected an improved driver for my Nvidia video chip, and downloaded it, then installed it. The result was that some of the included games, such as TuxRacer, or TuxKart, ran much faster and more fluidly.
Mepis is fairly complete, sometimes offering multiple tools which do similar jobs (for example, one may surf using the Konqueror file manager rather than Mozilla. It works pretty well). There are a number of arcade, board, card, and strategy games, programs for manipulation of digital images and sound files, multimedia players, text editors, command line shells, and lots more. I'm quite pleased with SimplyMepis. I am sufficiently satisfied that I completely removed Windows from the machine, and now use SimplyMepis exclusively.
 




  



All times are GMT -5. The time now is 02:55 AM.

Main Menu
Advertisement

My LQ
Write for LQ
LinuxQuestions.org is looking for people interested in writing Editorials, Articles, Reviews, and more. If you'd like to contribute content, let us know.
Main Menu
Syndicate
RSS1  Latest Threads
RSS1  LQ News
Twitter: @linuxquestions
identi.ca: @linuxquestions
Facebook: linuxquestions Google+: linuxquestions
Open Source Consulting | Domain Registration