LinuxQuestions.org
Welcome to the most active Linux Forum on the web.
Go Back   LinuxQuestions.org > Reviews > Distributions > SUSE Linux Enterprise
User Name
Password

Notices

Search · Register · Submit New Review · Download your favorite Linux Distributions ·
 

Suse 9.1 Live
Reviews Views Date of last review
12 50374 11-21-2008
spacer
Recommended By Average Price Average Rating
75% of reviewers None indicated 5.9



Description: SUSE makes the live-eval version of SUSE LINUX available for download as an ISO image. This version runs entirely from the bootable CD and is not installed on the hard disk.

If you want to get to know SUSE LINUX or test if your hardware is fully supported, the live-eval version is the right choice for you.
Keywords: Suse live


Author
Post A Reply 
Old 08-22-2004, 08:37 AM   #1
david.stuart
 
Registered: Aug 2004
Distribution: sise 9.1 personal
Posts: 3

Rep: Reputation:
Would you recommend the product? no | Price you paid?: None indicated | Rating: 1

Pros:
Cons: tried on 4 machines, and it would run on none



i'd be interested to hear if anyone has got this to run - i've tried on an elderly laptop, state of the art laptop, and to desktops, and on none has it run, though it does fail in different places!
 
Old 08-27-2004, 08:42 AM   #2
rm6990
 
Registered: Aug 2004
Distribution: SUSE 9.1 Pro and Debian Testing on Server
Posts: 469

Rep: Reputation: Reputation:
Would you recommend the product? yes | Price you paid?: D/L | Rating: 10

Pros:
Cons:


Hey, srry, this isn't a review, just wondering, did u md5sum the download and try redownloading/reburning?
 
Old 09-11-2004, 04:29 PM   #3
 
Registered: Dec 1969
Posts: 0

Rep: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation:
Would you recommend the product? yes | Price you paid?: D/L | Rating: 7

Pros: Analog Devices' AD1985 sound chip is supported
Cons: No nVidia FX5900 driver included


I have just downloaded the the live Suse 9.1. iso today, just to try to see if my sound card on ASUS P4C800-E board works properly. At my first try, it crashed after
the first splash screen. Then I tried by setting acpi=off,
where it boot properly. (I use to start my Suse 8.2 always with this option by default. Otherwise it 8.2 also
crashes) Then I tried to setup X with sax2. It stoped with an error indicating that nVidia FX5900 graphichs
adapter is not supported. Nevermind, you can install it
in someway. Finally I tried to setup the onboard Analog Devices' sound chip using yast2. Amasingly I heard the test sound coming from headphones :))) I then ran alsamixer to link the sound over onboard SPDIF coax interface to external Creative Inspire digital 5500 5.1 amplifier. It did not work. But at least
I heard the sound from the headphones. I also tried
to record & play voice using arecord & aplay command line tools. They seem to work properly. That's all I have tried so far. I hope it helps,

regards.

Cengiz T. Kupcu
 
Old 09-16-2004, 11:23 PM   #4
Red Phoenix
 
Registered: Aug 2004
Distribution: SuSE Linux 9.1
Posts: 4

Rep: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation:
Would you recommend the product? yes | Price you paid?: D/L | Rating: 6

Pros: Portable
Cons: Doesn't work on laptops


First of all, SuSE 9.1 Live eval is excellent for introducing Linux for interested newbies, as it comes in a single CD, and HDD installation is not necessary.

Like other portable penguins, this can be used to recover files from a system that is bound to crash, perform checks, and fix important files that affects the integrity of the system.

On the other hand, this live distro had a bad taste on laptops. I tried this on an IBM Touchpad, and a Dell laptop, and it doesn't work. The bootlog returned a message, "Kernel Panic," and the system went into a stop. I can give an educational gues that this will only work on desktop PCs.
 
Old 09-21-2004, 09:09 PM   #5
 
Registered: Dec 1969
Posts: 0

Rep: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation:
Would you recommend the product? yes | Price you paid?: None indicated | Rating: 6

Pros:
Cons:


hey i had the same issue... did you try unpuging the keyboard... for the desktop... i have not tryed it on a laptop so i don't know.. but umm a freind told me that it is probing the ports and gets stuck on the keyboad... so yeah hope that helps
 
Old 09-29-2004, 06:29 PM   #6
ashkan_G
 
Registered: Sep 2004
Posts: 19

Rep: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation:
Would you recommend the product? yes | Price you paid?: D/L | Rating: 7

Pros: Good Looking, Easy to Use
Cons: Not Great Hardware Dectection


As you can see almost everyone recommends this Live CD. I, personally, think that it is a great way to get know the look of linux but to try out the technical stuff I would not remmmend it.
 
