LinuxQuestions.org
Go Job Hunting at the LQ Job Marketplace
Go Back   LinuxQuestions.org > Reviews > Distributions > Ubuntu
User Name
Password

Notices

Search · Register · Submit New Review · Download your favorite Linux Distributions ·
 

Ubuntu 14.04
Reviews Views Date of last review
6 6669 07-10-2014
spacer
Recommended By Average Price Average Rating
100% of reviewers None indicated 8.2



Description: "Canonical announces the latest Ubuntu release, 14.04 LTS desktop will be available for download from the 17th April 2014. The long-term support (LTS) release is supported and maintained by Canonical for five years, making it the most stable, reliable, secure and cost-effective desktop for long-term, large scale deployments within enterprise and public sector organisations today."
Keywords: Debian-based LTS


Author
Post A Reply 
Old 04-24-2014, 09:36 AM   #1
TRK-hun
 
Registered: Jul 2012
Distribution: ubuntu
Posts: 17

Rep: Reputation:
Would you recommend the product? yes | Price you paid?: None indicated | Rating: 7

Pros: Fast and easy
Cons: tv tuner support weak



I can not find the help HomeFreeDuet AVerMedia HD tuner. The older Asus tuner worked poorly.
 
Old 05-01-2014, 02:14 PM   #2
cduncan99
 
Registered: Apr 2014
Distribution: Ubuntu 14.04LTS
Posts: 2

Rep: Reputation: Reputation:
Would you recommend the product? yes | Price you paid?: None indicated | Rating: 9

Pros: Fast, efficient, small learning curve
Cons: re-learning command line syntax, etc.


Upset with the restrictive nature of Win8, I decided to revive an old, useless WinXP laptop with an ancient CD of Ubuntu 6 I've held on to over the years. Problems with drivers & ancient upgrades forced me to load a fresh install of Ubuntu 12.04 LTS. Everything worked and I enjoy the reliability, speed, connectivity, and intuitiveness on all of my computers. My daughter won't give up her WinVista machine until semester's over but Samba has made sharing resources a breeze!
I'm convincing as many people as I can to give it a shot.
 
Old 06-19-2014, 01:44 AM   #3
BlackMaxPhoto
 
Registered: Jun 2010
Distribution: UBS 14.04
Posts: 3

Rep: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation:
Would you recommend the product? yes | Price you paid?: None indicated | Rating: 9

Pros: Stable LTS
Cons: ???


- I actually use Ubuntu Studio 14.04 w Xfce rather than Unity

Having spent the last six years using various Debian-Ubuntu distributions I settled on this one, as it has been the only currently active Debian based Graphics distribution that WORKS out the box that I have seen.

Building a usable color profiling app is essential, but I was able to do it without too much trouble.

Maybe one day I'll build an Arch box, but for now UBS 14.04 WORKS
 
Old 06-19-2014, 10:39 AM   #4
texadactyl
 
Registered: Apr 2014
Distribution: Arch, Debian, Fedora, Mint, Xubuntu
Posts: 4

Rep: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation:
Would you recommend the product? yes | Price you paid?: None indicated | Rating: 9

Pros: Huge fan/user base. Excellent forums and documentation. One of the best automatic hardware detection processes.
Cons: Unity i.e. going it alone on a desktop, is not advisable. It was not worth the cost and user alienation.


I would suggest one of the other desktops (XFCE, LXDE, Gnome, KDE, etc.). For myself, I prefer XFCE or LXDE because they are light-weight and run more efficiently on green custom-built systems.
 
Old 06-21-2014, 04:46 PM   #5
mariose
 
Registered: May 2013
Distribution: Slackware 14.1
Posts: 169

Rep: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation:
Would you recommend the product? yes | Price you paid?: None indicated | Rating: 7

Pros: Hardware support
Cons: Answers may vary


Not bad...decent product!
 
Old 07-10-2014, 03:12 AM   #6
sameer.n.soni
 
Registered: Jun 2014
Distribution: Mint 17 Quaina Cinnamon Edition
Posts: 5

Rep: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation:
Would you recommend the product? yes | Price you paid?: None indicated | Rating: 8

Pros: Ease of use, Simple, Flexible, Elegant, Beatiful, Wide range of apps
Cons: Slow on my PC


Great distro. The description in two words. I has all tge features which a newbie wants. But I would recommend Xubuntu or Lubuntu to those having a little old PC. Coz the Unity interface is too heavy Even Kubuntu was kinda sluggish. For thise reading this PC I'm providing my PC specs for you to compare with your PC.

CPU: Intel Core2Duo @2.53 GHz
Motherboard: Intel G41 Express Chipset
RAM: 2 GiB
Hard Drive: 500 GiB (140 GiB for Linux and Swap)
 




  



All times are GMT -5. The time now is 04:57 AM.

Main Menu
Advertisement

Advertisement
My LQ
Write for LQ
LinuxQuestions.org is looking for people interested in writing Editorials, Articles, Reviews, and more. If you'd like to contribute content, let us know.
Main Menu
Syndicate
RSS1  Latest Threads
RSS1  LQ News
Twitter: @linuxquestions
identi.ca: @linuxquestions
Facebook: linuxquestions Google+: linuxquestions
Open Source Consulting | Domain Registration