LinuxQuestions.org
Visit Jeremy's Blog.
Go Back   LinuxQuestions.org > Reviews > Distributions > KNOPPIX
User Name
Password

Notices

Search · Register · Submit New Review · Download your favorite Linux Distributions ·
 

Knoppix 3.6
Reviews Views Date of last review
10 50562 01-09-2005
spacer
Recommended By Average Price Average Rating
100% of reviewers None indicated 9.0



Description: V3.6-2004-08-16 ("aKademy Release")
- first release after LinuxTag 2004
- Kernel 2.6.7 (as an option) and 2.4.27
- memtest86+ as boot option
- captive-ntfs update
- FreeNX-Server package from Fabian Franz
- hardware detection updates & fixes
- KDE 3.2.3 (which is still more stable than 3.3 in Debian)
- lots and lots of package updates from Debian/testing and unstable
Keywords: Livecd Knoppix


Author
Post A Reply 
Old 09-16-2004, 07:08 PM   #1
coasterfreak212
 
Registered: Mar 2004
Distribution: Knoppix, Kubuntu, Gnoppix, Slax, Windows 98 & XP
Posts: 54

Rep: Reputation:
Would you recommend the product? yes | Price you paid?: D/L | Rating: 8

Pros: Absolutley incredible! This system is great for newbs like me. It makes it so easy to do practically everything that a linux system should do.
Cons: The flash on the internet makes it sound like chickmunks, if you have a webcam and a tv tuner they conflict with eachother, can't save programs unless you creat a partion on a hardrive for it.



 
Old 09-16-2004, 11:59 PM   #2
bwtoh
 
Registered: Sep 2004
Posts: 10

Rep: Reputation: Reputation:
Would you recommend the product? yes | Price you paid?: D/L | Rating: 9

Pros:
Cons:


You CAN save your configuration/home dir... any files that you have created for that matter... in ANY devices : floppy, USB drive, Harddisk etc etc.

Cool.

When you boot up from CD the next time, just plug in your device that has your config/home dir... and you are back to getting your desktop... exactly like how you had left it the previous session. (It even helps to open up all the windows that you did not close the last time).

Don't think that you are running the OS from a CD and because of this, you can't save your stuff.

 
Old 09-25-2004, 05:48 AM   #3
sether
 
Registered: Aug 2004
Posts: 695

Rep: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation:
Would you recommend the product? yes | Price you paid?: D/L | Rating: 10

Pros: incredible hardware recognition, relatively quick boot, good on almost any machine, tons of apps
Cons: 7-button mouse sort of doesn't work with it


knoppix was the first linux live cd i ever tried. i was impressed by how quickly it booted and by how easily it recognizes hardware. a lot of regular distros don't even recognize some of the hardware knoppix does.

i was also amazed at the number of apps they fit onto one cd. it's pretty much all anyone needs in terms of software.

my 7-button mouse was annoying to use however - it was sort of jittery. other computers i tried knoppix out on didn't always work perfectly with it, but overall it's a great tool to have in your linux distro cd collection.
 
Old 09-26-2004, 05:13 PM   #4
thephotoman
 
Registered: Sep 2004
Distribution: Knoppix 3.6 as Debian Sid, Fedora Core 1
Posts: 11

Rep: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation:
Would you recommend the product? yes | Price you paid?: D/L | Rating: 10

Pros: It just works, good detction of hardware, runs well on laptops, has all needed drivers
Cons: Doesn't come with Firefox/Thunderbird (which would be great if they were configured to work together)


I've had the fewest issues with Knoppix. I use it standard on my laptop.

Also, it sold me on KDE, which actually works on Debian systems, unlike on Red Hat's stuff where KDE is a joke.

I also like the minimal configuration that I have to do. Getting Java and Flash isn't too hard.
 
Old 10-01-2004, 05:14 PM   #5
leontiosk
 
Registered: Oct 2004
Posts: 4

Rep: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation:
Would you recommend the product? yes | Price you paid?: None indicated | Rating: 9

Pros: Excellent
Cons: no 3d acceleration for nvidia


Fast and it also detects my new Nec ND-2510A , the k3b works fine and the HD installation it's fast and easy if you have allready the partitions made.
 
Old 10-17-2004, 06:57 PM   #6
CloudBuilder
 
Registered: May 2003
Distribution: Ubuntu, Puppy
Posts: 386

Rep: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation:
Would you recommend the product? yes | Price you paid?: D/L | Rating: 9

Pros: easy to use,
Cons: installation documents - mouse


This is a tool that I have always somewhere on my desk. I made a complete backup from winME and 98 system with it, put it on another disk and bingo....