Old 10-16-2004, 04:27 PM   #7
cfamsler
 
Registered: Sep 2004
Posts: 3

Rep: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation:
Would you recommend the product? yes | Price you paid?: D/L | Rating: 9

Pros: This is a great way to preview SuSE
Cons: Limited hardware support


I tried to boot it off an old IBM T20 laptop, with no luck, not enough memory.
Then I booted it off a new IBM T41 and it started perfectly. It found the network card ok, and I was surfing the web right away. Neat product, anyone hack's you, a power cycle, and all the bad goes away.
The only downside for me was the browser. It wasn't one compatible with the vpn my company has chosen. All in all, well worth the download.
 
Old 11-14-2004, 05:41 PM   #8
green_squirrel
 
Registered: Nov 2004
Distribution: fc3
Posts: 7

Rep: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation:
Would you recommend the product? yes | Price you paid?: D/L | Rating: 8

Pros: It runs fine on laptops with 256 MB of memory
Cons: Does not support SCSI devices from a laptop


The docs on this says that it will not run with a screen resolution of less then 1024x768, and it needs a minimum of 256 MB of memory. One out of these two requirements is correct. It needs 256 MB of memory. I ran it on a 2 year old Toshiba Satellite and a 6 year old Gateway Solo 2500 laptop. The Gateway only has an 800x600 screen. It worked on both laptops. But I had to add memory to the Gateway to make it work. (It only had 128 MB of memory before I brought it up to 256 MB.)

I have an external CD-writer/DVD ROM and 2 SCSI hard drives which all hook into the laptops by USB connections. I couldn't get the Live CD to recognize any of these. There does not appear to be any SCSI support in the supplied kernel.

On the other hand, I have an HP PSC-1210 All-in-one Printer/Scanner which many of the distributions need to be played with in order to get this to work. The SUSE 9.1 Live-CD ran this straight out of the box.

Except for the lack of SCSI support, I liked what I saw here.
 
Old 11-24-2004, 08:28 PM   #9
jmccay
 
Registered: Feb 2004
Distribution: Mandrake 10
Posts: 10

Rep: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation:
Would you recommend the product? no | Price you paid?: D/L | Rating: 2

Pros: Nice list of software
Cons: Conintual problems NVidia GeForce 4 & my intel graphics chips


I have continual problems with my NVidia GeForce 4 card and the graphics chips (card) on the mother board. The NVidia is selected in the BIOS which Mandrake didn't have a problem, but SUSE is prefers the motherboard. I finally get the SUSE to load KDE, but on start up and shutdown the is a self diagnosis test message ont he screen. I think it is related to the motherboard chipset seemly being the one SUSE seems to prefer despite the BIOS settings. If I init into text mode, the SUSE switches to the mother board card and I have to manually switch the monitor to the plug for the mother board. This is VERY disappointing adn annoying. If these problems went away, I would like SUSE a lot better. I don't have access to the internet with this computer, so downloading the kernel source to install the prefered NVidia graphics. There is also another problem that occurs sometimes in which the language switches to a completely different language (last Asian).
 
Old 12-17-2004, 06:15 PM   #10
zeca_pedra
 
Registered: Nov 2003
Distribution: Debian Lenny
Posts: 35

Rep: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation:
Would you recommend the product? yes | Price you paid?: None indicated | Rating: 7

Pros: Nice looking, detected almost every hardware
Cons: I'm still playing with it


It found all the hardware except for my sound card (AC'97 onboard sound card) but this was not recognized by many other distros also!
Very nice the way it handled my NVidia geforce 440.
Many and very powerful software apps (Firefox, Open Office...)

Conclusion: I loved it... but I still consider STUX as the best live distro I tried (the only one that detected all, I mean, ALL my hardware)

System details:
P4 2Ghz
1024 Mb RAM
60 Gb HDD
Samsung DVD SD-616T
Plextor CD-R PX-W4012A
Board Soltek 85ERV
Realtek Network CArd
Realtek AC97
Nvidia Geforce 4 MX440
 
Old 05-17-2006, 07:39 AM   #11
tokenringman38
 
Registered: Apr 2006
Distribution: (ed)ubuntu
Posts: 85

Rep: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation:
Would you recommend the product? no | Price you paid?: None indicated | Rating: 2

Pros: eye candy
Cons: eye candy, communications, games


Have tried many distros (live and installed), and this one is nothing special at all [sorry guys].

Communications software is majorly troublesome -- typed in the correct pasword, then it keeps telling me it is wrong.
 
Old 11-21-2008, 05:21 AM   #12
 
Registered: Dec 1969
Posts: 0

Rep: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation:
Would you recommend the product? yes | Price you paid?: None indicated | Rating: 0

Pros: ok
Cons: ok


dddd ok
 




  



All times are GMT -5. The time now is 07:44 PM.

Main Menu
Advertisement

My LQ
Write for LQ
LinuxQuestions.org is looking for people interested in writing Editorials, Articles, Reviews, and more. If you'd like to contribute content, let us know.
Main Menu
Syndicate
RSS1  Latest Threads
RSS1  LQ News
Twitter: @linuxquestions
identi.ca: @linuxquestions
Facebook: linuxquestions Google+: linuxquestions
Open Source Consulting | Domain Registration