I made changes to my SUSE Pro X configuration, after I had spoiled it and .... it worked fine again. At this moment I have installed it on 2 systems (multiconfig with XP - SUSE PRO 9.1 - Fedora 2)

The hardware recognition is superb. But most of all you can use it as a tool if you got a problem. Now I have version 3.6 but I had already all versions from 3.0 and up.

If you read the docs, you can learn a lot. Debian (that is knoppix) has a lot of docs, so you cann't do wrong by getting a copy.

There is a script to put it on hard disk, but it seems there is more than one script and they are not all equal....

CloudBuilder
 
Old 10-28-2004, 04:51 PM   #7
errorsdont
 
Registered: Oct 2004
Posts: 1

Rep: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation:
Would you recommend the product? yes | Price you paid?: None indicated | Rating: 7

Pros: WOrks on my LAPTOP! Lots of extras! Pretty much up to date (really). Worthy a live distro CD.
Cons: 2.6.7 kernel is a bit sluggish. Too much extras. Sound System in conflict with flashfiles. apt-get becomes a lethal weapon (don't try this a home).


Overall it's a lot completer than it's predecessors, yet this comes with an expensive pricetag: the total speed. This cannot be ignored easily, yet it has a better hardware recognition in return.
It sticks with the basic concepts of a knoppix-distro, the updated software add a terrific edge in user-friendlyness (esspecially kde 3.2.3, but who wouldn't notice this?). Since it is basically only updated some software seem to have 'difficulties' with the distro en general.
You can easily use this distro to get the most out of your system (by rescueing it for approx. 8 times) or use it as an introductiojn linux-distro (I do recommend to have used linux a bit or byte).
The only recommendation I can give you is to backup everything on your linuxdrive. Knoppix is a great distro to really start learning linux. But that doesn't mean is foolproof. You still need to take precautions. So downloading a ext2 filesystem viewer for windows just in case isn't such a bad idea.

What I overall can say about knoppix is that everything is put as close as possible to your fingertips. It's ideally configured for most people (who don't know much about linux, yet with some little errands). And it's a linux-distro worthy to be looked at.
 
Old 11-17-2004, 06:52 PM   #8
obscure-shadow
 
Registered: Nov 2004
Distribution: SuSE 10.2 Gentoo Knoppix
Posts: 63

Rep: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation:
Would you recommend the product? yes | Price you paid?: D/L | Rating: 10

Pros: the cd is the absoulute gratest for troubleshooting a downed system
Cons: little confusing at first


i really like the freedom. i use it at school where im not allowed to install on hard drives... somtimes it drives the administraters up the wall.. but eh.. they will get over it... i used it alot back when i had a small hard drive that i couldnt fit another distribution on and was forced to use windows for compatibility with the local computers... but now i mainly use it for troubleshooting.
 
Old 12-16-2004, 04:07 AM   #9
svalovic
 
Registered: Mar 2004
Distribution: debian lenny, squeeze, Ubuntu Netbook Remix, Puppy
Posts: 32

Rep: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation:
Would you recommend the product? yes | Price you paid?: None indicated | Rating: 9

Pros: hardware recognition
Cons: little problems with remastering


I think, there are two broken packages - frozenbubble-data and mozilla-de

It can't be removed from dpkg structure! I tried to remaster knoppix, I removed a lot of stuff and installed the teTeX system and better slovak support.

Yes, Knoppix doesn't have the slovakian support for KDE, basic locales also didn't function for me, I was unable to write documents with slovakian accented letters, but I think the problem was in KDE.

Hopefully, the 3.7 or later versions would have better support for slovak users. I want to try it.
 
Old 01-09-2005, 06:00 AM   #10
kartik_mistry
 
Registered: Mar 2004
Distribution: Debian Sid, Lenny
Posts: 55

Rep: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation:
Would you recommend the product? yes | Price you paid?: D/L | Rating: 9

Pros: Easy, Lots of Softwares
Cons: Installation is bit hard for newbies, LILO


Knoppix is best as Live CD ! and gradually gaining it's name as Installable distro. With every new version it come out with new features.

3.6 has lots of new features, like captive-ntfs support. Ability to use optional 2.6.x Kernel. Although my serial mouse has problem with Kernel 2.6.x but it can be very easily solved by changing mouse settings.

I'm using it to show power of Linux in a disc to people who has Zero GNU/Linux.
 




  



All times are GMT -5. The time now is 11:13 PM.

Main Menu
Advertisement

Advertisement
My LQ
Write for LQ
LinuxQuestions.org is looking for people interested in writing Editorials, Articles, Reviews, and more. If you'd like to contribute content, let us know.
Main Menu
Syndicate
RSS1  Latest Threads
RSS1  LQ News
Twitter: @linuxquestions
identi.ca: @linuxquestions
Facebook: linuxquestions Google+: linuxquestions
Open Source Consulting | Domain Registration